Bio natural gas - evolution of bioenergy

What distinguishes a successful industry? Especially when viewed over a long period of time, it has to develop further, adapt quickly to changing conditions and ideally also create new trends. This creed naturally also applies to the gaseous bioenergy sector, which as a renewable form of energy makes its contribution to the energy transition. Bio natural gas occupies a particularly interesting position here and is a promising evolutionary step for the further development of bioenergy. This is especially true in the context of EEG amendment 2012, from which the energy product bio natural gas emerges strengthened.

Biogas production infrastructure in Germany

Gaseous bioenergy in Germany has continuously developed in recent decades and has spread from southern Germany to all of Germany. Lower Saxony and Bavaria are leaders in terms of the number of plants and the total installed capacity and each provide around 550 MW (as of 2011) of plant capacity.

Rural, decentralized biogas plants (southern Germany) and large industrial plants (eastern Germany) now shape the biogas landscape in Germany.

The offer a good overview of the current state of development of the biogas industry in Germany Overviews of the biogas association.

Fusion of the biogas and biofuels sector thanks to bio natural gas

The biogas industry is currently striving to emancipate from its exclusively decentralized use and to expand its own range of applications. The special thing is that decentralized and energy-efficient production does not have to be abandoned. How is that possible? With the help of bio natural gas.

What is bio natural gas?

The energetically most important component of the gas mixture "biogas" is methane, which is on average around 60% contained in the raw biogas. Methane is also the main component of natural gas, of which around 100 billion standard cubic meters are distributed to consumers in Germany via the natural gas network.

The purification of biogas to natural gas quality creates BioERDGAS, or biomethane, which is also fed into the natural gas network and can be transported through it. The federal government's goal is to feed in 10 billion m annually3 Bio natural gas into the German natural gas network by 2030. The targeted feed quantity for biomethane thus corresponds to one tenth of today's natural gas consumption.

You can find a good overview of current biomethane feed-in projects in Germany and Europe at Biogas partner website the DENA.

Benefits of bio natural gas

What are the advantages of bio natural gas / biomethane? The special thing about bio natural gas is that it can take gaseous bioenergy to a new level and, figuratively speaking, give it wings.

First, the spatial use of biogas is significantly expanded through the sale as bio natural gas in the natural gas network. Apart from the costs for gas processing plants and connecting lines, from the biogas plant to the natural gas network, no complex investments are required to access a Germany-wide (!) Sales area. Since the bio natural gas feed is long-term and can be funded over a period of 20 years according to the EEG, the investments can be written off over the long term.

Second, the “chemical purity” of bio natural gas (methane) opens up new applications that did not yet exist for heterogeneous biogas (mix of methane, CO2, water vapor, nitrogen, etc.). In the future, bio natural gas can be converted into energy-efficient electricity in every natural gas-powered combined heat and power plant. In addition, bio natural gas can also be used as a biofuel in natural gas powered vehicles. The following sections present two practical projects on the innovative uses of biomethane that have recently been implemented.

The quality control of the bio natural gas fed in is currently carried out by the registration in Biogas register of DENA guaranteed which was started exactly a year ago to the day. According to DENA, the currently registered users already represent 60% of the German biomethane market.

Gas pipeline for bio natural gas and biomethane
Natural gas network - plenty of space for bio natural gas

Natural gas network thanks green bio natural gas paint

If I imagined the natural gas network as a person and I was the agent or spokesman for this extremely successful person in the energy business, I would probably introduce bio natural gas intake as follows.

“My client, the natural gas network, has decided to make an even more active contribution to climate protection in the future. As of now, it will consume more regional products and pay attention to a higher proportion of bio natural gas in the daily menu. With this green coat of paint, it would also like to give something back and thank the many people from the different regions of Germany who have supported his ascent for decades. ”

An important innovation for bioenergy is the use of the natural gas network as a sales partner. Thanks to the possibility of feeding it into the natural gas network, biomethane can be used to operate combined heat and power plants (CHP) that are not in the immediate vicinity of the biogas plant in which the raw biogas was obtained.

The further expansion of the electricity and gas networks is essential for the further integration of renewable energies in Germany (see article).

Bio natural gas CHP supply Berlin with electricity and heat

Thanks to the conversion of biogas into bio natural gas, the use of gaseous bioenergy is no longer restricted to rural regions, but it can also be used increasingly in large cities in the future.

Which infrastructural adjustments are still necessary for this?

The special thing is that all classic natural gas CHP units can be operated with biomethane! If the successful feeding of bio natural gas has taken place, then today's infrastructure is already suitable for a comprehensive use of bio natural gas. While pure biogas CHP units have been specially developed for the combustion of heterogeneous biogas, bio natural gas can be burned in any gas-burning combined heat and power plant that is available on the market.

