Expert dialogue on wood energy in Germany and the co-combustion of solid biomass

With numerous solid, liquid and gaseous energy sources, bioenergy has a broad base and offers possible uses for every energy sector. In the public bioenergy debate, the strengths and weaknesses of biogas and Biofuels discussed and we are looking for the ideal application paths of bioenergy in the electricity and fuel market. In contrast, solid bioenergy sources based on the raw material wood dominate the less focus on renewable heat supply. A hotly debated field for wood energy is co-incineration in central large power plants. With one of the dena organized dialogue on biomass co-incineration, the opportunities and risks of this bioenergy use were felt. Inspired by the discussion of the event, this article gives an insight into the current state of wood energy in Germany and arguments of the specialist dialogue are presented.

Wood energy in Germany

As the graphic shows, the energetic use of wood accounts for almost half of the wood used in Germany every year. Expressed in numbers, 55 million cubic meters of wood (around 35-40 million tons) are used to generate heat and electricity. The currently used wood-based energy sources are the following:

  • Logs
  • Wood pellets
  • Wood chips
  • wood briquettes
  • Firewood

No high-quality wood may be felled in Germany for their use in the energy sector! Certification according to PEFC or FSC is responsible for ensuring the sustainability of fixed bioenergy sources in Europe.

As a trend in recent years, it can be seen that the production of wood energy sources in Germany is increasingly shifting from decentralized to centralized production. Decentralized and medium-sized production companies are increasingly being replaced by large energy suppliers. It is easy to understand that this market change also leads to conflicts.

As a concrete example, I would like to take a closer look at the current growth market for wood pellets. The production and consumption of wood pellets differ significantly in Germany and of the almost 2 million tons of wood pellets produced in 2011, only about 1.4 million tons were used in Germany. About a third of the wood pellets are therefore exported. Italy, France and Switzerland are the most important importing countries for the pellets produced here.

"Western Europe is the driving force in the trade and use of wood pellets" - Dr. Hubert Röder, Pöyry

Development of the wood pellet market

16 million tons of wood pellets were consumed worldwide last year, with Dr. Hubert Röder from Pöyry Management Consulting suspects that consumption will even increase to 2020 million tons by 20. In terms of production capacity, the following countries are the largest markets worldwide, with the list starting with the largest market: USA, Brazil, Russia, Canada, Great Britain, Germany and China. The largest transhipment point for wood pellets is Europe, despite the larger production markets overseas. 4.4 million tons of wood pellets are traded here every year.

Graphic of the price development of solid bioenergy sources

Above all, their favorable price development contributes to the success of the fixed bioenergy sources. The graphic shows that the biogenic solid fuels listed have been closed below the price level of heating oil for 3 years. In the case of wood chips, the price is currently only a third of the heating oil price. Matthias Edel (dena) sees one of the great advantages of bioenergy sources such as wood energy or biogas in the fact that they entail comparatively low CO2 avoidance costs and thus support affordable climate protection. In the medium-term perspective of Dr. Röder will neither drop nor explode the price of wood pellets.

The solid bioenergy sources offer promising advantages within the energy transition. Some of the major power plant operators also see it that way and therefore deal extensively with the co-combustion of biomass in coal and natural gas power plants.

Co-incineration as a point of contention between central and decentralized wood energy

The topic of co-incineration by biomass is on the one hand a great bearer of hope, but also leads to concerns about the possible handling of our forests as a result. In my opinion, we in Germany can afford a balanced level of optimism about co-incineration. After all, Germany belongs to those countries that have a long tradition in sustainable forest management and the concept of "sustainability" was first introduced by the German forest scientist Hans Carl von Carlowitz embossed. Originally, its use in 1713 even refers directly to the sustainable Use of forests.

What does the co-combustion of biomass mean?

Graphic of the output and number of plants in biomass cogeneration plants

To make it easier to understand the scale, the graphic provides an overview of the development of Biomass CHP plants in Germany for the past 11 years. What is special about these systems is that they only use organic substrates (“biomass”) for incineration. In this way, the BMHKW supply electricity and heat with an impressively good climate balance. The absolute CO2 emissions from biomass cogeneration plants are significantly more favorable for climate protection than those from coal-fired power plants. However, this did not mean that the carbon footprint of biomass combustion was not also viewed critically.

