Does the bioeconomy need science? Very critically and almost cynically, scientists are the part of our fellow citizens who play thought chess in an elite ivory tower far from reality, provide us with fear of the future and with their institutes and experiments annually around 4.5 billion euros (2011) in tax money (1.3 % of the state budget) powder. I still remember the publication of the Bioenergy study by the Leopoldina in summer 2012. A study that reads like an arrogant and not at all objective billing with the biogenic energy sources. A one-sided and extreme Anti-bioenergy campaign with media impact, whose echo (acceptance problems) the industry is still struggling with today. a Bioenergy Enthusiast it is difficult for this sustainable blow National Academy of Sciences to forgive. But every medal is known to always have two sides and the brightness of science generously compensates for the radiance of the dark.

Licht und Schatten von Wissenschaft und Forschung

The bright side of science and research

Many researchers I have been able to get to know endure the balancing act of their guild with composure or even dignity. Just like the most passionate among the bioenergy players. The disciplined work in the research laboratory or technical center of a scientific institute is (unfortunately) not only unlimited joy, but often patient work in the service of science. Perhaps the attraction for science and research can be cited by Justus von Liebig, Founder of organic chemistry (radical theory, Liebig's minimum law), can be modeled somewhat.

& #8222; Science only starts to get interesting where it ends. & #8220; & #8211; Justus von Liebig

& #8230; and the humble road to the edge of a science or scientific method is often long and rocky.

If you like, many scientists take on the victim of routine and sometimes frustrating research (laboratory work!) In order to be able to better describe our environment, to detect dangers at an early stage or to prepare application-oriented solutions for social problems.

Juggling theories and terms like in a language that is only understood in a sparsely populated country far from everyday life requires personal sacrifice. Despite all criticism of science, I have great respect for everyone who dedicates his life to science. And let's not forget that 400 years ago, scientists could even be burned at the stake if they closed inspiring theories have set up. One of the best known examples is the tragic one Fate of the scientist Giordano Bruno.

Benoît Mandelbrot, mathematician and modern natural philosopher, has in addition to his Discovery and description of the fractals also said something inspiring about science. A quote that sums up the essential importance of science for everyday life.

& #8222; The goal of science has always been to reduce the complexity of the world to simple rules. & #8220;

In my eyes we are all too scientist and Artists. In different disciplines, and not always as a defining characteristic, but we all bring curiosity and creativity as important prerequisites.

At this point, the small laudatory speech on science comes to an end and we turn to research on the bioeconomy in Germany (phew, I thought he never got to the point).

Forschung und Wissenschaft zur biobasierten Kreislaufwirtschaft

Science and research on the bioeconomy in Germany and Europe

in the Lisbon Treaty which was signed in 2007 and entered into force at the end of 2009, the signatory states have committed to spending at least 3 percent of their GDP on research and development (R&D) by 2020. The aim of this measure is Make Europe the most competitive and dynamic knowledge-based economy in the world.

In Germany we can chill the sparkling wine, because we already have 2011 2.9 percent of GDP for research and development invests and are on the verge of meeting the 2020 target. According to information provided by the BMBF for 2011, the federal government, states, municipalities, business and private households have spent a total of 245 billion euros on related topics in education and research. An increase of 31 billion euros compared to expenditure in 2008.

The growing one also benefits from this positive development Branch of the bioeconomy.

Already in the article about the Policy on bioeconomy in Germany was published as one of the four political acts National Research Strategy Bioeconomy 2030 presented. The funds made available illustrate the importance that is attached to the bioeconomy. The lion's share of state funding for the bioeconomy up to 2016, namely 1.6 billion euros (out of 2.4 billion euros), flows into research projects on the bio-based economy.

Funding programs for research into the bioeconomy

The project sponsor Jülich (PtJ) is responsible for the distribution of the funds Programs to promote research and science for the bioeconomy cared for. Here is an overview of various funding initiatives:

The programs promote both basic research and application-oriented research on the bioeconomy.

BioÖkonomie Forschung und Wissenschaft

Scientific institutes where research into the bioeconomy takes place

Let's take a look at the scientific players who are already researching the bioeconomy. Which institutes and universities advance research and science on the bio-based circular economy in Germany and are therefore committed to the success of the energy and raw materials transition?

The two most important actors for me are the German Biomass Research Center (DBFZ) and the University of Hohenheim. Both have been committed to researching the for many years bioenergy which is one of the major areas of the bioeconomy.

