How sexy is regenerative bioenergy?

Organic waste and food waste for biogas plants and fermenters organic waste There are many approaches to move the fossil energy industry in a different direction. The modern use of regenerative energy sources such as biomass, direct solar energy or wind energy is one of these possibilities, which leaves a lot of space for creativity and social visions. But regenerative energies, with increasingly more efficient technologies and growing market share, are competing with one another more intensely for free plant locations, customers and social acceptance. This offensive advertising of energy sources and technologies in Germany is unusual, but in my opinion it is also very useful and leads to an increase in the speed of innovation in the entire industry and prevents premature resting on what has already been achieved. How well is bioenergy positioned in this campaign for attention and acceptance?

I cannot say that I am particularly well suited to provide an as objective answer as possible to this question, as I strongly support the Benefits of bioenergy believe as a regenerative form of energy. For me it fits perfectly into the time and is the ideal bridge energy. It can be integrated relatively economically into the existing energy industry based on combustion technologies and still opens the way for other, more revolutionary forms of energy. This applies particularly to the mobility track (Biofuels).

Sex appeal of regenerative bioenergy

Despite all of my personal convictions, I also know that bioenergy is often a bit more difficult in the public perception than my colleagues from solar and wind energy. These energy sources, which are not based on the combustion of carbon-containing substances, make a significantly cleaner or more provocatively worded “sterile” impression, at least when it comes to energy generation (not when manufacturing and recycling the systems!).

Bioenergy, on the other hand, produces stench, has to do with waste and is sometimes heavily exaggerated as an important factor in the "exacerbation of famine and deforestation around the world". Of course, these boundary conditions do not necessarily contribute to the attractiveness of bioenergy and as a voter and consumer you will instinctively distance yourself from this form of energy in some horror scenarios and in any case not feel magically attracted. So does bioenergy have an image problem and does it lack the pure radiance of wind and direct solar energy?

Just as problems of bioenergy often come to the fore in public discussion, this question can often be answered with yes. A balanced discussion about the dangers and potentials of bioenergy and a rational comparison with the current alternatives takes place too rarely, at least in the daily newspapers. This is a shame for an energy source that is one of the most social (job preservation), most efficient and cheapest renewable energy sources that we are likely to have at the moment and in the next 25 years.

I am an absolute supporter of all forms of renewable energy and believe that only a mix of them can present a solid team that is able to replace the strong predecessor resources of coal and natural gas (and oil) in the areas of heat, electricity and fuel. Nevertheless, the disappointment cannot be dismissed out of hand because of the sometimes lack of public support and lack of courage to work for bioenergy. 

I believe that so little is talked about the strengths of bioenergy and, above all, about its weaknesses, is also due to a lack of “sex appeal” of this form of energy. To speak of the sex appeal of bioenergy is a bit daring, but without sufficient sex appeal it is difficult for an ecological movement, since economic, ecological and social factors are sometimes insufficient to link it to a long-term vision and to gain the necessary political backing .

High tech is sexy

So how can the image of bioenergy be polished up a bit? That is not a very easy question to answer. There is certainly no point in imposing something on bioenergy that does not correspond to its nature. Swimming on the same “cleantech” wave as solar technology is probably not the right way to go, as stench, microorganisms and combustion simply appear “dirtier” and can cause a certain disgust. An image campaign for bioenergy should be authentic and it can do that with the many advantages.

A technical product, for example, is often perceived more as “sexy” if it has the label “high-tech” and perhaps it would be a sensible strategy for bioenergy to emphasize its high-tech character. Bioenergy has plenty of opportunities to improve its image by relying more on its interfaces to biochemistry or something more daring to genetics. Of course, genetics is not entirely unproblematic, as its methods are not undisputed in society.

Smiling woman as sun with apple in hand for sex appeal of bioenergy
It is mysterious what attraction the fruit of the (forbidden) apple can develop in our western society and I would be interested in how strongly the success of the Apple company is also based on the erotic charisma of the company symbol. Fruits or biomass in general can be sexy. How can bioenergy benefit as a result?

