EnAlgae - € 14 million for energy from algae in Europe

The name EnAlgae is a combination of "Energetic Algae". EnAlgae thus stands for the content of the recently closed project for the research and market introduction of energy from algae in northwestern Europe. EnAlgae is funded for a period of 4 years (2011-2015) with a total of 14.4 million euros via the INTERREG IVB North West Europe (NWE) program. Which framework conditions characterize the project?
Algae have long been an important source of hope for the further development of renewable bioenergy and are a raw material for biogas and Biofuel production in conversation. In this context, we often speak of the “3rd generation feedstock”. Already in 1933, Hans Gaffron was the first scientist to use the green algae Chlamydomonas reinhardtii to produce the biohydrogen.

Since these beginnings, numerous advances have been made in algae research and cultivation. The first plants worldwide for the large-scale cultivation of microalgae and macroalgae and for the production of Energy from algae.

EnAlgae's strengths and goals

The high population density and the pronounced degree of industrialization in northwestern Europe mean advantages and disadvantages. A dense network of research institutes and highly qualified personnel on the one hand and a high energy requirement on the other hand offer opportunities and conflicts for the further development of the countries of Northwest Europe.

An essential approach of EnAlgae project is to take advantage of the region's available benefits and mitigate the disadvantages. The project for the energetic use of algae has three main objectives:

  • Obtaining a better understanding of algae cultivation
  • Generation of regenerative bioenergy
  • Reduction of greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions

The 19 sub-projects in the 7 member states include the stages of product development, operation of pilot projects and support for market launch. Above all, the synergies in the area of ​​know-how and finance are to be used, which are available through the bundling of different institutes in a small space.

Another advantage is the better coordination of the different approaches to algae research. Duplicate research on identical topics should be avoided. In addition, through a targeted consultation in the field of algae cultivation, Europe is better positioned in international competition with countries such as the USA, China or Australia.

The presence of 9 pilot plants for algae cultivation within the EnAlgae partners is another strength. This constellation allows a broad research of the aquatic plants under different conditions at several locations at the same time.

EnAlgae participants from Germany

In Germany there are various locations where the cultivation of algae is tested or is already being carried out on a larger scale. The largest and best known algae farm in Germany or even Europe is certainly Algomed in Klötze. Microalgae (Chlorella, Aphanizomeon, Spirulina) for food or food supplements are grown at the site in Saxony-Anhalt. See also the article on Algae cultivation in Germany.

From a German perspective, three institutions are directly involved in EnAlgae.

Further information on EnAlgae can be found on the websites of the German partners in the algae project for Northwest Europe. The link provided in the list leads directly to the press releases.

I am surprised that the comparatively strong Algae cluster in Berlin-Brandenburg is not represented in Germany with a position. Maybe I'm too local patriotic at this point.

I am excited to see which organisms and research focuses will emerge and hope that EnAlgae will help make a breakthrough in the use of algae in Europe.

Monthly newsletter
[/ fusion_builder_column] [/ fusion_builder_row] [/ fusion_builder_container]

3 responses to "EnAlgae - € 14 million for energy from algae in Europe"

Post a comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Deutsch English
X

8 Flares Twitter 6 Facebook 2 Google+ 0 Email -- 8 Flares ×

Die Bezeichnung EnAlgae ist eine Zusammenführung von „Energetic Algae“. EnAlgae steht somit für das inhaltliche Programm des kürzlich geschlossenen Projekts zur Erforschung und Markteinführung von Energie aus Algen in Nordwesteuropa. EnAlgae wird für den Zeitrahmen von 4 Jahren (2011-2015) mit insgesamt 14.4 Millionen Euro über das INTERREG IVB North West Europe (NWE) Programm gefördert. Welche Rahmenbedingungen zeichnet das Projekt aus?
Algen gelten schon seit langem als ein wichtiger Hoffnungsträger für die Weiterentwicklung der erneuerbaren Bioenergie und sind als Rohstoff für die Biogas- und Biokraftstoffherstellung im Gespräch. Häufig wird in diesem Zusammenhang auch vom „Feedstock der 3.Generation“ gesprochen. Bereits 1933 schaffte es Hans Gaffron als erster Wissenschaftler mit Hilfe der Grünalge Chlamydomonas reinhardtii den Biowasserstoff herzustellen.

