Biogas monitoring report shows progress in biomethane expansion

It is clear to me which is the most flexible of all bioenergy carriers: biomethane! No other energy source based on biomass is so diverse in electricity market, Heating market and Fuel market applicable. Although hardly a day goes by when the storable biomethane is not praised for its properties and possible uses, the processed biogas has its initial difficulties in opening up the energy market. The on August 19.08 from the Bundesnetzagentur published 2013 biogas monitoring report offers a fact-based view of the development of the biomethane landscape in Germany.

Biogas monitoring report shows 50 percent increase in biomethane feed-in

A big advantage of also under the name Bio natural gas Known energy source is that it can be moved and accessed via the dense natural gas network that has been developed over decades. The transport of bioenergy via this form as pure methane (CH4) is at the same time environmentally friendly and inexpensive, i.e. ecologically and economically efficient.

The President of the Fachverband Biogas e. V., Horst Seide, presents the energy source obtained from the biogas as follows:

"Biomethane is ideally suited to provide system services in the power grid via flexible power generation in cogeneration plants, for example for the Balancing energy market. Biomethane also reaches the natural gas filling station via the gas network and saves greenhouse gases as a renewable fuel in the natural gas car. This protects the climate ”.

The 2013 biogas monitoring report shows that the relative growth of the industry is very positive and that both the number of plants and the amount of biomethane fed in show a growth rate of over 40 percent. Measured on the entire energy market or Number of biogas plants in Germany However, the absolute figures for the biomethane industry are still negligible.

Biogas monitoring report 2013

Also related to the inserted Federal government's biomethane target of 6 billion m³ of biomethane fed in by 2020 is only a target achievement of 6,88 percent (Source: BNetzA). But it is only the year 2013!

Multi-sided support for biomethane

Fortunately, there are numerous actors who are committed to expanding the biomethane infrastructure. For example, the Initiative natural gas mobility the use of biomethane and sees this as an opportunity to provide the most climate-friendly fossil energy source natural gas with a strong regenerative energy source.

The targeted biomethane initiatives by cities and companies also show that there is great interest in Biogas 2.0. They sit down in the capital Gasag and the BSR for bio natural gas a. And Leipzig goes one step further and sets up its entire natural gas filling station infrastructure Bio natural gas from straw from Verbio AG.

Biomethane undoubtedly represents an important milestone in the Evolution of bioenergy. If one extrapolates the current growth rates of the 2013 biogas monitoring report for the coming years, we can even achieve the ambitious feed-in target of 6 billion cubic meters of biomethane per year by 2020. An annual growth rate of 50 percent would continue as follows:

  • 2012: 413 million m3
  • 2013: 620 million m3
  • 2014: 930 million m3
  • 2015: 1.400 million m3
  • 2016: 2.100 million m3
  • 2017: 3.100 million m3
  • 2018: 4.700 million m3
  • 2019: 7.000 million m3 (target already exceeded)
  • 2020: 10.500 million m3

Despite all the euphoria about the current development, there is also the saying that the low-hanging fruits are picked fastest. So let's keep our fingers crossed and let's ensure that the rise of biomethane continues and that efficient energy sources mature into an important pillar of our energy supply of tomorrow.

Download in English

The biogas monitoring report 2013

Here you can download the complete report of the Federal Network Agency on the development of biomethane in Germany
Download in English

Post a comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Deutsch English
X

0 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 Google+ 0 Email -- 0 Flares ×

Welches der flexibelste aller Bioenergie-Träger ist, steht für mich fest: Biomethan! Kein anderer Energieträger der auf Biomasse basiert ist so vielfältig im Strommarkt, Wärmemarkt und Kraftstoffmarkt einsetzbar. Obwohl kaum ein Tag vergeht, an dem das speicherbare Biomethan nicht für seine Eigenschaften und Einsatzmöglichkeiten in den höchsten Tönen gelobt wird, hat das aufbereitete Biogas seine Startschwierigkeiten bei der Erschließung des Energiemarkts. Der am 19.08 von der Bundesnetzagentur veröffentlichte Biogas-Monitoringbericht 2013 bietet einen faktenorientierten Blick auf die Entwicklung der Biomethan-Landschaft in Deutschland.

