Sustainability of biomass and the trauma of bioenergy enthusiasts

Let's say it as it is, the topic of “sustainability” is already hanging out to many. It's a bit like "sustainability - the new black" and many try to trim this elegant costume for their purposes. The bubble-like success of the sustainability ideal and the inflationary use of the term raise fears that in a few years hardly anyone will want to deal with this topic. Like an earwig song that you sing along enthusiastically for the first 10 times, but you'd like to throw the radio out of your window the 20th time. For the bioenergy industry, the term sustainability has also become a kind of trauma, which has once blossomed advocates of this renewable energy form into committed opponents. In this article there are some arguments and numbers on the somewhat annoying but still important topic of sustainability and its importance for bioenergy.

Basics of the concept of sustainability

The issue of sustainability is appallingly complex, making it difficult to define it clearly. In this context, I would therefore only like to briefly discuss the origin of the sustainability movement.

The German-speaking term "sustainability" was already used in 1713 by the German forest scientist Hans Carl von Carlowitz shaped, who used this in connection with the establishment of sustainable forestry. We also know the ideas of sustainable use of nature from the culture of the Indians. At the current heyday of sustainability, the published in 1987 Report contributed to the Brundtland Commission, who formulated a concept for sustainable development. The frequently quoted key message is:

"Sustainable development is a development that satisfies the needs of the present without risking that future generations cannot meet their own needs."

Another frequently cited result of the commission was the sustainability triangle, which describes the different dimensions that have to be taken into account for sustainable development.

Sustainability triangle Brundtland Commission The goal of a sustainable way of life is therefore the long-term sustainable fusion of the ecological, social and economic goals of our society. Even if the environmentalists do not like to hear, sustainability is not an argument that is limited to ecological development. Environmental protection is important, but creating jobs or improving world food are no less honorable goals and sometimes in direct conflict with environmental protection.

Further information on the term sustainability can be found in the Lexicon of sustainability.

Environmental protection and climate protection are two persistent companions

This experience has allowed bioenergy to experience firsthand in recent years and I assert that the bioenergy industry has taken the demands of environmental and climate protection representatives to heart and has drawn appropriate lessons from the sometimes very harsh criticism.

The term sustainability concerns and confuses the public debate and in practice the different target corridors for environmental and climate protection are often mutually exclusive. Although the motivations for environmental and climate protection are similar, the representatives of both movements rarely agree on the assessment of social developments. A current example are the conflicting goals that result from the expansion of the network for the further energy transition.

Shocked girl

The cultivation of energy crops and the use of bioenergy sources are viewed critically by both environmentalists and climate protectionists. While some are Deforestation of rainforests and condemning the increasing maize of landscapes (monocultures), the others criticize the non-neutral carbon footprint of biofuels. Especially when it comes to central and industrial bioenergy, both parties hardly say a good word. On the other hand, many economists see the strengths for the further expansion of the industry above all because production costs can be reduced and efficiency can be increased.

For some years now there has been a ban on first generation biofuels and the introduction of a ILUC factor discussed. In my opinion, both measures are very drastic and together with the proposals of the EU's climate policy department Change in biofuel targets put the pistol on the chest of most of today's bioenergy.

If the bioenergy industry succeeds, despite all justified criticism of the critics, to respond to their demands, then the use of bioenergy will play a pioneering role for sustainable development not only from an economic and social perspective, but also from an ecological perspective. That there are already many successes here, more on that in a later section.

Uwe R. Fritsche - one of the hottest and best bioenergy critics ?!

I have long considered whether to write the following and more personal section on bioenergy sustainability. Ultimately, I chose it because I'm afraid that no one else would care about this so important point for the rest Expansion of bioenergy will write. Ultimately, however, the bioenergy blog was created precisely for this open discussion about bioenergy. Why is?

