Change in the legal framework for gaseous bioenergy in Germany

Corn cultivation for biogas plant for biogas biomethane bio natural gas productionThe amendment to the Renewable Energy Act at the beginning of 2012 is getting closer and the possible changes are being discussed more in public. The funding structures and funding rates for the energy sources biogas and biomethane are also considered in this context and compared with the experiences made in previous years. The aim is to find and fix measures that improve the situation of gaseous bioenergy sources. What approaches to optimization are there?

Without investments in the bioenergy infrastructure, there would be no comprehensive realization of its potential

I am a passionate supporter of regenerative energies. But let 's not fool ourselves without appropriate subsidies and Feed-in tariffs according to the EEG would the bio, solar energy & Co. not be so successful and could not keep up with the still existing price advantages of fossil fuels - at least not on a large scale.

The increase in the price of electricity, due to the further increase in the EEG surcharge, from € 8 billion to € 13 billion annually since the beginning of 2011, is therefore viewed critically and the reduction of various bonuses is discussed.

But since the development of the fossil energy industry, based on coal, crude oil, natural gas or uranium, has only reached such a low level of costs due to decades of financial subsidies, I believe we need the appropriate willingness to invest and patience with renewable energies as well. A critical reflection on existing funding elements does not stand in the way of promoting renewable energies - quite the opposite.

The representatives of the bioenergy and solar industries are largely aware of their responsibility with regard to price developments and the associated risk of damage to the image of the regenerative energy industry and discuss very openly about possible measures to improve the Funding situation for their energy sources and technologies. Only a meaningful and targeted funding policy supports the sustainable development of the bioenergy infrastructure.

An event advertised by the BMELV and organized by the Renewable Resources Agency (FNR) "Bioenergy's claim to the EEG amendment" (LINK) takes place on February 17th in Berlin. This will be used to discuss possible changes in a well-rounded group.

What criticisms and ideas for adaptation are there so far?

The background to this is the EEG amendment 2012 Effects of Bioenergy Bioga

Reduction of the EEG biogas bonus for the use of renewable raw materials

The development of the biogas industry in the past year can be seen as very positive. It was one of the most successful years in the history of biogas technology in Germany, especially with regard to the construction of new biogas plants. With around 6.000 plants implemented, there are currently no other countries with more biogas plants than in Germany. In order for this positive trend to continue and for negative side effects to be addressed, further adjustments are necessary.

In particular, the locations for new plants and the input materials used to feed the biogas plants are also viewed critically. Corrections of undesirable developments should be made, for example, by changing the bonuses in the coming Amendment to the EEG be initiated. In addition to the changes in the EEG, other measures are also proposed or requested by the Biogas Association, a Lower Saxony Federal Council initiative, the Advisory Council on the Environment (SRU) or the Biogas Council. Here is a selection of proposed changes:

  • Coupling funding to efficiency targets for biogas plants (with the help of the EEG)
  • Stronger promotion of marketable Heat utilization concepts of biogas plants (see article)
  • Targeted promotion of biogas technology when used as control energy
  • Abolition of the NawaRo bonus (EEG)
  • Greater promotion of inexpensive materials such as liquid manure, by-products or organic waste (EEG)
  • Defusing the competitive situation for agricultural areas
  • progressive bonus payment with increasing proportion of residues as input material (EEG)
  • Control of land use through voluntary self-agreements and the right to regulate and use space

The list shows different starting points, with the perspectives of the more agricultural association (small plants) and the more industrially oriented biogas council (large plants) likely to enrich the discussions.

It should be noted that the total amount of funding for biogas should not be reduced, but above all should be used or distributed more effectively. An early amendment to the EEG, such as will partially apply to the solar industry, is unlikely to exist for the biogas industry.

