Photo bioethanol

bioethanol

Bioethanol is a biofuel which is obtained from plants containing sugar and starch such as sugar cane, corn, wheat, sorghum or cassava.

Bioethanol was originally politically promoted in the 1970s because of the oil crisis because it contributed to the independence from oil and strengthened domestic agriculture. At the turn of the millennium, the climate-protecting effects of biofuels were added, which speak for biofuels made from renewable raw materials.

The use of biofuels varies widely across the world and is usually added to premium petrol. The blending rates vary depending on the country between E5 (5 percent bioethanol), E10 and E25 up to E85.

Below are a few selected articles that take a look at the here and now and the future of biofuels.

Current status of bioethanol

Like most first-generation biofuels, the production of bioethanol from corn or wheat is currently under criticism because the cultivation of the energy crops required for this is in competition with food production. The associated with the 2007/2008 food price crisis Tank trough plate debate has also dampened the euphoria for the use of bioethanol. Since then, a critical discussion about the risks of bioethanol production has started, whether the use of bioethanol is justified from both a moral and a climate-protecting point of view.

A generalization of the debate in the direction of "all biofuels are bad" is morally just as questionable as a blind endorsement of bioethanol & Co. In many regions, biofuels are the only way to achieve the use of agricultural machinery at all. The climate-protecting effect of bioethanol is only a bonus in these cases. Furthermore, politics and the biofuels industry have adjusted to the wishes of consumers in recent years and the use of bioethanol in Germany has been a must since 2011 be sustainably certified and have a significantly better carbon footprint than fossil fuels.

Graphic shows production and consumption of bioethanol in Germany

The graphic shows the production and consumption of bioethanol in Germany.

The future of bioethanol

The future of biofuels lies primarily in the expansion of the available raw materials and an increase in ecological sustainability in the production process. Agricultural waste (straw, bagasse, etc.) and wood are “feedstocks” that are researched worldwide for the production of so-called cellulose ethanol. Cellulose ethanol is a second generation bioethanol that solves existing conflicts (competition for space, carbon footprint, availability, etc.) of the first generation and at the same time generally increases the acceptance of biofuels. Another innovative raw material for the renewable ethanol of tomorrow is algae.

Photo straw for 2nd generation bioethanol
Cellulose ethanol made from straw is a 2nd generation bioethanol.

More articles on bioethanol

You can find more articles on the latest developments in bioethanol in the Biofuels category of the blog. The Federal Association of the German Bioethanol Industry (BDBe) and the Association of the German Biofuels Industry (VDB) about the renewable biofuel.

If you want to participate in the biofuels debate, write one Guest article for BiomassMuse or subscribe to the free one in a first step monthly newsletter by BiomassMuse. Thanks a lot.

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Deutsch English
X

3 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 2 Google+ 1 Email -- 3 Flares ×

Bioethanol ist ein Biokraftstoff der aus zucker- und stärkehaltigen Pflanzen wie Zuckerrohr, Mais, Weizen, Sorghum oder Cassava gewonnen wird.

Ursprünglich wurde Bioethanol mit der Erdölkrise in den 1970igern politisch gefördert, weil es zur Unabhängigkeit vom Erdöl beiträgt und die heimische Landwirtschaft stärkt. Um die Jahrtausendwende kamen dann die klimaschützenden Effekte von Biokraftstoffen hinzu, welche für Biokraftstoffe aus nachwachsenden Rohstoffen sprechen.

Der Einsatz des Biokraftstoffs ist weltweit sehr unterschiedlich und findet in der Regel als Beimischung zu Superbenzin statt. Die Beimischungsquoten schwanken dabei abhängig vom jeweiligen Land zwischen E5 (5 Prozent Bioethanol), über E10 und E25 bis hin zu E85.

Im Folgenden einige ausgewählte Artikel, die einen Blick auf das Hier und Jetzt, sowie die Zukunft des Biokraftstoffs werfen.

Aktueller Stand von Bioethanol

Wie die meisten Biokraftstoffe der ersten Generation steht auch die Herstellung von Bioethanol aus Mais oder Weizen aktuell in der Kritik, weil der Anbau der dafür benötigten Energiepflanzen in der Konkurrenz mit der Nahrungsmittelproduktion steht. Die mit der Nahrungsmittelpreiskrise 2007/ 2008  einhergehende Tank-Trog-Teller-Debatte hat auch zu einer Dämpfung der Euphorie für den Einsatz von Bioethanol geführt. Seit dem ist eine kritische Auseinandersetzung über die Risiken der Bioethanol-Produktion in Gang gekommen, ob der Einsatz von Bioethanol sowohl unter moralischen, als auch unter klimaschützenden Gesichtspunkten überhaupt gerechtfertigt ist.

Eine Pauschalisierung der Debatte in Richtung „alle Biokraftstoffe sind schlecht“ ist moralisch genauso fragwürdig, wie eine blinde Befürwortung von Bioethanol & Co. In vielen Regionen sind Biokraftstoffe die einzige Möglichkeit, um überhaupt den Einsatz landwirtschaftlicher Maschinen zu erreichen. Die klimaschützende Wirkung von Bioethanol ist in diesen Fällen nur ein Bonus. Weiterhin haben sich Politik und Biokraftstoffbranche in den vergangenen Jahren auf die Wünsche der Verbraucher eingestellt und die Nutzung von Bioethanol in Deutschland muss seit 2011 als nachhaltig zertifiziert sein und eine deutlich bessere Klimabilanz als fossile Kraftstoffe vorweisen können.

Grafik zeigt Produktion und Verbrauch von Bioethanol in Deutschland

Die Grafik zeigt Produktion und Verbrauch von Bioethanol in Deutschland.

Zukunft von Bioethanol

Die Zukunft des Biokraftstoffs liegt vor allem in der Erweiterung der verfügbaren Ausgangsstoffe und einer Erhöhung der ökologischen Nachhaltigkeit bei der Herstellung. Landwirtschaftliche Abfälle (Stroh, Bagasse etc.) und Holz sind „Feedstocks“, die weltweit für die Herstellung von sogenanntem Zellulose-Ethanol erforscht werden. Zellulose-Ethanol ist ein Bioethanol der zweiten Generation, welches bestehende Konflikte (Flächenkonkurrenz, Klimabilanz, Verfügbarkeit etc.) der ersten Generation löst und gleichzeitig die Akzeptanz von Biokraftstoffen allgemein stärkt. Ein weiteres innovatives Ausgangsmaterial für den nachwachsenden Ethanol von Morgen sind Algen.

Foto Stroh für Bioethanol der 2 Generation

Zellulose-Ethanol aus Stroh ist ein Bioethanol der 2. Generation.

Weitere Artikel zu Bioethanol

Weitere Artikel zu den aktuellen Entwicklungen rund um Bioethanol finden Sie in der Biokraftstoff-Kategorie des Blogs. Außerdem informieren der Bundesverband der deutschen Bioethanolwirtschaft (BDBe) und der Verband der deutschen Biokraftstoffindustrie (VDB) über den nachwachsenden Biokraftstoff.

Wenn Sie sich an der Biokraftstoff-Debatte beteiligen möchten, dann  schreiben Sie doch einen Gastartikel für BiomassMuse oder abonnieren Sie in einem ersten Schritt den kostenfreien monatlichen Newsletter von BiomassMuse. Vielen Dank.