Natural gas mobility initiative promotes bio natural gas as a biofuel

In addition to the political promotion of biomethane by the feed-in targets set by the federal government by 2020, corresponding biomethane buyers and industrial measures are needed to increase sales of bio natural gas in Germany. The natural gas mobility initiative presented at the IAA 2011 starts at this point and targets the transport sector. The Natural Gas Mobility initiative aims to increase the share of natural gas and bio natural gas in the fuel sector tenfold by 2020 and to increase it from the current 0,3% to 4%.

Bio natural gas and fossil natural gas - a strong team in the fuel market ?!

Infrastructural framework conditions that promote the energy source natural gas are generally also conducive to the “little sister” bio natural gas (see Article on bio natural gas). That is why bio natural gas can be supported to a certain extent by positive developments in the natural gas industry.

The competitive relationship that also exists between fossil and bio natural gas is thus taking a back seat and both are working towards the common goal of becoming more important in the fuel market. Biomethane is the eco or luxury product, while natural gas as CNG (Compressed Natural Gas) is the inexpensive, more established and available in large quantities fossil variant.

Together, natural and bio natural gas are a dynamic duo. Together, they serve both customers who are primarily looking for a cheap energy source for the electricity-heat fuel package (natural gas), but also offer an alternative for customers who make their energy requirements very climate-conscious and energy production at the location Want to promote Germany (bio natural gas).

In Germany, refueling natural gas or bio natural gas will be rewarded with a tax reduction until 2018 due to its better (cleaner) combustion compared to gasoline or diesel. This results in the roughly 30% lower fuel costs when refueling natural and bio natural gas.

Natural gas mobility initiative increases natural and bio natural gas to 4% by 2020

The declared goal of the Natural Gas Mobility Initiative is to work to increase the share of natural gas and bio natural gas in the German transport sector to 2020% by 4. To achieve this goal, on September 14.09.2011, XNUMX at the International Motor Show (IAA), several players came together to initiate the natural gas mobility initiative.

A merger of companies for stronger general promotion of biogas and bio natural gas already existed for the realization of the central biogas register a year ago (see Article biogas register). Mainly vehicle manufacturers, companies in the petroleum and gas industry, companies in the biogas and biofuels industry (Verbio AG) and ADAC have joined forces for the natural gas mobility initiative, in order to unlock the potential of natural gas and bio natural gas, especially in the transport sector. The initiative is once again coordinated by the German Energy Agency (DENA).

Letter of intent from the Natural Gas Mobility Initiative as a download (PDF)

Letter of intent from the Gas Mobility Initiative

Among other things, the automobile manufacturers Audi, Mercedes, Opel and Volkswagen involved in the natural gas mobility initiative are planning to launch new models with natural gas drive in the coming years, which of course can also fill up with natural gas.

Study of natural gas and biomethane in the fuel mix

DENA also published an updated version of its study "Natural gas and biomethane in the future fuel mix" in September. On 38 pages of the study, the need for action and solutions for accelerating the establishment of natural gas and bio natural gas in the transport sector are presented. An interesting read with lots of graphics around the climate-friendly fuel.

The study is available as a PDF on the DENA website ready for download.

Graphic initiative natural gas mobility carbon footprint biofuels
Graphic from the DENA study on natural gas and biomethane in the fuel mix

Investments in bio natural gas infrastructure necessary

In theory, every natural gas vehicle can also be filled with bio natural gas. Bio-natural gas and fossil natural gas are identical in their chemical composition and ultimately stand for the chemical compound methane.

The qualitative and quantitative development of natural gas vehicles and the number of filling stations that offer bio natural gas influence each other proportionally. A tighter supply of petrol stations offering the cheap fuel natural gas will increase sales of natural gas vehicles because refueling will be more convenient.

Conversely, an increasing number of vehicles that can fill up with bio natural gas and thus generate demand will also result in more bio natural gas being offered at petrol stations.

This market connection between supply and demand is banal, but it confirms again how important it is to expand and invest in infrastructure if we want to achieve more bio natural gas in the transport sector.

The natural gas mobility initiative starts at both points. In 2020, around 1.4 million vehicles in Germany should be able to run on natural gas. There are currently 90.000 registered automobiles. Based on the total number of cars in Germany (45 million, as of 2009), this amount corresponds to a share of 3%.