Strengthening the biomethane market through more open technology in the EEWärmeG

The market for Biomethane has a need for development. The federal government's targets for the feed quantity of 6 billion m annually3 Biomethane / bio natural gas by 2020 and 10 billion m3 by 2030 are clearly worded. However, the current status of the biomethane feed-in volume still lags behind this goal. There are various reasons for these obstacles and there are already corresponding solutions (see increase in biomethane feed).

One measure currently being discussed to improve the framework conditions for bio natural gas is to increase its use in new buildings. So far, the use of the Renewable Energy Heat Act (EEWärmeG) has only been promoted if the bio natural gas is used in plants with integrated combined heat and power (CHP). The sales market for biomethane and thus probably also the incentive to install a biogas upgrading plant could be further improved if the EEWärmeG would allow more openness to technology at this point.

Michael Kauch, member of the Bundestag Committee for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety and environmental policy spokesman for the FDP parliamentary group, criticizes that the use of biomethane in efficient condensing boilers is currently excluded in the EEWärmeG. In addition, the framework conditions in the draft law of the "European Law Adaptation Act Renewable Energies (EAG-EE)" should be designed fairly from the start. Above all, this would also mean the use of biomethane in condensing boilers in an existing building without additional requirements for the building envelope (thermal insulation!).

Bio natural gas as an environmentally friendly fuel alternative

A special Advantage of bioenergy is known for its wide range of applications due to the possibility of using it as electricity, heat or fuel.

In addition to the energetic conversion of bio natural gas in combined heat and power plants or condensing boilers, the use of biomethane should also cost-effective Biofuels are strengthened and thus a large sales market is gained.

The prerequisite for this use is, of course, that sufficient biomethane is produced and fed into the natural gas network and that the infrastructure of natural gas filling stations is available nationwide. The CO2- The lowest-emission fossil fuel based on carbon is natural gas. The combination of natural gas and biomethane further improves the carbon dioxide balance of the fuel.

I hope that the actors involved in the biogas and biomethane market can combine their various suggestions for improvement and, with a united voice, ensure that the upcoming legislative changes make the industry even stronger and more environmentally friendly.

Post a comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Deutsch English
X

0 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 Google+ 0 Email -- 0 Flares ×

Maisanbau für Biogasanlage zur Biogas Biomethan Bioerdgas ProduktionDie Novelle des Erneuerbaren-Energie-Gesetzes zu Beginn des Jahrs 2012 rückt näher und die möglichen Änderungen werden stärker in der Öffentlichkeit diskutiert. Auch die Förderstrukturen und Fördersätze für die Energieträger Biogas und Biomethan werden in diesem Zusammenhang betrachtet und mit den gemachten Erfahrungen der vergangenen Jahre verglichen. Ziel ist das Finden und Festsetzen von Maßnahmen, welche die Situation der gasförmigen Bioenergieträger noch verbessert. Welche Ansätze zur Optimierung gibt es?

Ohne Investitionen in die Infrastruktur der Bioenergie auch keine umfassende Realisierung ihres Potentials

Ich bin ein leidenschaftlicher Anhänger der regenerativen Energien. Aber machen wir uns nichts vor, ohne entsprechende Subventionen und Einspeisevergütungen nach EEG wären die Bio-, Solarenergie & Co. noch nicht so erfolgreich und könnten mit den weiterhin existierenden Preisvorteilen der fossilen Energieträger nicht mithalten – zumindest nicht im großen Maßstab.

Der Anstieg des Strompreises, auf Grund der weiter gestiegenen EEG-Umlage, von 8 auf 13 Milliarden € jährlich seit Anfang 2011, wird deshalb auch entsprechend kritisch betrachtet und die Kürzung verschiedener Boni diskutiert.

Da aber auch die Entwicklung der fossilen Energiewirtschaft, auf Basis von Kohle, Erdöl, Erdgas oder Uran, erst auf Grund jahrzehntelanger finanzieller Fördermittel ein so niedriges Kostenniveau erreicht hat, brauchen wir meiner Meinung nach auch bei den Erneuerbaren Energien die entsprechende Investitionsbereitschaft und Geduld. Dabei steht eine kritische Reflexion über bestehende Förderelemente dem Ziel der Förderung der Erneuerbaren Energien nicht entgegen – ganz im Gegenteil.

