Members of the Bundestag present their bioenergy vision

As in previous years, the Bundesverband Bioenergie eV again this year parliamentary evening arranged to feel the plans of federal politics on the tooth. Representatives of all 5 parties came to the evening event in the Hungarian embassy and presented their view of gaseous, liquid and solid bioenergy. The question of the evening was: What visions do the Bundestag parties have for the use of bioenergy in the electricity, heating and fuel markets? A small series of articles explains what there is to report on the meeting of federal politics with the bioenergy sector? We start with bioenergy in the electricity market.

Photo bullfighting for the electricity market

5 matadors grapple with the essence of bioenergy

Since the Bundestag election is due in 4 months, the character of the traditional event was even more of an election campaign event than one is used to from the meeting of representatives of the people anyway. I think it's a good thing, because bioenergy can currently use every passionate commitment! Secondly, it was a very fair campaign, which has largely served the bioenergy debate. While I was last parliamentary evening on bioenergy somewhat disappointed by the often very careful comments (Exception: Hans-Josef Fell!) the member of the Bundestag, my impression of this year makes me much more optimistic.

"Without bioenergy we would have a 4.8 percent share of renewable energies in final energy consumption in Germany and with it we have 12.3 percent."

Helmut Lamp, CEO of the BBE

The following 5 members of the Bundestag were present this year and expressed their opinion on bioenergy in the electricity market:

  • Dr. Georg Nüsslein, CSU | Diplomkaufmann | Directly elected in the Neu-Ulm constituency
  • Committee on the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety; Committee on Economy and Technology; Parliamentary Advisory Board for Sustainable Development
  • Michael Kauch, FDP | Graduate economist Selected from the state list of North Rhine-Westphalia
  • Parliamentary Advisory Council on Sustainable Development (chairman); Committee on the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety
  • Dirk Becker, SPD | Diplom-Verwaltungswirt | Directly elected in the Lippe 1 constituency
  • Committee on the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety; Committee on Economy and Technology
  • Hans-Josef Fell, Alliance 90 / The Greens | High school teacher | Selected from the state list of Bavaria
  • Committee on the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety; Education, Research and Technology Assessment Committee
  • Ralph Lenkert, The Left | Toolmaker, State Certified Technician for Mechanical Engineering | Directly elected in the Gera constituency
  • Parliamentary Advisory Board for Sustainable Development; Committee on the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety, Committee on Family, Seniors, Women and Youth

During the 10 minute presentations by the deputies, the three areas of application of bioenergy (electricity market, fuel market, heating market) and the respective bioenergy sources were discussed. In this article, the focus is on the Use of biogas and biomethane in the electricity market.

Electricity market Gaseous bioenergy Biogas and biomethane

"An amendment to the EEG may only be created in combination with a new market design"

Dirk Becker, SPD

Ever since vegetable oil was removed from the EEG 2012, the topic of bioenergy in the electricity market has focused on gaseous bioenergy and its bioenergy carriers biogas and biomethane. But also the Co-combustion of solid biomass in biomass cogeneration plants (BMHKW) contributes to the electrical use of bioenergy.

The central instrument and the basis for the success story of bioenergy in the electricity sector is Funding via the EEG. The Renewable Energy Sources Act emerged in 2000 from the Electricity Feed-In Act, which was passed by the black and yellow government under Helmut Kohl in 1991. In the exciting Zeit article "That underestimated law“(September 2006) summarizes the political origins of the promotion of renewable energies in Germany.

Even 13 years after the EEG came into force, the development of bioenergy in the electricity market is still closely linked to the law. There is now a strong alternative in the form ofDirect marketing of biogas electricity, but the majority of the existing systems still live on the feed-in tariff via the EEG.

"Attack on existing facilities was a sin and hangs like a sword of Damocles over the entire renewable energy industry"

Hans-Josef Fell, Alliance 90 / The Greens

At the latest since Electricity price brake, which was primarily a bioenergy brake for Mr. Lamp, the industry knows that it also has to look for alternatives to the EEG. For many plant operators, the culmination of the debate on the electricity price brake was the suggestion that funding for existing plants could also be reduced. Fortunately, this topic is off the table, which is thanks to the representatives of the people thanks to the commitment of the CSU and FDP.