At the specialist dialogue on sustainability and Co-combustion of biomass I heard a lecture by a bioenergy player that you cannot avoid in the current bioenergy debate because it is so omnipresent. Unfortunately, I cannot say that I am only happy because I perceive him as one of the sharpest and most thorough critics of bioenergy. I do not know whether he would describe himself as a keen critic, but the measures he has taken in dealing with bioenergy threaten above all the very basics of the still young biofuel production in Europe. We are talking about Uwe R. Fritsche, the scientific director of the newly founded International Institute for Sustainability Anlaysis ans Strategy (IINAS).

Personally, I view Mr. Fritsche's statements on bioenergy very ambiguously and see the demands that he made on behalf of many bioenergy critics as unhelpful for a quick contribution to climate protection and a solution to oil. On the one hand, Mr. Fritsche's broad and deep knowledge of bioenergy is impressive. On the other hand, I am always surprised at the apparent ease with which he appeals to the less informed critics scientific arguments delivers and thus contributes to the constant loss of image of the industry. In my experience, his strong support for the ILUC factor for bioenergy sources and the great trust in very abstract mathematical models for the evaluation of this renewable form of energy support the at least bioenergy actors. However, it must be said that Mr. Fritsche is a physicist and scientist and the economic expansion of bioenergy is not one of his most important goals / tasks. In the last lecture I heard from him, he therefore describes bioenergy as "bridge technology for a solar age".

I cannot call myself an experienced modeler, but I did my diploma thesis on the development of a mathematical computer model (MATLAB) for the predator-prey relationships of algal biocenoses and at least gained a practical insight into the strengths and weaknesses of mathematical models. I respect Mr. Fritsche's belief in the great potential of mathematical models. In the future, models will certainly make an even greater contribution to enabling us to make more responsible decisions. But many mathematical models, especially for very complex systems, are still far from being used as a comprehensive basis for decision making. I know that the engineers and scientists who develop mathematical and computer-aided models always point out the narrow limits in which their models are effective. Unfortunately, the underlying framework conditions of complex climate models quickly reach their limits when it comes to representing reality in a representative manner. With all the euphoria for the potential of these decision aids, we should not forget that.

Mr. Fritsche sees a 10 percent mark measured by the final energy consumption (!) Of Germany as the medium-term upper limit for the application potential of bioenergy. As a bioenergy enthusiast, this absolute and, in addition, comparatively low upper limit, for the currently most important renewable energy source, makes me sad. There is also the question of whether this brand can be achieved in the near future under the proposed and comparatively high requirements for the ecological sustainability of biofuels & Co. The share of bioenergy is currently at Final energy consumption from Germany at 5.7 percent. In any case, an optimistic view of bioenergy looks different. And a pragmatic “yes” to the energy transition looks different to me than the development of ever more complex and abstract models that endanger any willingness to invest.

So either Mr. Fritsche loves bioenergy so much that he wants to develop it perfectly right from the start, but in doing so risks putting the child in the bath, or Mr. Fritsche's passion for mathematical climate models is so great that the growth of the bioenergy industry in practice and their significance for Germany's medium-term energy supply means comparatively little. I am not aware of any other agricultural or energy sector that has to defend itself morally and with such a great effort. If you look closely, then wind energy and phovoltaics are not "climate neutral".

In the following interview from summer 2011, Mr. Fritsche's bioenergy statements are even less drastic than in the last lectures I heard from him.

The great respect for responsibility in dealing with bioenergy

Bioenergy in Germany has been in its darkest phase for about 3 years and existential fears belong above all to the biofuel industry and in some cases to that gaseous bioenergy for daily business.

Becoming aware of a less climate-neutral balance of bioenergy than initially hoped for, fear of uncontrollable deforestation of rainforests or concern with the use of bioenergy to worsen world hunger. These are the main criticisms that plunge you as a bioenergy enthusiast into a deep crisis. Nobody who deals openly with the bioenergy debate can leave these accusations untouched. To a certain extent, I can therefore understand that relying on complex mathematical models is a preferred approach to hedge against all conceivable risks. But it also makes me sad to see how, for fear of any negative impact on the environment or climate, we miss the chance to develop the great potential of bioenergy to solve existing problems. We are already much more hardened (duller?) With fossil fuels.

