E10 - everything has been there before!

Introductory words (Ron Kirchner): The bioKRAFTSTOFF E10 is not (yet) a box office hit in Germany (yet). So had a survey of the Federal Association of the German Bioethanol Industry e. V. (BDBe) from the summer of this year show that so far only just under a third of all German drivers have refueled with E10 fuel or have tried it. Even if experience shows that this market acceptance for a new fuel, one and a half years after its introductionis a good value, some industry players are surprised at the lack of interest from the remaining 70 percent.

I find this surprising questioning easy to understand. After all, biofuel helps to protect the climate, promotes greater independence from imported and petroleum-based fuels and shifts the profits of the value chain in the transport sector more domestically - in this case to Germany. All arguments that could spark a small glow in the eyes of the majority of motorists or at least arouse a basic interest in E10. E10 is a fuel that offers a real alternative to 90 percent of the other fuels on the market. By filling up with E10, you contribute directly to the fact that the existing tank structures are changed and you should be aware of this opportunity or responsibility. If you are completely satisfied with the current situation at German petrol stations (price development, etc.), refueling E10 is probably of little interest (at least that applies to the currently low price advantage of E10 compared to Super E5). Everyone else should at least try the new BIOFUEL and gather their own experiences. As far as I know, the initial concerns about engine damage have not been confirmed in any case, and biofuels do not necessarily contribute to increasing world hunger. Regarding the criticism that biofuels could aggravate world hunger, I would also like to add that biofuels (vegetable oils) can even help alleviate world hunger because they have the potential to agricultural production in developing countries to revolutionize.

Since I am also amazed at the lack of enthusiasm and acceptance of biofuels in Germany, I am pleased about Bernd Ahlers' exciting guest contribution. His next look back at the history of bioethanol in Germany, sharpens understanding of the current situation. Bernd Ahlers has been monitoring the development of the mineral oil and biofuels market for many years and reports about it regularly in a newsletter.

If you would like to publish a guest article on BiomassMuse yourself, you will find some here Comments on guest articles.

Road traffic and E10

Guest contribution on the history of bioethanol in Germany by Bernd Ahlers

Dear friends of biofuels,

At the Essen Motor Show I was asked by a classic car driver whether he could fill up his "Adler 1.5 / AU Bj. 1933" with E10. I know from BMW that all engines built by BMW that are designed for petrol are E10 compatible and that BMW has given a binding approval. But whether engines from car manufacturers that no longer exist are also suitable, I had to fit first.

After doing some research, I found something very interesting.

The state-prescribed alcohol admixture is by no means new. The Weimar Republic already had the goal of becoming more independent of oil imports. For example, the German Reichstag had already issued the ethanol procurement regulation for fuel purposes in 1930. Each mineral oil company was then obliged to source 2,5% of the fuel produced from domestic alcohol. The proportion of admixtures increased to 1932% by October 10.

The ethanol came from the Reichskraftsprit (RKS), founded in 1925, an association of the German spirit factories and the Reichs monopoly administration that produced bioethanol from sugar beet, potatoes and cereals.

The main aim of the prescribed alcohol quota was not only to reduce oil imports, but also to strengthen our own agriculture, which had already established a second mainstay with fuels from alcohol at the end of 1898/99.

In this context it should be mentioned that the first engines by Nikolaus A. Otto were operated with bioethanol. It was only when the significantly cheaper petrol, which was offered in large quantities in Germany from 1904, did the engine manufacturers turn around and use the imported petroleum product. Because of its high knock resistance (up to 115 RON), ethanol was always considered a particularly high-quality fuel and was added to petrol up to the mid-XNUMXs when it came to fuels for highly compressed engines.

IG Farben acquired the license to produce lead tetraethyl from US Standard Oil in 1935, which then replaced alcohol as the cheapest way to make petrol-knock-resistant - thus eliminating the question of whether veterans before 1936 could be operated with El0.

Until next time, Bernd Ahlers

2 responses to "E10 - everything has been there before!"

  1. Pingback: Methanol is the elegant path to bioeconomy Methanol economy

  2. Pingback: Biogas plant as a plant for the production of hydrogen in Germany

Post a comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Deutsch English
X

0 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 Google+ 0 Email -- 0 Flares ×

Einleitende Worte (Ron Kirchner): Der bioKRAFTSTOFF E10 ist in Deutschland (noch) nicht gerade ein Kassenschlager. So hat eine Umfrage des Bundesverbands der deutschen Bioethanolwirtschaft e. V. (BDBe) aus dem Sommer dieses Jahres ergeben, dass bisher nur knapp ein Drittel aller deutschen Autofahrer den Kraftstoff E10 tanken oder diesen probiert haben. Auch wenn die Erfahrungen zeigen, dass diese Marktakzeptanz für einen neuen Kraftstoff, anderthalb Jahre nach dessen Einführung, ein guter Wert ist, wundern sich einige Branchenakteure über das mangelnde Interesse der verbleibenden 70 Prozent.

