Biodiesel from algae and jatropha is increasingly conquering civil aviation

Overview of vegetable oil contents such as algaeNot all, but most biofuels have significantly better CO2-Balance than their petroleum-based fossil counterparts. This improvement in emission values ​​across the entire production and use chain applies above all to the 2nd and 3rd generation of biofuels. Third generation fuels currently include all types of algae fuels. The intensive use in everyday life still requires a lot of research and before we can buy fuel from aquaculture at the petrol station, for example, it will probably take a few more years. Civil aviation is already preparing to use such fuels as a substitute for kerosene, and is striving to improve the ecological balance of aviation, which is often criticized in this regard.

Biofuels from algae and jatropha at Boeing and Lufthansa

The aircraft manufacturer Boeing has been investing in the further development of biofuels for several years in order to reduce the often criticized "ecological backpack" (life cycle assessment) of long-haul flights. The use of microalgae is obvious at this point, as the fatty acids (oils) of the water organisms converted into biodiesel which is very close to kerosene in its properties. According to Boeing, there is no need to make any changes to the aircraft turbine.

If aviation is also included in the Emission Trading Scheme (ETS) in January 2012, i.e. EU emissions trading, biofuels will continue to gain importance in civil aviation (see Article on biofuels and ETS).

Deutsche Lufthansa AG also entered into a partnership last week in which Neste Oil will supply Lufthansa with the biofuel NExBTL. Contrary to Boeing's plans, this is a second-generation biofuel that is made from jatropha oil and will improve the airline's eco-balance. The Kenyan government also relies on biodiesel from jatropha oil (see article).

Further information on the development of biofuels in aviation can be found in the exciting article (LINK) “When the alga learned to fly” by the journalist Fabian von Poser.

The US space agency NASA, which has its own research program for the development of biofuels from algae, would like to go even higher with biofuels from algae (see article).

Biomass from land or from water?

2nd and 3rd generation biofuels many advantages (LINK) compared to 1st generation fuels. While the 2nd generation fuels are primarily aimed at new production technologies and the use of previously unusable components of arable plants, the 3rd generation biofuels literally fall back into the water and they rely on micro and macro algae.

But in my opinion neither land nor aquatic plants are generally better suited for economic use and depending on the particular location, the cultivation of arable or aquaculture has corresponding advantages.

The growth rates of algae (see graphic above) are very impressive and exceed traditional field plants many times over, but land plants offer more options for combining material and energy use due to their more complex composition. Perhaps the long-term global developments lead to the fact that arable plants are mainly used as material and as food and that algae primarily provide bioenergy. But this is speculation about long-term trends and can vary widely from region to region.

Advantages of biofuels from algae and production facilities in Germany

As far as I know, the current state of production of 2nd and 3rd generation biofuels is mainly in the area of ​​numerous demonstration, some beta and very few industrial plants worldwide.

In Germany there are some larger projects for growing algae, which I have summarized in the following list. The goals of the plants are mostly a combination of the production of a bioenergetic product and the support of climate protection. The projects are not researched in depth, but rather the list is intended to give a small overview of existing projects. Perhaps there are participants in the projects and give a short insight into the current status of plant operation in a comment.

  • Algae farm in Klötze / Saxony-Anhalt

According to Prof. Steinberg, this is Europe's largest algae farm. Microalgae are cultivated in a 1,2 hectare greenhouse with a 500 km long glass tube system. The algae are mainly used for the production of food and nutritional supplements.

  • Algae breeding plant Niederaußem near Cologne

In the pilot plant on a 1.000 m2 Photobioreactor area 6.000 kg of algae dry matter / year obtained. An important effect is the CO2-Binding by the algae, which should contribute to climate protection. The production of bio-fuel is supported by RWE Power AG, Jacobs University Bremen, Forschungszentrum Jülich and Phytolutions GmbH.

  • Algae farm in Senftenberg / Brandenburg

Similar to the RWE project in Niederaussem, Vattenfall Europe Mining & Generation and the Gesellschaft für Montan und Bautechnik (GMB) operate an algae farm in Senftenberg. Here, the flue gases (especially carbon dioxide) from the local thermal power station are used to cultivate microalgae. The high CO2-The needs of the microalgae and the stored carbon dioxide of a possible CCS plant could be combined in the medium term. Here you will find an article (Addendum from 12.09.2011/XNUMX/XNUMX) to the algae cluster in Berlin-Brandenburg for the further development of bioenergy from algae.

