Converting your own car to bio-clean fuels protects the climate and saves money

You certainly don't have to drive a Ferrari or racing car to fill up with bio-clean fuel like E85. However, use in these high-performance cars is now also possible. The fuel supply on German petrol pumps has changed a lot in the past few years and sometimes seems like a real Tohuwabohu. With this article within the bioenergy campaign "10 ideas for a more intense flirtation with bioenergy“I would like to advertise 3 of these bio-clean fuels (E85, B100, biomethane). In retrospect, many bioenergy enthusiasts would have a little more education or good product marketing at the E10 introduction wanted last year.

Bio-clean fuels support climate protection in the transport sector

Biofuels are the only fuel alternative that we can already use today to significantly reduce carbon dioxide emissions in the transport sector and thus actively contribute to the energy transition and climate protection.

Across the entire usage chain, the emission of greenhouse gas No. 1 when using biofuels is around 30 - 50 percent lower than that of fossil colleagues. In the coming years, these values ​​will have to be even higher in accordance with the requirements of the sustainability regulation for biofuels (60% by 2018).

At this point I would like to have presented the emission values ​​of the different fuels per kilometer driven for comparison. On this complex topic, however, it is currently still very difficult to find clear information from a source that is as neutral as possible (federal ministries, ADAC, etc.). The poorly descriptive percentages therefore unfortunately have to suffice to convince them of the climate-protecting quality of bio-clean fuels.

In the medium term, the use of electric vehicles fueled with renewable electricity will certainly make a major contribution to climate protection in the transport sector. In spite of all efforts, "only" around 2020 million electric vehicles will be registered on German roads by 1, which will make up a market share of around 42 percent for 2,5 million cars. I imagine ambitious climate protection differently.

Converting to bio-fuel E85 pays for itself after just 1,5 years

Internal combustion engines are not as climate-friendly as electric drives that are operated with renewable energies. For this, combustion engines and biofuels have the charm that they are already available from car dealers or at the petrol station.
You can also save money by converting your own car to bio-clean fuels.

Especially for vehicle fleets from companies and freight forwarders, the issue of converting to bio-clean fuels can quickly pay off. According to the statements of the biogas council, the vehicle fleet of the Bundestag has meanwhile switched to the biofuel biomethane. Biomethane is a new representative among bio-clean fuels, which has so far been little known to motorists.

This shows how much money can be saved and how long it takes for the conversion of your own car to pay for the new bio fuel Amortization calculator. The calculator enables the comparison of different alternative fuels (LPG, ethanol, natural gas, vegetable oil) with petrol.

At a current price of around EUR 1,08 per liter, converting the engine to E85 pays for itself after around a year and a half. The changeover in a workshop can be done quickly and costs around 600 euros. If you invest directly in a new car that is suitable for the E85, you will of course save from the first tank filling.

A recommended website for information about bio-fuel E85 is E85.biz.

Mix biofuels at the gas station yourself ?!

You can protect the climate and save money even without retrofitting your car. The CO2 and euro savings are not that big in this case, but they also have less personal effort.

How is that possible?

As far as I know, some providers (e.g. Mercedes) guarantee that all their models can easily handle fuel mixes up to E20. I have already heard from several drivers among the bioenergy players that they have been mixing their ethanol content at the petrol station for years and have had no problems with it so far.

The fuel procedure looks like this:

  1. They fill the tank of their petrol engine 4/5 with E10.
  2. They signal to the gas station attendant that he will save this interim amount and reset their petrol pump to zero.
  3. They fill the rest of their tank with E85.
  4. You pay both tank quantities.
  5. You drive away with a climate-friendly tank mix between E15 and E22.

Here you will find a small exchange of experiences on Refueling bio-fuels with far higher ratios up to 50-50 blends.

I have never heard of a case in which the 80-20 tank filling caused problems, but unfortunately I cannot give guarantees for this creative tank behavior.

If you want to try out this little adventure at the petrol pump, please contact your car manufacturer or the Internet beforehand to better assess the risks for your own model. They currently save about 85 cents per liter of E40.

FlexFuel to overcome the big disadvantage of bio-fuels

What is the catch? A question that can be asked after what has been written so far. Everything sounds pretty good. I can save money and also make a small contribution to leave my children and grandchildren in a less turbulent climate. So let's go !?

It is not that simple and there is an important weak point that should not be forgotten.

The most important criticism for the conversion to biofuels is currently the low density of petrol stations that offer bio-clean fuels (B100, E85). It should therefore be taken into account that converting the engine to a bio-clean fuel unfortunately also means losses in terms of flexibility when refueling in addition to the advantages mentioned.

