12 innovative concepts for additional use of heat in biogas production

When the gas obtained is burned in the biogas plant, electricity and heat are generated. The energy efficiency, depending on the power generation technology used, is up to 43%. Thanks to the increasing use of combined heat and power (CHP) systems, such as  CHP units the possibility of using biogas thermally has also developed significantly and is technologically very efficient. Extensive use of the two energetic products of electricity and heat is one of the decisive factors for the business success of a biogas plant. This fact is not always easy, especially when planning the use of heat.

To give you some inspiration, I have put together a list of the usage ideas I know.

List of usage concepts for heat from biogas plants

1. Use of heat from biogas plants for greenhouses

The combination of the two is quite common Biogas technology with plant cultivation (eg vegetables) in greenhouses. The heat generated can be introduced into the greenhouse and helps, especially in winter, to maintain a desired temperature and to use the otherwise wasted heat. Individual temperature control is of course possible.

2. Heat to produce Luxury products

For example, a plant operator in Affinghausen, Lower Saxony, has implemented a business idea in which the heat produced is used on site to operate a modern shrimp breeding facility. The “Affinghauser Meeresfarm” for high-quality shrimp will offer the first fine bites in spring. A similar creative idea can certainly also be realized elsewhere. Such pioneering projects naturally require courage and passion in addition to special expertise in another area, but they are definitely a lot of fun.

3. Use of heat for agriculture

In addition to heating the vehicle fleet hall, which is usually regarded as a less favorable alternative for heating, many synergies can be generated in an agricultural operation. So it was with the Danish project "Pig City" (link) relied on the combination of pig breeding, tomato cultivation and biogas production.

Heating stables is also a comparatively uncomplicated and sensible way of integrating the precious heat into the production cycle.

4. Process heat for the operation of the biogas plant

The production of biogas is based on the fermentation work of many microorganisms that require a certain ambient temperature for their metabolism. Depending on the operating temperature you have chosen as the system operator (usually around 40-45 ° C, but research projects also experiment with 70 ° C), more or less heat is required. Being able to determine the fermenter temperature yourself without having to buy external heat can make the biogas plant more profitable and environmentally friendly.

5. Biogas plant provides heating and room heat

The direct use as heating is the most obvious Form of heat use. Especially in winter, private households or public buildings can benefit greatly from this heat source and step in as a complete buyer. For biogas plants in the vicinity of settlements, a school building, hospital, swimming pool or sauna can be supplied inexpensively and environmentally friendly with heat using a local heating network. For systems that are very decentralized or for which not enough heat consumers can be found, investing in a district heating network can be considered in order to increase the heat distribution area.

6. Cooling by heat pumps

With the help of chillers, the existing heat can even be used to reduce the temperature at a specific location and to provide cooling. Production processes that rely on low temperatures (supermarkets, warehouses) can benefit from the heat conversion. The special thing is that this type of use is also interesting in summer and can be used for air conditioning in buildings!

7. Biogas plants supply process heat for drying processes

Drying is necessary in agriculture (grain drying) or many other industries. This process can be realized or supported by the evaporation of water with the help of high room temperatures. This also gives rise to the possibility of combining two forms of bioenergy. For the pellet production, the raw wood (or sawdust) must first be dried in order to achieve the lowest possible water content and thus higher calorific value. The heat from the biogas plant can be used for this.

8. Generation of pressure with the help of heat

An idea that came to me recently would also be to use thermal energy to press the pellets. The hot gas can be used directly to build up a high pressure or indirectly by generating water vapor. In this case, the biogas plant could supply the process heat for a hammer or screw press.

9. Warmth for washing

Washing processes require certain chemicals and a certain water temperature. The heat generated by biogas combustion can be used for various industries for the water temperature during washing.

10. Heat delivery for paper and pulp production

There are nowhere near as many paper production plants as there are biogas plants, but the combination of both technologies or processes promises a particularly large number of synergies. Both an energetic and a material exchange can take place.

11. Feeding into heat storage and heating networks

In the event of a strongly fluctuating heat requirement at one location, the heat produced can also be fed into a heat store in order to be called up at peak loads. This would enable heat to be used with a time delay.

