Pellet heating with fuels that are regenerative

Many thanks to Vanessa Jäger for this article about the different types of pellet heating.

Residential buildings require heating to supply them with heat. In the past, these were single ovens, but today they are usually central heating. Here the engineers and technicians created the operation of the most modern systems, which thanks to sophisticated control technology are very efficient and require little maintenance. One of the following fossil and regenerative fuels is usually used as fuel for individual stoves or central heating:

  • Coal and coke
  • Crude oil
  • Natural gas
  • Firewood
  • Wood pellets

Fossil fuels in particular pollute the environment and the climate when burning. Exhaust gases like carbon dioxide are generated, Sulfur dioxide (Federal Environment Agency) or nitrogen oxides. In the context of environmental and climate protection, the question now arises as to which fuel should be used after a renovation or new construction of a heating system. Coal is being used less and less, and natural gas is becoming more climate-friendly than lignite or hard coal. Vattenfall continues with his Biomass strategy on a regenerative energy source.

Solid biofuels in the form of Firewood is only used as additional heating in individual ovens. Especially Wood pellets are strongly emerging. That is understandable. Wood pellets are made from wood, mostly from wood waste or inferior wood, a renewable raw material. So it is about Extraction of wood energy with a fuel that is renewable. Since wood pellets only release the carbon dioxide that the wood stores when it grows, the CO2 balance is balanced. With a pellet heating, you protect the environment. You also make yourself more independent from abroad, since renewable wood practically grows on the doorstep.

Heating wood pellets renewable

Which pellet heating systems are technically possible?

Pellet heaters can now be installed as individual stoves or central heating.

For example, water-bearing stoves could be considered as individual stoves. These are free-standing stoves that can be heated with pellets. Either with an integrated small pantry for one to several days that automatically supply the burner. Or with a supply from a separate storage room for many months.

Central heating systems with pellets work like conventional heating systems. Only the fuel, i.e. the wood pellets, is fed to the heating furnace via screw or blower systems. Nowadays, this loading is fully automatic. However, the pellets must be stored dry. Pellet heating is operated like with other fuels, a basic temperature is selected, to which the water heats up. If necessary in winter, this is simply increased. In addition to hot domestic water, hot water is also guaranteed for heating the entire building via pipe systems and radiators. Pellet heating can also be combined with a solar system, i.e. solar cells on the building roof. So a combination of two types of regenerative energy.

Heating costs for wood pellets 2013

The prices for pellet heating are constantly falling because the high costs for other fossil fuels are constantly increasing. So the high demand makes the price cheaper and cheaper. Wood pellets also have the advantage that there is a certain independence from oil and gas imports. In addition, pellet heating systems are subsidized by the state.

More information on kwb.at..

Post a comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Deutsch English
X

4 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 Google+ 4 Email -- 4 Flares ×

Vielen Dank für diesen Artikel über die verschiedenen Varianten von Pelletheizungen an Vanessa Jäger.

Wohngebäude benötigen zur Versorgung mit Wärme Heizungen. Waren das früher Einzelöfen, sind das heute im Normalfall Zentralheizungen. Hier haben die Ingenieure und Techniker den Betrieb modernster Anlagen geschaffen, die dank ausgefeilter Regelungstechnik sehr effizient und wartungsarm sind. Als Brennstoffe für Einzelöfen oder Zentralheizungen wird meistens auf einen der folgenden fossilen und regenerativen Brennstoffe zurückgegriffen:

  • Kohle und Koks
  • Erdöl
  • Erdgas
  • Scheitholz
  • Holzpellets

Besonders fossile Brennstoffe belasten Umwelt und Klima beim Verbrennen. Es entstehen Abgase wie Kohlendioxid, Schwefeldioxid (Umweltbundesamt) oder Stickoxide. Im Zeichen des Umwelt- und Klimaschutzes stellt sich nun die Frage, welchen Brennstoff man nach einem Umbau oder Neubau einer Heizungsanlage verwenden sollte. Kohle wird immer seltener verwendet, Erdgas ist im Kommen da klimafreundlicher als Braun- oder Steinkohle. Vattenfall setzt mit seiner Biomasse-Strategie auf einen regenerativen Energieträger.

Biogene Festbrennstoffe in Form von Scheitholz wird nur noch in Einzelöfen als Zuheizung verwendet. Vor allem Holzpellets sind stark im Kommen. Das ist nachvollziehbar. Holzpellets werden aus Holz, meistens aus Holzabfällen oder minderwertigem Holz hergestellt, einem nachwachsenden Rohstoff. Es handelt sich also um die Gewinnung von Holzenergie mit einem Brennstoff der regenerativ ist. Da Holzpellets beim Verbrennen lediglich das Kohlendioxid freisetzen, das das Holz beim Wachsen in sich speichert, ist die CO2-Bilanz ausgeglichen. Mit einer Pelletsheizung schont man also die Umwelt. Außerdem macht man sich unabhängiger vom Ausland, da nachwachsendes Holz praktisch vor der Haustüre wächst.

Holzpellets erneuerbar Heizen

Welche Pelletheizungen sind technisch möglich?

Pelletheizungen können nun als Einzelöfen oder Zentralheizungen installiert werden.

Als Einzelöfen kämen beispielsweise Wasser führende Kaminöfen infrage. Das sind frei stehende Öfen, die mit Pellets beheizt werden können. Entweder mit einer integrierten kleinen Vorratskammer für ein bis mehrere Tage, die automatisch den Brenner versorgen. Oder aber auch mit einer Versorgung aus einem separaten Vorratsraum für viele Monate.

Zentralheizungen mit Pellets arbeiten wie herkömmliche Heizanlagen. Lediglich der Brennstoff, also die Holzpellets, wird über Schnecken- oder Gebläsesysteme dem Heizofen zugeführt. Diese Beschickung geht heutzutage vollautomatisch vor sich. Die Pellets müssen aber trocken gelagert werden. Pelletheizungen betreibt man wie mit anderen Brennstoffen, es wird eine Grundtemperatur vorgewählt, auf das sich das Wasser aufheizt. Bei Bedarf im Winter wird diese einfach erhöht. Neben warmem Brauchwasser wird so auch Warmwasser für die Beheizung des ganzen Gebäudes über Rohrsysteme und Heizkörper gewährleistet. Pelletsheizungen können auch mit einer Solaranlage, also Solarzellen auf dem Gebäudedach, kombiniert werden. Also eine Kombination von zwei regenerativen Energiearten.

Heizkosten Holzpellets 2013

Die Preise für Pelletsheizungen fallen ständig, weil die hohen Kosten für andere fossile Brennstoffe stetig steigen. Also wird durch die hohe Nachfrage der Preis immer günstiger. Holzpellets haben auch den Vorteil, dass eine gewisse Unabhängigkeit von Öl- und Gasimporten gegeben ist. Außerdem werden Pelletheizungen staatlich gefördert.

Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie unter kwb.at.