I think an image campaign on the advantages of bioenergy makes a lot of sense. In what way can the topic of an exciting discussion be? What are your ideas for starting such a campaign?

5 comments on “How sexy is regenerative bioenergy?”

  1. ... oh how right you are, but with this charming smile he also has tough competition :-)

  2. Biomass is only sexy if I work sustainably or with what I have on the farm, manure, leftover feed, grass. But if I drive the feed for my large biogas plant far away, I will eventually have an economic problem - lease costs and transport!
    As long as the trade does not pay the farmers decent prices for the food, I understand the farmers that they become “energy hosts”. For everyone else who continues to produce food, which should be the main task of a farmer.
    I recommend something small there are more than 200kw biogas plants.

    with sunny winter greetings from Bavaria Solarstrom - Simon

Post a comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Deutsch English
X

0 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 Google+ 0 Email -- 0 Flares ×

Organische Abfälle und Speisereste für biogasanlage und Fermenter organic waste Es gibt viele Ansätze die fossile Energiewirtschaft in eine andere Richtung zu bewegen. Der moderne Einsatz von regenerativen Energiequellen wie Biomasse, direkter Sonnenenergie oder Windenergie ist eine dieser Möglichkeiten, welche viel Platz für Kreativität und gesellschaftliche Visionen läßt. Aber auch die regenerativen Energien treten mit zunehmend effizienteren Technologien und wachsendem Marktanteil in einen stärkeren Wettbewerb untereinander um freie Anlagenstandorte, Kunden und gesellschaftliche  Akzeptanz. Dieses offensive Werben von Energieträgern und –technologien in Deutschland ist ungewohnt, aber in meinen Augen auch sehr nützlich und führt zur Erhöhung der Innovationsgeschwindigkeit der ganzen Branche und verhindert das vorzeitige Ausruhen auf dem schon Erreichten. Wie gut ist die Bioenergie beim diesem Werben um Aufmerksamkeit und Akzeptanz aufgestellt?

Ich kann nicht behaupten, dass ich besonders gut geeignet bin für eine möglichst objektive Antwort auf diese Frage, da  ich stark an die Vorteile der Bioenergie als regenerative Energieform glaube. Für mich passt sie optimal in die Zeit und ist die ideale Brückenenergie. Sie kann relativ ökonomisch in die bestehende Energiewirtschaft auf Basis von Verbrennungstechnologien integriert werden und öffnet trotzdem Wege für andere, revolutionärere Energieformen. Dies gilt besonders für die Mobilitätsschiene (Biokraftstoffe).

Sex-Appeal der regenerativen Bioenergie

Bei all meiner persönlichen Überzeugung weiß ich aber auch, dass es die Bioenergie in der öffentlichen Wahrnehmung oft etwas schwerer hat, als die Kollegen von der Sonnen- und Windenergie. Diese nicht auf Verbrennung von kohlenstoffhaltigen Stoffen basierenden Energiequellen machen zumindest bei der Energiegewinnung (nicht bei der Herstellung und dem Recycling der Anlagen!) einen deutlich cleaneren oder etwas provokanter formuliert „sterileren“ Eindruck.

Bioenergie hingegen produziert Gestank, hat mit Abfällen zu tun und wird manchmal stark übertrieben als wichtiger Faktor für die „Verschlimmerung der Hungersnöte und Regenwaldabholzung auf der ganzen Welt“ verteufelt. Diese Randbedingungen tragen natürlich nicht unbedingt zur Attraktivität der Bioenergie bei und als Wähler und Konsument wird man sich bei manchen Horrorszenarien instinktiv erstmal von dieser Energieform distanzieren und in jedem Fall nicht magisch angezogen fühlen. Hat die Bioenergie also ein Imageproblem und fehlt ihr die reine Strahlkraft von Wind- und direkter Sonnenenergie?