Only the operator of the combined heat and power plant and, of course, the existing range of bio natural gas decide on the share that biomethane will take on in future in the generation of electricity and heat.

On behalf of the Berliner Immobilienmanagement (BIM), the Berlin energy agency realized a bio-natural gas-fired CHP in a fire station in Berlin-Charlottenburg at the beginning of the year.

The largest of a total of 4 combined heat and power plants built has an output of 240 kWel and 365 kWth. Through this measure in the CHP model city Berlin will save 100 tons of CO annually2 reached. The construction of the combined heat and power plant is part of the complete renovation of the 10 m, which costs 21.000 million euros2 large fire station administration building. Since the first biogas plant in Berlin is still under construction, the natural gas obtained from Gasag is produced by biogas plants in the Berlin area.

Further information on the CHP project can be found in one BIM press release.

The Berlin bio natural gas project described was named “Contracting of the Month” in the September 1st issue of Energie & Management magazine.

Stadtwerke München uses 100% bio natural gas as second generation biofuel

Stadtwerke München is taking another innovative way to fully exploit the flexibility of bio natural gas.

The Munich-based company uses the verbiogas produced by Verbio AG. This biogas converted into bio natural gas is an energy product that uses 90% less CO as fuel2 releases as fossil gasoline.

Verbiogas achieves the excellent climate balance for a currently available fuel due to the exclusive use of waste products from bioethanol production (slurry) and straw. Thanks to the use of organic raw materials that cannot be used as food, the bio natural gas produced in this way is one of the first "2nd generation biofuels" worldwide, which are manufactured on a large scale. You can find one on Verbio AG's innovative concept here another article.

The Verbiogas is offered by the Munich municipal utility, in line with the other energy products, as "M-Ökogas". Since the end of August, M-Ökogas has even been offered at petrol stations in the Munich district with 100% purity (previously 50%).

From now on, all natural gas vehicles can also fill up with 100% biofuel in the Bavarian capital and make a very active contribution to climate protection with a CO2 reduction of 90%. Compared to a petrol engine, the price of bio natural gas is only 76 cents / liter! The different energy content of the two fuels is already taken into account in this calculation.

Bio natural gas has thus arrived in practice as a pure biofuel and should not become a shop keeper thanks to its enormous price advantage.

Obstacles to the feed-in of bio natural gas must be overcome

Bio natural gas has the potential to directly link the previously largely separate sectors of gaseous and liquid bioenergy. In the future it will probably be possible to combine the production of biogas and biofuels much more than before.

In a first step, Verbio AG has already succeeded in this, which also produces biogas as a by-product by fermenting the stillage produced in the production of bioethanol (see previous section). Thanks to the processing to bio natural gas, the biogas produced is now also becoming a biofuel.

For these and other possible uses of bio natural gas, its feed-in still needs to be pushed forward. The main obstacles are (see article) to overcome.

Compared to the annual consumption of fossil natural gas (100 billion m3) seems the biomethane feed-in target (10 billion m3) by the federal government for 2030 relatively low. Nevertheless, this 10% green and regional painting of the natural gas network must first succeed.

The currently very low natural gas price is considered to be an important reason for the problems with bio natural gas feed-in. In some cases there has even been talk of a gas flood in Europe. The border crossing price for natural gas was around 2010 cents / kWh in 2, while the production costs for biomethane were in the vicinity of 6 cents / kWh (according to the Federal Network Agency).

So there is still a long way to go for bio natural gas, which has been pursued with determination in recent years and has been given a further boost by the 2012 EEG amendment.

Monthly newsletter

11 comments on "Bio natural gas - evolution of bioenergy"

  1. An exciting discussion on this article and the topic of processing biogas into bio natural gas and feeding it into the natural gas network has developed in the LinkedIn group Anaerobic Digestion.

    Among other things, the costs of biomethane processing are discussed and the differences between Europe and China are addressed.

    Various operators of biogas plants and natural gas processing technologies (e.g. Markus Dicke from MT Energie) from Great Britain, Belgium, Italy and China took part in the exchange.

    This one Link to the bio natural gas discussion.

  2. As a supplement to the article, here is an interesting eBook for operators of biogas plants and bio natural gas CHP units. The title of the brochure is: "Bio natural gas - regenerative energy with a future | Location determination for energy suppliers "

    The information material was published by the Association for Economical and Environmentally Friendly Energy Consumption (ASUE).

    The Pdf is 6 MB, which is why something Be patient when downloading (about 30 seconds) is necessary!

