BioBoost - boost for second generation biofuels in Europe

Being able to manufacture a product from a material that others consider to be "waste" is an intelligent way to secure a competitive advantage and at the same time to help build a modern circular economy. The endeavor to obtain biofuels from residues and waste therefore fits in a time when industrial production and conscious environmental management are increasingly shaking hands. The EU BioBoost project takes up this challenge and misses it Biofuels another boost for the second generation in Europe.

The industrial generation of energy from waste is a comparatively young industry and the first power plants that use so-called substitute fuels (EBS) were only put into operation in Germany in 2003 (Lünen, Minden, Aßlar). Against the background of rising prices of fossil fuels and the social desire to reduce CO2 emissions, interest in the high-energy waste fraction is increasing.

The production of liquid energy sources from residues and their use in commercially available engines is even more innovative. These fuels from waste products and residues (straw) therefore also become the Next generation biofuels (next generation = nextgen) counted.

The trend towards closer integration of waste management and energy supply continues.

BioBoost strengthens Nextgen biofuels in Europe

It was in mid-December last year BioBoost project started. BioBoost is financed with funding from the 7th EU research framework program.

Facts about the BioBoost project

  • Goal: Production of energy sources (fuels, electricity, heat) and chemicals from residual biomass
  • Funding: 5,1 million euros
  • Duration: 3 years (2012 - 2015)
  • Project coordinator: Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT)
  • Participants: 6 research institutions + 7 industrial partners

Which project partners does BioBoost bring together?

13 project partners from the EU countries Germany, Finland, Greece, the Netherlands, Austria and Poland are involved in BioBoost. Here is a list of the individual BioBoost partners:

  • AVA-CO2-Research GMBH
  • Center for Research and Technology Hellas
  • Chimar Hellas AE
  • DSM Chemical Technology R&D BV
  • ENGW Energie Baden-Württemberg AG
  • FH OO Research & Development GmbH
  • Grace GMBH & Co. KG
  • Institute Uprawy Nawozenia I Gleboznawstwa
  • Nederlandse Organizatie Voor Toegepast Natuurwetenschappelijk Onderzoek-TNO
  • Neste Oil Corporation
  • Panstwowy Institute Badawczy
  • Syncom Research and Development Consulting GMBH
  • University of Stuttgart

BioBoost will bring together the previous research commitment of the project partners involved, true to the Aristotle quote "the whole is more than the sum of its parts".

With Neste Oil Corp. Among the partners is also the company that operates the largest commercial facilities (Rotterdam and Singapore) for the production of nextgen biofuels worldwide.

BioBoost + Bioliq = biofuels + bioeconomy at KIT

The KIT as project coordinator of BioBoost is already working on the Bioliq project with the research and production of next generation biofuels. Bioliq is primarily concerned with a BtL biofuel (Biomass to Liquid), for the production of which a process of rapid pyrolysis is used.

The group of BtL fuels can also benefit from the technological developments of the fossil representatives in the XtL family in their further development.

The KIT is particularly interested in the BioBoost project in the other products that arise from the gasification or smoldering of biomass. In this way, the economy and environmental compatibility of the overall process should be analyzed and the most efficient setting of the various parameters (pressure, temperature, etc.) for carrying out the pyrolysis and Hydrothermal carbonization (HTC) can be found.

Here you will find a little insight into the current commitment to research into HTC and biochar in the Berlin-Brandenburg region.

The goal of BioBoost is not limited to the exclusive research of the energetic use of carbon-containing residues, but also investigates the material recycling of the waste for the production of biochemicals. BioBoost thus blends in very harmoniously with the philosophy of bioeconomy and the circular economy and is the structure of Biorefineries ahead.

Nextgen biofuels with strong labor pains

The production of next generation biofuels is not an easy task and their market launch is accompanied by many economic and technological setbacks (see Article on the bankruptcy of Choren Industries GmbH). If we see healthy young biofuels on the markets in a few years' time, these birth trials have paid off.

