From farmer to energy farmer with 75 kW mini-biogas plants based on liquid manure

The EEG amendment 2012 gives the biogas market impulses for a course change. This also includes the promotion of mini biogas plants, for example based on liquid manure. For the operation of a small biogas combined heat and power plant connected with this, correspondingly less substrate is required to feed the biogas plant. What space requirements (former NawaRo bonus) or how many cows (former liquid manure bonus) are required to ensure the operation of a micro biogas plant? The above graphic and article address this question and include the data from the most recent agricultural census of the Federal Statistical Office.

New remuneration class for micro biogas plants up to 75 kW in the amended EEG 2012

With the valid from January 2012 Renewable Energy Law (EEG) and the additional funding of micro biogas plants up to 75 kW, the biogas landscape in Germany will change again. The previous trend towards larger biogas plants will be supplemented by a development trend for micro biogas plants. 80% of these have to be operated with liquid manure so that the subsidy rates can be fully utilized and the investments in the required biogas technology pay off as quickly as possible.

In the new performance class for biogas plants up to 75 kW, a tariff of 27 cents per kilowatt hour of electricity produced is paid if the requirements are met (see Section 2012b in the EEG 25). This high remuneration payment for the new mini biogas plants is not tied to the newly added "remuneration classes" (see article Remuneration classes in the EEG 2011), but basic remuneration and feedstock bonus payment are covered together by the 25 cents / kWh.

In addition to a changed remuneration structure, the new EEG 2012 primarily promotes the direct marketing of the electricity produced by biogas plants. See also the article on Introduction of the market and flexibility premium.

Here you can find more articles on economic Operation of a biogas plant according to the EEG.

Download the EEG amendment 2012 as PDF

This one Link to download a consolidated version of the Renewable Energy Sources Act 2012. The topic of bioenergy is dealt with from § 27 and all changes to the previous version are shown in bold as usual.

First agricultural census in Germany in 10 years

In order to gain an overview of how many farms this subsidization of small biogas plants could be of interest, below is a small insight into the latest agricultural census.

The first agricultural census in Germany in 10 years shows a total of 2010 agricultural holdings for 300.700. Together they cultivate an arable area of ​​almost 17 million hectares. This corresponds to an average farm size of 56 hectares.

17% of the 71 million hectares are used for cultivating arable land and 28% for permanent pasture. With 3,3 million hectares, winter wheat remains the most frequently cultivated crop in 2010. This is followed by the cultivation of silage maize with a total area of ​​1,8 million hectares.

1,1 million people are employed in agriculture, which corresponds to a declining trend based on the last count.

You can get detailed information on the agricultural census in a published Federal Statistical Office article.

Mini-biogas plants need micro-biogas CHP

Even if the data from the agricultural census are only averages, an average farm has 56 hectares of land.

Is this space enough to think about building a mini biogas plant, including a biogas CHP? What space requirements should be planned for the construction of a 75 kW biogas plant? The graphic above should serve as the basis for the following suggestions.

Operated on a slurry basis, the new mini-biogas plant can theoretically be operated from a power of 1 kW and still receive the subsidy rates according to EEG 2012. That would correspond to a necessary manure quantity of 7 dairy cows. There are at least cogeneration plants, which are delivered with an output of 1 kW. These include, for example, the following 3 micro CHP units:

  • the “Dachs Stirling” micro CHP from SenerTec with 1 kWel, released in spring
  • the WhisperGen with 1 kWel
  • the micro-CHP ecoPOWER 1.0 from Vaillant

The combined heat and power plants are also available with a modular and higher performance range. It is problematic, however, that none of the manufacturers of the micro-CHP units, apart from the use of bio natural gas, also gives biogas as a possible fuel. A lack of information in the technical instructions can also simply be due to the market for micro-biogas CHP plants that has hardly existed up to now.

The website also offers a good overview with manufacturer-neutral information on mini and micro CHP units "CHP Prince".