Biogas-Monitoringbericht zeigt 50 prozentigen Anstieg bei Biomethaneinspeisung

Ein großer Vorteil des auch unter dem Namen Bioerdgas bekannten Energieträgers ist, dass er über das dichte und über Jahrzehnte ausgebaute Erdgasnetz bewegt und abgerufen werden kann. Der Transport der Bioenergie ist über diese Form als reines Methan (CH4) zugleich umweltfreundlich und kostengünstig, also ökologisch und ökonomisch effizient.

Der Präsident des Fachverbands Biogas e. V., Horst Seide, stellt den aus dem Biogas gewonnenen Energieträger folgendermaßen vor:

„Biomethan ist hervorragend geeignet, über die flexible Verstromung in Blockheizkraftwerken Systemdienstleistungen im Stromnetz zu erbringen, beispielsweise für den Regelenergiemarkt. Über das Gasnetz kommt Biomethan auch zur Erdgastankstelle und spart als erneuerbarer Kraftstoff im Erdgasauto Treibhausgase ein. Dies schützt das Klima“.

Der Biogas-Monitoringbericht 2013 zeigt, dass das relative Wachstum der Branche sehr positiv ist und sowohl bei der Anlagenanzahl, als auch den eingespeisten Biomethan-Mengen eine Zuwachsrate von über 40 Prozent präsentiert werden kann. Gemessen am gesamte Energiemarkt oder der Biogasanlagenanzahl in Deutschland sind die absoluten Zahlen der Biomethanbranche allerdings noch verschwindend gering.

Biogas Monitoringbericht 2013

Auch bezogen auf das gesteckte Biomethan-Ziel der Bundesregierung von 6 Mrd. m³ pro Jahr an eingespeistem Biomethan bis zum Jahre 2020 liegt bisher nur ein Zielerreichungsgrad von 6,88 Prozent vor (Quelle: BNetzA). Wir haben aber auch erst das Jahr 2013!

Unterstützung für Biomethan von mehreren Seiten

Erfreulicherweise gibt es zahlreiche Akteure, die sich für den Ausbau der Biomethan-Infrastruktur einsetzen. So fördert beispielsweise die Initiative Erdgasmobilität den Einsatz von Biomethan und sieht diesen als Möglichkeit, um dem klimafreundlichsten fossilen Energieträger Erdgas einen starken regenerativen Energieträger zur Seite zu stellen.

Auch die gezielten Biomethan-Initiativen von Städten und Unternehmen zeigen, dass ein großes Interesse am Biogas 2.0 besteht. In der Hauptstadt setzen sich die Gasag und die BSR für Bioerdgas ein. Und Leipzig geht sogar noch einen Schritt weiter und stellt seine komplette Erdgastankstellen-Infrastruktur auf Bioerdgas aus Stroh aus dem Hause der Verbio AG um.

Biomethan steht ohne Zweifel für einen wichtigen Meilenstein in der Evolution der Bioenergie. Wenn man die aktuellen Wachstumsraten des Biogas-Monitoringberichts 2013 für die kommenden Jahre hochrechnet, können wir das ambitionierte Einspeiseziel von 6 Milliarden Kubikmetern Biomethan pro Jahr bis 2020 sogar erreichen. Eine jährliche Wachstumsrate von 50 Prozent würde sich folgendermaßen fort schreiben:

  • 2012: 413 Millionen m3
  • 2013: 620 Millionen m3
  • 2014: 930 Millionen m3
  • 2015: 1.400 Millionen m3
  • 2016: 2.100 Millionen m3
  • 2017: 3.100 Millionen m3
  • 2018: 4.700 Millionen m3
  • 2019: 7.000 Millionen m3 (Ziel bereits übererfüllt)
  • 2020: 10.500 Millionen m3

Bei aller Euphorie über die aktuelle Entwicklung gibt es allerdings auch die Redewendung, dass die niedrig hängenden Früchte am schnellsten gepflückt sind. Drücken wir also die Daumen und setzen wir uns dafür ein, dass der Aufstieg von Biomethan weiter anhält und der effiziente Energieträger zu einem wichtigen Standbein unserer Energieversorgung von Morgen heranreift.

Download

Der Biogas Monitoringbericht 2013

Hier können Sie den vollständigen Bericht der Bundesnetzagentur zur Entwicklung von Biomethan in Deutschland herunterladen

Download