The performance development of the graphic also shows that the installed electrical output of biomass heating plants in Germany (1.3 GW) in comparison with the Plant performance in the biogas area (3.2 GW) is still low. The use of biomass in BMHKW roughly corresponds to the output of two medium-sized coal-fired power plants. Since we have at least 2 coal-fired power plants in Germany with an individual output of over 65 MW, the co-combustion of biomass in coal-fired power plants (biogenic solid fuels) and natural gas power plants (biogenic gas fuels) has found quick access to the climate protection debate.

The co-firing of biomass in large central power plants offers the following advantages:

  • Rapid contribution to climate protection
  • The high efficiency of large power plants enables the efficient use of biomass for energy
  • Comparatively low investment costs and thus an affordable contribution to climate protection

The co-combustion of biomass has the following disadvantages:

  • The central use reduces the proportion of biomass that is available for a decentralized energy transition. Due to the large quantities required for co-combustion, the biomass can only be obtained to a limited extent from the immediate vicinity of the incineration plant. With numerous small / decentralized plants (e.g. wood pellet plants) the transport routes would be shorter.
  • The infrastructure of the fossil energy industry will be consolidated in the medium term, making the complete switch to 100 percent renewable energies difficult.

One of the big questions of the energy transition is that of the degree of decentralization of increasing electricity and heat generation from renewable energies. This question also arises in the further expansion of bioenergy. What mix of rural and industrial biogas plants do we want? Let us use our wood pellets mainly in central large power plants (see biomass strategy and Co-incineration of Vattenfall Europe AG) or in decentralized pellet plants? We will probably see a mix of both systems and both politics, the market and science will influence the further design.

What do you think about co-incineration? Do you mainly support the central or decentralized wood energy?

Download of the lectures on co-combustion of biomass

You can do this here at the specialist dialogue “Co-incineration and sustainability of biomass - a contradiction? ”Download the lectures held. The graphics used for this article are from the Agency for Renewable Resources (FNR). Many thanks to both actors for enriching and deepening the bioenergy debate!

2 comments on “Expert dialogue on wood energy in Germany and the co-combustion of solid biomass”

Post a comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Deutsch English
X

7 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 Google+ 7 Email -- 7 Flares ×

Mit zahlreichen festen, flüssigen und gasförmigen Energieträgern ist die Bioenergie breit aufgestellt und bietet Einsatzmöglichkeiten für jeden Energiesektor. Aktuell werden in der öffentlichen Bioenergie-Debatte vor allem die Stärken und Schwächen von Biogas und Biokraftstoffen diskutiert und wir sind auf der Suche nach den idealen Anwendungspfaden von Bioenergie im Strom- und Kraftstoffmarkt. Bei der weniger im Fokus stehenden erneuerbaren Wärmebereitstellung dominieren hingegen die festen Bioenergieträger auf der Rohstoffbasis Holz. Ein heiß diskutiertes Feld für die Holzenergie ist die Mitverbrennung in zentralen Großkraftwerken. Bei einem von der dena veranstalteten Fachdialog zur Biomasse-Mitverbrennung wurde den Chancen und Risiken dieser Bioenergie-Nutzung auf den Zahn gefühlt. Von der Diskussion der Veranstaltung inspiriert, gibt es in diesem Artikel einen Einblick in den aktuellen Stand der Holzenergie in Deutschland und es werden Argumente des Fachdialogs vorgestellt.

Holzenergie in Deutschland

Wie die Grafik zeigt, macht die energetische Nutzung von Holz knapp die Hälfte des jährlich in Deutschland verwendeten Holzes aus. In Zahlen ausgedrückt werden 55 Millionen Festmeter Holz (etwa 35-40 Millionen Tonnen) für die Wärme- und Stromerzeugung genutzt. Dabei sind die aktuell verwendeten Energieträger auf Holzbasis die Folgenden:

  • Rundholz
  • Holzpellets
  • Hackschnitzeln
  • Holzbriketts
  • Scheitholz

Für deren Einsatz im Energiebereich darf in Deutschland kein hochwertiges Holz gefällt werden! Die Zertifizierung nach PEFC oder FSC ist für die Sicherung der Nachhaltigkeit der festen Bioenergieträger in Europa verantwortlich.

