Biogas fermenters made of wood as an inexpensive and climate-friendly alternative to steel and concrete

In the comprehensive standard work on bioenergy "Energy from biomass: basics, techniques and processes" (Kaltschmitt, Hartmann, Hofbauer) will be presented as proven fermenter materials stainless steel and concrete. For special solutions, however, this book already refers to plastic and wood as rare building materials for biogas fermenters. So far, however, I have only seen the classic fermenters made of stainless steel and concrete in practical use. On the first Biogas World I am now on a wooden fermenter of that Plant manufacturer Biogas-Ost became aware of the Thuringian housing and would like to briefly introduce this climate-friendly and economically interesting alternative.

Steel, concrete and wood - sustainability through fermentation materials

"Whoever has the choice is spoiled for choice", the saying goes. In fact, it can be very difficult to choose the right fermenter material for a biogas plant.

I find this freedom particularly interesting when it comes to sustainability. The term “sustainability” is often used with a strong focus on ecological sustainability, but should also take into account the economic and social sustainability aspects of a project and product. This triad of sustainability can also play an important role when choosing a biogas fermenter.

The diversity of the existing fermenter materials influences the sustainability in the construction and operation of a biogas plant. The following parameters vary more or less obviously between the different types of fermenters:

  • Material requirements for the fermenter
  • Energy requirements for manufacturing the fermenter and building the biogas plant (CO2 emissions)
  • Machine use in manufacturing and construction
  • “Money requirement” (costs) of the fermenter

The advantages of concrete and steel in direct comparison with a wood fermenter cannot be found in these 4 points. In return, these robust materials underline the longevity of the fermenter and only make their stability possible the construction of larger biogas plants! Therefore, planners of biogas plants are happy to use these reliable fermenter types made of concrete and steel.

An advantage of wood fermenters can therefore be seen in the positive climate balance and the comparatively low need for building materials and energy with the same biogas output.

Lower installation costs thanks to wood fermenters

A fermenter made of wood not only looks good and supports climate protection, it also brings with it other advantages that are most interesting for biogas plant operators.

After all, what does it mean when the energy requirement for processing wood is lower (compared to concrete and stainless steel) and the use of machines is less energy? Less manpower and less use of machines and energy also mean lower manufacturing and product costs. Thus the construction costs are lower and the construction time is also shorter compared to concrete.

The disadvantage of wood fermenters is of course the comparatively little operating experience with this promising material. The purchase decision for a wood fermenter therefore also requires a certain portion of pioneering spirit and a willingness to take risks. For this, the plant operator may be one of the first to take advantage of a previously unused market opportunity.

How much you can save with a specific biogas plant and up to what size a wood fermenter can also meet the necessary stability criteria, ask one of the providers of wood fermenters - for example, at Biogas East. Only a direct comparison of two otherwise equivalent offers can provide information as to whether the decision for the wood fermenter is worthwhile.

As a special treat and at the same time the reason why the wood fermenter celebrated its first success elsewhere on the planet, there is also the earthquake protection of a wood fermenter. Admittedly, earthquakes are not the main concern of European biogas plant operators.

Photo wood fermenter for biogas plant
Wood fermenter as an interesting alternative for mini biogas plants

Advantages of wood fermenters for mini biogas plants

Most biogas actors are familiar with the current debate about the Mini biogas plants according to EEG 2012.

  • "The systems are not economical"
  • "Mini biogas plants based on pure liquid manure are most likely to have a chance"
  • "The almost identical administrative effort for mini biogas plants is problematic."

Ultimately, the criticism is rarely about the technological, but mostly about the economic feasibility of the mini-biogas plants. A mini biogas plant with 75 kW can quickly cost up to 500.000 euros before commissioning. Getting this investment back in an acceptable period of time is not that easy for the small biogas plants with somewhat lower efficiency.

Especially for these small mini-biogas plants, the use of wood as a fermentation material can be an interesting alternative to achieve the profitability of the plant more quickly. I am convinced that the EEG amendment 2012, with the special support for mini-biogas plants, is also a special opportunity for wood fermenters!

