Pros and cons of plastics - Inspired by the film "Plastic Planet"

Bioplastics Pros and Cons Review Criticism Pros and ConsIm last article it was about currently very controversial issues of algae use. Today's topic is also concerned with a topic that generates very different opinions, but does not come from the field of energetic, but material use of biomass. I would like to talk about the pros and cons of using plastic on the occasion of the current film "Plastic Planet" by Werner Boats in German cinemas. A topic that divides minds.

When one thinks of the types of biomass use, the plastic material does not (first) come to mind first. But the plastics and biomass industry could mature into strong partners in the field of bioplastics in the next few years (Link to another article).

Plastic Planet a controversial film

The film "Plastic Planet" is a rather critical film from a connoisseur of the industry and mainly illuminates the dark sides of the plastic age from different perspectives. Opinions about the film, as with the subject of plastics itself, differ widely and range from criticism of the use of unscientific studies to acknowledgments about the prophetic power and social relevance of the film. If there is any truth, then it is probably somewhere in between.

I liked the film a lot and inevitably thought of Al Gore's film about climate change, "An Inconvenient Truth". In a relatively private and personable way, Mr.Boots presents another uncomfortable truth about the effects of our global actions. In my opinion, the film is rarely moralizing, but it puts your finger in an open wound that is difficult to ignore as part of a society flooded with plastic.

On his global journey to the problematic aspects of our “Plastic Planet”, health and disposal problems in particular play a central role. Despite the very serious subject, the film is entertaining and one leaves the cinema with a heightened awareness of the plastic problem.

The link to the film's official and very informative website with a suitable plastic design Is there ... here.

List of the social advantages and disadvantages of plastics

As with all successful technologies, the use of plastic, viewed across the entire value chain, has various issues that must be criticized. Here is a list of advantages and disadvantages that occur when using plastic:

Advantages of using plastics

  • very flexible material, which enables a user-specific solution in many industries
  • The electrical and automotive industries are hard to imagine without plastic
  • Cascade use is possible - in Germany there is a recycling rate of 96%
  • is a comparatively inexpensive and very light material

Disadvantages of using plastics

  • Procurement problems of fossil oil as a raw material and dependence on its price
  • Waste problems, especially in countries with a lack of recycling concepts
  • shared opinions regarding the hazard assessment of some ingredients such as bisphenol A, PVC and certain phthalates

These points summarize the essential points about the pros and cons of plastic usage.

A lot has happened in the EU in recent years, particularly with regard to the health risks of plastics. The EU regulation REACH has been in effect since June 2007, which regulates the use of chemicals within the EU countries. According to this, only substances that have been previously registered and evaluated may be used. This also applies to chemical substances that are necessary in plastics processing.

When I think of plastics, I also have mixed feelings. On the one hand, I have the pictures of carpets made of plastic waste floating on (in) the sea and the use of problematic solvents in my head. On the other hand, there is also the idea of ​​one of the most flexible materials in terms of formability, durability, weight and cost, which could solve many social problems in medicine, communication or mobility.

The sudden damnation of an entire industry is as irrational to me as the one-sided hype. Both carry too much revolution and too little evolution. I think it is more sensible to learn from mistakes that have been made and to build on existing ones than to replace an entire industry in a snap. At this point, I think environmental improvements in production processes and innovative recycling concepts are more sustainable.

Plastics 2.0 = bioplastics?

The special thing about bioplastics is that they can help to overcome a large part of the points of criticism (raw materials, production, disposal) and to strengthen the advantages of using plastic in the overall balance. I therefore consider it very important to differentiate between fossil plastics and bioplastics. Because the material plastics and the plastics industry as a whole are of course constantly developing, also supported by films such as “Plastic Planet”.

In the case of biopolymers, however, a distinction should also be made between plastics that are created exclusively on the basis of renewable raw materials and those that are also biodegradable. There are plastics that are bioplastics, but are not necessarily biodegradable. According to some bioplastic manufacturers, the ecological pioneers among the bioplastics are the types that can be completely biodegraded within 180 days without leaving behind any hazardous chemicals. You can see what natural fiber plastics (NFK) can do in this film the agency for renewable raw materials.

The weaknesses of bioplastics are currently primarily in the economic area, since they are more expensive than their fossil counterparts. Some statements about that Competitiveness of bioplastic against fossils I received from a process engineer in the plastics industry at the Green Week.

Replacing 50% of fossil plastics with bioplastics from algae

With bioplastics, the question of raw material sources and increasing competition for renewable raw materials is also important. The US company Cereplast recently expressed this opinion in a press release that algae-based plastics could be used to replace up to 50% of fossil plastics.

So far, the company has mainly produced the PLA bioplastic from the starch of potatoes, cereals and cassava (tapioca starch), but is so convinced of the results of its own algae research that it is aiming to develop an algae-based bioplastic in the coming months. This again shows the diverse uses of algae (see article Algae biofuel), which are therefore suitable for both energetic and material use.

What is your opinion on film or on “plastic” in general - should we part with plastic in the medium term and look for alternatives or should we modernize?