Die Vertreter der Bioenergie- und Solarbranche sind sich ihrer Verantwortung bezüglich der Preisentwicklung und der damit verbundenen Gefahr eines möglichen Imageschadens für die regenerative Energiewirtschaft größtenteils bewusst und diskutieren sehr offen über mögliche Maßnahmen zur Verbesserung der Fördersituation für ihre Energieträger und –technologien. So unterstützt nur eine sinnvolle und zielgerichtete Förderpolitik die nachhaltige Entwicklung der Infrastruktur der Bioenergie.

Eine vom BMELV ausgeschriebene und von der Fachagentur Nachwachsende Rohstoffe (FNR) organisierte Veranstaltung „Anspruch der Bioenergie an die EEG-Novellierung“ (LINK) findet am 17.Februar in Berlin statt. Auf dieser wird in gut besetzter Runde über mögliche Änderungen diskutiert.

Welche Kritikpunkte und Anpassungsideen gibt es bisher?

Hintergrund ist die EEG Novelle 2012 Auswirkungen Bioenergie Bioga

Reduzierung des EEG-Biogas-Bonus für die Nutzung Nachwachsender Rohstoffen

Der Entwicklung der Biogasbranche im vergangenen Jahr kann als sehr positiv gewertet werden. Vor allem in Bezug auf den Neubau von Biogasanlagen war es eines der erfolgreichsten Jahre in der Geschichte der Biogastechnologie in Deutschland. Mit etwa 6.000 realisierten Anlagen stehen aktuell in keinem anderen Land mehr Biogasanlagen als in Deutschland. Damit dieser positive Trend anhält und negative Begleiterscheinungen angegangen werden können, sind aber weitere Anpassungen nötig.

Vor allem die Standorte für Neuanlagen und die verwendeten Inputstoffe für die Beschickung der Biogasanlagen werden hierbei auch kritisch betrachtet. Korrekturen von Fehlentwicklungen sollen z.B. durch die Änderung der Boni in der kommenden EEG-Novelle eingeleitet werden. Neben den Änderungen im EEG werden auch andere Maßnahmen vom Fachverband Biogas e.V., einer Bundesratsinitiative Niedersachsens, dem Sachverständigenrat für Umweltfragen (SRU) oder dem Biogasrat e.V. vorgeschlagen bzw. gefordert. Hier eine Auswahl an Änderungsvorschlägen:

  • Kopplung der Förderung an Effizienzvorgaben für Biogasanlagen (mit Hilfe des EEG)
  • Stärkere Förderung von marktfähigen Wärmenutzungskonzepten von Biogasanlagen (siehe Artikel)
  • Gezielte Förderung der Biogastechnologie beim Einsatz als Regelenergie
  • Abschaffung des NawaRo-Bonus (EEG)
  • Stärkere Förderung von kostengünstigen Materialien wie Gülle, Nebenprodukten oder Bioabfällen (EEG)
  • Entschärfung der Konkurrenzsituation für landwirtschaftliche Anbauflächen
  • progressive Boni-Zahlung bei ansteigendem Anteil an Reststoffen als Inputmaterial (EEG)
  • Steuerung der Flächennutzung über freiwillige Selbstvereinbarungen und das Ordnungs- und Raumnutzungsrecht

Die Aufzählung zeigt verschiedene Ansatzpunkte, wobei vor allem die Perspektiven des eher landwirtschaftlich geprägten Fachverbands (kleine Anlagen) und des tendenziell eher industriell orientierten Biogasrates (große Anlagen) die Diskussionen bereichern dürften.

