The policy on bioeconomy in Germany in 4 acts

In the article series on bioeconomy, which is currently running on BiomassMuse, a look at the Origins of the bioeconomy and the Potentials of the bioeconomy thrown. Starting a biomass diet has been presented as a promising way to get a quick but gentle one Withdrawal from petroleum usher in. An uncomfortable period of petroleum fasting, especially for Germany, is becoming an increasingly probable future scenario for raw materials and energy transition to manage something. For this reason, politicians also rely on various programs to actively promote the development of the bioeconomy. In this further article on the bio-based circular economy, we leave the basics behind and take a look at the concrete political measures to support the bioeconomy.

Presentation bioeconomy Goals of politics in Germany

Germany is focusing more on the bioeconomy

In the German Wikipedia the Article on bioeconomy introduced with the following sentence:

"The bioeconomy is the economy of the living, a technical term for the representation of the economic content of living systems."

Wow, if that is not formulated comprehensively! In any case, this definition leaves a lot of scope for different interpretations of the often still unknown concept of Bioeconomy. There should be unanimity that even a society living system is. A deeper study of the Economy of the living is therefore interesting not only from an economic but also from a social (political) perspective.

Let's ask very specifically: What role does the bioeconomy play for federal politics in Germany?

If one agrees in principle to the establishment of a bio-based circular economy, one can gratefully welcome the political measures of the past years. In the past year, the pace of building up the bioeconomy has accelerated, which will certainly please the pioneers of the bioeconomy.

I would like to prove that this is not just the claim of a bioeconomy advocate with a brief review of current political programs.

Policy 1: Federal Government's National Biomass Action Plan

The first political move was made over 4 years ago (April 2009) to further strengthen the use of the valuable and domestic resource of biomass. Under the label National biomass action plan for Germany a 30-page document was adopted by the BMELV and BMU, which should shape the targeted expansion of biomass use for Germany. The biomass action plan focuses on the energetic use of biomass, i.e. the bioenergy.

“With the biomass action plan, bioenergy in Germany is being expanded efficiently and sustainably. We are thus making an important contribution to value creation, especially in rural areas, ”Federal Agriculture Minister Ilse Aigner.

The rise of the Bioenergy in the electricity market has already passed the Renewable Energy Sources Act (EEG) started in 2000. The National Biomass Action Plan extends the targeted use of the Bioenergy on the heating market and Fuel market and formulates conditions for the further expansion of bioenergy (sustainability, Cascade use).

Bioenergy goals politics Germany

Policy 2: Action plan for the material use of renewable raw materials

The Action plan for the material use of renewable raw materials followed 4 months after the National Biomass Action Plan (08.2009) and supplemented it with the material usage paths for biomass. The 40-page document of the BMELV now officially uses the term bio-based economy and is committed to their construction.

The overview of the Agency for Renewable Resources shows important bio-based raw materials for the material usage paths. V. (FNR).

Bioeconomy raw materials

If we now look at the fields of action of the second biomass action plan, an image emerges that gives an idea of ​​the complexity and diversity of the bio-based economy.

  • Oil chemical applications
  • Bio-based materials and natural fiber reinforced plastics
  • Pulp use and starch processing
  • Industrial biotechnology
  • building and living
  • Phytopharmaceuticals and cosmetics

If the paths of use for biomass in agriculture, forestry, water and waste management are supplemented by the extraction of food and feed, we have all the raw materials that characterize the colorful recipe of the bioeconomy.

Policy 3: National Research Strategy Bioeconomy 2030

The one created by the BMBF National BioEconomy Research Strategy 2030 was decided on November 10.11.2012th, 5 by the federal government. One of the upcoming articles will report on research on the bioeconomy. At this point only the overview of the XNUMX fields of action of the research strategy mentioned.

  • Secure global nutrition
  • Shaping agricultural production sustainably
  • Produce healthy and safe food
  • Use renewable resources industrially
  • Build energy sources based on biomass

The German government plans to invest 2016 billion euros in the development of the bioeconomy through the National Research Strategy by 2.4.