Als Trend der letzten Jahre kann festgestellt werden, dass sich die Herstellung von Holzenergieträgern in Deutschland zunehmend von der dezentralen hin zur zentralen Produktion verlagert. Dezentrale und mittelständische Produktionsunternehmen werden zunehmend durch große Energieversorger abgelöst. Dass es bei diesem Marktwandel auch zu Konflikten kommt, ist leicht nachvollziehbar.

Als ein konkretes Beispiel möchte ich auf den aktuellen Wachstumsmarkt für Holzpellets etwas näher eingehen. Die Produktion und der Verbrauch von Holzpellets unterscheiden sich in Deutschland noch deutlich und von den knapp 2 Millionen Tonnen an produzierten Holzpellets im Jahr 2011 wurden nur etwa 1.4 Millionen Tonnen auch in Deutschland verbraucht. Etwa ein Drittel der Holzpellets gehen somit in den Export. Hierbei sind Italien, Frankreich und die Schweiz die wichtigsten Importländer für die hierzulande produzierten Pellets.

„Westeuropa ist das Zugpferd beim Handel und Einsatz von Holzpellets“ – Dr. Hubert Röder, Pöyry

Entwicklung des Holzpellets-Markts

Weltweit wurden im letzten Jahr 16 Millionen Tonnen an Holzpellets verbraucht, wobei Dr. Hubert Röder von der Pöyry Management Consulting vermutet, dass der Verbrauch bis zum Jahr 2020 sogar auf 20 Millionen Tonnen ansteigen wird. Gemessen an den Produktionskapazitäten sind die folgenden Staaten die größten Märkte weltweit, wobei die Auflistung mit dem größten Markt beginnt: USA, Brasilien, Russland, Kanada, Großbritannien, Deutschland und China. Der größte Umschlagsplatz für Holzpellets ist Europa und das trotz der größeren Produktionsmärkte in Übersee. Hier werden 4.4 Millionen Tonnen an Holzpellets im Jahr gehandelt.

Grafik zur Preisentwicklung fester Bioenergieträger

Zum Erfolg der festen Bioenergieträger trägt vor allem ihre günstige Preisentwicklung bei. Die Grafik zeigt, dass die aufgelisteten biogenen Festbrennstoffe seit 3 Jahren geschlossen unterhalb des Preisniveaus von Heizöl liegen. Im Fall von Hackschnitzeln liegt der Preis momentan sogar nur bei einem Drittel des Heizölpreises. Matthias Edel (dena) sieht einen der großen Vorteil von Bioenergieträgern wie Holzenergie oder Biogas darin, dass sie vergleichsweise niedrige CO2-Vermeidungskosten mit sich bringen und somit einen bezahlbaren Klimaschutz unterstützen. In der mittelfristigen Perspektive von Dr. Röder werden die Preise für Holzpellets weder sinken, noch explodieren.

Die festen Bioenergieträger bieten vielversprechende Vorteile innerhalb der Energiewende. Das sehen auch einige der großen Kraftwerksbetreiber so und beschäftigen sich deshalb ausführlich mit der Mitverbrennung von Biomasse in Kohle- und Erdgaskraftwerken.

Mitverbrennung als Streitpunkt zwischen zentraler und dezentraler Holzenergie

Das Thema Mitverbrennung von Biomasse ist auf der einen Seite ein großer Hoffnungsträger, führt aber auch zu Sorgen über den möglicherweise daraus resultierenden Umgang mit unseren Wäldern. Meiner Meinung nach können wir uns in Deutschland einen ausgewogenen Optimismus bezüglich der Mitverbrennung erlauben. Deutschland gehört immerhin zu den Ländern, die über eine langjährige Tradition innerhalb der nachhaltigen Waldwirtschaft verfügen und der Begriff der „Nachhaltigkeit“ wurde erst von dem deutschen Forstwissenschaftler Hans Carl von Carlowitz geprägt. Ursprünglich bezieht sich seine Verwendung im Jahr 1713 sogar gannz direkt auf die nachhaltige Nutzung von Wäldern.