After all, next-generation biofuels are also the great hope and innovation drivers of liquid bioenergy worldwide. Advantages of nextgen biofuels there are many compared to their established pioneers of the first generation.

The start of the European BioBoost project is therefore great news for all bioenergy enthusiasts and shows that Europe also wants to strengthen its innovative strength in this future-oriented industry. About the EU projects COACH BioEnergy and EnAlgae I have already reported. These also aim to promote bioenergy in Europe.

I wish BioBoost every success and all project partners involved a creative team spirit.

1 Comment on “BioBoost - boost for second generation biofuels in Europe”

Post a comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Deutsch English
X

8 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 Google+ 8 Email -- 8 Flares ×

Ein Produkt aus einem Material fertigen zu können, dass andere für „Abfall“ halten, ist eine intelligente Möglichkeit um sich einen Wettbewerbsvorteil zu sichern und gleichzeitig zum Aufbau einer modernen Kreislaufwirtschaft beizutragen. Das Bestreben Biokraftstoffe aus Reststoffen und Abfällen zu gewinnen, passt deshalb in eine Zeit, in der sich die industrielle Produktion und ein bewusstes Umweltmanagement zunehmend die Hände reichen. Das EU-Projekt BioBoost stellt sich dieser Herausforderung und verpasst den Biokraftstoffen der zweiten Generation in Europa einen weiteren Schub.

Die industrielle Gewinnung von Energie aus Abfall ist eine vergleichsweise junge Branche und die ersten Kraftwerke, welche gezielt sogenannte Ersatzbrennstoffe (EBS) nutzen, wurden in Deutschland erst 2003 in Betrieb genommen (Lünen, Minden, Aßlar). Vor dem Hintergrund steigender Preise von fossilen Energieträgern und dem gesellschaftlichen Wunsch zur Senkung des CO2-Ausstoßes steigt das Interesse an der energiereichen Abfallfraktion.

Die Herstellung von flüssigen Energieträgern aus Reststoffen und deren Nutzung in marktverfügbaren Motoren ist sogar noch innovativer. Diese Kraftstoffe aus Abfallprodukten und Reststoffen (Stroh) werden deshalb auch zu den Biokraftstoffen der nächsten Generation (next generation = nextgen) gezählt.

Der Trend zur stärkeren Verflechtung von Abfallwirtschaft und Energieversorgung setzt sich somit fort.

BioBoost stärkt Nextgen-Biokraftstoffe in Europa

Mitte Dezember des vergangenen Jahres wurde das Projekt BioBoost gestartet. Finanziert wird BioBoost mit Fördergeldern aus dem 7. EU-Forschungsrahmenprogramm.

Fakten zum BioBoost-Projekt

  • Ziel: Herstellung von Energieträgern (Kraftstoffe, Strom, Wärme) und Chemikalien aus Restbiomasse
  • Fördersumme: 5,1 Millionen Euro
  • Laufzeit: 3 Jahr (2012 – 2015)
  • Projektkoordinator: Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT)
  • Teilnehmer: 6 Forschungseinrichtungen + 7 Industriepartner

Welche Projektpartner bringt BioBoost  zusammen?

An BioBoost sind 13 Projektpartner aus den EU-Staaten Deutschland, Finnland, Griechenland, den Niederlanden, Österreich und Polen beteiligt. Hier eine Auflistung der einzelnen BioBoost-Partner:

  • AVA-CO2-Forschung GMBH
  • Centre for Research and Technology Hellas
  • Chimar Hellas AE
  • DSM Chemical Technology R&D BV
  • ENGW Energie Baden-Württemberg AG
  • FH OO Forschungs & Entwicklungs GMBH
  • Grace GMBH & Co. KG
  • Instytut Uprawy Nawozenia I Gleboznawstwa
  • Nederlandse Organisatie Voor Toegepast Natuurwetenschappelijk Onderzoek-TNO
  • Neste Oil Corporation
  • Panstwowy Instytut Badawczy
  • Syncom Forschungs-und Entwicklungsberatung GMBH
  • Universität Stuttgart

BioBoost wird das bisherige Forschungsengagement der beteiligten Projektpartner zusammenführen, getreu dem Aristoteles-Zitat „das Ganze ist mehr als die Summe seiner Teile“.