Politics 4: Announcement of the "BioEconomy Policy Strategy" for Germany

That only passed last month (12.07.2013/XNUMX/XNUMX) Political strategy bioeconomy carries out the synthesis of all biomass usage paths and bundles them under the term bioeconomy.

Overview Bioeconomy Politics Strategies Germany

If you like, you can read the bioeconomy policy strategy as an experience report from the previous action plans. An extract outlines the content of the 48-page strategy developed by the BMELV:

The bioeconomy policy strategy sets priorities for advancing towards a knowledge-based bioeconomy and indicates the need for action. The guiding principles, strategic approaches and measures are intended to contribute to utilizing the potential of the bioeconomy in Germany within the framework of sustainable management and help to strengthen the structural change towards a bio-based economy. The strategic approaches must be developed with a view to long-term goals and adapted to new challenges. The success of the strategy will be examined in a progress report.

The following excerpt from the bioeconomy policy strategy summarizes the goals of the strategy:

  • The bioeconomy has to take into account growing societal demands for the way it is produced. This applies to environmental, climate, nature and animal protection as well as compliance with social standards
  • Food security also has priority over the production of raw materials for industry and energy in a global context
  • Where possible and sensible, the cascade and coupling use of biomass should be realized
  • Well-trained and informed specialists are essential for the competitiveness of the bioeconomy
  • The opportunities and framework conditions for the use of key technologies and their transfer to economic use must be improved
  • Close cooperation between political, economic, scientific, ecological and social actors is necessary in the development of the bioeconomy

The BioEconomyRat is a political advisory body actively and supports the federal government in shaping the long-term bioeconomy strategy.

More articles on the bioeconomy in Germany

Finally, a small outlook on the upcoming articles in the bioeconomy series on BiomassMuse. This article was about Germany's political ambitions to build a bio-based circular economy. The Research into the bioeconomy will be featured in an upcoming article. In addition, one of the upcoming articles will deal with the bioeconomy as a promising way out of persistent bioenergy sources of conflict (see Deforestation, Tank-or-plate discussion).

What is your opinion on the bio-based economy? How long will it take before we have largely completed the energy and raw materials transition?

2 comments on “The politics of bioeconomy in Germany in 4 acts”

  1. The article is very informative, but noticed a small mistake. Under the item: Policy 3: National Research Strategy Bioeconomy 2030 it says "The National Research Strategy Bioeconomy 2030 created by the BMBF was adopted on November 10.11.2013th, 10 by the Federal Government". November 2013, XNUMX is only two months away. I think it will still be a few decades before we have largely completed the energy and raw materials transition.

  2. Thank you very much Ms. Schlim for pointing this out! I adjusted the date (2010 instead of 2013) and it should now fit. Looking into the future would be a fascinating gift, but only very few of us can do that ;-)

    And I agree with you that the energy and raw materials turnaround will keep us busy for many decades and that work on this major project will probably not end so quickly.

    Greetings!

Post a comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Deutsch English
X

Die Politik zur BioÖkonomie in Deutschland in 4 Akten

In der momentan auf BiomassMuse laufenden Artikelreihe zur BioÖkonomie wurde bereits ein Blick auf die Ursprünge der BioÖkonomie und die Potentiale der BioÖkonomie geworfen. Der Start einer Biomasse-Diät wurde als vielversprechende Möglichkeit vorgestellt, um einen schnellen, aber sanften Entzug vom Erdöl einzuläuten. Eine unbequeme Periode des Erdöl-Fastens wird vor allem für Deutschland ein immer wahrscheinlicheres Zukunftsszenario um die stattfindende Rohstoff- und Energiewende zu bewältigen. Deshalb setzt auch die Politik auf verschiedene Programme, um den Aufbau der BioÖkonomie aktiv zu fördern. In diesem weiteren Artikel zur biobasierten Kreislaufwirtschaft lassen wir die Grundlagen vorerst hinter uns und werfen einen Blick auf die konkreten politischen Maßnahmen zur Unterstützung der BioÖkonomie.