Dieses überraschte Hinterfragen finde ich leicht zu verstehen. Immerhin trägt der Biokraftstoff zum Klimaschutz bei, fördert eine größere Unabhängigkeit von importierten und erdölbasierten Kraftstoffen und verschiebt die Gewinne der Wertschöpfungskette des Transportsektors stärker ins Inland – also in diesem Fall nach Deutschland. Alles Argumente, die bei einem Großteil der Autofahrer ein kleines Leuchten in den Augen oder zumindest ein Grundinteresse an E10 wecken könnten. E10 ist ein Kraftstoff der eine echte Alternative zu 90 Prozent der anderen angebotenen Kraftstoffe bietet. Durch das Tanken von E10 trägt man direkt dazu bei, dass die bestehenden Tank-Strukturen verändert werden und dieser Chance, beziehungsweise Verantwortung sollte man sich bewusst sein. Wer demnach mit der aktuellen Situation an deutschen Tankstellen (Preisentwicklung etc.) komplett zufrieden ist, für den ist das Tanken von E10 wahrscheinlich wenig interessant (zumindest gilt das bei dem aktuell nur geringen Preisvorteil von E10 gegenüber Super E5). Alle Anderen sollten den neuen bioKRAFTSTOFF zumindest probieren und ihre eigenen Erfahrungen sammeln. Die anfänglichen Sorgen um Motorschäden sind meines Wissens in keinem Fall bestätigt worden und Biokraftstoffe tragen auch nicht zwangsläufig zur Zunahme des Welthungers bei. Zur Kritik, dass Biokraftstoffe den Welthunger verschlimmern könnten, möchte ich auch ergänzen, dass Biokraftstoffe (Pflanzenöle) sogar zur Linderung des Welthungers beitragen können, da sie das Potential besitzen, die landwirtschaftliche Produktion in Entwicklungsländern zu revolutionieren.

Da mich die fehlende Begeisterung und Annahme von Biokraftstoffen in Deutschland ebenfall sehr wundert, freue ich mich über den spannenden Gastbeitrag von Bernd Ahlers. Sein folgender Rückblick auf die Geschichte von Bioethanol in Deutschland, schärft das Verständnis für die aktuelle Situation. Bernd Ahlers beobachtet die Entwicklung des Mineralöl-, aber auch Biokraftstoffmarkts seit vielen Jahren und berichtet darüber regelmäßig in einem Newsletter.

Wenn Sie selbst einen Gastartikel auf BiomassMuse veröffentlichen möchten, finden sie hier einige Anmerkungen zu Gastartikeln.

Straßenverkehr und E10

Gastbeitrag zur Geschichte von Bioethanol in Deutschland von Bernd Ahlers

Liebe Biokraftstofffreunde,

auf der Essen Motor Show wurde ich von einem Oldtimerfahrer gefragt, ob er seinen „Adler 1.5/AU Bj. 1933“ auch mit E10 tanken kann. Von BMW weiß ich, dass alle je von BMW gebauten Motoren, die für Ottokraftstoff ausgelegt sind, E10 tauglich sind und BMW eine verbindlich Freigabe gegeben hat. Ob aber Motoren von nicht mehr existierenden Autohersteller auch geeignet sind, da musste ich zunächst einmal passen.

Nach einige Recherchen habe ich sehr interessantes herausgefunden.

Die staatlich verordnete Alkoholbeimischung ist keineswegs neu. Die Wei­marer Republik hatte auch schon das Ziel, sich unabhängiger von Ölim­porten zu machen. So verfügte der Deutsche Reichstag schon 1930 die Bezugsverord­nung von Ethanol zu Kraftstoffzwecken. Jeder Mineralölkonzern wurde danach verpflichtet, 2,5 % der produzierten Kraftstoffmenge aus heimischem Alkohol zu beziehen. Der Beimischungsanteil erhöhte sich bis Oktober 1932 auf 10 %.

Das Ethanol stammte von der 1925 gegründeten Reichskraftsprit (RKS), einem Zusammenschluss der deutschen Spiritusfabriken und der Reichs Branntweinmono­polverwaltung, die Bioethanol aus Zuckerrüben, Kartoffeln und Getreide herstellten.

Hauptziel der verordneten Alkoholquo­te war neben der Reduzierung der Ölimporte, auch die Stärkung der eigenen Landwirtschaft, die sich schon Ende 1898/99 mit Treibstoffen aus Alkohol ein zweites Standbein geschaffen hatte.

In diesem Zusammenhang sei erwähnt, dass die ersten Motoren von Nikolaus A. Otto mit Bioetha­nol betrieben wurden. Erst als das deutlich billigere Benzin, ab 1904 massenhaft in Deutschland angeboten wurde, schwenkten die Motorenhersteller um und verwendeten das importierte Erdölprodukt. Wegen seiner hohen Klopffestigkeit (bis zu 115 ROZ) galt Ethanol stets als besonders hochwertiger Kraftstoff und wurde bis Mitte der Dreißiger als zum Benzin beigemischt, wenn es um Kraftstoffe für hochverdichtete Motoren ging.

I.G. Farben erwarb 1935 von der US- Standard Oil die Lizenz zur Herstellung von Bleitetraäthyl, das dann als billigste Art, Benzinklopffest zu machen, den Alkohol verdrängte — womit sich die Frage erübrigt, ob Veteranen vor Baujahr 1936 mit El0 betrieben werden können.

Bis zum nächsten Mal, Bernd Ahlers