Space requirements for mini biogas plants

The construction and economical operation of a 1 kW biogas plant is more challenging than finding a suitable micro CHP! At least I have never heard of such a small and very decentralized biogas plant. Do you know of such mini biogas plants?

Here is a possible scenario for a farm with an integrated mini-biogas plant.

Assuming the average farm in Germany (56 hectares), which cultivates 60% maize and 40% grassland, a biogas plant with an output of at least 68 kWel could operate. The following "equation" shows how this value came about.

  • 60% of 56 hectares = 34 hectares x 0,5 hectares of maize (per 1 kW BGA) = biogas plant with 68 kW

The remaining 22 hectares can be used as permanent grassland for dairy cattle grazing. With a high stocking, the grassland can be used for a livestock of 55 dairy cows.

  • 2,5 cows / hectare x 22 hectares = 55 cows

The manure of these 55 cows in turn provides the manure for the operation of an 8 kW biogas plant.

There are many ways to combine dairy farming and biogas and energy production.

Conversion of 1 hectare (ha)

A farmer or planner, of course, does not need to be told the area "hectares". In order to give a somewhat broader audience an idea of ​​1 hectare, finally some conversion information.

  • 1 hectare = 100 x 100 m = 10.000 square meters
  • 1 hectare = 100 ares
  • 1 hectare = 1 football fields measuring 5 x 105 m (FIFA standard)

Advice on mini biogas plants

BiomassMuse specializes in the planning of mini biogas plants according to § 27 b EEG 2012. I am happy to support you with your "Mini-Biogas Plant Project" and offer consultations for the construction and operation of small systems between 30 and 150 kW.

Here you can order the monthly newsletter from BiomassMuse.

Monthly newsletter
[/ fusion_builder_column] [/ fusion_builder_row] [/ fusion_builder_container]

7 comments on “From the farmer to the energy farmer with 75 kW mini biogas plants based on liquid manure”

  1. Get Tickets here! the link to an interesting forum discussion on the subject of mini biogas plants between 10 - 25 kW on the agrarheute website.

    During this discussion, some practical suggestions for the installation of a mini biogas plant (especially based on liquid manure) are given.

  2. Liquid manure biogas plants have the advantage that they come from what the farmer has on the farm and that should be enough. If the manure is only rich for 20 kw = good.

    But everyone is talking about 75 kW systems with what should the remote meter be "fed". Know an example that has 450 GVE is probably the exception?

    At the beginning of the biogas plant you also looked at what the farmer had on the farm and then came the request for a high "kw number"! And the substrate food = corn

Post a comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Deutsch English
X

15 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 14 Google+ 1 Email -- 15 Flares ×

Die EEG Novelle 2012 gibt dem Biogasmarkt Impulse für eine Kursänderung. Dazu zählt auch die Förderung von Mini-Biogasanlagen z.B. auf Gülle-Basis. Für den Betrieb eines damit verbundenen kleinen Biogas-Blockheizkraftwerks wird auch entsprechend weniger Substrat zur Beschickung der Biogasanlage benötigt. Welcher Flächenbedarf (ehemaliger NawaRo-Bonus), beziehungsweise wieviel Kühe (ehemaliger Gülle-Bonus) sind nötig, um den Betrieb einer Kleinstbiogasanlage zu gewährleisten? Die obige Grafik und der Artikel gehen dieser Frage nach und beziehen dabei die Daten der aktuellsten Landwirtschaftszählung des statistischen Bundesamts mit ein.

Neue Vergütungsklasse für Kleinstbiogasanlagen bis 75 kW im novellierten EEG 2012

Mit dem ab Januar 2012 gültigen Erneuerbaren Energien Gesetz (EEG) und der zusätzlichen Förderung von Kleinstbiogasanlagen bis 75 kW wird sich die Biogaslandschaft in Deutschland erneut verändern. Der bisherige Trend zu größeren Biogasanlagen wird um einen Entwicklungstrend für Kleinstbiogasanlagen ergänzt werden. Diese müssen zu 80% mit Gülle betrieben werden, damit die Fördersätze voll ausgeschöpft werden können und die Investitionen in die benötigte Biogastechnologie sich möglichst schnell rentieren.