In my opinion we are paralyzed and many are lacking the willingness to really do something to improve the situation of the coming generations. Unfortunately, we do not get climate protection and the solution to the scarcity of petroleum. At the moment the situation of bioenergy looks like we are playing a very theoretical chess game against it in the scientific ivory tower. The Bioenergy study by the Leopoldina and the ILUC factor are two examples of particularly elegant features. A little more pragmatism, the courage to learn from mistakes made, and a more optimistic attitude towards corporate responsibility would bring a much-needed breath of fresh air to the bioenergy debate.

With all criticism of the sustainability of bioenergy

We should not forget the criticism of today's bioenergy, which in my opinion is exaggerated, that the gaseous, liquid and solid bioenergy sources also offer great advantages for the social and economic sustainability of our society. This is especially true for a country like Germany that does not have any significant oil reserves of its own or petroleum companies that produce oil. If we focus too one-sidedly on the problems of bioenergy production in Germany, then we will probably miss the chance to use our outstanding position within the international bioenergy scene.

And I would like to remind the critics of bioenergy that ...

  1. ... bioenergy already makes a significantly better contribution to climate protection (see graphic Carbon footprint of biofuels) than most of the fossil fuel economy.
  2. ... bioenergy in all horror stories of Tank-or-plate debate one of the great hopes of many developing countries is finally theirs revolutionize agricultural production and improve their nutritional situation. For many developing countries, the import and supply of expensive fossil fuels cannot be financed.
  3. ... that 95 percent of the harvested palm oil is used for the production of food, cosmetics and candles. Even if that's the part rainforest deforestation taking place does not make better, just under 5 percent of palm oil is used for the production of biodiesel.
  4. ... the bioenergy industry is leading when it comes to the sustainability certification of agricultural raw materials and products. The biofuels industry is a pioneer here and is setting new standards for building sustainable agriculture. The critics can be proud of this development, because the sustainability systems for biofuels built up under pressure are a real contribution to environmental and species protection within the entire agricultural production.

Graph on the carbon footprint of renewable energies

A more constructive approach to the strengths and weaknesses of bioenergy than that Responses to the bioenergy study the Leopoldina would certainly not hurt right away. With many bioenergy players, I break open doors with this wish.

Download the lectures on co-incineration and sustainability of biomass

Here you can use the "Specialist Dialogue: Biomass co-incineration and sustainability - a contradiction? “View and download lectures given at the DENA event.