So wie dir Probleme der Bioenergie oft in den Vordergrund der öffentlichen Diskussion rücken, kann diese Frage häufig mit ja beantwortet werden. Eine ausgewogene Diskussion über Gefahren und Potentiale der Bioenergie und ein rationaler Abgleich mit den aktuellen Alternativen findet mir zumindest in den Tageszeitungen mit den großen Auflagen zu selten statt. Das ist sehr schade für eine Energiequelle die zu den sozialsten (Erhalt von Arbeitsplätzen), effizientesten und preiswertesten erneuerbaren Energiequellen gehört, über die wir aktuell und in den nächsten 25 Jahren wahrscheinlich verfügen werden.

Ich bin ein absoluter Befürworter aller regenerativen Energieformen und glaube daran, dass nur ein Mix aus ihnen ein solides Team präsentieren kann, welches in der Lage ist sowohl im Wärme, Strom und Kraftstoffbereich die starken Vorgängerressourcen von Kohle und Erdgas (und Erdöl) abzulösen. Trotzdem ist die Enttäuschung nicht von der Hand zu weisen, über den manchmal mangelnden Rückhalt in der Öffentlichkeit und fehlenden Mut beim Einsatz für die Bioenergie. 

Ich glaube, dass so wenig über die Stärken der Bioenergie und dafür vor allem über ihre Schwächen gesprochen wird, liegt auch an einem Mangel an „Sex-Appeal“ dieser Energieform. Vom Sex-Appeal der Bioenergie zu sprechen ist etwas gewagt, aber ohne ausreichend Sex-Appeal hat es eine ökologische Bewegung schwer, da ökonomische, ökologische und soziale Faktoren manchmal nicht ausreichen um sie mit einer langfristigen Vision zu verknüpfen und den notwendigen politischen Rückhalt zu bekommen.

Hightech ist sexy

Wie kann das Image der Bioenergie also etwas aufpoliert werden? Das ist eine nicht ganz leicht zu beantwortende Frage. Es bringt sicher nichts der Bioenergie etwas anzudichten was nicht ihrer Natur entspricht. Auf der gleichen „cleantech“ Welle wie die Solartechnologie zu schwimmen ist wahrscheinlich nicht der richtige Weg, da Gestank, Mikroorganismen und Verbrennung einfach „dreckiger“ wirken und einen gewissen Ekel auslösen können. Authentisch sollte eine Imagekampagne für die Bioenergie schon sein und das kann sie bei den vielen Vorteilen auch.

Ein technisches Produkt wird z.B. oft stärker als „sexy“ wahrgenommen, wenn es über das Label „hightech“ verfügt und vielleicht wäre es eine sinnvolle Strategie für die Bioenergie stärker auf ihren Hightech-Charakter hinzuweisen. Die Bioenergie hat jede Menge Möglichkeiten ihr Image zu verbessern indem sie mehr auf ihre Schnittstellen zur Biochemie oder etwas gewagter der Genetik setzt. Die Genetik ist aber natürlich nicht ganz unproblematisch, da ihre Methoden in der Gesellschaft nicht unumstritten sind.

Lächelnde Frau als Sonne mit Apfel in der Hand für Sexappel der Bioenergie
Es ist geheimnisvoll welche Anziehung die Frucht des (verbotenen) Apfels in unserer westlichen Gesellschaft entfalten kann und mich würde interessieren wie stark der Erfolg des Unternehmens Apple auch in der erotischen Ausstrahlungskraft des Firmensymbols begründet ist. Früchte oder Biomasse allgemein können also durchaus sexy sein. Wie kann die Bioenergie als davon profitieren?

Eine Imagekampagen zu den Vorteilen der Bioenergie halte ich für sehr sinnvoll. Auf welche Art und Weise kann das Thema einer spannenden Diskussion sein. Was sind eure Ideen zum Start einer solchen Kampagne?