  3. Find the ice feed in the natural gas network personally as the ideal route for biogas plants. At 150 kw or larger, the heat on the farm cannot be used sensibly. The CHP combined heat and power plant is better where the heat is needed, with a small combined heat and power plant. Or small slurry biogas plants that are operated with what the farmer himself has.

Post a comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Deutsch English
X

15 Flares Twitter 7 Facebook 7 Google+ 1 Email -- 15 Flares ×

Was zeichnet eine erfolgreiche Branche aus? Gerade über einen langen Zeitraum betrachtet, muss sie sich vor allem weiterentwickeln, sich an geänderte Rahmenbedingungen zügig anpassen und im Idealfall auch selbst neue Trends erschaffen. Dieses Credo gilt natürlich auch für die Branche der gasförmigen Bioenergie, die als erneuerbare Energieform ihren Beitrag zur Energiewende leistet. Bioerdgas nimmt hierbei eine besonders interessante Stellung ein und ist ein vielversprechender Evolutionsschritt zur Weiterentwicklung der Bioenergie. Das gilt besonders vor dem Hintergrund der EEG Novelle 2012, aus der das Energieprodukt Bioerdgas gestärkt hervorgeht.

Infrastruktur der Biogasproduktion in Deutschland

Die gasförmige Bioenergie in Deutschland hat sich in den letzten Jahrzehnten ständig weiterentwickelt und sich von Süddeutschland ausgehend mittlerweile in ganz Deutschland verbreitet. Niedersachsen und Bayern sind in Bezug auf die Anlagenzahl und die installierte Gesamtleistung führend und stellen jeweils etwa 550 MW (Stand 2011) an Anlagenkapazität.

Ländliche, dezentrale Biogasanlagen (Süddeutschland) und industrielle Großanlagen (Ostdeutschland) prägen mittlerweile die Biogaslandschaft in Deutschland.

Eine gute Übersicht über den aktuellen Entwicklungsstand der Biogasbranche in Deutschland bieten die Übersichten des Fachverbands Biogas.

Verschmelzung von Biogas- und Biokraftstoffbranche dank Bioerdgas

Aktuell ist die Biogasbranche bestrebt sich von ihrer ausschließlich dezentralen Nutzung zu emanzipieren und das eigene Anwendungsspektrum zu erweitern. Das Besondere ist, dass die dezentrale und energieeffiziente Produktion dabei nicht aufgegeben werden muss. Wie ist das möglich? Mit Hilfe von Bioerdgas.

Was ist Bioerdgas?

Der energetisch wichtigste Bestandteil des Gasgemisches „Biogas“ ist Methan, welches im Durchschnitt zu etwa 60% im Rohbiogas enthalten ist. Methan ist außerdem der Hauptbestandteil von Erdgas, von dem etwa 100 Milliarden Normkubikmeter pro Jahr über das Erdgasnetz an Verbraucher in Deutschland verteilt werden.

Durch die Aufreinigung von Biogas auf Erdgasqualität entsteht BioERDGAS, beziehungsweise Biomethan, welches ebenfalls ins Erdgasnetz eingespeist und über dieses transportiert werden kann. Das Ziel der Bundesregierung ist die Einspeisung von jährlich 10 Milliarden m3 Bioerdgas ins deutsche Erdgasnetz bis zum Jahr 2030. Die angestrebte Einspeisemenge für Biomethan entspricht somit einem Zehntel des heutigen Erdgasverbrauchs.

Eine gute Übersicht über aktuelle Projekte zur Biomethaneinspeisung in Deutschland und Europa finden Sie auf der Biogaspartner-Internetseite der DENA.

Vorteile von Bioerdgas

Was sind die Vorteile von Bioerdgas/ Biomethan? Das Besondere an Bioerdgas ist, dass es die gasförmige Bioenergie auf ein neues Niveau heben und ihr bildlich gesprochen Flügel verleihen kann.

Erstens wird der räumliche Einsatz von Biogas durch den Vertrieb als Bioerdgas im Erdgasnetz deutlich erweitert. Abgesehen von den Kosten für Gasaufbereitungsanlagen und Anschlussleitungen, von der Biogasanlage zum Erdgasnetz, sind hierfür keine aufwändigen Investitionen für den Zugang zu einem deutschlandweiten (!) Absatzgebiet notwendig. Da die Bioerdgaseinspeisung langfristig angelegt ist und über einen Zeitraum von 20 Jahren nach EEG gefördert werden kann, können die Investitionen langfristig abgeschrieben werden.