12. Use of heat for electricity conversion

Theoretically, the residual heat can also be used to heat water again, to drive a turbine with the steam obtained and thus to generate electricity in another circuit. If there is no other possibility of use, this type of subsequent electricity generation is certainly a possibility of using the waste heat in a subsequent electricity generation cycle. How high the efficiency is, especially for small systems, has to be calculated on a case-by-case basis.

For very high pressures and temperatures, such as those used in heavy industry, the heat generated during biogas combustion is of course not sufficient. For use in smaller companies or in light industry, however, there may be very good uses. The question of business efficiency for the heat consumer also depends on the respective heat price (i.e. ultimately the heating oil and natural gas). As an operator of a biogas plant for heat use receives further funding under the EEG (currently 3 cents / kWh), it is definitely worthwhile to find an acceptance partner.

Developments on the biomethane market (biogas feed) will also make it easier to find heat consumers, since heat is no longer used in the immediate vicinity or has to be transported at a loss via district heating networks. Especially in big cities like Berlin Combined heat and power has great potential (link).

If you have other ideas yourself or have even realized them, please write a comment. The further development and success of biogas technology depend, in my opinion, on good heat utilization concepts in the medium term.

2 comments on "12 innovative concepts for additional heat use in biogas production"

  1. Armin Hambrecht

    Would you generate electricity from the waste heat biogas / CHP plant (OCR or Turbo), would this be remunerated according to the EEG?

  2. ZUCCATO ENERGIA (ZE) https://zuccatoenergia.it/de/
    is a manufacturer of ORC systems*,
    which converts waste heat generated during production processes into electricity.
    *https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Organic_Rankine_Cycle

    ZUCCATO ENERGIA helps significantly with its environmental systems,
    To achieve reductions in energy costs and CO2 emissions!

    The use of ZUCCATO ENERGIA environmental systems offers these advantages:

    – ZUCCATO enables full pre-financing to – contracting
    – CO2-free power generation, thereby eliminating the costs for this – see table below
    – Attractive heat utilization concepts with high returns
    – Reduced energy costs through self-generation
    – Greater efficiency with the shortest payback periods – less than 2 years
    – Increasing the profitability of power generation processes
    – High electrical efficiency – approx. 15%
    – Use of high and low temperature heat sources
    – Optimum use of condensation heat
    – State funding of up to 60% of the investment sum
    – Resource protection
    With kind regards,

    Reinhardt Fernbach

    Sales DACH

    Zuccato Energia Srl
    Via della Consortia 2
    37127 Verona Italy

    Tel .: + 43 670 6071433
    E-Mail: r.fernbach@zuccatoenergia.it

    Website https://zuccatoenergia.it/de/
    Videos:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9zWiZjFg3xo

Post a comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Deutsch English
X

5 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 4 Google+ 1 Email -- 5 Flares ×

Bei der Verbrennung des gewonnenen Gases in der Biogasanlage entsteht Strom und Wärme. Der energetische Wirkungsgrad liegt dabei, abhängig von der verwendeten Verstromungstechnologie, bei bis zu 43%. Dank der zunehmenden Verwendung von Anlagen zur Kraft-Wärme-Kopplung (KWK), wie  Blockheizkraftwerken (BHKW) hat sich auch die Möglichkeit zur thermischen Nutzung des Biogases stark entwickelt und ist technologisch gesehen sehr effizient. Die beiden energetischen Produkte Strom und Wärme umfassend zu nutzen, ist einer der entscheidenden Faktoren für den betriebswirtschaftlichen Erfolg einer Biogasanlage. Diese Tatsache ist vor allem bei der Planung der Wärmenutzung nicht immer einfach.

Um einige Inspirationen zu geben, habe ich die mir bekannten Nutzungsideen in einer Liste zusammengestellt.