Vorstellung BioÖkonomie Ziele der Politik in Deutschland

Deutschland setzt stärker auf die BioÖkonomie

In der deutschen Wikipedia wird der Artikel zur BioÖkonomie mit folgendem Satz eingeleitet:

„Die Bioökonomie ist die Ökonomie des Lebendigen, eine Fachbezeichnung für die Darstellung des ökonomischen Gehalts lebender Systeme.“

Wow, wenn das mal nicht umfassend formuliert ist! In jedem Fall lässt diese Definition viel Spielraum für unterschiedliche Interpretationen des häufig noch unbekannten Begriffs der BioÖkonomie. Einigkeit dürfte darüber bestehen, dass auch eine Gesellschaft ein lebendiges System ist. Eine tiefer gehende Beschäftigung mit der Ökonomie des Lebendigen ist demnach nicht nur aus wirtschaftlicher, sondern auch aus gesellschaftlicher (politischer) Perspektive interessant.

Fragen wir ganz konkret: Welche Rolle spielt die BioÖkonomie für die Bundespolitik in Deutschland?

Wenn man dem Aufbau einer biobasierten Kreislaufwirtschaft prinzipiell zustimmt, kann man die politischen Maßnahmen der vergangenen Jahre dankbar begrüßen. Im vergangenen Jahr hat sich das Tempo zum Aufbau der BioÖkonomie noch beschleunigt, was sicher auch die Vorreiter der BioÖkonomie freut.

Dass es sich hierbei nicht nur um die Behauptung eines BioÖkonomie-Befürworters handelt, möchte ich mit einem kurzen Rückblick auf laufende politische Programme belegen.

Politik 1: Nationaler Biomasseaktionsplan der Bundesregierung

Bereits vor über 4 Jahren (April 2009) wurde der erste politische Wurf getätigt, um die Nutzung der wertvollen und heimischen Ressource Biomasse weiter zu stärken. Unter der Bezeichnung Nationaler Biomasseaktionsplan für Deutschland wurde vom BMELV und BMU ein 30-seitiges Dokument verabschiedet, welches den gezielten Ausbau der Biomasse-Nutzung für Deutschland gestalten soll. Dabei setzt der Biomasseaktionsplan seinen Schwerpunkt auf die energetische Nutzung von Biomasse, also die Bioenergie.

„Mit dem Biomasseaktionsplan wird die Bioenergie in Deutschland effizient und nachhaltig ausgebaut. Damit leisten wir einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Wertschöpfung, insbesondere in den ländlichen Räumen“, Bundesagrarministerin Ilse Aigner.

Der Aufstieg der Bioenergie im Strommarkt hat bereits mit der Verabschiedung des Erneuerbaren-Energien-Gesetzes (EEG) im Jahr 2000 begonnen. Der Nationale Biomasseaktionsplan erweitert den gezielten Einsatz der Bioenergie auf den Wärmemarkt und Kraftstoffmarkt und formuliert Bedingungen für den weiteren Ausbau der Bioenergie (Nachhaltigkeit, Kaskadennutzung).

Bioenergie Ziele Politik Deutschland

[fusion_builder_container hundred_percent=“yes“ overflow=“visible“][fusion_builder_row][fusion_builder_column type=“1_1″ background_position=“left top“ background_color=““ border_size=““ border_color=““ border_style=“solid“ spacing=“yes“ background_image=““ background_repeat=“no-repeat“ padding=““ margin_top=“0px“ margin_bottom=“0px“ class=““ id=““ animation_type=““ animation_speed=“0.3″ animation_direction=“left“ hide_on_mobile=“no“ center_content=“no“ min_height=“none“][fusion_button color=“darkgreen“ size=“large“ link=“http://www.biomasse-nutzung.de/wp-content/bilder/Nationaler-Biomasseaktionsplan.pdf“ target=““]Download Nationaler Biomasseaktionsplan[/fusion_button]

Politik 2: Aktionsplan zur stofflichen Nutzung von Nachwachsenden Rohstoffen

Der Aktionsplan zur stofflichen Nutzung von Nachwachsenden Rohstoffen folgte 4 Monate nach dem Nationalen Biomasseaktionsplan (08.2009) und ergänzt diesen um die stofflichen Nutzungspfade für Biomasse. Das 40-seitige Dokument des BMELV nutzt nun offiziell den Begriff der biobasierten Wirtschaft und setzt sich für deren Aufbau ein.

