Biogas plant operator discovers successful way to feed biomethane!

This is a headline that I would like to read more frequently in the press and in the bioenergy trade magazines in the coming years. Biomethane projects help to ensure that gaseous bioenergy can put its contact with energy consumers on a much broader basis and that a green shade is continuously added to the natural gas network. Unfortunately, the golden compass for successful biomethane feed-in projects has not yet been found. Solid navigation devices would actually be worth gold in the storm of the energy transition, which is currently disrupting our traditional energy supply. Let us work together to overcome the obstacles in order to improve the funding situation for the EEG 2012 biomethane to use and accelerate the breakthrough of the most flexible of all bioenergy sources.

Natural gas network enables transportation of biomethane and green gas

I'll probably make it in the 10 articles of the little ones Bioenergy campaign not to keep the light marketing tone out of my writing style. But I am a bioenergy enthusiast and I am convinced that an improved biomethane infrastructure will be the next milestone to secure the expansion of bioenergy and to advance European networking.

The one that came into force at the beginning of the year EEG novella 2012 in addition to the legally supported size classes for biogas plants (keyword: Mini biogas plant) also put the biomethane market on a new footing. Not only has the amount of support for the feed-in tariff been increased (!), But the total Compensation structure customized. The following framework conditions for biomethane have changed:

  • The level of remuneration is tied to new input material classes (ESK 0, ESK I, ESK II).
  • The use of ecologically advantageous feedstocks such as liquid manure or landscape maintenance material is most strongly promoted in ESK II.
  • From 2012, new biomethane feed-in plants will have to use a mass balance system, which in the form of the Germany's biogas register was realized. Existing plants will only have to use the biogas register founded in 2010 from 2013.
  • Biomethane processing has been carried out since January 1, up to a nominal output of 700 m3 Biomethane / h funded at 3 cents per kilowatt hour. The maximum feed-in power for which the highest subsidy rate is paid has thus been doubled.
  • Until 1.000 m3 Biomethane / h, a remuneration of 2 cents / kWh is paid. Up to a nominal output of 1.400 m3 The plant operator receives 1 cent / kWh of biomethane / h.

For the exact calculation of the remuneration amounts according to EEG 2012 you can also use the specially designed one Biomethane calculator of the German Biomass Research Center (DBFZ). Here you will also find an article on Introduction of the biogas register.

The green has to be the horror - biomethane is looking for its way into the natural gas network

Admittedly, playing with the colors and the green label of renewable energies goes a bit far in the marketing of some providers of green electricity and green gas. The procedure, which is often criticized as “greenwashing”, is an easily comprehensible but not very sustainable method for marketing regenerative energy products. Fortunately, this is still limited with biomethane and we should make sure that we do not artificially inflate its reputation with unrealistically radiant advertising slogans ("claims") to save the world. This flexible energy source does not need that at all.

An interesting article on greenwashing is recently in the Algae Observer appeared.

Green gas but not biomethane
Biomethane is not a green gas, but it helps us protect the climate.

From a chemical point of view, biomethane is identical to fossil methane and it is not possible to distinguish between the two without knowing the origin. Apart from the fact that a slightly greenish shimmering biomethane would certainly be a gift for the branding of biomethane products, this equality (compatibility) of biomethane and natural gas is also good news, as it allows the problem-free feeding of biomethane into the existing natural gas infrastructure!

Biomethane is a green gas and can therefore be advertised as particularly "green" because it achieves high levels of CO2 reduction compared to fossil natural gas and in this way contributes directly to climate protection. One as "Green gas“The gas product sold must even guarantee that it is CO2 neutral.

In order to make the use of gaseous bioenergy even more efficient and broad, the processing of the already established biogas to biomethane is a great option. This is fed into the natural gas network and can then be turned into electricity at the location where the demand for the heat generated is as high as possible. The overall energy efficiency of this usage path is significantly higher than with pure electricity generation from biogas without a correspondingly comprehensive heat usage concept.

If the processing and feeding of biomethane is not a viable option for you, you will find 12 suggestions for improving the Heat utilization concept of your biogas plant.

