India - potentials of the subcontinent in the field of bioenergy

Biomass Biogas Bioenergy India BioenergyIndia is a huge country and, in terms of both area and population, at least 10 times as large as Germany. In 2009, according to the IMF, Germany still ranked 4th and India 11th in terms of gross domestic product, but here too the subcontinent will quickly move up to the current trend. When it comes to the energetic use of biomass, India is a nation that impresses with numbers that make you Europeans quickly dizzy. I would like to give you a small impression of this today.

India belongs to Brazil, Russia, China and South Africa to the 5 BRICS countries, which have an annual economic growth between 5-10% and make up about 40% of the earth's population.

5.000 small biomass plants supply the power of 15 nuclear power plants

This will be the case at least in a few years if you look at the Indian report Ministry of New and Renewable Energies believes that was released last week. According to this, thousands of small biomass power plants are to be promoted and built with state money over the entire country over the next 10 years. The report describes these biomass power plants as “small power plants”, although each of them will produce 1-2 MW of energy (electricity and heat).

Which technology and raw material mix will ultimately produce these huge amounts of bioenergy is not yet clear at this planning stage and it is likely to be a mixture of biogas, biomass solid fuels, vegetable oils, biodiesel and bioethanol - which in different CHP units to be converted into energy nationwide.

Verbio Ag also advertised a few months ago in what I find to be a very beneficial bioenergy campaign with the slogan that they will soon replace the first nuclear power plant in Germany with bioenergy (see article).

Indian state with 24 million inhabitants aims to install 1 GW of bioenergy

Bioenergy may not be as "sexy" as other regenerative forms of energy (see article), but has many advantages for the decentralized supply of a region with electricity, heat and fuel. In my eyes it is the ideal decentralized form of energy, which can develop its full potential, especially in sparsely populated areas with hardly any energy supply and agricultural structures.

The editors of a study published in the Indian state of Haryana last week must have thought that too. The Haryana Renewable Energy Development Agency (HAREDA) According to the northern state, there is a potential of 1 GW (!) of electrical power that could only be obtained from organic waste from sugar cane processing.

Bioenergy partnerships between Indian and German producers?

Due to its rapid growth, India is certainly still anchored in the perception of some as a developing or emerging country. With this perspective, the term “partnership” can unfortunately quickly lead to one-sided partnerships similar to economic colonialism or economic imperialism. Since India will probably have overtaken us in terms of absolute economic power in a few years, an equal partnership stands on a solid economic basis.

In an article I have already reported on projects based on the Public Private Partnership (PPP) principle that the Society for Technical Cooperation (GTZ) and EnviTec Biogas AG are implementing in India (see article).

Germany is the world leader in the construction of biogas plants and has a lot of experience with this technology with a total of around 6.000 BGAs and 2,3 GW of electrical power.

Biogas bioenergy households net electricity productionThe exchange of know-how and the joint implementation of biogas projects in rural regions of India can therefore be beneficial for both countries. The approval of other biogas plants in Germany is not always without problems and the export rate and international experience of plant manufacturers, builders and operators is increasing. Companies such as Weltec Biopower GmbH, Schmack Biogas GmbH, EnviTec Biogas AG and others have already set up plants in the international arena and some already have branches in India.

Some facts about bioenergy in India

Here are some interesting facts that characterize the development of energetic biomass use in India:

  • Biomass energy contributes a third to primary energy production in India
  • India's first state biomass production program was a response to the global oil crisis in the 1970s.
  • The large-scale use and spread of bioenergy in India has long been hampered by being perceived as a purely traditional and rural form of energy.
  • The incomplete combustion of biomass in traditional energy production in India leads to the release of pollutants (e.g. carbon monoxide, nitrogen oxides, benzene, methane, formaldehyde, benzo (a) pyrene)
  • India plans to increase the use of innovative biomass fuels such as rice straw, rice husks, bagasse, wood waste, wild shrubs and waste from paper and pulp production.
  • Sizes of degraded land areas in India, which can potentially be used to cultivate renewable raw materials, vary between 66 - 130 million hectares. In Germany, renewable raw materials are currently grown on 2,1 million hectares of land (source: FNR)

A paper by PR Shukla offers further exciting information on bioenergy in India - here the link.


5 comments on "India - potentials of the subcontinent in the field of bioenergy"

  1. As always, a very read article, especially the facts about bioenergy in India listed towards the end, I found exciting. You almost have to say that luckily there was the worldwide “oil crisis” otherwise in 1970 the state biomass promotion program would probably never have started.
    LG Nathanael

Post a comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Deutsch English
X

1 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 Google+ 1 Email -- 1 Flares ×

Biomasse Biogas Bioenergie Indien BioenergyIndien ist ein riesiges Land und sowohl auf die Fläche, als auch auf die Einwohner bezogen mindestens 10-mal so groß wie Deutschland. 2009 hatte Deutschland den Angaben des IWF zufolge beim Bruttoinlandsprodukt noch den 4. und Indien den 11. Rang inne, aber auch hier wird der Subkontinent dem jetzigen Trend nach zügig Plätze heranrücken. Im Bereich der energetischen Nutzung von Biomasse ist Indien eine Nation die mit Zahlen beeindruckt, bei denen einem als Europäer schnell schwindelig werden kann. Einen kleinen Eindruck davon möchte ich heute geben.

Indien gehört mit Brasilien, Russland, China und Südafrika zu den 5 BRICS-Staaten, welche ein jährliches Wirtschaftswachstum zwischen 5-10% aufweisen und etwa 40 % der Erdbevölkerung ausmachen.