Discuss with us! Thank you.

3 responses to "pros and cons of plastics - inspired by the film" Plastic Planet ""

  1. Hallo,
    I don't know who I'm writing to, but I just have to get rid of it =).
    I'm going to Wiesbaden tomorrow, on November 11.11th. Participate in the European Youth Debating Competition and the topic is plastic.
    Since I didn't know anything about it beforehand, I did some research today and this page is perfect for general viewing of pros and cons.
    PERFECT.
    I just wanted to say thank you for that.
    Really successful article.
    LG =)

  2. Hello Diana, thank you very much for your comment - I am pleased if this little insight into the infinite world of (bio) plastics helped you! If the European Youth Debating Competition 2011 on the subject of plastics had any information about plastics or, better yet, bioplastics, then it would be great if you could throw a few buzzwords around. Have fun and success in future debating competitions. Greetings, Ron

  3. My brother has been looking for tips on plastics processing for some time. It's good that I found the post here. The information is really helpful and interesting.

Post a comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Deutsch English
X

0 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 Google+ 0 Email -- 0 Flares ×

Biokunststoffe Vorteile und Nachteile Review Kritik Pros und ConsIm letzten Artikel ging es um aktuell sehr kontrovers diskutierte Punkte der Algennutzung. Der Heutige beschäftigt sich ebenfalls mit einem Thema, welches sehr unterschiedliche Meinungen hervorbringt, aber nicht aus dem Bereich der energetischen, sondern der stofflichen Biomasse-Nutzung stammt. Ich möchte anlässlich des aktuell in den deutschen Kinos laufenden Films „Plastic Planet“ von Werner Boote über die Pro und Contras der Kunststoffnutzung sprechen. Ein Thema welches die Gemüter spaltet.

Wenn man an Arten der Biomasse-Nutzung denkt, dann fällt einem das Material Kunststoff (noch) nicht unbedingt als Erstes ein. Aber die Kunststoff- und Biomasse-Branche könnten über den Bereich der Biokunststoffe in den nächsten Jahren zu starken Partnern heranreifen (Link zu weiterem Artikel).

Plastic Planet ein kontrovers diskutierter Film

Der Film „Plastic Planet“ ist ein ziemlich kritischer Film von einem Kenner der Branche und beleuchtet vor allem die dunklen Seiten des Kunststoffzeitalters aus verschiedenen Perspektiven. Die Meinungen über den Film gehen, wie beim Thema Kunststoff selbst, weit auseinander und reichen von vorwurfsvollen Kommentaren über die Verwendung unwissenschaftlicher Studien bis hin zu Danksagungen über die prophetische Kraft und gesellschaftliche Relevanz des Films. Wenn es denn eine Wahrheit gibt, dann liegt sie wahrscheinlich irgendwo dazwischen.

Mir hat der Film gut gefallen und ich musste unweigerlich an Al Gore’s Film zum Klimawandel „Eine unbequeme Wahrheit“ denken. Auf relativ private und sympathische Art und Weise präsentiert Herr Boote eine weitere unbequeme Wahrheit über die Auswirkungen unseres globalen Handelns. Dabei ist der Film meinem Empfinden nach nur sehr selten moralisierend, legt aber den Finger in eine offene Wunde, die man als Teil einer vom Kunststoff  durchfluteten Gesellschaft nur schwer ausblenden kann.

Auf seiner globalen Reise zu den problematischen Aspekten unseres „Plastic Planets“ spielen vor allem die gesundheitlichen und entsorgungstechnischen Probleme eine zentrale Rolle. Trotz des sehr ernsten Themas ist der Film dabei unterhaltsam und man verläßt das Kino mit einem geschärften Bewußtsein für die Kunststoffproblematik.

Den Link zu offiziellen und sehr informativen Internetseite des Film mit passendem Plastik-Design gibt es hier.

Liste zu den gesellschaftlichen Vorteilen und Nachteilen von Kunststoffen

Wie bei allen erfolgreichen Technologien hat auch die Verwendung von Kunststoff, über die gesamte Wertschöpfungskette betrachtet, verschiedene Problempunkte, welche sich der Kritik stellen müssen. Hier eine Liste von Vorteilen und Nachteilen die bei der Kunststoffnutzung auftreten:

Vorteile der Kunststoffnutzung

  • sehr flexibles Material, welches in vielen Branchen eine anwenderspezifische Lösung ermöglicht
  • Elektro- und Autoindustrie sind ohne Kunststoff kaum vorstellbar
  • Kaskadennutzung ist möglich – in Deutschland besteht eine Wiederverwertungsquote von 96%
  • ist ein vergleichweise kostengünstiger und sehr leichter Werkstoff

Nachteile der Kunststoffnutzung

  • Beschaffungsproblematik des fossilen Rohstoffs Erdöl und Abhängigkeit von dessen Preis
  • Müllproblematik vor allem in Ländern mit fehlenden Recyclingkonzepten
  • geteilte Meinungen bezüglich der Bewertung der Gefährlichkeit von einigen Inhaltsstoffen wie Bisphenol A, PVC und bestimmten Phthalaten

Diese Punkte fassen etwas vereinfacht die wesentlichen Punkte über die Pros und Cons der Kunststoffnutzung zusammen.

