Leipzig is converting natural gas filling stations to bio natural gas from straw

VerbiogasBiofuels that are not yet established on the market can find their way into tanks the fastest if manufacturers, dealers and service station operators work well together and enter into close partnerships. For an innovative pilot project on the use of Biomethane as a fuel Stadtwerke Leipzig and one of the leading biofuel manufacturers in Germany, Verbio AG, have come together.

Biomethane, which can be used as a gaseous biofuel, is becoming increasingly important and even has some advantages over classic liquid biofuels. The space efficiency of biomethane is significantly higher (about 3 times as high) than with Biodiesel, bioethanol and vegetable oil. And when it comes to reducing CO2, and thus contributing to climate protection, gaseous biofuels can still outperform their liquid colleagues.

The German Energy Agency (DENA) also supports the increased use of biomethane with several projects and is committed to overcoming existing market barriers. That was in an article Biogas services from Dena and already presented the individual projects.

Stadtwerke Leipzig opt for green mobility with Verbio

The following text is a joint press release from the Leipzig municipal works and the Verbio Ltd from the 31.07.2012.

From August, VERBIO Vereinigte BioEnergie AG will also be using the natural gas filling stations of Stadtwerke Leipzig verbgas supply. A contract with the municipal utilities provides that at their four stations in the urban area the biofuel verbgas is offered. Natural gas drivers will in future receive environmentally friendly biomethane in natural gas quality from VERBIO at six petrol stations in Leipzig. Leipzig is the first major city in Germany to switch all natural gas filling stations to biogas.

Claus Sauter, CEO of VERBIO AG, comments: “We already supply more than 60 natural gas filling stations across Germany verbgas. More and more German petrol stations and public vehicle fleets are switching completely to our biomethane. That VERBIO, as a company with strong regional roots, now also supplies most natural gas filling stations in Leipzig is a particularly important sign for us. "

Thomas Prauße, CEO of Stadtwerke Leipzig, adds: “Stadtwerke Leipzig are aware of their responsibility towards people, the region and the environment. That is why we rely on sustainable solutions. We want to improve the quality of life for people in this city, and reducing CO2 emissions plays an important role here. The fact that we also have a regional company as a partner in VERBIO is twice the good news. ”

Verbio AG Zörbig biogas plant
Biogas made from straw as bio-fuel and converted into biomethane.

verbgas is made exclusively from agricultural residues such as B. straw. It is therefore not in competition with food production and does not displace agricultural areas. As a result, there is no discussion about plates or tanks. verbgas has the same chemical structure and quality as natural gas and can therefore be safely filled with any amount of any natural gas vehicle. The ecologically better biofuel is therefore offered at petrol stations at the same price as natural gas at no additional cost. Saving compared to conventional fuels verbgas up to 90 percent CO2 emissions compared to petrol or diesel. This makes an effective contribution to climate protection.

Post a comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Deutsch English
X

0 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 Google+ 0 Email -- 0 Flares ×

VerbiogasNoch nicht am Markt etablierte Biokraftstoffe finden ihren Weg in die Tanks am schnellsten, wenn Hersteller, Händler und Tankstellenbetreiber gut zusammenarbeiten und enge Partnerschaften eingehen. Für ein innovatives Pilotprojekt zum Einsatz von Biomethan als Kraftstoff haben sich die Stadtwerke Leipzig und einer der führenden Biokraftstoffhersteller in Deutschland, die Verbio AG, zusammengefunden.

Das als gasförmige Biokraftstoff nutzbare Biomethan gewinnt zunehmend an Bedeutung und hält sogar einige Vorteile gegenüber den klassischen Flüssig-Biokraftstoffen bereit. So ist die Flächeneffizienz von Biomethan deutlich höher (etwa  3 Mal so hoch) als bei Biodiesel, Bioethanol und Pflanzenöl. Und auch bei der CO2-Reduktion, und somit dem Beitrag zum Klimaschutz, kann der gasförmige Biokraftstoff seine flüssigen Kollegen noch übertrumpfen.

Auch die Deutsche Energie-Agentur (DENA) unterstützt den stärkeren Einsatz von Biomethan mit mehreren Projekten und setzt sich für die Überwindung von bestehenden Markhemmnissen ein. In einem Artikel wurde das Biogas-Serviceangebot der Dena und die einzelnen Projekte bereits vorgestellt.

Stadtwerke Leipzig setzen mit Verbio auf Grüne Mobilität

Der folgende Text ist eine gemeinsame Pressemittelung von den Leipziger Stadtwerken und der Verbio AG vom 31.07.2012.

Die VERBIO Vereinigte BioEnergie AG wird ab August die Erdgastankstellen der Stadtwerke Leipzig mit verbiogas beliefern. Ein Vertrag mit den Stadtwerken sieht vor, dass an ihren vier Stationen im Stadtgebiet der Biokraftstoff verbiogas angeboten wird. Erdgasfahrer erhalten künftig an sechs Tankstellen in Leipzig umweltfreundliches Biomethan in Erdgasqualität von VERBIO. Damit ist Leipzig die erste Großstadt in Deutschland, die alle Erdgastankstellen auf Biogas umgestellt hat.

Claus Sauter, Vorstandsvorsitzender der VERBIO AG, kommentiert: „Deutschlandweit beliefern wir schon mehr als 60 Erdgastankstellen mit verbiogas. Immer mehr deutsche Tankstationen und öffentliche Fahrzeugflotten stellen vollständig auf unser Biomethan um. Dass VERBIO als regional stark verwurzeltes Unternehmen nun auch in Leipzig die meisten Erdgastankstellen beliefert, ist für uns ein besonders wichtiges Zeichen.“

Thomas Prauße, Vorsitzender der Geschäftsführung der Stadtwerke Leipzig, ergänzt: „Die Stadtwerke Leipzig sind sich ihrer Verantwortung gegenüber den Menschen, der Region und der Umwelt bewusst. Daher setzen wir auf nachhaltige Lösungen. Uns geht es darum, die Lebensqualität der Menschen in dieser Stadt zu erhöhen, und da spielt die Verringerung des CO2-Ausstoßes eine wichtige Rolle. Dass wir mit VERBIO auch noch ein regionales Unternehmen als Partner haben, ist die doppelt gute Nachricht.“

Biogasanlage Verbio AG Zörbig

Zu Biomethan aufbereitetes Biogas aus Stroh als Biokraftstoff.

verbiogas wird ausschließlich aus landwirtschaftlichen Reststoffen wie z. B. Stroh hergestellt. Es steht daher nicht in Konkurrenz zur Nahrungsmittelproduktion und verdrängt keine landwirtschaftlichen Anbauflächen. Die Diskussion um Teller oder Tank bleibt dadurch aus. verbiogas verfügt über die gleiche chemische Struktur und Qualität wie Erdgas und kann daher bedenkenlos in beliebig hoher Beimischung von allen Erdgasfahrzeugen getankt werden. Der ökologisch bessere Biokraftstoff wird somit ohne Mehrkosten zum gleichen Preis wie Erdgas an den Tankstellen angeboten. Gegenüber herkömmlichen Kraftstoffen spart verbiogas bis zu 90 Prozent CO2-Emissionen im Vergleich zu Benzin oder Diesel ein. Damit wird ein wirksamer Beitrag zum Klimaschutz geleistet.