5.000 Biomasse-Kleinanlagen liefern Leistung von 15 Atomkraftwerken

So wird es zumindest in einige Jahren sein, wenn man dem Report des Indischen Ministerium für Neue und Regenerative Energien glaubt, der in der vergangenen Woche veröffentlicht wurde. Demnach sollen in den nächsten 10 Jahren über das gesamte Land verteilt tausende an kleinen Biomassekraftwerken mit staatlichen Geldern gefördert und errichtet werden. Der Report beschreibt diese Biomassekraftwerke als „Kleinkraftwerke“, obwohl jedes für sich immerhin 1-2 MW Energie (Strom und Wärme) produzieren wird.

Welcher Technologie- und Rohstoffmix diese riesigen Mengen an Bioenergie letztlich erzeugen wird, steht auf dieser Planungsstufe noch nicht fest und es dürfte eine Mischung aus Biogas, Biomasse Festbrennstoffen, Pflanzenölen, Biodiesel und Bioethanol werden – welche in verschiedenen Blockheizkraftwerken (BHKW) landesweit energetisch umgewandelt werden.

Auch die Verbio Ag hat vor einigen Monaten in einer, wie ich finde sehr wohltuenden, Kampagne zum Thema Bioenegie mit dem Slogan geworben, dass sie in Deutschland bald das erste Atomkraftwerk durch Bioenergie ersetzen werden (siehe Artikel).

Indischer Bundesstaat mit 24 Millionen Einwohnern strebt Installation von 1 GW Bioenergie an

Bioenergie ist vielleicht nicht unbedingt so „sexy“ wie andere regenerative Energieformen (siehe Artikel), weist aber dafür viele Vorteile für die dezentrale Versorgung einer Region mit Strom, Wärme und Kraftstoff auf. In meinen Augen ist sie die ideale dezentrale Energieform, die vor allem in dünnbesiedelten Landstrichen mit noch kaum vorhandener Energieversorgung und landwirtschaftlich ausgeprägten Strukturen ihr volles Potential entfalten kann.

Das müssen sich auch die Herausgeber einer in der vergangenen Woche veröffentlichten Studie im indischen Bundesstaat Haryana gedacht haben. Der Haryana Renewable Energy Development Agency (HAREDA) zufolge besteht im nördlichen Bundesstaat ein Potential von 1 GW (!) elektrischer Leistung, die allein aus organischen Abfällen der Zuckerrohr-Verarbeitung gewonnen werden könnte.

Bioenergie-Partnerschaften zwischen indischen und deutschen Produzenten?

Auf Grund des rasanten Wachstums ist Indien in der Wahrnehmung einiger sicher noch als Entwicklungs- oder Schwellenland verankert. Bei dieser Perspektive können einem bei dem Begriff „Partnerschaft“ leider schnell einseitige Partnerschafteb ähnlich dem Wirtschaftskolonialismus oder –imperialismus kommen. Da uns Indien in Bezug auf die absolute Wirtschaftskraft in einigen Jahren wahrscheinlich überholt haben wird, steht eine gleichberechtige Partnerschaft auf einer soliden wirtschaftlichen Basis.

In einem Artikel habe ich schon über Projekte nach dem Public Privat Partnership (PPP) Prinzip berichtet, welche die Gesellschaft für Technische Zusammenarbeit (GTZ) und die EnviTec Biogas AG in Indien realisieren (siehe Artikel).

In Bezug auf den Bau von Biogasanlagen ist Deutschland weltweit führend und verfügt mit einer Gesamtanzahl von aktuell etwa 6.000 laufenden BGA und 2,3 GW elektrischer Leistung über viel Erfahrung mit dieser Technologie.

Biogas Bioenergie Haushalte NettostromproduktionDer Austausch von Know-How und die gemeinsame Umsetzung von Biogasprojekten in ländlichen Regionen Indiens können deshalb für beide Länder von Vorteil sein. Die Genehmigung von weiteren Biogasanlagen in Deutschland ist nicht immer ganz unproblematisch und die Exportrate und die internationale Erfahrung der Anlagenhersteller, -erbauer und -betreiber nimmt zu. Unternehmen wie die Weltec Biopower GmbH, die Schmack Biogas GmbH, die EnviTec Biogas AG und andere haben schon Anlagen im internationalen Raum errichtet und verfügen teilweise schon über Ableger in Indien.

Einige Fakten zur Bioenergie in Indien

Hier einige interessante Fakten, welche die Entwicklung der energetischen Biomasse-Nutzung in Indien kennzeichnen:

  • Energie aus Biomasse steuert in Indien ein Drittel zur Primärenergieerzeugung bei
  • Das erste staatliche Biomasseförderprogramm Indiens war in den 1970iger Jahren eine Reaktion auf die weltweite Ölkrise.
  • Die großtechnische Nutzung und Verbreitung der Bioenergie wurde in Indien lange dadurch gehemmt, dass sie als rein traditionelle und ländliche Energieform wahrgenommen wurde.
  • Die unvollständige Verbrennung von Biomasse bei der traditionellen Energieerzeugung in Indien führt zur Freisetzung von Schadstoffen (z.B. Kohlenstoffmonoxid, Stickoxide, Benzol, Methan, Formaldehyd, Benzo(a)pyren)
  • Indien plant den verstärkten Einsatz innovativer Biomasse-Brennstoffe wie Reis-Stroh, Reishülsen, Bagasse, Holzabfälle, Wildsträucher und Abfälle aus der Papier- und Zellstoffproduktion.
  • Größenangaben über degradierte Landflächen in Indien, welche potentiell zum Anbau von Nachwachsenden Rohstoffen genutzt werden können, variieren zwischen 66 – 130 Millionen Hektar. In Deutschland werden aktuell auf 2,1 Millionen Hektar Landfläche Nachwachsende Rohstoffe angebaut (Quelle: FNR)

Weitere spannende Informationen zur Bioenergie in Indien bietet ein Paper von P.R. Shukla – hier der Link.