Obstacles to the feed-in of biomethane must be overcome

Despite the ecological and economic potential, the worldwide feed of biomethane is still in its infancy and sees itself with a multitude of obstacles to be overcome faced. There are currently only around 70 plants in Germany that feed in biomethane.

The installation of a processing plant and the connection to the natural gas network is a complex project, but can quickly pay off in large biogas plants from 1.500 kW. A Interview with Reinhard Schultz, Managing Director of the Biogasrat eV, clearly shows that the large biogas associations firmly believe in the potential of biomethane for Germany and Europe and work together for this energy source.

For operators of biogas plants, the generation and feed-in of biomethane is an interesting alternative that should be checked individually. For example, the Haase Energietechnik GmbH a technological pioneer in the field of biomethane processing.

Unfortunately, this company is also an example of the fact that technological market leadership alone is not a guarantee for business success, as this very workhorse of biomethane technology had to file for bankruptcy two weeks ago. According to the company, this step was necessary in order to respond to short-term financing problems that arose as a result of the conversion to the framework conditions of the EEG 2.
However, the past has shown that innovative bioenergy technologies can also survive a phase of business insolvency. Here I think primarily of the Bankruptcies of Choren Industries and Schmack Biogas GmbH. I hope that Haase Energietechnik GmbH can quickly overcome their current problems. Your know-how in the field of biomethane is certainly a good basis for this.

I am confident that in the next 3 years we will see a significant increase in biogas plants in Germany, which successfully integrate the feed-in of biomethane.

Even if the heading of this article initially promised more than the biomethane landscape can offer at the moment, I hope to be able to read this heading at ever shorter intervals in the future. The compass doesn't have to be “golden” right away. In the first step, it is sufficient if it works and shows the biomethane industry a successful path through the energy transition.

Do you know the plants in your area that have already started feeding biomethane? I am grateful for a short feedback.

3 comments on “Biogas plant operator discovers successful way to feed biomethane!”

  1. Ladies and Gentlemen,

    We were very interested in your article "Biogas plant operator discovers successful way to feed in biomethane!" MT-BioMethan GmbH from Zeven has already implemented 21 biogas processing and feed-in projects in Germany.
    Thank you for your positive contribution and the potential of the biogas feed! On our website you will find further information on the topic of biogas feed.

    Greetings from Zeven
    Timo Vaske
    MT BioMethane

  2. Many thanks to Mr. Vaske for the motivating feedback.

    The MT energy and the MT biomethane are among the leading plant manufacturers in the field of biogas and biomethane and I would be delighted if you share the assessment that the potential of these bioenergy sources is still huge. We need a lot more positive news in the industry to achieve the biomethane goals.

    I am happy to report on particularly innovative biomethane projects that you successfully placed on the market. For operators of biogas plants who are thinking about feeding biomethane, these are definitely interesting suggestions.

    Greetings to Zeven,
    Ron Kirchner

Post a comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Deutsch English
X

12 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 Google+ 12 Email -- 12 Flares ×

Das ist eine Headline, die ich den kommenden Jahren häufiger in der Presse und den Bioenergie-Fachmagazinen lesen möchte. Biomethan-Projekte tragen dazu bei, dass die gasförmige Bioenergie ihren Kontakt zu den Energieverbrauchern auf eine viel breitere Basis stellen kann und dem Erdgasnetz kontinuierlich ein Grünton beigemischt wird. Der goldene Kompass für erfolgreiche Biomethan-Einspeiseprojekte ist aber leider noch nicht gefunden. Dabei wären solide Navigationsgeräte tatsächlich Gold wert in dem Sturm der Energiewende, welcher unsere traditionelle Energieversorgung aktuell durcheinanderbringt. Lassen sie uns gemeinsam an der Überwindung der Hindernisse arbeiten, um die im EEG 2012 verbesserte Fördersituation für Biomethan zu nutzen und den Durchbruch des flexibelsten aller Bioenergieträger zu beschleunigen.