Zweitens werden durch die „chemische Reinheit“ von Bioerdgas (Methan) neue Anwendungen möglich, die für heterogenes Biogas (Mix aus Methan, CO2, Wasserdampf, Stickstoff etc.) noch nicht existierten. So kann Bioerdgas künftig in jedem erdgasbetriebenen Blockheizkraftwerk sehr energieeffizient verstromt werden. Außerdem kann Bioerdgas auch als Biokraftstoff in erdgasbetriebenen Fahrzeugen verwendet werden. Zu den innovativen Anwendungsmöglichkeiten von Biomethan werden in den folgenden Abschnitten 2 Projekte aus der Praxis vorgestellt die vor kurzem umgesetzt wurden.

Die Qualitätskontrolle des eingespeisten Bioerdgases wird aktuell durch die Anmeldung im Biogasregister der DENA garantiert, welches auf den Tag genau vor einem Jahr gestartet wurde. Laut Angaben der DENA repräsentieren die aktuell angemeldeten Nutzer schon 60% des deutschen Biomethanmarktes.

Gasleitung für Bioerdgas und Biomethan

Erdgasnetz - viel Platz für Bioerdgas

Erdgasnetz bedankt sich mit grünem Bioerdgas-Anstrich

Wenn ich mir das Erdgasnetz als Person vorstelle und ich der Agent oder Presssprecher dieser äußerst erfolgreichen Person im Energiegeschäft wäre, würde ich die Aufnahme von Bioerdgas wahrscheinlich folgendermaßen vorstellen.

„Mein Klient das Erdgasnetz hat sich dazu entschieden, in Zukunft noch aktiver zum Klimaschutz beizutragen. Dazu wird es ab sofort mehr regionale Produkte zu sich nehmen und auf einen höheren Anteil an Bioerdgas im täglichen Speiseplan achten. Mit diesem grünen Anstrich möchte es außerdem etwas zurückgeben und sich bei den zahlreichen Menschen der verschiedenen Regionen Deutschlands bedanken, die über Jahrzehnte seinen Aufstieg unterstützt haben.“

Eine wichtige Neuerung für die Bioenergie ist die Nutzung des Erdgasnetzes als Vertriebspartner. Biomethan kann dank der Möglichkeit zur Einspeisung ins Erdgasnetz zum Betrieb von Blockheizkraftwerken (BHKW) genutzt werden, die sich nicht in unmittelbarer Nähe zur Biogasanlage befinden in dem das Rohbiogas gewonnen wurde.

Der weitere Ausbau der Strom- und Gasnetze ist für die weitere Integration der Erneuerbaren Energien in Deutschland unumgänglich (siehe Artikel).

Bioerdgas-BHKW versorgen Berlin mit Strom und Wärme

Dank der Umwandlung von Biogas in Bioerdgas ist die Nutzung der gasförmigen Bioenergie nicht mehr ausschließlich auf ländliche Regionen beschränkt, sondern sie kann zukünftig auch verstärkt in Großstädten zum Einsatz kommen.

Welche infrastrukturellen Anpassungen sind dafür noch nötig?

Das Besondere ist, dass alle klassischen Erdgas-BHKW mit Biomethan betrieben werden können! Wenn die erfolgreiche Einspeisung des Bioerdgases stattgefunden hat, dann ist schon die heutige Infrastruktur für eine umfassende Nutzung von Bioerdgas geeignet. Während reine Biogas-BHKW speziell für die Verbrennung von heterogenem Biogas entwickelt worden sind, kann Bioerdgas in jedem gasverbrennenden Blockheizkraftwerk verbrannt werden, das es am Markt zu erwerben gibt.

Einzig der Betreiber des Blockheizkraftwerks und natürlich das vorhandene Angebot an Bioerdgas entscheiden über den Anteil, den Biomethan künftig an der Strom- und Wärmeerzeugung übernehmen wird.

Die Berliner Energieagentur realisierte im Auftrag der Berliner Immobilienmanagement (BIM) Anfang des Jahres ein mit Bioerdgas betriebenes BHKW in einer Feuerwache in Berlin-Charlottenburg.

Das größte von insgesamt 4 gebauten Blockheizkraftwerken hat eine Leistung von 240 kWel und 365 kWth. Durch diese Maßnahme in der KWK-Modellstadt Berlin wird eine jährliche Einsparung von 100 Tonnen CO2 erreicht. Der Bau des Blockheizkraftwerks ist in die 10 Millionen Euro kostende Komplettsanierung des 21.000 m2 großen Feuerwache-Verwaltungsgebäudes integrierte. Da die erste Biogasanlage Berlins sich noch im Bau befindet, wird das von der Gasag bezogene Bioerdgas durch Biogasanlagen im Umland von Berlin produziert.