Liste der Nutzungskonzepte für Wärme aus Biogasanlagen

1. Wärmenutzung aus Biogasanlagen für Gewächshäuser

Schon ziemlich verbreitet ist die Kombination von der Biogastechnologie mit dem Pflanzenanbau (z.B. Gemüse) in Gewächshäusern. Die entstandene Wärme kann dabei in das Gewächshaus eingeleitet werden und hilft vor allem im Winter eine gewünschte Temperatur zu halten und die sonst verschenkte Wärme zu nutzen. Eine individuelle Regelung der Temperatur ist natürlich möglich.

2. Wärme zur Herstellung von Luxusprodukten

So hat ein Anlagenbetreiber im niedersächsischen Affinghausen eine Geschäftsidee umgesetzt, bei welcher die produzierte Wärme vor Ort genutzt wird, um eine modern ausgebaute Schrimpszucht zu betreiben. Die „Affinghauser Meeresfarm“ für hochwertige Schrimps wird die ersten Edelhappen im Frühjahr anbieten. Eine ähnliche kreative Idee kann sicher auch anderorts realisiert werden. Solche Pionierprojekte erfordern neben spezieller Sachkenntnis auf einem weiteren Gebiet natürlich Mut und Leidenschaft, machen dann aber bestimmt besonders viel Spaß.

3. Wärmenutzung für die Landwirtschaft

Neben dem Beheizen der Fuhrpark-Halle, welche meist als weniger günstige Nutzenalternative für Wärme betrachtet wird, können viele Synergien in einem landwirtschaftlichen Betrieb erzeugt werden. So wurde bei dem dänischen Projekt „Pig City“ (link) auf die Kombination von Schweinezucht, Tomatenanbau und Biogasproduktion gesetzt.

Auch das Beheizen von Ställen ist eine vergleichsweise unkomplizierte und sinnvolle Möglichkeit die kostbare Wärme in den Produktionskreislauf zu integrieren.

4. Prozesswärme für den Betrieb der Biogasanlage

Die Gewinnung von Biogas basiert auf der Vergärungsarbeit vieler Mikroorganismen, die für ihren Stoffwechsel eine bestimmte Umgebungstemperatur benötigen. Je nachdem, für welche Betriebstemperatur man sich als Anlagenbetreiber entschieden hat (meistens um die 40-45° C, Forschungsprojekte experimentieren jedoch auch mit 70° C) ist mehr oder weniger Wärme nötig. Die Fermentertemperatur selbst bestimmen zu können, ohne extern Wärme dazu kaufen zu müssen, kann die Biogasanlage rentabler und umweltfreundlicher machen.

5. Biogasanlage liefert Heiz- und Raumwärme

Die direkte Verwendung als Heizwärme ist die naheliegendste Wärmenutzungsform. Vor allem im Winter können private Haushalte oder öffentliche Gebäude von dieser Wärmequelle stark profitieren und als Komplettabnehmer einspringen. Für Biogasanlagen in Siedlungsnähe kann mit Hilfe eines Nahwärmenetzes ein Schulgebäude, Krankenhaus, eine Schwimmhalle oder eine Sauna preiswert und umweltfreundlich mit Wärme versorgt werden. Für Anlagen, die sehr dezentral gelegen sind oder für die nicht genügend Wärmeabnehmer gefunden werden können, kann über die Investition in ein Fernwärmenetz nachgedacht werden um den Verteilungsbereich der Wärme zu erhöhen.

6. Kühlung durch Wärmepumpen

Mit Hilfe von Kältemaschinen kann die vorhandene Wärme sogar genutzt werden, um die Temperatur an einem bestimmten Ort zu reduzieren und eine Kühlung vorzunehmen. So können Produktionsprozesse, welche auf niedrige  Temperaturen angewiesen sind (Supermärkte, Lagerhäuser) von der Wärmeumwandlung profitieren. Das besondere ist, dass diese Nutzungsform auch im Sommer interessant ist und zur Klimatisierung von Gebäuden genutzt werden kann!