Gerade in Bezug auf die Gesundheitsgefahren von Kunststoffen ist in der EU in den letzten Jahren einiges passiert. So gilt seit Juni 2007 die EU-Verordnung REACH, welche die Verwendung von Chemikalien innerhalb der EU-Staaten regelt. Nach dieser dürfen nur solche Substanzen verwendet werden, welche vorher registriert und bewertet wurden. Das gilt auch für chemische Stoffe, welche bei der Kunststoffverarbeitung notwendig sind.

Wenn ich an Kunststoffe denke, dann auch mit gemischten Gefühlen. Auf der einen Seite habe ich die Bilder von Teppichen aus Plastikmüll die auf (im) Meer schwimmen und die Verwendung problematischer Lösungsmitteln im Kopf. Auf der anderen Seite ist da aber auch die Vorstellung von einem der flexibelsten Werkstoffe bezüglich Formbarkeit, Beständigkeit, Gewicht und Kosten, welcher viele gesellschaftliche Probleme in der Medizin, Kommunikation oder Mobilität lösen konnte.

Die plötzliche Verdammung einer ganzen Industrie ist in meinen Augen genauso irrational wie der einseitige Hype. Beides trägt zuviel Revolution und zu wenig Evolution in sich. Aus gemachten Fehlern zu lernen und an bestehendes anzuknüpfen halte ich für vernünftiger als eine ganze Branche im Hauruck-Verfahren ersetzen zu wollen. Umwelttechnische Verbesserung der Produktionsverfahren und innovative Konzepte zum Recycling halte ich an dieser Stelle für nachhaltiger.

Kunststoffe 2.0 = Biokunststoffe?

Das Besondere an Biokunststoffen ist, dass sie dabei helfen können einen Großteil der Kritikpunkte (Rohstoffe, Herstellung, Entsorgung) zu überwinden und die Vorteile der Kunststoffnutzung in der Gesamtbilanz noch zu stärken. Eine Differenzierung zwischen fossilen Kunststoffen und Biokunststoffen halte ich deshalb für sehr wichtig. Denn auch das Material Kunststoff und die Kunststoffbranche insgesamt entwickelt sich, auch unterstützt durch Filme wie „Plastic Planet“, natürlich ständig weiter.

Bei den Biopolymeren sollte aber auch unterschieden werden zwischen den Kunststoffen, die ausschließlich auf der Basis von nachwachsenden Rohstoffen entstanden sind und denen, die zusätzlich noch biologisch abbaubar sind. So gibt es Kunststoffe, die zu den Biokunststoffen zählen, aber nicht unbedingt auch biologisch abbaubar sind. Nach den Angaben einiger Biokunststoff-Hersteller sind die ökologischen Vorreiter unter den Biokunststoffen aber die Typen, welche innerhalb von 180 Tagen komplett biologisch abgebaut werden können, ohne chemische Gefahrstoffe zurückzulassen. Was Naturfaserkunststoffe (NFK) alles leisten können, sehen Sie in diesem Film der Fachagentur Nachwachsende Rohstoffe.

Die Schwachpunkte der Biokunststoffe liegen aktuell vor allem im ökonomischen Bereich, da sie teurer sind als ihre fossilen Kollegen. Einige Aussagen über die Konkurrenzfähigkeit von Biokunststoff gegenüber den Fossilen habe ich auf der Grünen Woche von einem Verfahrenstechniker der Kunststoffbranche erhalten.

Ersetzen von 50% der fossilen Kunststoffe durch Biokunststoffe aus Algen

Wichtig ist aber auch bei Biokunststoffen die Frage nach den Rohstoffquellen und der zunehmenden Konkurrenz um nachwachsende Rohstoffe. Das US-amerikanische Unternehmen Cereplast hat zu diesem Argument erst kürzlich in einer Pressemitteilung die Meinung vertreten, dass mit Hilfe von Kunststoffen auf Algenbasis bis zu 50% der fossilen Kunststoffmengen ersetzt werden könnten.

Bisher hat das Unternehmen vor allem den Biokunststoff PLA aus der Stärke von Kartoffeln, Getreide und Maniok (Tapioka-Stärke) hergestellt, ist aber von den Ergebnissen der eigenen Algenforschung so überzeugt, dass es für die kommenden Monate die Entwicklung eines Biokunststoffs auf Algenbasis anstrebt. Das zeigt erneut die vielfältigen Nutzungsmöglichkeiten von Algen (siehe Artikel Biokraftstoff aus Algen), welche sich demnach sowohl für die energetische, als auch für die stoffliche Nutzung anbieten.

Was ist eure Meinung zum Film oder zu „Plastik“ allgemein – sollten wir uns mittelfristig vom Kunststoff trennen und nach Alternativen Ausschau halten oder eher eine Modernisierung vornehmen?

Diskutieren Sie mit! Danke.