1 Comment on “Sustainability of biomass and the trauma of bioenergy enthusiasts”

  1. Dear Mr. Kirchner,
    thank you for your informative contribution, to which I would like to add some information and thoughts.
    For a few years I have coordinated the NGO platform "Sustainable Biomass" and have been dealing with the topic since then, since it also affects the forest and forest policy, for which I mainly work.
    Mr. von Carlowitz was not a forest scientist, but a camera operator and chief miner of the Ore Mountains. His motivation was to secure the supply of the mines and processing plants with wood, because the forest was already a far overused ecosystem. His merits are really great!
    After many years of biofuels policy, we have to conclude that - in addition to encouraging developments in new technologies, the creation of good jobs and a certain co-supply of energy needs - a kind of alibi policy has remained. Everyone has to answer for themselves whether the players in the industry have benefited from this policy, have even made a helper, or have to pass out watching the goings-on. Total emissions have risen further, and bioenergy largely lives off as a substitute canister, additional fuel or flash in the pan, because there is no responsible energy or transport policy.
    The use of bioenergy could make a more or less large contribution to the decarbonization of the economy - if the total consumption of energy (or the total emissions) would decrease. As long as this does not happen, climate protection will unfortunately not be helped, because the atmosphere is not interested in avoided emissions, but only in the actual increase and the existing greenhouse gas concentration.
    We have to observe similar problems in other areas. For example, eucalyptus plantations for pulp production are being set up worldwide in order to “meet the demand”, a demand that is increased in a targeted manner by the cheap provision of additional raw materials. Despite the use of recycled paper, the annual breakdown increases and is currently over 250 kg per capita in Germany.
    Large land resources (forest and land areas) are also used or used for this. The quantities of vegetable oil freed up by the use of palm oil can easily be used for biofuels, whereas given the outstanding productivity of palm oil, as long as there is no objection to this, the consumption of these quantities of oil did not increase continuously (which leads to further occupancy of arable land). The economic sectors that work with soy (cattle feed), wood (energy wood) and other raw materials also work according to a similar pattern: growth, increasing money gains, concentration of power and profits are the driving forces behind such developments because the priority of The economy, and unfortunately also politics, is oriented almost exclusively to economic interests, and not to the fulfillment of sustainable development goals, such as the eradication of hunger and poverty, more education and preservation of ecological structures and functions of living spaces.
    As long as nothing changes, technical developments, as good and efficient and enjoyable as they are (and the bioenergy industry is really a good example!), Will not contribute to the major social, ecological, cultural and ultimately also economic crises to solve.
    It hurts when I see scientists and representatives of the bioenergy industry fighting over percentages and per thousand of efficiency, while at the same time a transport minister and with him a large part of the federal government does not even manage the fuel fraud, where it is around 25 to 40 Percent at the expense of the climate and the wallet of the consumer (!)
    It hurts when representatives of energy wood users campaign against the creation of some protected areas in the forest (it concerns the missing 2.7 percent of the forest area). Representatives of an industry that is responsible for less than 2 percent of primary energy use, while at the same time lignite-fired power plants waste gigantic amounts of energy and generate greenhouse gas emissions that could not be compensated for in centuries by using even the most efficient wood-fired power plants.
    The bioenergy industry must also urge the responsible politicians to do the more urgent homework if they do not want to be remembered by future generations as a secret profiteer of a failed policy and the beneficiary of an alibi climate and agricultural policy.
    With best regards,
    László Maráz
    Coordination AG forest and dialogue platform forest
    Environment and Development Forum
    10117 Berlin
    maraz@forumue.de

Post a comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Deutsch English
X

11 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 Google+ 11 Email -- 11 Flares ×

Sagen wir es wie es ist, das Thema „Nachhaltigkeit“ hängt vielen bereits zu den Ohren heraus. Es ist ein bisschen so, als wäre „Nachhaltigkeit – das neue Schwarz“ und viele versuchen dieses elegante Kostüm für ihre Zwecke zurecht zu stutzen. Der blasenartige Erfolg des Nachhaltigkeits-Ideals und die inflationäre Verwendung des Begriffs lassen befürchten, dass sich in einigen Jahren kaum noch jemand mit diesem Thema auseinandersetzen möchte. So wie ein Ohrwurm-Song, den man die ersten 10 Mal begeistert mitsingt, aber beim 20.Mal am liebsten das Radio aus dem Fenster werfen möchte. Für die Bioenergie-Branche ist der Begriff der Nachhaltigkeit außerdem zu einer Art Trauma geworden, welches einst blühende Verfechter dieser erneuerbaren Energieform in engagierte Gegner verwandelt hat. In diesem Artikel gibt es einige Argumente und Zahlen zu dem etwas nervigen, aber weiterhin wichtigen Thema Nachhaltigkeit und ihrer Bedeutung für die Bioenergie.

Grundlagen des Begriffs der Nachhaltigkeit

Das Thema der Nachhaltigkeit ist erschreckend komplex, so dass es schwer fällt, eine eindeutige Definition für sie festzulegen. Deshalb möchte ich in diesem Zusammenhang nur kurz auf den Ursprung der Nachhaltigkeitsbewegung eingehen.