As a consequence of the taxation of biofuels, the number of petrol stations with a B2006 petrol pump fell from 100 nationwide to currently less than 1.900 in 200. The number of petrol stations that offer E85 is according to the information from Ethanol-tanken.com at currently 330. On the website you will also find useful information on E85 petrol stations in your area or the costs for retrofitting your car.

Those who commute mainly between big cities, have no problems even with the relatively thin network of petrol stations that offer bio-fuels. Corresponding smartphone apps or websites also help to inform you where the nearest E85 petrol station is.

If you are considering buying a new car, you should still find out what options the manufacturer offers for a FlexFuel engine. In Brazil, FlexFuel vehicles have been used for decades in order to be able to choose flexibly between the fuels that the petrol station offers. FlexFuel engines are available as petrol or diesel variants.

Here you will find the website of the Flex-Fuel Initiative Germany.

In addition, the tax relief for bio-clean fuels should expire at the end of 2012! Bioenergy associations like the BBE are currently advocating the continuation of the Supporting bio-clean fuels and I assume that the extension can also be achieved. After all, the coalition agreement states in writing that the bio-fuel market should be revived.

Before a definite continuation of the tax relief is decided at this point, however, you should still wait to convert the car.

Conclusion on bio-fuels

Energy projects that involve larger investments and financial profit opportunities naturally also have their risks. In the past, these risks were taken away from us by central energy suppliers. In decentralized projects in the field of renewable energies, these risks are now taken over by the decentralized plant operators.

When it comes to liquid bioenergy, or refueling bio-clean fuels, these risks or inconveniences (filling station network) are not much greater than with any other car purchase. When purchasing a new car, it is therefore worth checking the bio-fuel variant. When converting, the adjustment of the tank behavior should not be underestimated.

Finally, here are the advantages that you can look forward to when refueling bio-clean fuels:

  • You save money
  • They protect the climate
  • They strengthen bioenergy and help to shift the value chains of energy supply more to the regions of Germany

What experience have you had with bio-fuels? What reasons do you have for not converting your car to bio-clean fuels?

Post a comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Deutsch English
X

9 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 Google+ 9 Email -- 9 Flares ×

Man muss sicher keinen Ferrari oder Rennwagen fahren, um einen Bioreinkraftstoff wie E85 tanken zu können. Der Einsatz ist aber mittlerweile auch in diesen Hochleistungsautos möglich. Das Kraftstoffangebot an deutschen Tanksäulen hat sich in den vergangen Jahren stark verändert und erscheint manchmal wie ein richtiges Tohuwabohu. Mit dem vorliegenden Artikel innerhalb der Bioenergie-Kampagne „10 Ideen für einen intensiveren Flirt mit der Bioenergie“ möchte ich für 3 dieser Bioreinkraftstoffe (E85, B100, Biomethan) etwas Werbung machen. Rückblickend betrachtet, hätten sich viele Bioenergie-Enthusiasten auch etwas mehr Aufklärung oder gutes Produkt-Marketing bei der E10-Einführung im vergangenen Jahr gewünscht.

Bioreinkraftstoffe unterstützen Klimaschutz im Verkehrssektor

Biokraftstoffe sind die einzige Kraftstoffalternative, welche wir schon heute nutzen können, um den Ausstoß von Kohlenstoffdioxid im Verkehrssektor deutlich zu reduzieren und somit aktiv zur Energiewende und zum Klimaschutz beizutragen.

Über die gesamte Nutzungskette betrachtet, fällt der Ausstoß des Treibhausgases Nr. 1 beim Einsatz von Biokraftstoffen um etwa 30 – 50 Prozent geringer aus als bei den fossilen Kollegen. In den kommenden Jahren werden diese Werte entsprechend den Anforderungen der Nachhaltigkeitsverordnung für Biokraftstoffe sogar noch höher ausfallen müssen (60% bis 2018).

Ich hätte an dieser Stelle gerne Emissionswerte der verschiedenen Kraftstoffe pro gefahrenen Kilometer zum Vergleich präsentiert. Zu diesem komplexen Thema ist es allerdings aktuell noch sehr schwierig eindeutige Angaben einer möglichst neutralen Quelle (Bundesministerien, ADAC etc.) zu finden. Die wenig anschaulichen Prozentangaben müssen deshalb leider genügen, um sie von der klimaschützenden Qualität der Bioreinkraftstoffe zu überzeugen.

