Cascade use of biomass - a way out of the raw material trap?

The most important function of biomass is to use it as food. In addition, there is the material use of biomass - for example in the form of wooden building materials or packaging material - and the energetic use. The energetic use ranges from the utilization of biogas for electricity and heat, the production of biofuels for motor vehicles, as an energy source for Pellet heaters to the not entirely uncontroversial co-combustion in power plants.

The dispute over wood is becoming more acute

Biomass with its diverse uses is in demand like never before. There is also an increasing awareness of problems that arise from their use. The long-standing “tank or plate” discussion is just one aspect of the biomass discourse: wood is also currently experiencing a renaissance, whether as a building material or carrier Wood energy and here, too, the conflicts between market participants intensify. Interest in wood includes, among others, the paper and pulp industry, the sawing industry, the chemical industry, the wood-based materials industry and the industries that process or process wood for energy use, such as the pellet industry.

There is also competition within the same usage segment, for example in energy use - do I use biomass to produce liquid fuels (Biomass to Liquid - BtL) or to generate heat and electricity in CHP systems? And last but not least, there are justified claims of nature and environmental protection to protect more forest areas than before.

The raw material wood grows again - biomass is a renewable raw material (NawaRo), but at the same time only available in finite quantities on the market, because the cultivation areas and growth rates are limited. The pressure to make demands on the forest is growing from all directions and within this area of ​​tension a viable solution has to be found with which all those involved - producers, industry and ultimately the individual - can live.

Photo cascade use wood

We have to use our raw materials more intelligently

Of course, instinctively one would like to advise to reduce the consumption of the raw materials mentioned. Given the current situation, however, it is very unlikely that the consumption of wood will decrease. Consumption will increase rather than decrease. But in addition, one does not want to make oneself more dependent on imports from other countries than is absolutely necessary. So what else can you do?

We have to use the existing raw materials sustainably, with little waste and in a variety of ways, in one word: we have to deal with them more intelligently, even away from recycling interests. The aim is to leverage existing efficiency potential in order to reduce competition between the players and to maintain our biomass potential in the long term.

The Wuppertal Institute for Climate, Environment and Energy GmbH outlined three concepts for multiple use of biomass in its "Wuppertal Paper: Cascade use of renewable raw materials" (No. 180, August 2009):

  1. Plant parts are used differently from the main product (by-product and co-product use)
  2. Plant parts are separated into energetic and material usable products (parallel use of one product)
  3. The same raw material is first used materially, then energetically - cascade use!  

 

Principle of cascade use graphics

Cascade use increases space and resource efficiency

Numbers 1 and 2 are good methods of preventing waste of parts of biomass use, but cascading use goes further: the approach to cascading use is to use biomass in the form of a chain several times and as often as possible, instead of just using it to be used once, e.g. for direct firewood burning. For example, after the first material use by recycling or reprocessing the raw material, multiple uses could be added to the life cycle of the material before it is used for energy purposes.

An example: Wood is taken from the forest and initially put to material use, for example in the form of a shelf, which after its use is returned to the manufacturer for reprocessing and sold again. Only after the shelf has changed hands several times is the raw material used for energy.

Wood fiber insulation materials or wood as a building material also shift the energetic use of a given amount of wood in the recycling chain. The example of “house building” makes it clear that a certain amount of wood can be used as material for years or even decades before it is used for energy production.

Even harmless waste wood from bulky waste (furniture, etc.) can often still be used as material for chipboard or other products - as many steps as possible should lie between material use and energetic use. The more meaningful intermediate steps that are inserted into the use chain, the better the final raw material and area efficiency of land use - the potential for added value increases.

The advantages of cascade grooving: the competition between the manufacturing sectors is decreasing, the raw material is being used more efficiently, so there is more to be made from the given raw materials and the pressure on the forest is decreasing. With regard to the sustainable management of our natural resources, cascade use is a central component in the handling of biomass.