The biogas plant in the Waimakariri District in New Zealand shown at the beginning of the article is a classic mini biogas plant with an electrical output of 50 kW. Even if the information provided by the operator there spoke in favor of the optics and earthquake protection for the selection of the wood fermenter, as a future operator of a mini-biogas plant I would also have an offer for a wood fermenter made. A non-binding conversation certainly doesn't hurt.

What do you think about the wood variant among the fermenters and the potential for mini-biogas plants?

2 comments on “Biogas fermenters made of wood as an inexpensive and climate-friendly alternative to steel and concrete”

Post a comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Deutsch English
X

30 Flares Twitter 2 Facebook 14 Google+ 14 Email -- 30 Flares ×

Im umfassenden Standardwerk zur Bioenergie “Energie aus Biomasse: Grundlagen, Techniken und Verfahren (Kaltschmitt, Hartmann, Hofbauer) werden als bewährte Fermentermaterialien Edelstahl und Beton vorgestellt. Für Sonderlösungen wird aber bereits in diesem Buch auf Kunststoff und Holz  als seltene Baumaterialien für Biogasfermenter verwiesen. Bisher habe ich in der praktischen Anwendung allerdings nur die klassischen Fermenter aus rostfreiem Stahl und Beton erlebt. Auf der ersten Biogas World bin ich nun auf einen Fermenter aus Holz von dem Anlagenhersteller Biogas-Ost aus dem thüringischen Gehaus aufmerksam geworden und möchte diese klimafreundliche und wirtschaftlich interessante Alternative kurz vorstellen.

Stahl, Beton und Holz – Nachhaltigkeit durch Fermentermaterialien

„Wer die Wahl hat, hat die Qual“ sagt der Volksmund. Und tatsächlich kann man es sich bei der Auswahl des passenden Fermentermaterials für eine Biogasanlage sehr schwer machen.

Besonders interessant finde ich diese Freiheit in Bezug auf das Thema Nachhaltigkeit. Der Begriff „Nachhaltigkeit“ wird häufig mit einem starken Schwerpunkt auf die ökologische Nachhaltigkeit verwendet, sollte aber auch die ökonomischen und sozialen Nachhaltigkeitsaspekte eines Projekts und Produkts mit berücksichtigen. Diese Trias der Nachhaltigkeit kann auch bei der Auswahl eines Biogasfermenters eine wichtige Rolle spielen.

Die Vielfältigkeit der vorhandenen Fermentermatialien beeinflusst die Nachhaltigkeit beim Bau und Betrieb einer Biogasanlage. Mehr oder weniger offensichtlich variieren folgende Parameter zwischen den verschiedenen Fermentertypen teilweise sehr stark:

  • Materialbedarf für den Fermenter
  • Energiebedarf für Fertigung des Fermenters und den Bau der Biogasanlage (CO2-Emissionen)
  • Maschineneinsatz bei Herstellung und Bau
  • „Geldbedarf“ (Kosten) des Fermenters

Die Vorteile von Beton und Stahl sind im direkten Vergleich mit einem Holzfermenter nicht in diesen 4 Punkten zu finden. Dafür unterstreichen diese robusten Materialien die Langlebigkeit des Fermenters und ermöglichen durch ihre Stabilität erst den Bau von größeren Biogasanlagen! Planer von Biogasanlagen greifen deshalb gerne auf diese verlässlichen Fermentertypen aus Beton und Stahl zurück.

Ein Vorteil von Holz-Fermentern kann also in der positiven Klimabilanz und dem vergleichsweise geringen Bedarf an Baumaterialien und Energie bei gleicher Biogasleistung gesehen werden.

Geringere Installationskosten durch Holz-Fermenter

Ein Fermenter aus Holz sieht aber nicht nur gut aus und unterstützt den Klimaschutz, sondern bringt auch einen weiteren Vorteile mit sich, der für Biogasanlagenbetreiber am interessantesten sein dürfte.