Der deutschsprachige Begriff „Nachhaltigkeit“ wurde bereits 1713 von dem deutschen Forstwissenschaftler Hans Carl von Carlowitz geprägt, der diesen in Zusammenhang mit dem Aufbau einer nachhaltigen Fortswirtschaft verwendete. Außerdem kennen wir die Ideen des nachhaltigen Umgangs mit der Natur von der Kultur der Indianer. Zu der aktuellen Blütezeit der Nachhaltigkeit hat der 1987 veröffentlichte Bericht der Brundtland-Kommission beigetragen, welcher ein Konzept für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung formuliert hat. Die häufig zitierte Kernaussage lautet:

„Nachhaltige Entwicklung ist eine Entwicklung, die die Bedürfnisse der Gegenwart befriedigt, ohne zu riskieren, daß künftige Generationen ihre eigenen Bedürfnisse nicht befriedigen können.“

Ein häufig zitiertes Ergebnis der Kommission war außerdem das Nachhaltigkeitsdreieck, welches die verschiedenen Dimensionen beschreibt, die für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung berücksichtigt werden müssen.

Nachhaltigkeit Dreieck Brundtland Kommission Das Ziel einer nachhaltigen Lebensweise ist also die langfristig tragbare Fusion der ökologischen, sozialen und ökonomischen Ziele unserer Gesellschaft. Auch wenn das Umweltschützer nicht gerne hören, ist Nachhaltigkeit kein Argument, welches sich auf die ökologische Entwicklung beschränkt. Umweltschutz ist wichtig, aber das Schaffen von Arbeitsplätzen oder die Verbesserung der Welternährung sind nicht weniger ehrenwerte Ziele und teilweise im direkten Konflikt mit dem Umweltschutz.

Weitere Informationen zum Begriff Nachhaltigkeit finden Sie im Lexikon der Nachhaltigkeit.

Umweltschutz und Klimaschutz sind zwei hartnäckige Begleiter

Diese Erfahrung durfte die Bioenergie in den vergangenen Jahren hautnah erleben und ich behaupte, dass sich die Bioenergiebranche die Forderungen der Umwelt- und Klimaschutzvertreter zu Herzen genommen hat und entsprechende Lehren aus der teilweise sehr scharfen Kritik gezogen hat.

Der Begriff der Nachhaltigkeit beschäftigt und verwirrt die öffentliche Debatte und in der Praxis schließen sich die verschiedenen Zielkorridore für den Umwelt- und Klimaschutz häufig gegenseitig aus. Obwohl die Motivationen für den Umwelt- und Klimaschutz ähnlich sind, sind sich die Vertreter beider Bewegungen bei der Bewertung gesellschaftlicher Entwicklungen selten einig. Ein aktuelles Beispiel sind die Zielkonflikte die aus dem Netzausbau zur weiteren Energiewende resultieren.

Schockiertes Mädchen

Der Energiepflanzenbau und die Nutzung von Bioenergieträgern werden sowohl von Umweltschützern, als auch von Klimaschützer kritisch betrachtet. Während die Einen die Abholzung von Regenwäldern und die zunehmende Vermaisung von Landschaften (Monokulturen) verurteilen, kritisieren die Anderen die doch nicht neutrale Klimabilanz von Biokraftstoffen. Vor allem an der zentralen und industriellen Bioenergie lassen beide Parteien kaum ein gutes Wort. Hingegen sehen viele Ökonomen vor allem hier die Stärken für den weiteren Ausbau der Branche, weil Produktionskosten gesenkt und Wirkungsgrade erhöht werden können.

Seit einigen Jahren wird über ein Verbot von Biokraftstoffen der ersten Generation und die Einführung eines ILUC-Faktors diskutiert. In meinen Augen sind beide Maßnahmen sehr drastisch und gemeinsam mit den Vorschlägen der EU-Abteilung Klimapolitik zur Änderung der Biokraftstoffziele setzen sie einem Großteil der heutigen Bioenergie die Pistole auf die Brust.

Wenn es der Bioenergie-Branche gelingt, trotz aller gerechtfertigten Kritik an den Kritikern, auf deren Forderungen einzugehen, dann wird der Einsatz der Bioenergie nicht nur aus ökonomischer und sozialer, sondern auch aus der ökologischen Perspektive betrachtet eine Vorreiterrolle für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung einnehmen. Dass es hier schon viele Erfolge gibt, dazu in einem späteren Abschnitt mehr.