One of four main research areas of the DBFZ is the development of concepts for biorefineries, This focus of the research center for the industrial use of biomass is divided into five working groups:

  • process simulation
  • Biofuels and biorefinery technologies
  • Total System Review
  • Fuel characterization / engine test benches
  • Syngas early position

The main focus here is on the provision of fuels and thus on the energetic use of biomass. On the top cluster & #8222; BioEconomy & #8220; who is based in Central Germany and to which the DBFZ belongs, I will go into more detail in an upcoming article on the economic actors in the bioeconomy.

The University of Hohenheim received a grant from the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) at the beginning of the year in order to build up an international network for scientists working in the bioeconomy. On the Website of the University of Hohenheim you can read that & #8222; the university wants to pool its competences in a new interdisciplinary research focus on bioeconomy and wants to become one of the world's leading universities in this field & #8220 ;. For this purpose Hohenheim works with partner universities in Brazil, Denmark, Canada and Mexico. With the establishment of an international network, one of the points of the Political strategy bioeconomy implemented (field of action C Education and teaching), which was adopted in summer (July 2013).

Also on the European Biomass Conference 2013 the bioeconomy was at the center of the debate and the main topic in Copenhagen is Building a bio-based society.

Bioeconomy needs science and research!

The bio-based circular economy is still at the beginning of its career in terms of its daily use. The fossil raw materials petroleum and natural gas dominate our economy by far and their use has been continuously expanded and optimized in the past century. Due to the finite nature of fossil raw materials and the increasing demand for them, the 21st century requires a rethinking of society and the search for alternatives. The valuable substance Biomass as a raw material for the bioeconomy supports the difficult Withdrawal from petroleum, A bio-based economy allows the same flexibility as a fossil fuel company, but adds the characteristics nachwachsend, globally available and biodegradable.

Science and research are the most important tools to build on the success of the fossil fuel economy and to overcome its conflicts of use with the help of a bio-based circular economy. I am looking forward to the concepts and technologies that will surprise us in the coming years!

If you are an employee, student or doctoral candidate at a research institute or chair that focuses on the bioeconomy, then please briefly present the focus of your research work in a comment! The world of the bioeconomy is so diverse that there are numerous scientific actors who could not be discussed in this article.

0 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 Google+ 0 Email -- 0 Flares ×

Braucht die BioÖkonomie die Wissenschaft? Sehr kritisch und fast schon zynisch betrachtet sind Wissenschaftler der Teil unserer Mitbürger, die in einem elitären Elfenbeinturm fern ab der Realität Gedanken-Schach spielen, uns mit Zukunftsängsten versorgen und mit ihren Instituten und Experimenten jährlich rund 4.5 Mrd. Euro (2011) an Steuergelder (1.3 % des Staatshaushalts) verpulvern. Ich erinnere mich noch gut an die Veröffentlichung der Bioenergie-Studie der Leopoldina im Sommer 2012. Eine Studie, die sich wie eine überhebliche und so gar nicht objektive Abrechnung mit den biogenen Energieträgern liest. Eine einseitige und äußerst medienwirksame Anti-Bioenergie-Kampagne, mit deren Echo (Akzeptanzprobleme) die Branche noch heute zu kämpfen hat. Einem Bioenergie-Enthusiast fällt es schwer diesen nachhaltigen Schlag der Nationalen Akademie der Wissenschaften zu verzeihen. Aber jede Medaille hat bekanntlich immer zwei Seiten und die Helle der Wissenschaft kompensiert die Strahlkraft der Dunklen großzügig.

Licht und Schatten von Wissenschaft und Forschung

Die helle Seite von Wissenschaft und Forschung

Viele Forscher die ich bisher kennenlernen durfte ertragen den Image-Spagat ihrer Zunft mit Fassung oder sogar Würde. Genauso wie es auch die leidenschaftlichsten unter den Branchenakteuren der Bioenergie tun. Die disziplinierte Arbeit im Forschungslabor oder Technikum eines wissenschaftlichen Instituts ist ja (leider) nicht nur grenzenlose Freude, sondern häufig geduldiges Arbeiten im Dienste der Wissenschaft. Vielleicht kann die Anziehung für Wissenschaft und Forschung durch ein Zitat von Justus von Liebig, Begründer der Organischen Chemie (Radikaltheorie, Liebigsche Minimumgesetz), etwas nachempfunden werden.

„Die Wissenschaft fängt eigentlich erst da an interessant zu werden, wo sie aufhört.“ – Justus von Liebig

…und der demütige Weg an den Rand einer Wissenschaft oder der wissenschaftlichen Methode ist oft weit und steinig.

