Even if THE WORLD only recently reported that Angela Merkel's constituency is floating on petroleum, this find does little to change the fact that Germany continues to have no significant oil reserves. Estimates assume that a maximum of 40 million barrels of crude oil can be extracted from the new oil deposits in Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania and Brandenburg in a conventional manner. Sounds a lot at first. If you compare this amount with the German daily consumption of just under 3 million barrels of oil, you have to be disappointed to find that the new treasures can only satisfy our hunger for oil in just under 2 weeks.

Although Germany does not have any relevant mining facilities for black gold, it is still ahead of France, Italy and Great Britain in terms of annual consumption in the European Union. Worldwide, only the USA, China, Japan, Russia and India consume more oil than Germany.

The offers a current insight into the development of global oil production and regional consumption Statistical Review of World Energy 2013 the BP ("beyond petroleum").

Was ist BioÖkonomie?

Bioeconomy as a path to a bio-based circular economy

Many boundary conditions underline that it is important for Germany in particular to think about petroleum alternatives in good time. In this way, dependency on oil imports can be eased, for which Germany is worth almost 60 billion euros (Source: Federal Statistical Office) annually, which corresponds to 2 percent of GDP.

The use of biomass as a renewable raw material is one of the ways around Withdrawal from petroleum to manage something. Renewable biomass from agriculture, forestry, water and waste management is the resource of a bio-based circular economy and the central commodity of the BioEconomy.

The bioeconomy between biotechnology and bionics

The bioeconomy is still emerging and many players are influencing the melting pot of this new industry. This colorful diversity also means that depending on the regional origin and the professional background, different priorities are set in the bioeconomy. In particular, the fields of action that are added to the bio-based economy are not always congruent and have led to some scientific disputes in recent years. In addition to food, bioenergy, biomaterials or bioprocesses, the USA also includes biomedicine in the bioeconomy, while the EU only marginally adds this area.

The fact is that the bioeconomy is strongly influenced by the ideas of biotechnology and bionics and is based in a certain way on their results and products. While green, red, gray, white, brown and blue biotechnology primarily develops processes and products that deliver the goods for the bioeconomy, the bionics research branch is inspired by the living systems of biology and nature and replicates these technical ones. Bionics and biotechnology combined promise a creative but application-oriented branch of industry around the valuable substance biomass.

So let's be clear: biotechnology, bionics and bioeconomy are closely intertwined and complement each other. The History of biotechnology started at the beginning of the 20th century and since then has had a profound impact on our lives and has enriched them. The German Industry Association for Biotechnology e. V. (DIB) sees in the bioeconomy a welcome further development of their technology-oriented approach.

Biotechnologie und BioÖkonomie

Even if the complexity of the bioeconomy does not necessarily simplify its structure, we should perhaps just be grateful for the colorful appearance of the new branch of industry. After all, we also live in a multicultural and globalized world.

Multicultural united world of bioeconomy

Admittedly, the heading describes an ideal rather than the status quo of the bioeconomy that has already been practiced. But firstly, you will still be allowed to dream and secondly, there are already projects for innovative biomass usage paths that are already approaching this ideal today. Technologies and concepts of the bioeconomy come from different parts of the world and are shaped regionally by the dominating biomass electricity.

Biomass is growing everywhere and is the valuable result of sun-driven photosynthesis. There is plant life on all continents and in many countries there is a form of economic agriculture, forestry, water and waste management. In the next article, some companies, associations and institutes are presented that act as actors in the bioeconomy.

What do you think about the bioeconomy and the importance of a European oil withdrawal?

0 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 Google+ 0 Email -- 0 Flares ×

Auch wenn DIE WELT erst kürzlich berichtet hat, dass Angela Merkels Wahlbezirk auf Erdöl schwimmt, ändert dieser Fund nur wenig an der Tatsache, dass Deutschland weiterhin über keine nennenswerten Erdölvorkommen verfügt. Schätzungen gehen davon aus, dass aus den neuen Erdöl-Lagerstätten in Mecklenburg-Vorpommern und Brandenburg maximal 40 Millionen Barrel Erdöl auf konventionelle Art gefördert werden können. Hört sich erstmal viel an. Wenn man diese Menge aber dem deutschen Tagesverbrauch von knapp 3 Millionen Barrel Erdöl gegenüberstellt, muss man enttäuscht feststellen, dass die neuen Schätze nur knapp 2 Wochen unseren Hunger nach Erdöl stillen können.

Obwohl Deutschland über keine relevanten Förderstätten für das Schwarzes Gold verfügt liegt es beim Jahresverbrauch in der Europäischen Union noch vor Frankreich, Italien und Großbritannien. Weltweit verbrauchen nur die USA, China, Japan, Russland und Indien mehr Erdöl als Deutschland.