  • Microalgae production "Term" in Hamburg

The city of Hamburg and E.ON Hanse AG also operate a plant in which the goal is the cultivation of microalgae and the conversion of carbon dioxide to biomass. For the extraction of one kilogram of algae biomass (dry matter ?!), the project participants are given around 2 kilograms of CO2 recorded.

If you know of any other plants in which microalgae are cultivated in Germany or internationally, please refer to them in a comment!

A list of the advantages of algae cultivation and a collection of companies and institutes that are active in the algae industry, here.

Microalgae for biofuels Bioenergy Biosprit Biodiesel Algae farmResearch work on the green algae Chlorella wins Nobel Prize and accelerates the development of bioenergy

One of the stars among the microalgae is surely the freshwater algae Chlorella vulgaris. It was used by the biochemist and Nobel laureate Melvin Calvin to research the dark reaction of photosynthesis. The green alga is also a better understanding of the Calvin cycle named after M. Calvin Chlorella Thanks to.

The high protein content of Chlorella vulgaris between 50 - 60% also means that the microalgae is also very interesting for the development of food or material applications.

When I wrote my diploma thesis on the modeling of algal biocenoses a few years ago and in the dataset among other things Chlorella occurred, I was not even aware of the great importance of the small organism for science. That is why I am all the more pleased that I was already in contact with this organism in the name of science.

Sustainable algae technology

Finally, a few critical words. I hope that the research into algae takes place carefully and that moderate use can be achieved, because the fascination for these growth giants also means great economic temptation. Algae are the oldest living form on earth and the effects of an impact on their ecosystems can hardly be overestimated.

3 comments on “Biodiesel from algae and jatropha is increasingly conquering civil aviation”

  1. Achim Behrenwaldt

    Greece offers the very best conditions for seaweed farming:
    * A total of 13.000 km of coastline including islands with countless bays!
    * Water temperatures up to 25 degrees and never colder than 15 degrees!
    * Twice as much solar energy as in Germany!
    * 11 billion EU funds for economic development are waiting to be used!
    More details here: http://www.marshallplan-griechenland.de

  2. Pingback: GREEN EUROPE – RENEWS

Post a comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Deutsch English
X

1 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 Google+ 1 Email -- 1 Flares ×

Übersicht von Pflanzenölgehalten wie AlgenNicht alle, aber die meisten Biokraftstoffe haben eine deutlich bessere CO2-Bilanz als ihre fossilen Kollegen auf Erdölbasis. Diese Verbesserung der Emissionswerte über die gesamte Herstellungs- und Nutzungskette gilt vor allem für den Biosprit der 2. und 3.Generation. Zu den Kraftstoffen der 3.Generation werden aktuell jegliche Arten von Algen-Kraftstoffen gezählt. Die intensive Verwendung im Alltag benötigt noch einiges an Forschungsarbeit und bevor wir z.B. Kraftstoff aus Aquakulturen an der Tankstelle erwerben können, werden vermutlich noch einige Jahre ins Land gehen. Die zivile Luftfahrt bereitet sich schon jetzt auf die Verwendung solcher Treibstoffe als Ersatz für das Kerosin vor und strebt so eine Verbesserung der Ökobilanz der diesbezüglich oft gescholtenen Luftfahrt an.

Biokraftstoffe aus Algen und Jatropha bei Boeing und Lufthansa

Der Flugzeughersteller Boeing investiert schon seit einigen Jahren in die Weiterentwicklung von Biokraftstoffen, um den häufig kritisierten „ökologischen Rucksack“ (Ökobilanz) von Langstreckenflügen zu verkleinern. Die Verwendung von Mikroalgen liegt an dieser Stelle nahe, da die Fettsäuren (Öle) der Wasserorganismen in Biodiesel umgewandelt werden können, welches in seinen Eigenschaften dem Kerosin sehr nahe kommt. Dabei müssen den Angaben Boeings zur Folge nicht mal Änderungen an der Flugzeugturbine vorgenommen werden.