Mit der Neste Oil Corp. ist unter den Partnern auch das Unternehmen, welches die bisher größten kommerziellen Anlagen (Rotterdam und Singapur) zur Herstellung von nextgen Biokraftstoffen weltweit betreibt.

BioBoost + Bioliq = Biokraftstoffe + BioÖkonomie am KIT

Das KIT als Projektkoordinator von BioBoost beschäftigt sich bereits in dem Projekt Bioliq mit der Erforschung und Herstellung von Biokraftstoffen der Folgegeneration. Dabei geht es bei Bioliq in erster Linie um einen BtL-Biokraftstoff (Biomass to Liquid), für dessen Herstellung ein Verfahren der Schnellpyrolyse verwendet wird.

Die Gruppe der BtL-Kraftstoffe kann bei ihrer Weiterentwicklung auch von den technologischen Entwicklungen der fossilen Vertreter in der XtL-Familie profitieren.

Besonderes Interesse des KIT beim BioBoost-Projekt gilt den weiteren Produkten, die bei der Vergasung, beziehungsweise Verschwelung, von Biomasse anfallen. Auf diesem Wege soll die Wirtschaftlichkeit und Umweltverträglichkeit des Gesamtprozesses analysiert und die effizienteste Einstellung der verschiedenen Parameter (Druck, Temperatur etc.) für die Durchführung der Pyrolyse und Hydrothermalen Karbonisierung (HTC) gefunden werden.

Hier finden Sie einen kleinen Einblick in das aktuelle Engagement zur  Erforschung der HTC und Biokohle in der Region Berlin-Brandenburg.

Das Ziel von BioBoost beschränkt sich nicht auf die ausschließliche Erforschung der energetischen Nutzung von kohlenstoffhaltigen Reststoffen, sondern untersucht zusätzlich das stoffliche Recycling der Abfälle zur Produktion von Biochemikalien. BioBoost fügt sich somit sehr harmonisch in die Philosophie der BioÖkonomie und Kreislaufwirtschaft ein und wird den Aufbau von Bioraffinerien vorantreiben.

Nextgen-Biokraftstoffe mit starken Geburtswehen

Die Herstellung von Biokraftstoffen der nächsten Generation ist kein einfaches Unterfangen und ihre Markteinführung wird von vielen ökonomischen und technologischen Rückschlägen begleitet (siehe Artikel zur Insolvenz der Choren Industries GmbH). Wenn wir in einigen Jahren einen gesunden Biokraftstoff-Nachwuchs auf den Märkten erleben werden, dann haben sich diese Geburtsstrapazen gelohnt.

Immerhin sind Biokraftstoffe der nächsten Generation auch die großen Hoffnungsträger und Innovationsmotoren der flüssigen Bioenergie weltweit. Vorteile von Nextgen-Biokraftstoffen gegenüber ihren etablierten Vorreitern der ersten Generation gibt es viele.

Für alle Bioenergie-Enthusiasten ist der Start des europäischen BioBoost Projekts deshalb eine tolle Nachricht und zeigt, dass Europa seine Innovationskraft auch in dieser Zukunftsbranche stärken möchte. Über die EU-Projekte COACH BioEnergy und EnAlgae habe ich bereits berichtet. Diese haben ebenfalls die Förderung der Bioenergie in Europa zum Ziel.

Ich wünsche BioBoost viel Erfolg und allen beteiligten Projektpartnern einen kreativen Teamgeist.