Einen aktuellen Einblick in die Entwicklung der globalen Erdölproduktion und des regionalen Verbrauchs bietet der Statistical Review of World Energy 2013 der BP („beyond petroleum“).

Was ist BioÖkonomie?

BioÖkonomie als Weg in eine biobasierte Kreislaufwirtschaft

Viele Randbedingungen untermauern, dass es gerade für Deutschland wichtig ist, rechtzeitig über Erdöl-Alternativen nachzudenken. Auf diesem Wege kann die Abhängigkeit von Erdöl-Importen gelockert werden, für die Deutschland immerhin knapp 60 Milliarden Euro (Quelle: Statistisches Bundesamt) im Jahr ausgibt, was 2 Prozent des BIP entspricht.

Das Setzen auf Biomasse als nachwachsendem Rohstoff ist eine der Möglichkeiten, um den Entzug vom Erdöl zu bewältigen. Nachwachsende Biomasse aus der Land-, Forst-, Wasser- und Abfallwirtschaft ist der Wertstoff einer biobasierten Kreislaufwirtschaft und das zentrale Handelsgut der BioÖkonomie.

Die BioÖkonomie zwischen Biotechnologie und Bionik

Die BioÖkonomie ist noch im Entstehen begriffen und viele Akteure nehmen Einfluss auf den Schmelztiegel dieses neuen Wirtschaftszweigs. Diese bunte Vielfalt bedeutet aber auch, dass abhängig von der regionalen Herkunft und dem fachlichen Hintergrund unterschiedliche Schwerpunkte bei der BioÖkonomie gesetzt werden. Vor allem die Handlungsfelder, welche zur biobasierten Wirtschaft hinzugezählt werden sind nicht immer deckungsgleich und führten in den vergangenen Jahren zu einigen wissenschaftlichen Disputen. So zählen die USA neben Nahrungsmitteln, Bioenergie, Biomaterialien oder Bioprozessen auch die Biomedizin zur BioÖkonomie hinzu, während die EU diesen Bereich nur am Rande dazunimmt.

Fakt ist, dass die BioÖkonomie stark von den Ideen der Biotechnologie und der Bionik beeinflusst ist und in gewisser Hinsicht auf deren Ergebnissen und Erzeugnissen basiert. Während die grüne, rote, graue, weiße, braune und blaue Biotechnologie vor allem Verfahren und Produkte entwickelt, welche die Waren für die BioÖkonomie liefern, lässt sich der Forschungszweig der Bionik von den lebendigen Systemen der Biologie und Natur inspirieren und baut diese technische nach. Bionik und Biotechnologie kombiniert versprechen einen kreativen, aber anwendungsorientierten Wirtschaftszweig rund um die wertvolle Substanz Biomasse.

Halten wir also fest: Biotechnologie, Bionik und BioÖkonomie sind eng miteinander verflochten und ergänzen sich gegenseitig. Die Geschichte der Biotechnologie hat bereits Anfang des 20 Jahrhunderts begonnen und seit dem unser Leben bis in den Alltag hinein stark beeinflusst – häufig bereichert. Auch die Deutsche Industrievereinigung Biotechnologie e. V. (DIB) sieht in der BioÖkonomie eine willkommene Weiterentwicklung ihres technologieorientierten Ansatzes.

Biotechnologie und BioÖkonomie

Auch wenn die Komplexität der BioÖkonomie ihren Aufbau nicht unbedingt vereinfacht, sollten wir vielleicht einfach dankbar für dieses bunte Erscheinungsbild des neuen Wirtschaftszweigs sein. Immerhin leben wir ja auch in einer multikulturellen und globalisierten Welt.

Multikulturell vereinte Welt der BioÖkonomie

Zugegeben, die Überschrift beschreibt eher ein Ideal als den schon gelebten Status Quo der BioÖkonomie. Aber Erstens wird man ja noch träumen dürfen und Zweitens gibt es bereits Projekte für innovative Biomasse-Nutzungspfade, welche sich bereits heute diesem Ideal annähern. Technologien und Konzepte der BioÖkonomie kommen aus unterschiedlichen Teilen der Welt und werden durch den jeweils dominierenden Biomasse-Strom regional geprägt.

Biomasse wächst überall und ist das wertvolle Ergebnis der sonnenbetriebenen Photosynthese. Auf allen Kontinenten gibt es pflanzliches Leben und in vielen Staaten eine Form von wirtschaftlicher Land-, Forst-, Wasser- und Abfallwirtschaft. In einem der nächsten Artikel werden einige Unternehmen, Verbände und Institute vorgestellt, die als Akteure der BioÖkonomie auftreten.

Was denken Sie über die BioÖkonomie und die Bedeutung eines europäischen Erdöl-Entzugs?