Was bedeutet nun die Mitverbrennung von Biomasse?

Grafik zur Leistung und Anlagenanzahl von Biomasseheizkraftwerken

Zum leichteren Verständnis der Größenordnung bietet die Grafik einen Überblick über die Entwicklung von Biomasseheizkraftwerken (BMHKW) in Deutschland während der vergangenen 11 Jahre. Das Besondere an diesen Anlagen ist, dass sie ausschließlich organische Substrate („Biomasse“) für die Verbrennung einsetzen. Auf diesem Wege liefern die BMHKW Strom und Wärme mit einer beeindruckend guten Klimabilanz. Die absoluten CO2-Emissionen von Biomasseheizkraftwerken sind deutlich günstiger für den Klimaschutz, als die von Kohlekraftwerken. Das bedeutete allerdings nicht, dass die Klimabilanz der Biomasseverbrennung nicht auch kritisch betrachtet wird.

Die Leistungsentwicklung der Grafik zeigt auch, dass die installierte elektrische Leistung von Biomasseheizkraftwerken in Deutschland (1.3 GW) im Vergleich mit der Anlagenleistung im Biogasbereich (3.2 GW) noch gering ist. Der Einsatz von Biomasse in BMHKW entspricht in etwa der Leistung von 2 Kohlekraftwerken mittlerer Größe. Da wir in Deutschland über mindestens 65 Kohlekraftwerke mit einer Einzelleistung von über 100 MW verfügen, hat die Mitverbrennung von Biomasse in Kohlekraftwerken (biogene Festbrennstoffe) und Erdgaskraftwerken (biogene Gasbrennstoffe) einen schnellen Zugang in die Klimaschutz-Debatte gefunden.

Die Mitverbrennung („Co-Firing“) von Biomasse in zentralen Großkraftwerken bietet folgende Vorteile:

  • Schneller Beitrag zum Klimaschutz
  • Hohe Wirkungsgrade von Großkraftwerken ermöglichen eine effiziente energetische Nutzung der Biomasse
  • Vergleichsweise niedrige Investitionskosten und somit ein bezahlbarer Beitrag zu Klimaschutz

Die Mitverbrennung von Biomasse bringt folgende Nachteile:

  • Der zentrale Einsatz verringert den Anteil an Biomasse, der für eine dezentrale Energiewende zur Verfügung steht. Die Biomasse kann auf Grund der großen Mengen die für die Mitverbrennung benötigt werden, nur begrenzt aus dem direkten Umfeld der Verbrennungsanlage bezogen werden. Bei zahlreichen kleinen/ dezentralen Anlagen (z.B. Holzpellets-Anlagen) wären die Transportwege kürzer.
  • Die Infrastruktur der fossilen Energiewirtschaft wird mittelfristig gefestigt und der vollständige Umstieg auf 100 Prozent erneuerbare Energien dadurch erschwert.

Eine der großen Fragen der Energiewende ist die nach dem Grad der Dezentralität der zunehmenden Strom- und Wärmeerzeugung aus erneuerbaren Energien. Diese Frage stellt sich auch beim weiteren Ausbau der Bioenergie. Welchen Mix aus ländlichen und industriellen Biogasanlagen wollen wir? Nutzen wir unsere Holzpellets hauptsächlich in zentralen Großkraftwerken (siehe Biomasse-Strategie und Mitverbrennung der Vattenfall Europe AG) oder in dezentralen Pelletsanlagen? Wahrscheinlich werden wir einen Mix aus beiden Systemen sehen und sowohl die Politik, der Markt und die Wissenschaft werden die weitere Gestaltung beeinflussen.

Was denken Sie über die Mitverbrennung? Unterstützen Sie vor allem die zentrale oder dezentrale Holzenergie?

Download der Vorträge zur Mitverbrennung von Biomasse

Hier können Sie die beim Fachdialog „Mitverbrennung und Nachhaltigkeit von Biomasse – ein Widerspruch?“ gehaltenen Vorträge herunterladen. Die für diesen Artikel verwendeten Grafiken stammen von der Fachagentur Nachwachsende Rohstoffe (FNR). Vielen Dank an beide Akteure für die Bereicherung und Vertiefung der Bioenergie-Debatte!