Wichtige biobasierte Rohstoffe für die stofflichen Nutzungspfade zeigt die Übersicht der Agentur für Nachwachsende Rohstoffe e. V. (FNR).

BioÖkonomie Rohstoffe

Wenn wir uns jetzt noch die Handlungsfelder des zweiten Biomasse-Aktionsplans anschauen, entsteht ein Bild, welches die Komplexität und Vielfältigkeit der biobasierten Wirtschaft erahnen lässt.

  • Ölchemische Anwendungen
  • Biobasierte Werkstoffe und naturfaserverstärkte Kunststoffe
  • Zellstoffnutzung und Stärkeverarbeitung
  • Industrielle Biotechnologie
  • Bauen und Wohnen
  • Phytopharmaka und Kosmetik

Werden die Nutzungspfade für Biomasse der Land-, Forst-, Wasser- und Abfallwirtschaft noch um die Gewinnung von Nahrungs- und Futtermitteln ergänzt, haben wir alle Ausgangsstoffe beisammen, welche die bunte Rezeptur der BioÖkonomie auszeichnen.

[fusion_button color=“darkgreen“ size=“large“ link=“http://www.biomasse-nutzung.de/wp-content/bilder/Aktionsplan-stoffliche-nutzung-Nachwachsende-Rohstoffe.pdf“ target=““]Download Aktionsplan zur stofflichen Nutzung[/fusion_button]

Politik 3: Nationale Forschungsstrategie Bioökonomie 2030

Die vom BMBF erstellte Nationale Forschungsstrategie BioÖkonomie 2030 wurde am 10.11.2012 von der Bundesregierung beschlossen. Über die Forschung zur BioÖkonomie wird in einem der kommenden Artikel berichtet. An dieser Stelle nur die Übersicht der 5 genannten Handlungsfelder der Forschungsstrategie.

  • Weltweite Ernährung sichern
  • Agrarproduktion nachhaltig gestalten
  • Gesunde und sichere Lebensmittel produzieren
  • Nachwachsende Rohstoffe industriell nutzen
  • Energieträger auf Basis von Biomasse aufbauen

Bis 2016 plant die Bundesregierung über die Nationale Forschungsstrategie 2.4 Milliarden Euro für den Aufbau der BioÖkonomie zu investieren.

[fusion_button color=“darkgreen“ size=“large“ link=“http://www.biomasse-nutzung.de/wp-content/bilder/Nationale-Forschungsstrategie-BioOekonomie-2030-PDF-Download.pdf“ target=““]Download Nationale Forschungsstrategie[/fusion_button]

Politik 4: Bekanntgabe der „Politikstrategie BioÖkonomie“ für Deutschland

Die erst im vergangenen Monat (12.07.2013) verabschiedete Politikstrategie BioÖkonomie nimmt die Synthese aller Biomasse-Nutzungspfade vor und bündelt diese unter dem Begriff der BioÖkonomie.

 Übersicht BioÖkonomie Politik Strategien Deutschland

Wenn man so möchte, kann man die Politikstrategie BioÖkonomie als Erfahrungsbericht der vorangegangenen Aktionspläne lesen. Ein Auszug umreißt den Inhalt der 48 Seiten umfassenden und vom BMELV erstellten Strategie:

Die Politikstrategie Bioökonomie setzt Prioritäten für ein Fortschreiten in Richtung einer wissensbasierten Bioökonomie und zeigt Handlungsbedarf auf. Die Leitgedanken, strategischen Ansätze und Maßnahmen sollen dazu beitragen, die Potenziale der Bioökonomie in Deutschland im Rahmen eines nachhaltigen Wirtschaftens zu nutzen und helfen, den Strukturwandel hin zu einer biobasierten Wirtschaft zu stärken. Die strategischen Ansätze sind mit Blick auf die langfristigen Ziele weiterzuentwickeln und an neue Herausforderungen anzupassen. Der Erfolg der Strategie soll im Rahmen eines Fortschrittsberichts untersucht werden.