In der neuen Leistungsklasse für Biogasanlagen bis 75 kW wird, bei Erfüllung der gestellten Forderungen (siehe § 27b im EEG 2012), ein Vergütungssatz von 25 cent pro Kilowattstunde produziertem Strom gezahlt. Diese hohe Vergütungszahlung ist für die neuen Mini-Biogasanlagen nicht an die ebenfalls neu hinzugekommenen „Vergütungsklassen“ gebunden (siehe Artikel Vergütungsklassen im EEG 2011), sondern Grundvergütung und Einsatzstoff-Bonuszahlung werden durch die 25 Cent/ kWh gemeinsam abgedeckt.

Neben einer geänderten Vergütungsstruktur wird mit dem neuen EEG 2012 vor allem die Direktvermarktung des produzierten Stroms durch Biogasanlagen gefördert. Sehen Sie hierzu auch den Artikel zur Einführung der Markt- und Flexibilitätsprämie.

Hier finden Sie weitere Artikel zum wirtschaftlichen Betrieb einer Biogasanlage nach dem EEG.

Download der EEG Novelle 2012 als PDF

Hier der Link zum Download einer konsolidierten Fassung des Erneuerbare Energien Gesetzes 2012. Das Thema Bioenergie wird ab § 27 behandelt und alle Änderungen zur bisherigen Fassung werden gewohnt fettgedruckt dargestellt.

Erste Landwirtschaftszählung in Deutschland seit 10 Jahren

Um einen Überblick zu gewinnen, für wieviele landwirtschaftliche Betriebe diese Förderung von Kleinstbiogasanlagen interessant sein könnte, im Folgenden ein kleiner Einblick in die aktuellste Landwirtschaftszählung.

Die erste Landwirtschaftszählung in Deutschland seit 10 Jahren zeigt für 2010 eine Gesamtzahl von 300.700 landwirtschaftlichen Betrieben. Diese bewirtschaften gemeinsam eine Ackerfläche von knapp 17 Millionen Hektar. Dies entspricht einer durchschnittlichen Betriebsgröße von 56 Hektar.

Die 17 Millionen Hektar werden zu 71 % für die Bestellung von Ackerland und zu 28 % für Dauergrünland genutzt. Mit 3,3 Millionen Hektar bleibt der Winterweizen auch im Jahr 2010 die am häufigsten angebaute Ackerfrucht. Es folgt der Anbau von Silomais mit einer Gesamtfläche von 1,8 Millionen Hektar.

1,1 Millionen Personen sind in der Landwirtschaft tätig, was einem abnehmenden Trend bezogen auf die letzte Zählung entspricht.

Ausführliche Angaben zu der Landwirtschaftszählung erhaltet Ihr in einem veröffentlichten Artikel des statistischen Bundesamts.

Mini-Biogasanlagen benötigen Mikro-Biogas-BHKW

Auch wenn es sich bei den Angaben der Landwirtschaftszählung ausschließlich um Durchschnittwerte handelt, verfügt ein durchschnittlicher landwirtschaftlicher Betrieb also über 56 Hektar an Land.

Ist diese Fläche genug, um über die Errichtung einer Mini-Biogasanlage, inklusive Biogas-BHKW, nachzudenken? Welcher Flächenbedarf sollte für den Bau einer 75 kW Biogasanlage eingeplant werden? Die obige Grafik soll als Grundlage für die folgenden Anregungen dienen.