Uwe R. Fritsche – einer der schärfsten und besten Bioenergie-Kritiker?!

Ich habe lange überlegt, ob ich den folgenden und etwas persönlicheren Abschnitt zur Nachhaltigkeit von Bioenergie schreiben soll. Letztlich habe ich mich dafür entschieden, weil ich befürchte, dass sonst niemand über diesen so wichtigen Punkt für den weiteren Ausbau der Bioenergie schreiben wird. Letztlich ist der Bioenergie-Blog aber genau für diese offene Diskussion zur Bioenergie ins Leben gerufen worden. Worum geht es?

Beim von der DENA veranstalteten Fachdialog zur Nachhaltigkeit und Mitverbrennung von Biomasse habe ich den Vortrag eines Bioenergie-Akteurs gehört, um den man in der aktuellen Bioenergie-Debatte nicht herum kommt, weil er so omnipräsent ist. Leider kann ich nicht sagen, dass mich das nur freut, weil ich ihn gleichzeitig als einen der schärfsten und fundiertesten Kritiker der Bioenergie wahrnehme. Ich weiß nicht, ob er sich selbst auch als scharfen Kritiker beschreiben würde, aber die von ihm geforderten Maßnahmen im Umgang mit der Bioenergie bedrohen vor allem die noch junge Biokraftstoffproduktion in Europa in ihren Grundfesten. Die Rede ist von Uwe R. Fritsche, dem wissenschaftlichen Leiter des neu gegründeten International Institut for Sustainability Anlaysis ans Strategy (IINAS).

Ich persönliche betrachte die Aussagen von Herr Fritsche zur Bioenergie sehr zwiespältig und sehe die Forderungen, die er stellvertretend für viele Bioenergie-Kritiker formuliert, als wenig hilfreich für einen schnellen Beitrag zum Klimaschutz und eine Löslösung vom Erdöl. Auf der einen Seite beeindruckt das breite und tiefe Wissen von Herr Fritsche bei der Betrachtung der Bioenergie. Auf der anderen Seite bin ich immer überrascht über die scheinbare Leichtigkeit, mit der er den weniger fundierten Kritikern wissenschaftliche Argumente liefert und so zum konstanten Imageverlust der Branche beiträgt. Seine starke Befürwortung des ILUC-Faktors für Bioenergieträger und das große Vertrauen in sehr abstrakte mathematische Modelle zur Bewertung dieser erneuerbaren Energieform unterstützen meiner Erfahrung nach die wenigstens Bioenergie-Akteure. Allerdings muss gesagt werden, dass Herr Fritsche Physiker und Wissenschaftler ist und der wirtschaftliche Ausbau der Bioenergie nicht zu seinen wichtigsten Ziele/ Aufgaben zählt. In dem letzten Vortrag den ich von ihm gehört habe, beschreibt er demzufolge die Bioenergie als „Brückentechnologie für ein solares Zeitalter“.

Ich kann mich nicht als erfahrenen Modellierer bezeichnen, aber ich habe meine Diplomarbeit der Entwicklung eines mathematischen Computermodells (MATLAB) für die Räuber-Beute-Beziehungen von Algenbiozönosen gewidmet und zumindest einen praktischen Einblick in die Stärken und Schwächen von mathematischen Modellen gewonnen. Ich respektiere den Glauben von Herr Fritsche an das große Potential mathematischer Modelle. Modelle werden in Zukunft sicher noch deutlich stärker dazu beitragen, dass wir verantwortungsbewusstere Entscheidungen treffen können. Aber viele mathematische Modelle, vor allem zu sehr komplexen Systemen, sind heutzutage noch weit davon entfernt als umfassende Entscheidungsgrundlage zu dienen. Ich weiß, dass die Ingenieure und Wissenschaftler, welche mathematische und computergestützte Modelle entwickeln, immer auch auf die engen Grenzen hinweisen, in denen ihre Modelle wirksam sind. Die zugrundeliegenden Rahmenbedingungen von komplexen Klimamodellen stoßen leider aktuell noch schnell an ihre Grenzen, wenn es um die representative Darstellung der Wirklichkeit geht. Das sollten wir bei aller Euphorie für die Potentiale dieser Entscheidungshilfen nicht vergessen.