Dabei ist zu beachten, dass die Höhe der Gesamtfördersumme für Biogas nicht abgesenkt, sondern vor allem effektiver eingesetzt, bzw. verteilt werden soll. Eine vorgezogene EEG-Novelle, wie sie teilweise für die Solarbranche eintreten wird, soll es für die Biogasbranche vermutlich nicht geben.

Stärkung des Biomethanmarkts durch mehr Technologieoffenheit im EEWärmeG

Auch der Markt für Biomethan hat Entwicklungsbedarf. Die Ziele der Bundesregierung für die Einspeisemenge von jährlich 6 Milliarden m3 Biomethan/ Bio-Erdgas bis 2020 und 10 Milliarden m3 bis 2030 sind klar formuliert. Der aktuelle Stand der realisierten Biomethan-Einspeisemenge hinkt diesem Ziel aber noch hinterher. Für diese Hemmnisse gibt es verschiedene Gründe und auch schon entsprechende Lösungsansätze (siehe Steigerung Biomethaneinspeisung).

Eine aktuell diskutierte Maßnahme zur Verbesserung der Rahmenbedingungen von Bio-Erdgas liegt in der Erhöhung seiner Einsatzmöglichkeit in Neubauten. Bisher wird die Nutzung nur dann vom Erneuerbare-Energien-Wärmegesetz (EEWärmeG) gefördert, wenn das Bio-Erdgas in Anlagen mit integrierter Kraft-Wärme-Kopplung (KWK) verwendet wird. Der Absatzmarkt für Biomethan und somit wahrscheinlich auch der Anreiz zur Installation einer Biogasaufbereitungsanlage könnte zusätzlich verbessert werden, wenn das EEWärmeG an dieser Stelle mehr Technologieoffenheit ermöglichen würde.

So kritisiert Michael Kauch, Mitglied des Bundestagsausschuss für Umwelt, Naturschutz und Reaktorsicherheit und umweltpolitischer Sprecher der FDP-Bundestagsfraktion, dass die Verwendung von Biomethan in effizienten Brennwertkesseln im EEWärmeG aktuell ausgeschlossen ist. Außerdem sollten die Rahmenbedingungen im Gesetzesentwurf des „Europarechtsanpassungsgesetzes Erneuerbare Energien (EAG-EE)“ gleich von Beginn an gerecht gestaltet werden. Das würde vor allem auch den Einsatz von Biomethan in Brennwertkesseln eines Bestandgebäudes ohne zusätzliche Anforderungen an die Gebäudehülle (Wärmedämmung!) bedeuten.

Bio-Erdgas als umweltfreundliche Kraftstoff-Alternative

Ein besonderer Vorteil der Bioenergie liegt bekanntlich in ihrem breiten Anwendungsspektrum auf Grund der Möglichkeit sie als Strom, Wärme oder Kraftstoff zu nutzen.

Zusätzlich zur energetischen Umwandlung des Bio-Erdgases in Blockheizkraftwerken oder Brennwertkesseln soll auch der Einsatz von Biomethan als kostengünstiger Biokraftstoff verstärkt und somit ein großer Absatzmarkt hinzugewonnen werden.

Voraussetzung für diese Nutzung ist natürlich, dass genügend Biomethan produziert und ins Erdgasnetz eingespeist wird und dass die Infrastruktur von Erdgastankstellen flächendeckender zur Verfügung steht. Der CO2-Emission-ärmste fossile Energieträger auf Kohlenstoffbasis ist Erdgas. Durch die Kombination von Erdgas und Biomethan wird die Kohlenstoffdioxidbilanz des Kraftstoffs noch zusätzlich verbessert.

Ich hoffe, dass die beteiligten Akteure des Biogas- und Biomethanmarkts ihre unterschiedlichen Verbesserungsvorschläge zusammenfügen können und mit vereinter Stimme dafür sorgen, dass die Branche durch die anstehenden Rechtsänderungen noch stärker und umweltfreundlicher wird.