Cascade use alone is not the only way out of the scarcity of raw materials: we will not be able to avoid new technical, structural and organizational solutions. But only with innovative concepts such as cascade use can we really manage the energy transition and create a crisis-proof and strong energy generation.

Thorben Frahm, Online editor at Heizungsfinder.de, Solaranlagen-Portal.com & Daemmen-und-Sanieren.de.

Post a comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Deutsch English
X

16 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 Google+ 16 Email -- 16 Flares ×

Die wichtigste Funktion von Biomasse liegt in der Nutzung als Nahrungsmittel. Dazu gesellen sich die stoffliche Nutzung von Biomasse – zum Beispiel in Form von Holzbaustoffen oder Verpackungsmaterial – und die energetische Nutzung. Die energetische Nutzung reicht von der Verwertung von Biogas für Elektrizität und Wärme, der Gewinnung von Biokraftstoffen für Kraftfahrzeuge, als Energieträger für Pelletheizungen bis hin zur nicht ganz unumstrittenen Mitverbrennung in Kraftwerken.

Der Streit um Holz gewinnt an Schärfe

Biomasse mit ihren vielfältigen Verwendungsmöglichkeiten ist gefragt wie nie zuvor.  Ebenso steigt das Bewusstsein für Probleme, die sich aus ihrer Nutzung ergeben. Die langjährige „Tank oder Teller“-Diskussion ist nur ein Aspekt des Biomassediskurses: auch Holz erlebt derzeit eine Renaissance, ob als Baustoff oder Träger der Holzenergie und auch hier verschärfen sich die Konflikte zwischen den Marktteilnehmern. An Holz hegen unter anderem die Papier- und Zellstoffindustrie, die Sägeindustrie, die chemische Industrie, die Holzwerkstoffindustrie und die Branchen, die Holz zur energetischen Nutzung be- oder weiterverarbeiten, wie die Pelletbranche, Interesse.

Auch innerhalb desselben Nutzungssegmentes, beispielsweise bei der energetischen Nutzung, entsteht Konkurrenz – nutze ich die Biomasse zur Gewinnung von Flüssigkraftstoffen (Biomass to Liquid – BtL), oder um Wärme und Strom in KWK-Anlagen zu erzeigen? Und nicht zuletzt bestehen begründete Ansprüche des Natur- und Umweltschutzes, mehr Waldflächen als bislang zu schützen.

Der Rohstoff Holz wächst nach – Biomasse ist ein nachwachsender Rohstoff (NawaRo), aber gleichzeitig immer nur in endlicher Menge auf dem Markt verfügbar, denn die Anbauflächen und Zuwachsraten sind begrenzt. Der Anspruchsdruck auf den Wald wächst also aus allen Richtungen und innerhalb dieses Spannungsfeldes muss eine tragfähige Lösung gefunden werden, mit dem alle Beteiligten – Produzenten, Industrie und schlussendlich auch das Individuum – leben können.

Foto Kaskadennutzung Holz

Wir müssen unsere Rohstoffe intelligenter nutzen

Instinktiv möchte man natürlich dazu raten,  den Verbrauch der genannten Rohstoffe zu senken. Dass der Verbrauch von Holz sinkt, ist angesichts der derzeitigen Lage allerdings sehr unwahrscheinlich. Der Verbrauch wird eher zu- als abnehmen. Aber zusätzlich möchte man sich nicht stärker von Importen aus anderen Staaten abhängig machen, als unbedingt geboten erscheint. Was kann man also noch tun?

Wir müssen die vorhandenen Rohstoffe nachhaltig, verschwendungsarm und vielgestaltig nutzen, in einem Wort: wir müssen intelligenter mit ihnen umgehen, auch abseits von Verwertungsinteressen. Es gilt, vorhandene Effizienzpotentiale zu heben, um die Konkurrenz zwischen den Akteuren zu senken und unsere Biomassepotentiale langfristig zu erhalten.

