The topic is bioenergy sustainabilitt in criticism. This criticism is particularly the focus of the biofuels industry (keywords: Palm oil and biodiesel) taken very seriously in recent years. The result is that the bioenergy industry now has the most modern certification systems available for the sustainable cultivation and use of biomass. When it comes to control, the certification systems mainly focus on the ecological and partly also on the social sustainability of this branch of the economy.

However, that does not mean that the Sustainability certification systems work smoothly in everyday economic life. Experience has shown that a lot of tuition has to be paid to implement such extensive protective mechanisms. In Europe, compliance with the sustainability requirements has been mandatory since 2011 and the experience gained since its introduction is supported by the Federal Agency for Agriculture and Food (BLE) evaluated in field reports.

Die Nachhaltigkeit der Bioenergie

BLE publishes a report on the implementation of the sustainability criteria

The following text is a notification from BLE dated July 11, 2013.

The BLE published its third evaluation and experience report in the middle of the month, summarizing the implementation of the sustainability criteria from the Renewable Energy Directive. In 2012, 1,943 additional companies were certified across the EU, including 50.2 percent in Germany.

In its third evaluation and experience report, the BLE summarizes the implementation of the sustainability criteria from the Renewable Energy Directive. Almost 45 percent of the biomass marketed in Germany becomes biodiesel manufactured. The second highest percentage is found according to the data from the BLE database Nabisy bioethanol with about 22 percent followed by biomethane (around 16 percent). As of December 31, 2012, a total of 1,943 companies were certified, of which 50.2 percent were in Germany. 39.6 percent of the companies come from other EU member states and 10.2 percent from third countries.

Distribution of economic operators registered for the German market:

Zertifizierungsstellen nachhaltige Bioenergie

Emissions savings compared to fossil fuels increase to 57 percent

In Nabisy, the web-based state database for documenting the traceability and mass balancing of deliveries of sustainable biomass, 13,119 proofs of sustainability with a total energy content of 315,896 terajoules were discontinued. Emissions savings compared to fossil fuels improved to around 57 percent last year (2011: 49 percent).

Summary of key results from 2012

The following points come from the summary of the current evaluation and experience report of the BLE.

  • As of December 31, 2012, 2 certification systems and 26 certification bodies were recognized by the BLE.
  • By the end of 2012, the Commission had approved a total of 13 voluntary schemes.
  • 1,259 companies worldwide were certified in 2012 by the certification bodies recognized by the BLE.
  • In 2012, 13,119 proofs of sustainability for biofuels or biofuels with a total energy content of 315,895,919,901 MJ were recorded in Nabisy.
  • Based on the total energy content, with almost 45 % biodiesel, alongside bioethanol and biomethane, is the most important biomass product.
  • The most important raw material for biodiesel production is rapeseed, just like last year at just under 63 %.
  • The most important raw material for bioethanol production is corn with around 48 %. In contrast to last year, only about a third of this corn comes from the United States.
  • The share of the energy content booked out in accounts of other countries amounts to 17.36 % of the total energy content stored in Nabisy for the year 2012.
  • 44 % of sustainable biofuels or biofuels, which were recorded in Nabisy for 2012 and contain information on the cultivated land, are made from raw materials that were grown in Germany.
  • The total saving of greenhouse gas emissions for 2012 is 12,907,122 tCO2eq with an underlying energy content of 274,372,748,060 MJ.

Download BLE experience report on the sustainability of bioenergy

Download experience report

The BLE experience report

Here you can download the complete evaluation and experience report 2012 of the Federal Institute for Food and Agriculture as PDF
Download experience report

0 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 Google+ 0 Email -- 0 Flares ×

Die Bioenergie steht beim Thema Nachhaltigkeit in der Kritik. Diese Kritik hat vor allem die im Zentrum stehende Biokraftstoffbranche (Stichworte: Palmöl und Biodiesel) in den vergangenen Jahren sehr ernst genommen. Das Ergebnis ist, dass die Bioenergiebranche mittlerweile über die modernsten Zertifizierungssysteme verfügt, die es für den nachhaltigen Anbau und die Nutzung von Biomasse gibt. Bei der Kontrolle konzentrieren sich die Zertifizierungssysteme hauptsächlich auf die ökologische und teilweise auch auf die soziale Nachhaltigkeit dieses Wirtschaftszweigs.

Das heißt allerdings nicht, dass die Systeme zur Nachhaltigkeitszertifizierung schon reibungslos im wirtschaftlichen Alltag funktionieren. Bei der Umsetzung von so weitgehenden Schutzmechanismen muss erfahrungsgemäß viel Lehrgeld bezahlt werden. In Europa ist die Einhaltung der Nachhaltigkeitsanforderungen seit 2011 verpflichtend und die seit der Einführung gewonnen Erfahrungen werden von der Bundesanstalt für Landwirtschaft und Ernährung (BLE) in Erfahrungsberichten ausgewertet.