Als mittelfristige Obergrenze für das Einsatzpotential der Bioenergie sieht Herr Fritsche eine 10 Prozent-Marke gemessen am Endenergieverbrauch (!) von Deutschland. Als Bioenergie-Enthusiast stimmt mich diese absolute und dazu noch vergleichsweise niedrige Obergrenze, für den gemessen am Anteil aktuell wichtigsten erneuerbaren Energieträger, traurig. Außerdem bleibt die Frage, ob diese Marke unter den vorgeschlagenen und vergleichsweise hohen Auflagen an die ökologische Nachhaltigkeit von Biokraftstoffen & Co in naher Zukunft überhaupt erreicht werden kann. Aktuell liegt der Anteil der Bioenergie am Endenergieverbrauch von Deutschland bei 5.7 Prozent. Eine optimistische Betrachtung der Bioenergie sieht jedenfalls anders aus. Und auch ein pragmatisches „Ja“ zur Energiewende sieht für mich anders aus, als das Entwickeln immer komplexerer und abstrakterer Modelle, welche jegliche Investitionsbereitschaft gefährdet.

Also entweder Herr Fritsche liebt die Bioenergie so sehr, dass er sie von Anfang an perfekt entwickeln will, riskiert damit aber das Kind mit dem Bade auszuschütten, oder Herr Fritsches Leidenschaft für mathematische Klimamodelle ist so groß, dass ihm das Wachstum der Bioenergiebranche in der Praxis und ihre Bedeutung für die mittelfristige Energieversorgung von Deutschland vergleichsweise wenig bedeutet. Mir ist keine andere Landwirtschafts- oder Energiebranche bekannt, die sich mit einem so hohen Aufwand moralisch und verteidigen muss. Wenn man genau hinschaut, dann sind ja auch die Windenergie und die Phovoltaik nicht „klimaneutral“.

Im folgenden Interview aus dem Sommer 2011 sind die Bioenergie-Aussagen von Herr Fritsche noch weniger drastisch, als bei den letzten Vorträgen die ich von ihm gehört habe.

Der große Respekt vor der Verantwortung im Umgang mit der Bioenergie

Seit etwa 3 Jahren befindet sich die Bioenergie in Deutschland in ihrer dunkelsten Phase und existentielle Ängste gehören vor allem für die Biokraftstoffbranche und in Ansätzen auch für die gasförmige Bioenergie zum Tagesgeschäft.

Das Bekanntwerden einer nicht so klimaneutralen Bilanz der Bioenergie wie anfangs erhofft, die Angst vor einer unkontrollierbaren Abholzung von Regenwäldern oder die Sorge mit der Nutzung der Bioenergie den Welthunger zu verschlimmern. Das sind die wichtigsten Kritikpunkte, die einen als Bioenergie-Enthusiasten in eine tiefe Krise stürzen. Niemanden, der sich offen mit der Bioenergiedebatte auseinandersetzt, können diese Vorwürfe unberührt lassen. Deshalb kann ich bis zu einem gewissen Grad gut nachempfinden, dass das Setzen auf komplexe mathematische Modelle ein bevorzugter Ansatz ist, um sich gegen alle denkbaren Risiken abzusichern. Aber es macht mich auch traurig zu beobachten, wie wir aus Angst vor jeglicher negativer Auswirkung auf Umwelt oder Klima die Chance vertun, die großen Potentiale der Bioenergie zur Lösung bestehender Probleme zu entfalten. Bei den fossilen Energieträgern sind wir hier schon deutlich abgehärteter (abgestumpfter?).