Drei Konzepte zur Mehrfachnutzung von Biomasse hat das Wuppertal Institut für Klima, Umwelt, Energie GmbH in seinem „Wuppertal Paper: Kaskadennutzung von nachwachsenden Rohstoffen“ (Nr. 180, August 2009) skizziert:

  1. Pflanzenteile werden gegenüber dem Hauptprodukt anderweitig genutzt (Neben- und Koppelproduktnutzung)
  2. Pflanzenteile werden in energetische und stofflich nutzbare Produkte getrennt (parallele Nutzung eines Produktes)
  3. Derselbe Rohstoff wird erst stofflich, dann energetisch genutzt – Kaskadennutzung!  

 

Prinzip Kaskadennutzung Grafik

Kaskadennutzung steigert Flächen- und Ressourceneffizienz

Nummern 1 und 2 sind zwar gute Methoden, um der Verschwendung von Teilen der Biomassenutzung vorzubeugen, aber die Kaskadennutzung reicht weiter: der Ansatz bei der Kaskadennutzung besteht darin, Biomasse in Form einer Kette mehrmals und so oft wie möglich stofflich zu nutzen, anstatt sie nur einmal zu verwenden wie z.B. bei der direkten Scheitholzverbrennung. Beispielsweise könnte man nach der ersten stofflichen Nutzung per Recycling  bzw. Neubearbeitung des Rohstoffs noch mehrfache Nutzungen in den Lebenszyklus des Stoffes einfügen, bevor die energetische Nutzung erfolgt.

Ein Beispiel: Holz wird dem Wald entnommen und vorerst der stofflichen Nutzung zugeführt, zum Beispiel in Form eines Regals, das nach seiner Verwendung wieder dem Hersteller zur Neuaufarbeitung übergeben und neu verkauft wird.  Erst nachdem das Regal mehrmals den Besitzer gewechselt hat, wird der Rohstoff energetisch verwendet.

Auch Holzfaserdämmstoffe oder Holz als Baustoff verschieben die energetische Nutzung einer gegebenen Menge Holz in der Verwertungskette.  Am Beispiel „Hausbau“ wird deutlich, dass man eine bestimmte Menge Holz über Jahre oder gar Jahrzehnte stofflich nutzen kann, bevor man es zur Energiegestehung verwendet.

Auch unbedenkliche Althölzer aus dem Sperrmüll (Möbel usw.) können oft noch als Material für Spanplatten oder andere Produkte herhalten – zwischen der stofflichen Nutzung und der energetischen Nutzung sollten so viele Nutzungsschritte liegen wie möglich. Je mehr sinnvolle Zwischenschritte in die Nutzungskette eingefügt werden, desto besser fällt die schlussendliche Rohstoff- und Flächeneffizienz der Landnutzung aus – das Wertschöpfungspotential steigt.

Die Vorteile der Kaskadennutung: die Konkurrenz zwischen den verarbeitenden Branchen sinkt, der Rohstoff wird effizienter genutzt, aus den gegebenen Rohstoffen lässt sich also mehr machen und der Nutzungsdruck auf den Wald sinkt. Die Kaskadennutzung ist im Hinblick auf eine nachhaltige Bewirtschaftung unserer natürlichen Ressourcen ein zentraler Baustein im Umgang mit Biomasse.

Ein alleiniger Ausweg aus der Rohstoffknappheit ist die Kaskadennutzung für sich genommen nicht: um neue technische, strukturelle und organisatorische Lösungen werden wir nicht herumkommen. Aber nur mit innovativen Konzepten wie der Kaskadennutzung können wir die Energiewende wirklich stemmen und eine krisenfeste und starke Energieerzeugung schaffen.

Thorben Frahm, Online Redakteur bei Heizungsfinder.de, Solaranlagen-Portal.com & Daemmen-und-Sanieren.de.