Wenn im Januar 2012 auch die Luftfahrt in das Emission Trading Scheme (ETS), also den EU-Emissionhandel, aufgenommen wird, werden Biokraftstoffe in der zivilen Luftfahrt weiter an Bedeutung gewinnen (siehe Artikel zu Biokraftstoffen und ETS).

Auch die Deutsche Lufthansa AG ist in der vergangenen Woche eine Partnerschaft eingegangen, bei der das Unternehmen Neste Oil die Lufthansa mit dem Biokraftstoff NExBTL beliefern wird. Dabei handelt es sich im Gegensatz zu den Plänen von Boeing um einen Biokraftstoff der 2.Generation, der aus Jatropha Öl hergestellt wird und die Ökobilanz der Fluggesellschaft verbessern wird. Auf Biodiesel aus Jatropha Öl setzt auch die kenianische Regierung (siehe Artikel).

Weitere Informationen zur Entwicklung der Biokraftstoffe in der Luftfahrt gibt es in dem spannenden Artikel (LINK) „Als die Alge fliegen lernte“ vom Journalisten Fabian von Poser.

Noch höher hinaus mit Biokraftstoffen aus Algen möchte die US-amerikanische Weltraumbehörde NASA, welche über ein eigenes Forschungsprogramm zur Entwicklung von Biokraftstoffen aus Algen verfügt (siehe Artikel).

Biomasse vom Land oder aus dem Wasser?

Biokraftstoffe der 2. und 3.Generation haben viele Vorteile (LINK) gegenüber den Kraftstoffen der 1.Generation. Während die Kraftstoffe der 2.Generation vor allem auf neue Herstellungstechnologien und die Verwendung von bisher nicht nutzbaren Bestandteilen von Ackerpflanzen abzielen, fällt bei den Biokraftstoffen der 3.Generation im wahrsten Sinne wieder alles ins Wasser und es wird auf Mikro- und Makroalgen gesetzt.

Aber weder Land- noch Wasserpflanzen sind meiner Meinung nach pauschal besser zur wirtschaftlichen Nutzung geeignet und abhängig von den jeweiligen Standortbesonderheiten hat der Anbau von Acker- oder Aquakulturen entsprechende Vorteile.

Die Wachstumsraten von Algen (siehe Grafik oben) sind sehr beeindruckend und übertreffen klassische Ackerpflanzen um ein Vielfaches, hingegen bieten Landpflanzen auf Grund ihrer komplexeren Zusammensetzung mehr Möglichkeiten zur Kombination von stofflicher und energetischer Nutzung. Vielleicht führen die langfristigen globalen Entwicklungen dahin, dass Ackerpflanzen vor allem stofflich und als Nahrungsmittel genutzt werden und Algen vor allem Bioenergie bereitstellen. Aber das ist eine Spekulation über langfristige Trends und kann sich regional sehr unterschiedlich ausprägen.

Vorteile von Biokraftstoffen aus Algen und Produktionsanlagen in Deutschland

Der aktuelle Herstellungsstand bei Biokraftstoffen der 2. als auch der 3.Generation liegt meines Wissens vor allem im Bereich zahlreicher Demonstrations-, einiger Beta- und ganz weniger Industrieanlagen weltweit.

In Deutschland gibt es einige größere Projekte zum Anbau von Algen, die ich in der folgenden Aufzählung zusammengefaßt habe. Die Ziele der Anlagen sind meistens eine Kombination aus der Herstellung eines bioenergetischen Produkts und der Unterstützung des Klimaschutzes. Die Projekte sind nicht tiefer recherchiert, sondern die Auflistung soll vor allem einen kleinen Überblick über bestehende Vorhaben geben. Vielleicht finden sich an den Projekten Beteiligte und geben in einem Kommentar einen kurzen Einblick über den aktuellen Stand des Anlagenbetriebs.

  • Algenfarm in Klötze/ Sachsen-Anhalt

Hier steht nach Angaben von Prof. Steinberg die größte Algenfarm Europas. Es werden Mikroalgen in einem 1,2 ha großen Gewächshaus mit einem 500 km langen Glasröhrensystem kultiviert. Die Algen werden hauptsächlich für die Herstellung von Nahrungs- und Nahrungsergänzungsmitteln verwendet.