Wenn man so möchte, nehmen viele Wissenschaftler das Opfer routinierter und manchmal frustrierender Forschungstätigkeit (Laborarbeit!) auf sich, um unsere Umwelt besser beschreiben zu können, Gefahren frühzeitig zu entdecken oder anwendungsorientierte Lösungen für gesellschaftliche Probleme vorzubereiten.

Mit Theorien und Begriffen wie in einer Sprache zu jonglieren, die nur in einem dünn besiedelten Land fern ab des Alltags verstanden wird, erfordert persönliche Opfer. Bei aller Kritik an der Wissenschaft habe ich deshalb großen Respekt vor jedem, der sein Leben der Wissenschaft widmet. Und vergessen wir nicht, dass Wissenschaftler vor 400 Jahren sogar noch auf dem Scheiterhaufen verbrannt werden konnten, wenn sie zu inspirierende Theorien aufgestellt haben. Eines der bekanntesten Beispiele ist sicher das tragische Schicksal des Wissenschaftlers Giordano Bruno.

Benoît Mandelbrot, Mathematiker und moderner Naturphilosoph, hat zusätzlich zu seiner Entdeckung und Beschreibung der Fraktale auch etwas Inspirierendes über die Wissenschaft gesagt. Ein Zitat, welches eine wesentliche Bedeutung der Wissenschaft für den Alltag auf den Punkt bringt.

„Das Ziel der Wissenschaft ist es immer gewesen, die Komplexität der Welt auf simple Regeln zu reduzieren.“

In meinen Augen sind wir alle auch Wissenschaftler und Künstler. In verschiedenen Disziplinen zwar und nicht immer als dem prägende Charakterzug, aber Neugierde und Kreativität als wichtige Voraussetzungen bringen wir alle mit.

An dieser Stelle findet die kleine Laudatio auf die Wissenschaft ihr Ende und wir wenden uns der Forschung zur BioÖkonomie in Deutschland zu (puh, ich dachte schon er kommt nie zum Punkt).

Forschung und Wissenschaft zur biobasierten Kreislaufwirtschaft

Wissenschaft und Forschung zur BioÖkonomie in Deutschland und Europa

Im Vertrag von Lissabon der 2007 unterzeichnet wurde und Ende 2009 in Kraft getreten ist, haben sich die unterzeichnenden Staaten dazu verpflichtet, dass sie bis zum Jahr 2020 mindestens 3 Prozent ihres BIP für Forschung und Entwicklung (F&E) ausgeben. Ziel dieser Maßnahme ist, Europa zum wettbewerbsfähigsten und dynamischsten wissensgestützten Wirtschaftsraum der Welt zu machen.

In Deutschland können wir den Sekt schon mal kalt stellen, denn bereits 2011 haben wir 2.9 Prozent des BIP für Forschung und Entwicklung investiert und stehen kurz vor der Erfüllung des Ziels für 2020. Den Angaben des BMBF für 2011 zur Folge haben Bund, Länder, Kommunen, Wirtschaft und private Haushalte zusammen ganze 245 Milliarden Euro für die verwandten Themen Bildung und Forschung ausgegeben. Ein Anstieg um 31 Milliarde Euro verglichen mit den Ausgaben 2008.

Von dieser erfreulichen Entwicklung profitiert auch der wachsende Wirtschaftszweig der BioÖkonomie.

Bereits in dem Artikel über die Politik zur BioÖkonomie in Deutschland wurde als einer der vier politischen Akte die Veröffentlichung der Nationalen Forschungsstrategie BioÖkonomie 2030 vorgestellt. Die zur Verfügung gestellten Fördermittel verdeutlichen den Stellenwert, welcher der BioÖkonomie zugemessen wird. Der Löwenanteil der staatlichen Förderung für die BioÖkonomie bis 2016, nämlich 1.6 Milliarden Euro (von 2.4 Mrd Euro), fließt in Forschungsvorhaben zur biobasierten Wirtschaft.

Förderprogramme zur Erforschung der BioÖkonomie

Mit der Verteilung der Gelder ist hauptsächlich der Projektträger Jülich (PtJ) betraut, welcher verschiedene Programme zur Förderung der Forschung und Wissenschaft für die BioÖkonomie betreut. Hier ein Überblick verschiedener Förderinitiativen:

Die Programme fördern sowohl die Grundlagenforschung, als auch die anwendungsorientierte Forschung zur BioÖkonomie.

BioÖkonomie Forschung und Wissenschaft

Wissenschaftliche Institute an denen zur BioÖkonomie geforscht wird

Werfen wir einen Blick auf die wissenschaftlichen Akteure, die sich bereits mit der Erforschung der BioÖkonomie beschäftigen. Welche Institute und Universitäten bringen Forschung und Wissenschaft zur biobasierten Kreislaufwirtschaft in Deutschland voran und setzen sich somit für das Gelingen der Energie- und Rohstoffwende ein?

