As in other industries, there are awards in the biomass industry for special achievements and successes that have further developed the use of biomass. These are often awarded at major conferences on the topics of bioenergy, biomaterials and biochemicals. Three biofuels awards will be presented in Amsterdam in October and the entry deadline for participation has recently opened. Who won the awards last year and which companies have chances to receive one of the awards this year? Which German biofuel manufacturers should participate?

Biofuel awards and accolades add color

Of course, you can also be critical of trophies and prizes. It is often difficult to compare several good performances if there are no clearly measurable criteria, such as in competitive sports. Nevertheless, awards are important and can indicate trends, strengthen company identifications, secure attention or simply bring a trace of gloria and festivity to an industry.

At the European Biomass Conference in June, the EUBIA Industry Award and the Linnerborn Prize were awarded this year, thus honoring two major service providers in the biomass industry (see Article on the European Biomass Conference).

2010 Biofuels Awards 2011 Winner

In the course of Conference "Biofuels 2011" in Amsterdam, which takes place for the 6th time from October 11-13, the Biofuels Awards will also be presented (October 12). The Biofuel Awards honor internationally active companies in the industry and are awarded in 3 categories. Last year's winners show which are:

Novozymes in particular can be described as a star in the industry and is at the forefront with its innovative enzyme technology when it comes to overcoming obstacles in the manufacture of Next generation biofuels goes.

Possible winners in 2011 and companies in the Biofuels Digest Ranking

Who can calculate the chances of winning one of the awards this year?

When a company signs up for the Biofuels Awards sign up (!), in principle any company can be chosen as the winner of the biofuel award.

A good yardstick for a company's chances of receiving one of the prizes is the current rank within the Biofuels Digest Ranking. The most visited blog on biofuels worldwide selects the 50 hottest bioenergy companies each year. Here is the link to the current Biofuel Digest Ranking of the hottest companies 2010-2011.

The top 10 companies in 2010-2011 are as follows (in brackets the rank of 2009):

  1. Amyris (3)
  2. Solazyme (1)
  3. POET (2)
  4. LS9 (8)
  5. Gevo (13)
  6. DuPont Danisco (7)
  7. Novozymes (11)
  8. Coskata (6)
  9. Codexis (35)
  10. Sapphire Energy (5)

Übersicht von Biokraftstoff Herstellern in Deutschland

German companies in the biofuels industry with chances for a Biofuels Award 2011

Of course, it would be nice if a biofuel representative from Germany received one of the awards. Although Germany is significantly smaller compared to partners such as the USA and the biofuels industry can still develop well, some companies in Germany have also shown great innovative strength and made contributions to the further development of biofuels. The political and social conditions in the past year were not exactly easy (see article Introduction of bioethanol E10).

Here is my overview of companies in the biofuels industry in Germany that have a chance at one of the Biofuels Awards 2011 this year.

  1. Verbio AG (See the article on a innovative and efficient concept for the combined generation of biofuel and biogas)
  2. CropEnergies AG
  3. ADM
  4. Mannheim Bio Fuel GmbH
  5. Biopetrol Industries AG (Swiss headquarters)

The member page of the Association of the German Biofuel Industry (VDB) gives one good overview to other companies that are active in the production and sale of biofuels.

I wish all companies participating in the Biofuels Awards every success and I am excited to see who this year's winners will be and for what achievement they will be honored. The participation period ends on September 2nd, 2011.

Which company do you think should register to participate this year? Who wins it

0 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 Google+ 0 Email -- 0 Flares ×

Wie in anderen Branchen, gibt es auch in der Biomasse-Branche Auszeichnungen für besondere Leistungen und Erfolge, welche die Biomasse-Nutzung weiterentwickelt haben. Häufig werden diese auf den großen Konferenzen zu den Themen Bioenergie, Biomaterialen und Biochemikalien verliehen. Drei Awards des Biokraftstoff-Sektors werden im Oktober in Amsterdam verliehen und die Anmeldefrist zur Teilnahme wurde kürzlich eröffnet. Wer hat die Awards im letzten Jahr gewonnen und welche Unternehmen haben in diesem Jahr Chancen einen der Awards zu erhalten? Welche deutschen Biokraftstoff-Hersteller sollten teilnehmen?