  • Algenzuchtanlage Niederaußem bei Köln

In der Pilotanlage werden auf einer 1.000 m2 Photobioreaktor-Fläche 6.000 kg Algen-Trockenmasse/ Jahr gewonnen. Wichtiger Effekt ist dabei die CO2-Bindung durch die Algen, welche zum Klimaschutz beitragen soll. Die Herstellung von Biosprit wird von der RWE Power AG, der Jacobs University Bremen, dem Forschungszentrum Jülich und der Phytolutions GmbH unterstützt.

  • Algenfarm in Senftenberg/ Brandenburg

Ähnlich dem RWE Projekt in Niederaußem betreibt die Vattenfall Europe Mining & Generation  und die Gesellschaft für Montan und Bautechnik (GMB) eine Algenfarm in Senftenberg. Hier werden die Rauchgase (vor allem das Kohlendioxid) des ansässigen Heizkraftwerks verwendet, um Mikroalgen zu kultivieren. Der hohe CO2-Bedarf der Mikroalgen und das gespeicherte Kohlendioxid einer möglichen CCS-Anlage könnten mittelfristig kombiniert werden. Hier finden Sie einen Artikel (Nachtrag vom 12.09.2011) zum Algen-Cluster in Berlin-Brandenburg zur Weiterentwicklung der Bioenergie aus Algen.

  • Mikroalgenproduktion „Term“ in Hamburg

Auch die Stadt Hamburg und die E.ON Hanse AG betreiben eine Anlage, bei der das Ziel die Kultivierung von Mikroalgen und die Konversion von Kohlenstoffdioxid zu Biomasse ist. Für die Gewinnung von einem Kilogramm Algenbiomasse (Trockenmasse?!) werden den Projektbeteiligten zur Folge ca. 2 Kilogramm CO2 aufgenommen.

Wenn Sie noch weitere Anlagen kennen in denen Mikroalgen in Deutschland oder auch international kultiviert werden, verweisen Sie darauf sehr gerne in einem Kommentar!

Eine Auflistung der Vorteile der Algenkultivierung und eine Sammlung von Unternehmen und Instituten die in der Algenbranche tätig sind, finden Sie hier.

Mikroalge für Biokraftstoff Bioenergie Biosprit Biodiesel AlgenfarmForschungsarbeit an der Grünalge Chlorella gewinnt Nobelpreis und beschleunigt die Entwicklung der Bioenergie

Einer der Stars unter den Mikroalgen ist sicherlich die Süßwasseralge Chlorella vulgaris. Sie diente dem Biochemiker und Nobelpreisträger Melvin Calvin zur Erforschung der Dunkelreaktion der Photosynthese. So ist das bessere Verständnis über den nach M. Calvin benannten Calvin-Zyklus auch der Grünalge Chlorella zu verdanken.

Der hohe Proteingehalt von Chlorella vulgaris zwischen 50 – 60 % führt außerdem dazu, dass die Mikroalge auch für die Entwicklung von Nahrungsmitteln oder stoffliche Anwendungen sehr interessant ist.

Als ich vor einigen Jahren meine Diplomarbeit über die Modellierung von Algenbiozönosen geschrieben habe und im Datensatz unter anderem auch Chlorella vorkam, war mir die große Bedeutung des kleinen Organismus für die Wissenschaft noch gar nicht bewusst. Deshalb freut es mich heute um so mehr, dass ich damals schon selbst im Namen der Wissenschaft mit diesem Organismus in Kontakt gewesen bin.

Nachhaltige Algentechnologie

Zum Abschluss noch einige kritische Worte. Ich hoffe, dass die Erforschung der Algen behutsam stattfindet und eine maßvolle Nutzung erreicht werden kann, denn die Faszination für diese Wachstumsriesen bedeutet natürlich auch eine große wirtschaftliche Verlockung. Algen sind die ältesten Lebeformen der Erde und die Auswirkungen eines Eingriffs in ihre Ökosysteme können wahrscheinlich kaum überschätzt werden.