Most Wanted: New market design for the electricity market

The parliamentary evening showed that the parties in the Bundestag are also looking for the most sustainable way to promote bioenergy in the electricity market. For some months now, a new market design for the electricity market has been discussed more and more intensively.

"A market launch instrument must become a market penetration instrument."

Dr. Georg Nüßlein, CSU

A statement on the new market design came from Dr. Nüsslein, who supports the introduction of a power market for electricity. In his limited speaking time, he did not become more specific for the time being. However, the CSU representative said critically: "If you put on the market and the market then delivers a result that does not suit you, then you cannot simply want to correct the market." Michael Kauch from the FDP said that he Incentive models preferred on the demand side.

Approaches for possible and currently discussed market designs for the electricity market (capacity markets, performance markets etc.) will be further developed and analyzed over the summer. The results of this debate and their effects on the bioenergy industry will also be read on BiomassMuse.

However, several representatives of the people also suggested that bioenergy should not only focus on the electricity market, but also include the heating and mobility sector. This suggestion is old hat for bioenergy enthusiasts and is already like an industry mantra that has been stoically repeated for years. Nevertheless, it remains an important development proposal, which must now be followed by concrete political measures.

Bioenergy in Hungary

Finally, a few words about bioenergy in Hungary. After all, it was Hungarian embassythe location of this year's parliamentary evening on bioenergy and special thanks therefore go to the Republic of Hungary.

According to the statements by the Hungarian State Secretary János Bencsik, Hungary has only a few fossil fuels. Two thirds of Hungarian electricity needs are covered by electricity imports. Therefore I want to Hungary using renewable energies take a pioneering role. In 2011, the country set itself the goal of covering 2020 percent of gross energy consumption by renewable energies by 14.7. The share of renewables in total energy consumption is currently around 9 percent.

The status quo of bioenergy in Hungary is as follows:

  • 11 biomass CHP plants with 281 MM
  • 31 biogas plants with 31 MW (18 further biogas plants are under construction)
  • 14 landfill gas plants with 8.5 MW
  • 8 sewage gas plants with a capacity of 11 MW

Bioenergy in the fuel and heating markets

The series of articles on the occasion of the parliamentary evening on bioenergy will continue in the coming days. The topics are then:

  • Bioenergy in the fuel market
  • Bioenergy in the heating market

In conclusion to the first article, the question remains: What do you think about the potentials and risks that bioenergy is facing in the electricity market?

Post a comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Deutsch English
X

7 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 Google+ 7 Email -- 7 Flares ×

Wie in den vergangenen Jahren hat der Bundesverband Bioenergie e.V. auch in diesem Jahr wieder einen parlamentarischen Abend arrangiert, um den Plänen der Bundespolitik auf den Zahn zu fühlen. Zur Abendveranstaltung in der ungarischen Botschaft kamen Vertreter aller 5 Parteien und haben ihre Sicht auf die gasförmige, flüssige und feste Bioenergie vorgestellt. Die Frage des Abends lautete: Welche Visionen zum Einsatz der Bioenergie im Strom-, Wärme- und Kraftstoffmarkt haben die Bundestagsparteien? Was es zum Aufeinandertreffen der Bundespolitik mit der Bioenergiebranche zu berichten gibt, wird in einer kleinen Artikelreihe vorgestellt? Wir starten mit der Bioenergie im Strommarkt.

Foto Stierkampf um den Strommarkt

 5 Matadore ringen mit dem Wesen der Bioenergie

Da heute in 4 Monaten bereits die Bundestagswahl ansteht, war der Charakter des traditionellen Events noch stärker eine Wahlkampfveranstaltung als man es vom Aufeinandertreffen von Volksvertretern ohnehin gewohnt ist. Ich finde das „Gut so“, denn die Bioenergie kann aktuell jedes leidenschaftliche Engagement gut gebrauchen! Zum Zweiten war es ein sehr fair ausgetragener Wahlkampf, der sich größtenteils in den Dienst der Bioenergie-Debatte gestellt hat. Während ich beim letzten parlamentarischen Abend zur Bioenergie etwas enttäuscht von den vielfach sehr vorsichtigen Stellungnahmen (Ausnahme Hans-Josef Fell!) der Bundestagsabgeordneten gewesen bin, stimmt mich mein diesjähriger Eindruck deutlich optimistischer.