Erdgasnetz ermöglicht Transport von Biomethan und Ökogas

Wahrscheinlich schaffe ich es in den 10 Artikeln der kleinen Bioenergie-Kampagne nicht, den leichten Marketing-Ton aus meinem Schreibstil herauszuhalten. Aber ich bin Bioenergie-Enthusiast und davon überzeugt, dass eine verbesserte Biomethan-Infrastruktur der nächste Meilenstein sein wird, um den Ausbau der Bioenergie zu sichern und die europäische Vernetzung voranzubringen.

Die zu Beginn des Jahres in Kraft getretene EEG-Novelle 2012 hat neben den gesetzlich geförderten Größenklassen für Biogasanlagen (Stichwort: Mini-Biogasanlage) auch den Biomethanmarkt auf ein neues Fundament gestellt. Dabei ist nicht nur die Förderhöhe der Einspeisevergütung erhöht (!) worden, sondern es wurde die gesamte Vergütungsstruktur angepasst. Folgende Rahmenbedingungen für Biomethan haben sich geändert:

  • Die Vergütungshöhe ist an neue Einsatzstoffklassen (ESK 0, ESK I, ESK II) gebunden.
  • Der Einsatz von ökologisch vorteilhaften Einsatzstoffen wie Gülle oder Landschaftspflegematerial wird in der ESK II am stärksten gefördert.
  • Ab 2012 müssen neue Biomethan-Einspeiseanlagen ein Massenbilanzsystem verwenden, welches hierzulande in Form des Biogasregister Deutschlands realisiert wurde. Bestandsanlagen müssen das 2010 gegründete Biogasregister erst ab 2013 nutzen.
  • Aufbereitung von Biomethan wird seit dem 1.Januar bis zu einer Nennleistung von 700 m3 Biomethan/ h mit 3 Cent pro Kilowattstunde gefördert. Die maximale Einspeiseleistung, für die der höchste Fördersatz bezahlt wird, wurde somit verdoppelt.
  • Bis 1.000 m3 Biomethan/ h wird eine Vergütung von 2 Cent/ kWh gezahlt. Bis zu einer Nennleistung von 1.400 m3 Biomethan/ h erhält der Anlagenbetreiber noch 1 Cent/ kWh.

Für die genaue Berechnung der Vergütungssummen nach EEG 2012 können sie auch auf den dafür konzipierten Biomethan-Rechner des Deutschen BiomasseForschungsZentrums (DBFZ) zurückgreifen. Hier finden sie außerdem einen Artikel zur Einführung des Biogasregisters.

Das Grüne muss zum Grauen – Biomethan sucht seinen Weg ins Erdgasnetz

Zugegeben, das Spiel mit den Farben und dem grünen Etikett von erneuerbaren Energien geht beim Marketing einiger Anbieter von Ökostrom und Ökogas etwas weit. Das häufig als „Greenwashing“ kritisierte Vorgehen ist eine leicht nachvollziehbare, aber nicht sehr nachhaltige Methode zur Vermarktung von regenerativen Energieprodukten. Beim Biomethan hält sich das bisher zum Glück noch in Grenzen und wir sollten darauf achten, dass wir seinen Ruf nicht mit unrealistisch strahlenden Werbeslogans („Claims“) zur Rettung der Welt künstlich überhöhen. Das hat dieser flexible Energieträger gar nicht nötig.

Ein interessanter Artikel zum Thema Greenwashing ist übrigens kürzlich im Algae Observer erschienen.

Grünes Gas aber nicht Biomethan

Biomethan ist kein grünes Gas, aber es hilft uns beim Klimaschutz.

Biomethan ist chemisch betrachtet identisch mit fossilem Methan und eine Unterscheidung der Beiden ist ohne Kenntnis der Herkunft nicht möglich. Abgesehen davon, dass ein leicht grünlich schimmerndes Biomethan sicher ein Geschenk für das Branding von Biomethan-Produkten wäre, ist diese Gleichheit (Verträglichkeit) von Biomethan und Erdgas auch eine gute Nachricht, erlaubt sie doch die problemlose Einspeisung von Biomethan in die bestehende Erdgasinfrastruktur!