Mittelfristig wird mit Sicherheit auch der Einsatz von mit EE-Strom betankten Elektrofahrzeugen einen großen Beitrag zum Klimaschutz im Verkehrssektor leisten. Bei allen Anstrengungen werden aber bis zum Jahr 2020 „nur“ etwa 1 Millionen Elektrofahrzeuge auf deutschen Straßen zugelassen sein, was bei 42 Millionen PKW einen Marktanteil von etwa 2,5 Prozent ausmachen wird.  Einen ambitionierten Klimaschutz stelle ich mir anders vor.

Umrüstung auf Bioreinkraftstoff E85 rentiert sich bereits nach 1,5 Jahren

Verbrennungsmotoren sind nicht so klimafreundlich wie Elektroantriebe die mit erneuerbaren Energien betrieben werden. Dafür haben Verbrennungsmotoren und Biokraftstoffe den Charme, dass sie schon heute beim Autohändler, beziehungsweise an der Tankstelle verfügbar sind.
Man kann mit der Umrüstung des eigenen PKWs auf Bioreinkraftstoffe außerdem Geld sparen.

Vor allem für Fahrzeugflotten von Unternehmen und Speditionen kann sich die Beschäftigung mit dem Thema Umrüstung auf Bioreinkraftstoffe schnell rechnen. Den Aussagen des Biogasrat zur Folge hat die Fahrzeugflotte des Bundestages mittlerweile auf den Biokraftstoff Biomethan umgestellt. Hierbei ist Biomethan ein neuer Vertreter unter den Bioreinkraftstoffen, der bisher noch wenig im Bewusstsein der Autofahrer vertreten ist.

Wie viel Geld man sparen kann und wie lange es dauert, bis sich die Umrüstung des eigenen Wagens auf den neuen Bioreinkraftstoff amortisieren, zeigt dieser Amortisationsrechner. Der Rechner ermöglicht den Vergleich von verschiedenen Alternativkraftstoffen (Autogas, Ethanol, Erdgas, Pflanzenöl) mit Benzin.

Bei einem aktuellen Preis von etwa 1,08 Euro pro Liter rentiert sich die Umrüstung des Motors auf E85 bereits nach etwa anderthalb Jahren. Die Umrüstung in einer Werkstatt ist schnell erledigt und kostet etwa 600 Euro. Wenn sie direkt in einen Neuwagen investieren, der E85 tauglich ist, dann sparen sie natürlich bereits ab der ersten Tankfüllung.

Eine empfehlenswerte Internetseite für Informationen rund um den Bioreinkraftstoff E85 ist E85.biz.

Biokraftstoffe an der Tankstelle selber mischen?!

Sie können auch ohne Umrüstung ihres PKW das Klima schützen und Geld sparen. Die CO2- und Euro-Ersparnis ist in diesem Fall zwar nicht so groß, aber sie haben auch einen geringeren persönlichen Aufwand.

Wie ist das möglich?

Einige Anbieter (z.B. Mercedes) garantieren meines Wissens, dass alle ihre Modelle auch Kraftstoffmischung bis E20 problemlos vertragen. Von mehreren Autofahrern im Kreise der Bioenergie-Akteure habe ich bereits gehört, dass sie sich ihren Ethanolanteil an der Tankstelle seit Jahren selber mischen und bisher keine Probleme damit hatten.

Das Tankprozedere sieht hierbei folgendermaßen aus:

  1. Sie füllen den Tank ihres Benziners zu 4/5 mit E10.
  2. Sie geben dem Tankwart ein Zeichen, dass er diesen Zwischenbetrag speichert und ihre Zapfsäule wieder auf Null stellt.
  3. Sie füllen den verbleibenden Rest ihres Tanks mit E85.
  4. Sie bezahlen beide Tankmengen.
  5. Sie fahren mit einer klimaschonenderen Tankmischung zwischen E15 und E22 davon.

Hier finden sie einen kleinen Erfahrungsaustausch zum Tanken von Bioreinkraftstoffen mit weitaus höheren Verhältnissen bis hin zu 50-50-Mischungen.

Ich habe bisher von keinem Fall gehört, in dem die 80-20-Tankfüllung zu Problemen geführt hat, aber Garantien für dieses kreative Tankverhalten kann ich leider nicht geben.

Wer dieses kleine Abenteuer an der Zapfsäule ausprobieren möchte, sollte sich bitte vorher bei seinem Autohersteller oder im Netz informieren, um die Risiken für das eigene Modell besser abzuschätzen. Pro Liter E85 sparen sie aktuell etwa 40 Cent.