„Ohne Bioenergie hätten wir einen Anteil von 4.8 Prozent an erneuerbaren Energien am Endenergieverbrauch in Deutschland und mit ihr haben wir 12.3 Prozent.“

Helmut Lamp, Vorstandsvorsitzender des BBE

Folgende 5 Mitglieder des Bundestags waren in diesem Jahr anwesend und haben ihre Meinung zur Bioenergie im Strommarkt vertreten:

  • Dr. Georg Nüsslein, CSU | Diplomkaufmann | Direkt gewählt im Wahlkreis Neu-Ulm
  • Ausschuss für Umwelt, Naturschutz und Reaktorsicherheit; Ausschuss für Wirtschaft und Technologie; Parlamentarischer Beirat für nachhaltige Entwicklung
  • Michael Kauch, FDP | Diplom-Volkswirt | Gewählt über die Landesliste Nordrhein-Westfalen
  • Parlamentarischer Beirat für nachhaltige Entwicklung (Obmann); Ausschuss für Umwelt, Naturschutz und Reaktorsicherheit
  • Dirk Becker, SPD | Diplom-Verwaltungswirt | Direkt gewählt im Wahlkreis Lippe 1
  • Ausschuss für Umwelt, Naturschutz und Reaktorsicherheit; Ausschuss für Wirtschaft und Technologie
  • Hans-Josef Fell, Bündnis 90/ Die Grüne | Gymnasiallehrer | Gewählt über die Landesliste Bayern
  • Ausschuss für Umwelt, Naturschutz und Reaktorsicherheit; Ausschuss für Bildung, Forschung und Technologiefolgenabschätzung
  • Ralph Lenkert, Die Linke | Werkzeugmacher, Staatlich geprüfter Techniker für Maschinenbau | Direkt gewählt im Wahlkreis Gera
  • Parlamentarischer Beirat für nachhaltige Entwicklung; Ausschuss für Umwelt, Naturschutz und Reaktorsicherheit, Ausschuss für Familie, Senioren, Frauen und Jugend

Während der 10 minütigen Präsentationen der Abgeordneten wurden die drei Einsatzbereiche der Bioenergie (Strommarkt, Kraftstoffmarkt, Wärmemarkt) und die jeweiligen Bioenergieträger besprochen. In diesem Artikel liegt der Fokus auf der Nutzung von Biogas und Biomethan im Strommarkt.

Strommarkt | Gasförmige Bioenergie | Biogas und Biomethan

„Eine Novelle des EEG darf nur in Kombination mit einem neuen Marktdesign erstellt werden“

Dirk Becker, SPD

Spätestens seit der Herausnahme von Pflanzenöl aus dem EEG 2012 konzentriert sich das Thema Bioenergie im Strommarkt auf die gasförmigen Bioenergie und deren Bioenergieträger Biogas und Biomethan. Aber auch die Mitverbrennung fester Biomasse in Biomasseheizkraftwerken (BMHKW) trägt zur elektrischen Nutzung der Bioenergie bei.

Das zentrale Instrument und die Grundlage für die Erfolgsgeschichte der Bioenergie im Stromsektor ist die Förderung über das EEG. Das Erneuerbare-Energien-Gesetz ist im Jahr 2000 aus dem Stromeinspeisegesetz hervorgegangen, welches 1991 unter Helmut Kohl von der schwarz-gelben Regierung verabschiedet wurde. Im spannenden Zeit-Artikel „Das unterschätze Gesetz“ (September 2006) werden die politischen Ursprünge der Förderung erneuerbaren Energien in Deutschland zusammengefasst.

Auch 13 Jahre nach Inkrafttreten des EEG ist die Entwicklung der Bioenergie im Strommarkt noch eng mit dem Gesetz verknüpft. Zwar gibt es mittlerweile eine starke Alternative in Form derDirektvermarktung von Biogasstrom, aber der Großteil der Bestandsanlagen lebt weiterhin von der Einspeisevergütung über das EEG.

„Angriff auf Bestandsanlagen war der Sündenfall und hängt wie ein Damoklesschwert über der gesamten Erneuerbaren-Branche“

Hans-Josef Fell, Bündnis 90/ Die Grünen

Spätestens seit der Strompreisbremse, die für Herrn Lamp vor allem eine Bioenergiebremse war, weiß die Branche, dass sie sich auch nach Alternativen zum EEG umschauen muss. Der Gipfel der Debatte um die Strompreisbremse war für viele Anlagenbetreiber der Vorschlag, dass auch die Förderung von Bestandsanlagen reduziert werden könnte. Dieses Thema ist erfreulicherweise vom Tisch, was den Volksvertretern zur Folge dem Engagement von CSU und FDP zu verdanken ist.