7. Biogasanlagen liefern Prozesswärme für Trocknungsvorgänge

In der Landwirtschaft (Getreidetrocknung) oder vielen anderen Industrien sind Trocknungsvorgänge nötig. Dieser Vorgang kann durch das Verdunsten von Wasser mit Hilfe von hohen Raumtemperaturen realisiert oder unterstützt werden. Hieraus ergibt sich auch die Möglichkeit der Kombination von zwei Formen der Bioenergie. So muss für die Pelletherstellung das Rohholz (oder die Sägespäne) zuerst getrocknet werden, um einen möglichst geringen Wassergehalt und somit höheren Brennwert zu erreichen. Dafür kann die Wärme der Biogasanlage verwendet werden.

8. Erzeugung von Druck mit Hilfe von Wärme

Eine Idee, die mir neulich selbst gekommen ist, wäre auch das Nutzen der Wärmeenergie für das Pressen der Pellets. So kann das heiße Gas direkt genutzt werden, um einen hohen Druck aufzubauen oder indirekt über das Erzeugen von Wasserdampf. In dem Fall könnte die Biogasanlage die Prozesswärme für eine Hammer- oder Spindelpresse liefern.

9. Wärme für Waschvorgänge

Waschvorgänge benötigen bestimmte Chemikalien und eine bestimmte Wassertemperatur. Für die Wassertemperatur beim Waschen kann für verschiedene Industrien die entstehende Wärme der Biogasverbrennung genutzt werden.

10. Wärmelieferung für Papier- und Zellstoffproduktion

Nun gibt es bei weitem nicht so viele Anlagen zur Papierherstellung, wie es Biogasanlagen gibt, aber die Kombination beider Technologien oder Vorgänge verspricht besonders viele Synergien. Es können sowohl ein energetischer, wie auch ein stofflicher Austausch stattfinden.

11. Einspeisung in Wärmespeicher und Wärmenetze

Bei einem stark schwankenden Wärmebedarf an einem Ort kann die produzierte Wärme auch in einen Wärmespeicher eingespeist werden, um bei Spitzenlasten abgerufen zu werden. So würde eine Wärmenutzung mit zeitlicher Verzögerung ermöglicht.

12. Nutzen der Wärme zur Nachverstromung

Die Restwärme kann theoretisch auch genutzt werden, um erneut Wasser zu erhitzen, mit dem gewonnen Dampf eine Turbine anzutreiben und somit in einem weiteren Kreislauf Strom zu erzeugen. Diese Art der Nachverstromung ist bei sonst fehlender Nutzungsmöglichkeit sicher eine Möglichkeit, die Abwärme in einem anschließenden  Verstromungskreislauf zu nutzen. Wie groß der Wirkungsgrad besonders bei kleinen Anlagen ist, muss von Fall zu Fall ausgerechnet werden.

Für sehr hohe Drücke und Temperaturen, wie sie in der Schwerindustrie gebraucht werden, ist die entstehende Wärme bei der Biogasverbrennung natürlich nicht ausreichend. Für den Einsatz in kleinerer Betrieben oder der Leichtindustrie können sich aber sehr gute Nutzungsmöglichkeiten ergeben. Die Frage nach der betriebswirtschaftlichen Effizienz für den Wärmeabnehmer hängt auch vom jeweiligen Wärmepreis (also letztlich dem Heizöl und Erdgas) ab. Da man als Betreiber einer Biogasanlage für die Wärmenutzung eine weitere Förderung nach dem EEG bekommt (aktuell 3 cent / kWh), lohnt sich das Finden eines Abnahmepartners aber in jedem Fall.

Die Entwicklungen auf dem Biomethanmarkt (Biogaseinspeisung) werden auch die Suche nach Wärmeabnehmern erleichtern, da die Wärmenutzung nicht mehr in direkter Nähe stattfinden oder mit Verlusten über Fernwärmenetze transportiert werden muss. Gerade in Großstädten wie Berlin hat die Kraft-Wärme-Kopplung ein großes Potential (link).

Wenn sie selbst noch weitere Ideen haben oder diese sogar realisiert wurden, dann schreiben sie doch einen Kommentar. Die Weiterentwicklung und der Erfolg der Biogastechnologie hängen, meiner Meinung nach, mittelfristig auch von guten Wärmenutzungskonzepten ab.