Die beiden wichtigsten Akteure sind für mich das Deutsche BiomasseForschungsZentrum (DBFZ) und die Universität Hohenheim. Beide setzen sich bereits seit viele Jahren für die Erforschung der Bioenergie ein, welche eines der großen Teilgebiete der BioÖkonomie ist.

Einer der vier Forschungsschwerpunkte des DBFZ ist die Entwicklung von Konzepten für Bioraffinerien. Dieser Schwerpunkt des Forschungszentrums zur industrielle Nutzung von Biomasse unterteilt sich in wiederum in fünf Arbeitsgruppen:

  • Prozesssimulation
  • Biokraftstoffe und Bioraffinerietechnologien
  • Gesamtsystembewertung
  • Kraftstoffcharakterisierung/ Motorprüfstände
  • Synthesegasbereitsstellung

Der Anwendungsschwerpunkt liegt auch hier auf der Bereitstellung von Kraftstoffen und somit auf der energetischen Nutzung von Biomasse. Auf den Spitzencluster „BioEconomy“ der in Mitteldeutschland angesiedelt ist und zu dem auch das DBFZ gehört, werde ich in einem kommenden Artikel über die wirtschaftlichen Akteure der BioÖkonomie näher eingehen.

Die Universität Hohenheim hat Anfang des Jahres einen Fördererzuschlag des Deutschen Akademischen Austauschdienstes (DAAD) erhalten, um ein internationales Netzwerk für Wissenschaftler aufzubauen, die sich mit BioÖkonomie beschäftigen. Auf der Internetseite der Universität Hohenheim ist zu lesen, dass „die Universität ihre Kompetenzen in einem neuen interdisziplinären Forschungsschwerpunkt Bio-Ökonomie bündeln und eine der weltweit führenden Hochschulen auf diesem Gebiet werden will“. Dafür arbeitet Hohenheim mit Partner-Universitäten in Brasilien, Dänemark, Kanada und Mexiko zusammen. Mit dem Aufbau eines internationalen Netzwerks wird bereits einer der Punkte der Politikstrategie BioÖkonomie umgesetzt (Handlungsfeld C Ausbildung und Lehre), welche im Sommer (Juli 2013) verabschiedet wurde.

Auch auf der Europäischen Biomasse Konferenz 2013 stand die BioÖkonomie im Zentrum der Debatte und das Rahmenthema in Kopenhagen lautet Aufbau einer biobasierten Gesellschaft.

BioÖkonomie braucht Wissenschaft und Forschung!

Bezogen auf ihre Einsatzmengen im Alltag steht die biobasierte Kreislaufwirtschaft noch am Anfang ihrer Karriere. Die fossilen Rohstoffe Erdöl und Erdgas dominieren mit weitem Vorsprung unsere Wirtschaft und ihr Einsatz wurde im vergangen Jahrhundert ständig erweitert und optimiert. Das 21. Jahrhundert erfordert wegen der Endlichkeit der fossilen Rohstoffe und der gleichzeitig steigenden Nachfrage nach diesen ein gesellschaftliches Umdenken und die Suche nach Alternativen. Die wertvolle Substanz Biomasse als Rohstoff der BioÖkonomie unterstützt den schwierigen Entzug vom Erdöl. Eine biobasierte Wirtschaft ermöglicht die gleiche Flexibilität wie eine fossil Betriebene, ergänzt diese aber um die Eigenschaften nachwachsend, global verfügbar und biologisch abbaubar.

Um auf die Erfolge der fossilen Wirtschaft aufzubauen und ihre Nutzungskonflikte mit Hilfe einer biobasierten Kreislaufwirtschaft zu überwinden sind Wissenschaft und Forschung die wichtigsten Hilfsmittel. Ich bin gespannt auf die Konzepte und Technologien die uns in den kommenden Jahren überraschen werden!

Wenn Sie Mitarbeiter/in, Student/in oder Doktorant/in an einem Forschungsinstitut oder Lehrstuhl sind, welches/welcher sich auf die BioÖkonomie konzentriert, dann stellen Sie die Schwerpunkte ihrer Forschungsarbeit gerne kurz in einem Kommentar vor! Die Welt der BioÖkonomie ist so vielfältig, dass es zahlreiche wissenschaftliche Akteure gibt, die in diesem Artikel nicht zur Sprache kommen konnten.