The number of petrol stations that are currently connected to the natural gas network and can therefore also offer bio natural gas as fuel is 900. In the future, their number is expected to increase to 1.300 and thus comprise 10% of the German petrol station network.

If by 2020 only 10% of all natural gas vehicles are fueled with pure bio natural gas, this would correspond to a number of 140.000 cars that run on this climate-friendly and inexpensive biofuel.

I wish the natural gas mobility initiative every success and hope that the tax breaks for the refueling of (bio) natural gas contribute to a success story of the initiative and also of the bio fuel natural gas.

1 Comment on “Natural gas mobility initiative promotes bio natural gas as a biofuel”

  1. Find the use of biogas good because of the easy storage and it can be distributed together with the natural gas, which makes the system economical.

Post a comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Deutsch English
X

1 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 Google+ 1 Email -- 1 Flares ×

Abgesehen von der politischen Förderung von Biomethan durch die von der Bundesregierung formulierten Einspeiseziele bis 2020, braucht es auch entsprechende Biomethan-Abnehmer und Maßnahmen der Industrie, um den Absatz an Bioerdgas in Deutschland anzuheben. Die auf der IAA 2011 vorgestellte Initiative Erdgasmobilität setzt an dieser Stelle an und zielt auf den Verkehrsbereich ab. Die Initiative Erdgasmobilität möchte den Erdgas und Bioerdgas-Anteil im Kraftstoffsektor bis 2020 verzehnfachen und von aktuell 0,3% auf 4% anheben.

Bioerdgas und fossiles Erdgas – ein starkes Team im Kraftstoffmarkt?!

Infrastrukturelle Rahmenbedingungen die den Energieträger Erdgas fördern, sind in der Regel auch förderliche für die „kleine Schwester“ Bioerdgas (siehe Artikel zu Bioerdgas). Deshalb kann sich Bioerdgas bis zu einem gewissen Grad von positiven Entwicklungen der Erdgasbranche mit tragen lassen.

Die ebenfalls zwischen dem fossilen und dem Bioerdgas vorliegende Konkurrenzbeziehung rückt somit in den Hintergrund und beide treten für das gemeinsame Ziele auf, eine größere Bedeutung am Kraftstoffmarkt einzunehmen. Biomethan ist hierbei das Öko- oder Luxusprodukt, während Erdgas als CNG (Compressed Natural Gas) die preiswerte, etabliertere und in großen Mengen verfügbare fossile Variante darstellt.

Gemeinsam sind Erd- und Bioerdgas ein dynamisches Duo. Zusammen bedienen sie sowohl die Kunden, die in erster Hinsicht auf der Suche nach einem günstigen Energieträger für das Strom-Wärme-Kraftstoffpaket sind (Erdgas), bieten aber auch eine Alternative für die Kunden, die ihren Energiebedarf sehr klimabewusst gestalten und die Energieproduktion am Standort Deutschland fördern möchten (Bioerdgas).

In Deutschland wird das Tanken von Erd- beziehungsweise Bioerdgas auf Grund seiner besseren (saubereren) Verbrennung, gegenüber Benzin oder Diesel, mit einer Steuervergünstigung bis 2018 belohnt. Daraus resultieren die etwa 30% geringeren Spritkosten beim Tanken von Erd- und Bioerdgas.

Initiative Erdgasmobilität hebt Erd- und Bioerdgas auf 4% bis 2020

Das erklärte Ziel der Initiative Erdgasmobilität ist es, sich dafür einzusetzen, den Anteil von Erdgas und Bioerdgas im deutschen Verkehrssektor bis 2020 auf 4% anzuheben. Für die Erreichung dieses Ziels haben sich am 14.09.2011 auf der Internationalen Automobil-Ausstellung (IAA) mehrere Akteure zur Initiative Erdgasmobilität zusammengeschlossen.