Biomethan ist ein Ökogas und kann deshalb als besonders „grün“ beworben werden, weil es hohe CO2-Minderungswerte im Vergleich mit dem fossilen Erdgas erreicht und auf diesem Wege direkt zum Klimaschutz beiträgt. Ein als „Ökogas“ vertriebenes Gasprodukt muss sogar garantieren, dass es CO2-neutral ist.

Um die Nutzung der gasförmigen Bioenergie noch effizienter und breiter zu gestalten, ist die Aufbereitung des schon etablierten Biogases zu Biomethan eine tolle Möglichkeit. Dieses wird ins Erdgasnetz eingespeist und kann anschließend an dem Ort verstromt werden, an dem die Nachfrage für die anfallende Wärme möglichst hoch ist. Der energetische Gesamtwirkungsgrad dieses Nutzungspfads ist deutlich höher als bei der reinen Verstromung von Biogas ohne entsprechend umfassendes Wärmenutzungskonzept.

Sollte die Aufbereitung und Einspeisung von Biomethan keine praktikable Option für sie sein, dann finden sie hier 12 Anregungen zur Verbesserung des Wärmenutzungskonzepts ihrer Biogasanlage.

Hindernisse zur Einspeisung von Biomethan müssen überwunden werden

Trotz der ökologischen und ökonomischen Potentiale steckt die weltweite Einspeisung von Biomethan noch in den Kinderschuhen und sieht sich mit einer Vielzahl von noch zu überwindenden Hemmnissen konfrontiert. Aktuell gibt es erst in Deutschland etwa 70 Anlagen, die Biomethan einspeisen.

Die Installation einer Aufbereitungsanlage und der Anschluss an das Erdgasnetz ist ein aufwendiges Projekt, kann sich bei großen Biogasanlagen ab 1.500 kW aber schnell rechnen. Ein Interview mit Reinhard Schultz, Geschäftsführer des Biogasrat e.V., zeigt deutlich, dass die großen Biogasverbände fest an das Potential von Biomethan für Deutschland und Europa glauben und sich für diesen Energieträger gemeinsam einsetzen.

Für Betreiber von Biogasanlagen ist die Erzeugung und Einspeisung von Biomethan eine interessante Alternative, die individuell geprüft werden sollte. So ist beispielsweise die Haase Energietechnik GmbH ein technologischer Vorreiter auf dem Gebiet der Aufbereitung von Biomethan.

Leider ist eben diese Firma auch ein Beispiel dafür, dass technologische Marktführerschaft allein kein Garant für den Geschäftserfolg ist, musste doch genau dieses Zugpferd der Biomethantechnologie vor 2 Wochen vorerst Insolvenz anmelden. Dieser Schritt war nach Unternehmensangaben nötig, um auf kurzfristige Finanzierungsprobleme zu reagieren, welche durch die Umstellung auf die Rahmenbedingungen des EEG 2012  aufgetreten sind.
Die Vergangenheit hat allerdings gezeigt, dass innovative Bioenergie-Technologien auch eine Phase der betriebswirtschaftlichen Insolvenz überstehen können. Hierbei denke ich vor allem an die Insolvenzen der Choren Industries und der Schmack Biogas GmbH. Ich hoffe, dass die Haase Energietechnik GmbH ihre aktuellen Probleme schnell überwinden kann. Ihr Know-How im Bereich Biomethan ist dafür sicher eine gute Grundlage.

Ich bin zuversichtlich, dass wir in den kommenden 3 Jahren einen deutlichen Anstieg von Biogasanlagen in Deutschland sehen werden, welche die Einspeisung von Biomethan erfolgreich integrieren.

Auch wenn die Überschrift dieses Artikels erstmal mehr versprochen hat, als die Biomethanlandschaft im Moment bieten kann, hoffe ich doch genau diese Überschrift zukünftig in immer kürzeren Abständen lesen zu können. Der Kompass muss ja noch nicht gleich „golden“ sein. Im  ersten Schritt reicht es auch aus wenn er funktioniert und der Biomethanbranche einen erfolgreichen Weg durch die Energiewende weist.

Kennen sie die Anlagen in ihrer Umgebung, die bereits mit der Biomethaneinspeisung begonnen haben? Für ein kurzes Feedback bin ich ihnen dankbar.