Most Wanted: Neues Marktdesign für den Strommarkt

Der parlamentarische Abend hat gezeigt, dass auch die Bundestagsparteien nach der zukunftsfähigsten Möglichkeit zur Förderung der Bioenergie im Strommarkt suchen. Seit einigen Monaten wird dabei immer intensiver über ein neues Marktdesign für den Strommarkt diskutiert.

„Aus einem Markteinführungsinstrument muss ein Marktdurchdringungsinstrument werden.“

Dr. Georg Nüßlein, CSU

Ein Statement zum neuen Marktdesign kam von Dr. Nüsslein, der die Einführung eines Leistungsmarkts für Strom unterstützt. Konkreter wurde er in seiner begrenzten Redezeit vorerst nicht. Allerdings sagte der CSU-Vertreter kritisch: „Wenn man auf den Markt setzt und der Markt dann ein Ergebnis liefert, welches einem nicht passt, dann kann man nicht einfach den Markt korrigieren wollen.“ Michael Kauch von der FDP äußerte sich so, dass er Anreizmodelle für die Nachfrageseite bevorzugt.

Ansätze für mögliche und aktuell diskutierte Marktdesigns für den Strommarkt (Kapazitätsmärkte, Leistungsmärkte etc.) werden über den Sommer weiter ausgearbeitet und analysiert. Über die Ergebnisse dieser Debatte und deren Auswirkungen auf die Bioenergiebranche wird auch auf BiomassMuse zu lesen sein.

Eine Anregung mehrerer Volksvertreter war aber auch, dass man sich beim Thema Bioenergie nicht nur auf den Strommarkt konzentrieren dürfe, sondern auch den Wärme- und Mobilitätssektor einbeziehen müsse. Für Bioenergie-Enthusiasten ist diese Anregung ein alter Hut und gleicht bereits einem Branchen-Mantra, welches seit Jahren stoisch wiederholt wird. Trotzdem bleibt es ein wichtiger Entwicklungsvorschlag, auf den nun konkrete politische Maßnahmen folgen müssen.

Bioenergie in Ungarn

Abschließend noch einige Worte zur Bioenergie in Ungarn. Immerhin war die Ungarische Botschaftder Austragungsort des diesjährigen parlamentarischen Abends zur Bioenergie und ein besonderer Dank geht deshalb an die Republik Ungarn.

Ungarn verfügt den Aussagen des ungarischen Staatssekretärs János Bencsik entsprechend nur über wenige fossile Energieträger. Zwei Drittel des ungarischen Strombedarfs werden notgedrungen durch Stromimporte abgedeckt. Deshalb möchte Ungarn beim Einsatz erneuerbarer Energien eine Vorreiterrolle einnehmen. 2011 hat sich das Land das Ziel gesetzt, dass bis zum Jahr 2020 ein Anteil von 14.7 Prozent des Bruttoenergieverbrauchs durch erneuerbare Energien abgedeckt wird. Aktuell liegt der Anteil der Erneuerbaren am Gesamtenergieverbrauch bei etwa 9 Prozent.

Der Status Quo der Bioenergie in Ungarn ist der Folgende:

  • 11 Biomasseheizkraftwerke mit 281 MM
  • 31 Biogasanlagen mit 31 MW (18 weitere Biogasanlagen befinden sich im Bau)
  • 14 Deponiegasanlagen mit 8.5 MW
  • 8 Klärgasanlagen mit einer Kapazität von 11 MW

Bioenergie im Kraftstoffmarkt und Wärmemarkt

In den kommenden Tagen geht die Artikelreihe anlässlich des Parlamentarischen Abends zur Bioenergie weiter. Die Themen lauten dann:

  • Bioenergie im Kraftstoffmarkt
  • Bioenergie im Wärmemarkt

Abschließend zum ersten Artikel bleibt noch die Frage: Was denken Sie über die Potentiale und Risiken, mit denen die Bioenergie im Strommarkt konfrontiert ist?