Einen Zusammenschluss von Unternehmen zur stärkeren allgemeinen Förderung von Biogas und Bioerdgas gab es schon für die Realisierung des zentralen Biogasregisters vor einem Jahr (siehe Artikel Biogasregister). Für die Initiative Erdgasmobilität haben sich hauptsächlich Fahrzeughersteller, Unternehmen der Mineralöl- und Gaswirtschaft, Unternehmen der Biogas- und Biokraftstoffbranche (Verbio AG) sowie der ADAC zusammengeschlossen, um so auch die Potentiale von Erdgas und Bioerdgas speziell im Verkehrssektor freizusetzen. Koordinator der Initiative ist erneut die Deutsche Energieagentur (DENA).

Absichtserklärung der Initiative Erdgasmobilität als Download (PDF)

Absichtserklärung der Initiative Erdgasmobilität

Unter anderem planen die an der Initiative Erdgasmobilität beteiligten Automobilhersteller Audi, Mercedes, Opel und Volkswagen in den kommenden Jahren neue Modelle mit Erdgasantrieb auf den Markt zu bringen, welche dann natürlich auch Bioerdgas tanken können.

Studie Erdgas und Biomethan im Kraftstoffmix

Die DENA hat außerdem im September eine aktualisierte Fassung ihrer Studie „Erdgas und Biomethan im künftigen Kraftstoffmix“ veröffentlich. In der Studie werden auf 38 Seiten der Handlungsbedarf und Lösungsansätze zur Beschleunigung der Etablierung von Erdgas und Bioerdgas im Verkehrssektor vorgestellt. Eine interessante Lektüre mit vielen Grafiken rund um den klimaschonenden Kraftstoff.

Die Studie steht als PDF auf der Internetseite der DENA zum Download bereit.

Grafik Initiative Erdgasmobilität Klimabilanz Biokraftstoffe

Grafik aus der DENA Studie über Erdgas und Biomethan im Kraftstoffmix

Investitionen in Infrastruktur von Bioerdgas notwendig

Jedes Erdgasfahrzeug kann theoretisch auch mit Bioerdgas betankt werden. Bioerdgas und fossiles Erdgas sind in ihrer chemischen Zusammensetzung identisch und stehen letztlich für die chemische Verbindung Methan.

Die qualitative und quantitative Entwicklung von Erdgasfahrzeugen und die Anzahl von Tankstellen die Bioerdgas anbieten, beeinflussen sich proportional. Ein dichteres Angebot an Tankstellen die den günstigen Kraftstoff Erdgas anbieten, wird den Verkauf von Erdgasfahrzeugen erhöhen, weil das Tanken bequemer wird.

Umgekehrt wird eine zunehmende Anzahl an Fahrzeugen die Bioerdgas tanken können und somit eine Nachfrage erzeugen, auch dazu führen, dass an Tankstellen mehr Bioerdgas angeboten wird.

Dieser Marktzusammenhang über Angebot und Nachfrage ist banal, bestätigt aber nochmal, wie wichtig der Ausbau und die Investitionen in die Infrastruktur sind, wenn wir mehr Bioerdgas im Verkehrssektor erreichen möchten.

An beiden Punkten setzt die Initiative Erdgasmobilität an. So sollen im Jahr 2020 etwa 1.4 Millionen Fahrzeuge in Deutschland mit Erdgas betrieben werden können. Aktuell sind es 90.000 angemeldete Automobile. Bezogen auf den Gesamtbestand an Autos in Deutschland (45 Millionen, Stand 2009) entspricht diese Menge einem Anteil von 3%.

Die Anzahl an Tankstellen, die im Moment schon ans Erdgasnetz angeschlossen sind und somit auch Bioerdgas als Kraftstoff anbieten können, liegt bei 900. In Zukunft soll ihre Anzahl auf 1.300 steigen und somit 10% des deutschen Tankstellennetzes umfassen.

Wenn bis 2020 nur 10% aller Erdgasfahrzeuge mit reinem Bioerdgas betankt werden, entspräche das immerhin schon einer Anzahl von 140.000 Autos die mit diesem klimafreundlichen und kostengünstigen Biokraftstoff fahren.

Ich wünsche der Initiative Erdgasmobilität viel Erfolg und hoffe, dass die Steuervergünstigungen für das Tanken von (Bio-)Erdgas zu einer Erfolgsgeschichte der Initiative und auch des Biokraftstoffs Bioerdgas beitragen.