Auf Gülle-Basis betrieben kann die neue Mini-Biogasanlage theoretisch schon ab 1 kW Leistung betrieben werden und trotzdem die Fördersätze nach EEG 2012 erhalten. Das entspräche einer notwendigen Güllemenge von 7 Milchkühen. Es gibt zumindest Blockheizkraftwerke, welche mit einer Leistung von 1 kW ausgeliefert werden. Hierzu zählen zum Beispiel die folgenden 3 Mikro-BHKW:

  • das im Frühjahr erschienene Mikro-BHKW „Dachs Stirling“ von SenerTec mit 1kWel
  • das WhisperGen mit 1 kWel
  • das Mikro-BHKW ecoPOWER 1.0 von Vaillant

Die Blockheizkraftwerke gibt es auch mit modulierbarem und höherem Leistungsspektrum. Problematisch ist allerdings, dass keiner der Hersteller der Mikro-BHKW neben dem Einsatz von Bioerdgas auch Biogas als möglichen Brennstoff angibt. Eine fehlende Angabe in den technischen Anleitungen kann aber auch einfach an dem bisher kaum vorhandenen Markt für Mikro-Biogas-BHKW liegen.

Eine gute Übersicht mit herstellerneutralen Informationen zu Mini- und Mikro-BHKW bietet außerdem die Internetseite „BHKW-Prinz“.

Flächenbedarf für Mini-Biogasanlagen

Eine größere Herausforderung als das Finden eines passenden Mikro-BHKW bietet der Bau und wirtschaftliche Betrieb einer 1 kW Biogasanlage! Von einer solch kleinen und sehr dezentral agierenden Biogasanlage habe ich zumindest noch nicht gehört. Kennt Ihr solche Mini-Biogasanlagen?

Hier ein mögliches Szenario für einen landwirtschaftlichen Betrieb mit integrierter Mini-Biogasanlage.

Den durchschnittlichen landwirtschaftlichen Betrieb in Deutschland vorausgesetzt (56 Hektar), der zu einem Verhältnis von 60% Mais und 40% Grünland anbaut, könnte eine Biogasanlage mit mindestens 68 kWel Leistung betreiben. Die folgende „Gleichung“ zeigt das Zustandekommen dieses Wertes.

  • 60% von 56 Hektar = 34 Hektar x 0,5 Hektar Mais (pro 1 kW BGA) = Biogasanlage mit 68 kW

Die verbleibenden 22 Hektar können als Dauergrünland zur Beweidung durch Milchkühe genutzt werden. Bei einem starken Besatz kann das Grünland für einen Viehbestand von 55 Milchkühen genutzt werden.

  • 2,5 Kühe/ Hektar x 22 Hektar = 55 Kühe

Die Gülle dieser 55 Kühe liefert wiederum die Gülle für den Betrieb einer 8 kW Biogasanlage.

Es ergeben sich viele Möglichkeiten die Milchviehhaltung und die Biogas- und Energieerzeugung zu kombinieren.

Umrechnung von 1 Hektar (ha)

Einem Landwirt oder Planer muss die Flächenangabe „Hektar“ natürlich nicht näher erläutert werden. Um auch einer etwas breiteren Leserschaft eine Vorstellung von 1 Hektar zu geben, abschließend noch einige Umrechnungs-Angaben.

  • 1 Hektar = 100 x 100 m = 10.000 Quadratmeter
  • 1 Hektar = 100 Ar
  • 1 Hektar = 1, 5 Fußballfelder mit 105 x 68 m (FIFA-Norm)

Beratung zu Mini-Biogasanlagen

Die Spezialisierung von BiomassMuse liegt auf der Planung von Mini-Biogasanlagen nach § 27 b EEG 2012. Gerne unterstütze ich Sie bei Ihrem „Projekt Mini-Biogasanlage“ und biete Beratungen zum Bau und Betrieb von Kleinstanlagen zwischen 30 und 150 kW an.

Hier können Sie den montalichen Newsletter von BiomassMuse bestellen.

Monatlicher Newsletter