Die Nachhaltigkeit der Bioenergie

BLE veröffentlicht Erfahrungsbericht zur Umsetzung der Nachhaltigkeitskriterien

Der nachfolgende Text ist eine Mitteilung der BLE vom 11.07.2013.

Die BLE veröffentlichte Mitte des Monats ihren dritten Evaluations- und Erfahrungsbericht und fasst in diesem die Umsetzung der Nachhaltigkeitskriterien aus der Erneuerbare-Energien-Richtlinie zusammen. Im Jahr 2012 wurden EU-weit 1.943 weitere Betriebe zertifiziert, davon 50,2 Prozent in Deutschland.

Die BLE fasst in ihrem dritten Evaluations- und Erfahrungsbericht die Umsetzung der Nachhaltigkeitskriterien aus der Erneuerbare-Energien-Richtlinie zusammen. Aus fast 45 Prozent der in Deutschland in Verkehr gebrachten Biomasse wird Biodiesel hergestellt. Der zweithöchste Anteil entfällt nach den Daten der BLE-Datenbank Nabisy auf Bioethanol mit etwa 22 Prozent gefolgt von Biomethan (rund 16 Prozent). Zum Stichtag 31. Dezember 2012 waren insgesamt 1.943 Betriebe zertifiziert, davon 50,2 Prozent in Deutschland. 39,6 Prozent der Betriebe stammen aus anderen EU-Mitgliedstaaten und 10,2 Prozent aus Drittstaaten.

Verteilung der für den deutschen Markt gemeldeten Wirtschaftsteilnehmer:

Zertifizierungsstellen nachhaltige Bioenergie

Emissionseinsparung gegenüber fossilen Brennstoffen erhöht sich auf 57 Prozent

In Nabisy, der webbasierten staatlichen Datenbank zur Dokumentation der Rückverfolgbarkeit und Massenbilanzierung von Lieferungen nachhaltiger Biomasse, wurden 13.119 Nachhaltigkeitsnachweise mit einem Gesamtenergiegehalt von 315.896 Terajoule eingestellt. Die Emissionseinsparung im Vergleich zu fossilen Brennstoffen verbesserte sich im vergangenen Jahr auf rund 57 Prozent (2011: 49 Prozent).

Zusammenfassung wichtiger Ergebnisse aus dem Jahr 2012

Die folgenden Punkte stammen aus der Zusammenfassung des aktuellen Evaluations- und Erfahrungsberichts der BLE.

  • Zum Stichtag 31.12.2012 sind 2 Zertifizierungssysteme und 26 Zertifizierungsstellen durch die BLE anerkannt.
  • Die Kommission hat bis Ende 2012 insgesamt 13 freiwillige Regelungen zugelassen.
  • Weltweit wurden durch die von der BLE anerkannten Zertifizierungsstellen 1.259 Betriebe im Jahr 2012 zertifiziert.
  • Im Jahr 2012 wurden in Nabisy 13.119 Nachhaltigkeitsnachweise für Biokraftstoffe bzw. Biobrennstoffe mit einem Gesamtenergiegehalt von 315.895.919.901 MJ erfasst.
  • Vom Gesamtenergiegehalt ausgehend ist mit knapp 45 % Biodiesel, neben Bioethanol und Biomethan, das wichtigste Biomasseerzeugnis.
  • Der wichtigste Ausgangsstoff für die Biodieselherstellung ist, wie im vergangenen Jahr mit knapp 63 % der Raps.
  • Der wichtigste Ausgangsstoff für die Bioethanolherstellung ist mit rund 48 % der Mais. Im Gegensatz zum letzten Jahr stammt nur noch ungefähr ein Drittel dieses Maises aus den USA.
  • Der Anteil des auf Konten anderer Staaten ausgebuchten Energiegehaltes beträgt 17,36 % vom Gesamtenergiegehalt, der in Nabisy für das Jahr 2012 hinterlegt ist.
  • 44 % der nachhaltigen Biokraftstoffe bzw. Biobrennstoffe, die für 2012 in Nabisy erfasst sind und Angaben zum Anbauland enthalten, sind aus Rohstoffen hergestellt, die in Deutschland angebaut wurden.
  • Der Gesamteinsparung der Treibhausgasemissionen beträgt für das Jahr 2012 12.907.122 tCO2eq bei einem zugrunde gelegten Energiegehalt von 274.372.748.060 MJ.

Download BLE-Erfahrungsbericht zur Nachhaltigkeit von Bioenergie

Download Erfahrungsbericht

Der Erfahrungsbericht der BLE

Hier können Sie den vollständigen Evaluations- und Erfahrungsbericht 2012 der Bundesanstalt für Ernährung und Landwirtschaft als PDF herunterladen

Download Erfahrungsbericht