Denn was bedeutet es, wenn der Energiebedarf für die Verarbeitung von Holz geringer (Vergleich zu Beton und Edelstahl) und der Maschineneinsatz energieärmer ist? Weniger Manpower und geringerer Maschinen- und Energieeinsatz bedeuten auch geringere Herstellungs- und Produktkosten.  Somit sind die Baukosten niedriger und verglichen mit Beton ist auch die Bauzeit eine kürzere.

Der Nachteil von Holz-Fermentern ist natürlich die vergleichsweise geringe Betriebserfahrung mit diesem vielversprechenden Material. Somit bedarf die Kaufentscheidung für einen Holzfermenter auch eine gewisse Portion Pioniergeist und Risikofreude. Dafür kann der Anlagenbetreiber eine bisher ungenutzte Marktchance eventuell als einer der ersten nutzen.

Wieviel man bei einer konkreten Biogasanlage sparen kann und bis zu welcher Größe ein Holzfermenter auch die nötigen Stabilitäskriterien erfüllen kann, fragen sie am besten bei einem der Anbieter von Holz-Fermentern nach – beispielsweise bei der Biogas-Ost. Erst der direkte Vergleich von zwei ansonsten gleichwertigen Angeboten kann Auskunft darüber geben, ob sich die Entscheidung für den Holzfermenter lohnt.

Als besonderes Bonbon und gleichzeitig der Grund warum der Holz-Fermenter anderswo auf dem Planeten seine ersten Erfolge feierte, gibt es den Erdbebenschutz eines Holz-Fermenters gleich mit dazu. Zugegebenermaßen sind Erdbeben aber nicht die größte Sorge von europäischen Biogasanlagenbetreibern.

Foto Holzfermenter für Biogasanlage

Holzfermenter als interessante Alternative für Mini-Biogasanlagen

Vorteile von Holz-Fermentern für Mini-Biogasanlagen

Die meisten Biogasakteure kennen die aktuelle Debatte um die Mini-Biogasanlagen nach EEG 2012.

  • „Die Anlagen sind nicht wirtschaftlich“
  • „Mini-Biogasanlagen auf reiner Gülle-Basis haben am ehesten eine Chance“
  • „Der fast identische Verwaltungsaufwand für Mini-Biogasanlagen ist problematisch.“

Letztlich dreht sich die Kritik selten um die technologische, sondern meistens um die wirtschaftliche Machbarkeit der Mini-Biogasanlagen. Eine Mini-Biogasanlage mit 75 kW kann bis zur Inbetriebnahme schnell bis zu 500.000 Euro kosten. Diese Investition in einem akzeptablen Zeitraum wieder reinzuholen, ist für die kleinen Biogasanlagen mit etwas geringerem Wirkungsgrad nicht ganz einfach.

Vor allem für diese kleinen Mini-Biogasanlagen kann die Verwendung von Holz als Fermentermaterial eine interessante Alternative darstellen, um die Wirtschaftlichkeit der Anlage schneller zu erreichen. Ich bin davon überzeugt, dass die EEG-Novelle 2012, mit der besonderen Förderung der Mini-Biogasanlagen, auch für die Holzfermenter eine besondere Chance ist!

So ist die zu Beginn des Artikels gezeigt Biogasanlage im Waimakariri District in Neuseeland eine klassische Mini-Biogasanlage mit einer elektrischen Leistung von 50 kW. Auch wenn den Angaben des dortigen Betreibers zur Folge vor allem die Optik und der Erdbebenschutz für die Auswahl des Holzfermenters gesprochen haben, würde ich mir als zukünftiger Betreiber einer Mini-Biogasanlage auch ein Angebot für einen Holzfermenter unterbreiten lassen. Ein unverbindliches Gespräch schadet sicher nicht.

Was denken sie über die Holzvariante unter den Fermentern und das Potential für Mini-Biogasanlagen?