FlexFuel zur Überwindung des großen Nachteils von Bioreinkraftstoffen

Wo ist der Haken? Eine Frage die man sich nach dem bisher Geschriebenen stellen kann. Hört sich doch alles ganz gut an. Ich kann Geld sparen und zusätzlich einen kleinen Beitrag leisten, um meinen Kindern und Enkeln ein weniger turbulentes Klima zu  hinterlassen. Also auf geht’s!?

Ganz so einfach ist es nicht und es gibt einen wichtigen Schwachpunkt, den man nicht vergessen sollte.

Der wichtigste Kritikpunkt für die Umrüstung auf Biokraftstoffe ist aktuell sicher die geringe Dichte von Tankstellen, die Bioreinkraftstoffe (B100, E85) anbieten. Es sollte deshalb berücksichtigt werden, dass die Umstellung des Motors auf einen Bioreinkraftstoff neben den genannten Vorteilen leider auch Einbußen in Bezug auf die Flexibilität beim Tanken bedeutet.

So ist als Konsequenz auf die Besteuerung von Biokraftstoffen im Jahr 2006 die Anzahl der Tankstellen mit einer B100-Zapfsäule von bundesweit 1.900 auf aktuell unter 200 zurückgegangen. Die Anzahl von Tankstellen die E85 anbieten, liegt den Angaben von Ethanol-tanken.com bei aktuell 330. Auf der Internetseite finden sie auch nützliche Angaben zu E85-Tankstellen in ihrer Nähe oder den Kosten für eine Umrüstung ihres PKW.

Wer vor allem zwischen Großstädten pendelt, hat aber auch bei dem relativ dünnen Tankstellennetz die Bioreinkraftstoffe anbieten keine Probleme. Außerdem helfen entsprechende Smartphone-Apps oder Internetseiten darüber zu informieren wo sich die nächstgelegene E85-Tankstelle befindet.

Wenn sie mit dem Gedanken spielen einen Neuwagen zu kaufen, dann sollten sie sich trotzdem darüber informieren, welche Möglichkeiten für einen FlexFuel-Motor der Hersteller anbietet. In Brasilien werden seit Jahrzehnten mit FlexFuel-Fahrzeuge eingesetzt, um flexibel zwischen den Kraftstoffen wählen zu können, welche die Tankstelle anbietet. FlexFuel-Motoren gibt es als Benziner- oder Diesel-Variante.

Hier finden sie die Internetseite der Flex-Fuel Initiative Deutschland.

Außerdem soll die Steuerbegünstigung für Bioreinkraftstoffe zum Ende des Jahres 2012 auslaufen! Bioenergie-Verbände wie der BBE setzen sich aktuell für die Fortsetzung der Unterstützung der Bioreinkraftstoffe ein und ich gehe davon aus, dass die Verlängerung auch erreicht werden kann. Immerhin ist im Koaltionsvertrag schriftlich festgehalten, dass der Bioreinkraftstoffmarkt wiederbelebt werden soll.

Bevor an dieser Stelle keine definitive Fortsetzung der Steuerbegünstigung entschieden ist, sollte aber mit der Umrüstung des PKW noch gewartet werden.

Fazit zu Bioreinkraftstoffen

Energie-Projekte die mit größeren Investitionen und finanziellen Gewinnmöglichkeiten verbunden sind, haben natürlich auch ihre Risiken. Früher wurden uns diese Risiken von zentralen Energieversorgern abgenommen. Bei dezentralen Projekten im Bereich der erneuerbaren Energien werden diese Risiken nun von den dezentralen Anlagenbetreibern übernommen.

Bei der flüssigen Bioenergie, beziehungsweise dem Tanken von Bioreinkraftstoffen sind diese Risiken oder Unannehmlichkeiten (Tankstellennetz) aber nicht viel größer als bei jedem anderen Autokauf auch. Gerade beim Kauf eines Neuwagens lohnt sich deshalb die Prüfung der Bioreinkraftstoff-Variante. Bei der Umrüstung sollte außerdem die Anpassung des Tankverhaltens nicht unterschätzt werden.

Abschließend sind hier nochmal die Vorteile aufgelistet, auf die sie sich beim Tanken von Bioreinkraftstoffen freuen können:

  • Sie sparen Geld
  • Sie schützen das Klima
  • Sie stärken die Bioenergie und tragen dazu bei, dass die Wertschöpfungsketten der Energieversorgung mehr in die Regionen Deutschlands verlagert werden

Welche Erfahrungen haben sie mit Bioreinkraftstoffen gesammelt? Welche Gründe haben sie, dass sie ihren PKW nicht auf Bioreinkraftstoffe umrüsten?