Seit diesen Anfängen wurden in der Algenforschung und –kultivierung zahlreiche Fortschritte gemacht. Weltweit gibt es erste Anlagen zum großtechnischen Anbau von Mikro- und Makroalgen und zur Gewinnung von Energie aus Algen.

Stärken und Ziele von EnAlgae

Die hohe Bevölkerungsdichte und der ausgeprägte Industrialisierungsgrad im Nordwesten Europas bedeuten Vor- und Nachteile. So bieten ein dichtes Netzwerk an Forschungsinstituten und hochqualifiziertes Personal auf der einen und ein hoher Energiebedarf auf der anderen Seite Chancen und Konflikte für die Weiterentwicklung der Länder Nordwesteuropas.

Ein wesentlicher Ansatz des EnAlgae Projekts ist es, die verfügbaren Vorteile der Region zu nutzen und die Nachteile abzuschwächen. Das Projekt zur energetischen Nutzung von Algen hat hauptsächlich 3 Ziele:

  • Gewinnung eines besseren Verständnisses für die Algenkultivierung
  • Erzeugung von regenerativer Bioenergie
  • Reduzierung des Ausstoßes von Treibhausgasen (THG)

Die 19 Teilprojekte in den 7 Mitgliedsstaaten umfassen die Stadien Produktentwicklung, Betrieb von Pilotprojekten und die Unterstützung der Markteinführung. Dabei sollen vor allem die Synergien im Bereich Know-How und Finanzen genutzt werden, die durch eine Bündelung verschiedener Institute auf engem Raum vorhanden sind.

Ein weiterer Vorteil liegt in der besseren Koordination der unterschiedlichen Ansätze der Algenforschung. Doppelte Forschungsarbeit an identischen Themen soll verhindert werden. Außerdem wird durch eine gezielte Rücksprache im Bereich der Algenkultivierung eine bessere Positionierung Europas im internationalen Wettbewerb mit Ländern wie den USA, China oder Australien erreicht.

Das Vorhandensein von 9 Pilotanlagen zur Algenkultivierung innerhalb der EnAlgae Partner ist eine weitere Stärke. Diese Konstellation erlaubt eine breite Erforschung der Wasserpflanzen unter verschiedensten Bedingungen an mehreren Standorten gleichzeitig.

EnAlgae Teilnehmer aus Deutschland

In Deutschland gibt es verschiedene Standorte an denen die Kultivierung von Algen getestet oder in größerem Maßstab bereits durchgeführt wird. Die größte und bekannteste Algenfarm in Deutschland oder sogar Europa ist sicherlich Algomed in Klötze. An dem Standort in Sachsen-Anhalt werden Mikroalgen (Chlorella, Aphanizomeon, Spirulina) für Nahrungsmittel oder Nahrungsergänzungsmittel angebaut. Sehen Sie hierzu auch den Artikel zur Algenkultivierung in Deutschland.

Aus deutscher Sicht sind drei Einrichtungen direkt an EnAlgae beteiligt.

Weitere Informationen zu EnAlgae finden Sie auf den Internetseiten der deutschen Partner des Algenprojekts für Nordwesteuropa. Der unterlegte Link in der Aufzählung führt direkt zu den Pressemitteilungen.

Mich wundert, dass der vergleichsweise starke Algen-Cluster in Berlin-Brandenburg nicht mit einem Standpunkt in Deutschland vertreten ist. Vielleicht bin ich an dieser Stelle aber auch zu lokalpatriotisch.

Ich bin gespannt, welche Organismen und Forschungsschwerpunkte sich konkret ergeben werden und hoffe, dass EnAlgae der energetischen Nutzung von Algen in Europa zu einem Durchbruch verhelfen wird.

Monatlicher Newsletter