Weitere Informationen zum BHKW-Projekt finden Sie in einer Pressemitteilung der BIM.

Das beschriebene Berliner Bioerdgas-Projekt wurde in der Ausgabe vom 1. September der Zeitschrift Energie & Management zum „Contracting des Monats“ gekürt.

Stadtwerke München nutzen 100% Bioerdgas als Biokraftstoff der 2.Generation

Die Stadtwerke München gehen einen anderen innovativen Weg, die Flexibilität von Bioerdgas voll auszuschöpfen.

Dafür bedienen sich die Münchner dem von der Verbio AG produzierten Verbiogas. Bei diesem zu Bioerdgas aufbereiteten Biogas handelt es sich um ein Energieprodukt, welches als Kraftstoff verwendet 90% weniger CO2 freisetzt als fossiles Benzin.

Die herausragend gute Klimabilanz für einen aktuell verfügbaren Kraftstoff erreicht Verbiogas auf Grund der ausschließlichen Verwendung von Abfallprodukten der Bioethanolproduktion (Schlempe) und Stroh. Dank des Rückgriffs auf organische Ausgangsstoffe die nicht als Lebensmittel verwendet werden können, zählt das auf diese Art erzeugte Bioerdgas zu den ersten „Biokraftstoffen der 2.Generation“ weltweit, welche in großem Maßstab hergestellten werden. Zum innovativen Konzept der Verbio AG finden Sie hier einen weiteren Artikel.

Das Verbiogas wird von den Münchner Stadtwerken, passend zu den anderen Energieprodukten, als „M-Ökogas“ angeboten. An Tankstellen im Münchner Landkreis wird das M-Ökogas seit Ende August sogar mit einer 100%igen Reinheit (bisher 50%) angeboten.

Alle Erdgasfahrzeuge können also ab sofort in der bayrischen Landeshauptstadt auch 100% Biokraftstoff tanken und mit einer CO2-Reduktion von 90% sehr aktiv zum Klimaschutz beitragen. Verglichen mit einem Benziner entspricht der Kraftstoffpreis von Bioerdgas sogar nur 76 Cent/ Liter! Der unterschiedliche Energiegehalt der beiden Kraftstoffe ist in dieser Rechnung schon berücksichtigt.

Bioerdgas ist somit als reiner Biokraftstoff in der Praxis angekommen und dürfte dank seines enormen Preisvorteils kein Ladenhüter werden.

Hemmnisse für die Einspeisung von Bioerdgas müssen überwunden werden

Bioerdgas besitzt das Potential die bisher weitgehend getrennten Branchen der gasförmigen und flüssigen Bioenergie direkt miteinander zu verbinden. Zukünftig wird es wahrscheinlich möglich sein, die Produktion von Biogas und Biokraftstoff noch viel stärker zu kombinieren als bisher.

In einem ersten Schritt ist dies schon der Verbio AG gelungen, welche durch die Vergärung der bei der Bioethanolherstellung anfallenden Schlempe auch Biogas als Koppelprodukt herstellen (siehe vorheriger Abschnitt). Dank der Aufbereitung zu Bioerdgas wird nun auch das produzierte Biogas zu einem Biokraftstoff.

Für diese und weitere Anwendungsmöglichkeiten von Bioerdgas muss dessen Einspeisung noch stark vorangetrieben werden. Hierbei gilt es vor allem die vorliegenden Hemmnisse (siehe Artikel) zu überwinden.

Im Vergleich mit dem jährlichen Verbrauch an fossilem Erdgas (100 Milliarden m3) scheint das Biomethan-Einspeiseziel (10 Milliarden m3) der Bundesregierung für 2030 relativ gering. Trotzdem muss dieser 10%ige grüne und regionale Anstrich des Erdgasnetzes erst mal gelingen.

Als wichtiger Grund für die Probleme bei der Bioerdgas-Einspeisung wird der aktuell sehr niedrige Erdgaspreis betrachtet. Teilweise wurde in diesem Zusammenhang sogar schon von einer Gasschwemme in Europa gesprochen. So lag der Grenzübergangspreis für Erdgas im Jahr 2010 bei etwa 2 Cent/ kWh, während sich Herstellungskosten für Biomethan im Umfeld von 6 Cent/ kWh (Angaben Bundesnetzagentur) bewegten.

Es ist also noch ein langer Bioerdgas-Weg, der aber in den letzten Jahren zielstrebig gegangen wurde und durch die EEG Novelle 2012 einen weiteren Schub erhalten hat.

Monatlicher Newsletter