Der folgende Auszug aus der Politikstrategie BioÖkonomie fasst die Ziele der Strategie zusammen:

  • Die Bioökonomie muss wachsenden gesellschaftlichen Anforderungen an die Art, wie produziert wird, Rechnung tragen. Dies gilt beim Umwelt-, Klima-, Natur- und Tierschutz sowie bei der Einhaltung sozialer Standards
  • Die Ernährungssicherung hat auch im globalen Kontext Vorrang vor der Erzeugung von Rohstoffen für Industrie und Energie
  • Wo möglich und sinnvoll soll die Kaskaden- und Koppelnutzung von Biomasse realisiert werden
  • Für die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit der Bioökonomie sind gut ausgebildete und informierte Fachkräfte unentbehrlich
  • Die Chancen und Rahmenbedingungen für die Nutzung von Schlüsseltechnologien und ihr Transfer in die wirtschaftliche Nutzung sind zu verbessern
  • Ein enges Zusammenwirken politischer, wirtschaftlicher, wissenschaftlicher, ökologischer und sozialer Akteure ist bei der Entwicklung der Bioökonomie notwendig

Der BioÖkonomieRat ist als politisches Beratungsgremium aktiv und unterstützt die Bundesregierung beim Gestalten der langfristigen BioÖkonomie-Strategie.

[fusion_button color=“darkgreen“ size=“large“ link=“http://www.biomasse-nutzung.de/wp-content/bilder/Politikstrategie-BioOekonomie.pdf“ target=““]Download Politikstrategie BioÖkonomie[/fusion_button]

Weitere Artikel zur BioÖkonomie in Deutschland

Abschließend ein kleiner Ausblick auf die kommenden Artikel der BioÖkonomie-Reihe auf BiomassMuse. In diesem Artikel ging es um die politischen Ambitionen von Deutschland, eine biobasierte Kreislaufwirtschaft aufzubauen. Die Erforschung der BioÖkonomie wird in einem der kommenden Artikel vorgestellt. Außerdem wird es in einem der kommenden Artikel um die BioÖkonomie als vielversprechenden Auswege aus anhaltenden Bioenergie-Konfliktherden gehen (siehe Regenwaldabholzung, Tank-oder-Teller-Diskussion).

Was ist Ihre Meinung zur biobasierten Wirtschaft? Wie lange wird es dauern, bis wir die Energie- und Rohstoffwende weitgehend abgeschlossen haben?[/fusion_builder_column][/fusion_builder_row][/fusion_builder_container]

About the Author:

2 Comments

  1. Ron Kirchner 7. September 2013 at 11:46

    Vielen Dank Frau Schlim für diesen Hinweis! Ich habe das Datum angepasst (2010 statt 2013) und jetzt sollte es passen. In die Zukunft zu schauen wäre eine faszinierende Gabe, aber das können wohl nur die Wenigsten von uns ;-)

    Und ich stimme Ihnen zu, dass die Energie- und Rohstoffwende uns noch viele Jahrzehnte beschäftigen und die Arbeit an diesem Großprojekt wohl nicht so schnell ausgehen wird.

    Schöne Grüße

  2. Dora Schlim 6. September 2013 at 13:15

    Der Artikel ist sehr informativ, aber ist ein kleiner Fehler aufgefallen. Unter dem Punkt :Politik 3: Nationale Forschungsstrategie Bioökonomie 2030 steht „Die vom BMBF erstellte Nationale Forschungsstrategie BioÖkonomie 2030 wurde am 10.11.2013 von der Bundesregierung beschlossen“. Der 10. November 2013 ist doch aber erst in zwei Monaten. Ich denke es wird noch einige Jahrzehnte dauern, bis wir die Energie- und Rohstoffwende weitgehend abgeschlossen haben.

Leave A Comment

Please leave these two fields as-is:

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.