Wie paralysiert stehen wir meiner Meinung nach da und es fehlt bei vielen die Bereitschaft, wirklich etwas zur Verbesserung der Situation der kommenden Generationen beizutragen. Klimaschutz und die Löslösung vom knapper werdenden Erdöl bekommen wir leider nicht geschenkt. Momentan sieht die Lage der Bioenergie so aus, als spielen wir gegen sie eine sehr theoretische Schachpartie im wissenschaftlichen Elfenbeinturm. Die Bioenergie-Studie der Leopoldina und der ILUC-Faktor sind zwei Beispiele für besonders elegante Züge. Etwas mehr Pragmatismus, Mut aus gemachten Fehlern zu lernen und eine optimistischere Grundeinstellung über das Verantwortungsbewusstsein von Unternehmen, würden einen dringend benötigten frischen Wind in die Bioenergie-Debatte bringen.

Bei aller Kritik an der Nachhaltigkeit der Bioenergie

Wir sollten bei der, in meinen Augen stark übertriebenen, Kritik an der heutigen Bioenergie nicht vergessen, dass die gasförmigen, flüssigen und festen Bioenergieträger auch große Vorteile für die soziale und ökonomische Nachhaltigkeit unserer Gesellschaft bieten. Das gilt vor allem für ein Land wie Deutschland, das nicht über nennenswerte eigene Ölvorkommen oder erdölfördernde Mineralölgesellschaften verfügt. Wenn wir uns in Deutschland zu einseitig auf die Probleme der Bioenergie-Gewinnung fokussieren, dann verpassen wir wahrscheinlich die Chance, unsere herausragende Stellung innerhalb der internationalen Bioenergieszene zu nutzen.

Und die Kritiker der Bioenergie möchte ich daran erinnern, dass…

  1. …die Bioenergie schon heute einen deutlich besseren Beitrag zum Klimaschutz leistet (siehe Grafik Klimabilanz von Biokraftstoffen), als der Großteil der fossilen Energiewirtschaft.
  2. …die Bioenergie bei allen Horrorgeschichten der Tank-oder-Teller-Debatte eine der großen Hoffnungsträger vieler Entwicklungsländer ist, endlich ihre landwirtschaftliche Produktion zu revolutionieren und ihre Ernährungssituation zu verbessern. Der Import und die Versorgung mit teuren fossilen Kraftstoffen ist für viele Entwicklungsländer nicht finanzierbar.
  3. …das 95 Prozent des geernteten Palmöls für die Herstellung von Lebensmitteln, Kosmetikartikeln und Kerzen verwendet wird. Auch wenn das die teilweise stattfindende Regenwaldabholzung nicht besser macht, werden nur knapp 5 Prozent des Palmöls für die Herstellung von Biodiesel verwendet.
  4. …die Bioenergiebranche führend ist, wenn es um die Nachhaltigkeitszertifizierung von Agrarrohstoffen und -produkten geht. Die Biokraftstoffbranche ist hier Vorreiter und setzt neue Maßstäbe für den Aufbau einer nachhaltigen Landwirtschaft. Die Kritiker können stolz auf diese Entwickung sein, denn die auf ihren Druck hin aufgebauten Nachhaltigkeitssysteme für Biokraftstoffe sind ein echter Beitrag zum Umwelt- und Artenschutz innerhalb der gesamten landwirtschaftlichen Produktion.

Grafik zur Klimabilanz erneuerbarer Energien

Ein konstruktiverer Umgang mit den Stärken und Schwächen der Bioenergie als die Reaktionen auf die Bioenergie-Studie der Leopoldina würde sicher nicht gleich schaden. Bei vielen Bioenergie-Akteuren renne ich mit diesem Wunsch offene Türe ein.

Download der Vorträge zur Mitverbrennung und Nachhaltigkeit von Biomasse

Hier können Sie die beim „Fachdialog: Biomassemitverbrennung und Nachhaltigkeit – ein Widerspruch?“ gehaltenen Vorträge der DENA-Veranstaltung ansehen und herunterladen.