Biokraftstoff-Awards und Auszeichungen verleihen Farbe

Natürlich kann man gegenüber Trophäen und Preisen auch kritisch eingestellt sein. Häufig ist es schwierig, mehrere gute Leistungen miteinander zu vergleichen, wenn eindeutig messbare Kriterien, wie im Leistungssport, fehlen. Trotzdem haben Auszeichnungen eine wichtige Bedeutung und können Trends anzeigen, Unternehmens-Identifikationen stärken, Aufmerksamkeit sichern oder einfach eine Spur Gloria und Festlichkeit in eine Branche bringen.

Auf der European Biomass Conference im Juni wurden in diesem Jahr schon der EUBIA Industry Award und der Linnerborn Preis verliehen und somit zwei bedeutende Leistungsträger der Biomasse-Branche geehrt (siehe Artikel zur European Biomass Conference).

Gewinner 2010 Biofuels Awards 2011

Im Zuge der Konferenz „Biofuels 2011“ in Amsterdam, welche vom 11-13 Oktober zum 6. Mal stattfindet, werden auch die Biofuels Awards verliehen (12.Oktober). Die Biofuel Awards ehren international tätige Unternehmen der Branche und werden in 3 Kategorien verliehen. Die letztjährigen Gewinner zeigen, welche das sind:

  • Biokraftstoff Technologie 2010 – Novozymes

Vor allem Novozymes kann als ein Star der Branche bezeichnet werden und ist mit seiner innovativen Enzymtechnologie weit vorne dabei, wenn es um die Überwindung von Hindernissen bei der Herstellung von Biokraftstoffen der nächsten Generation geht.

Mögliche Gewinner 2011 und Unternehmen des Biofuels Digest Rankings

Wer kann sich Chancen ausrechnen in diesem Jahr einen der Awards zu gewinnen?

Wenn sich ein Unternehmen für die Biofuels Awards anmeldet (!), kann prinzipiell jedes Unternehmen zum Gewinner der Biokraftstoff-Auszeichnung gewählt werden.

Ein guter Gradmesser für die Chancen eines Unternehmens einen der Preise zu erhalten ist der aktuelle Rang innerhalb des Biofuels Digest Rankings. Der meistbesuchte Blog zum Thema Biokraftstoffe weltweit wählt jährlich die 50 heißesten Unternehmen im Bereich Bioenergie. Hier der Link zur aktuellen Biofuel Digest Rangfolge der heißesten Unternehmen 2010-2011.

Die Unternehmen der Top 10 im Jahre 2010-2011 lauten folgendermaßen (in Klammern der Rang von 2009):

  1. Amyris (3)
  2. Solazyme (1)
  3. POET (2)
  4. LS9 (8)
  5. Gevo (13)
  6. DuPont Danisco (7)
  7. Novozymes (11)
  8. Coskata (6)
  9. Codexis (35)
  10. Sapphire Energy (5)

Übersicht von Biokraftstoff Herstellern in Deutschland

Deutsche Unternehmen der Biokraftstoffbranche mit Chancen auf einen Biofuels Award 2011

Natürlich wäre es schön, wenn auch ein Biokraftstoff-Vertreter aus Deutschland einen der Awards erhält. Obwohl Deutschland im Vergleich mit Partnern wie den U.S.A deutlich kleiner ist und die Biokraftstoffbranche sich noch gut entwickeln kann, haben auch hierzulande einige Unternehmen große Innovationskraft bewiesen und Beiträge zur Weiterentwicklung der Biokraftstoffe geleistet. Dabei waren die politischen und gesellschaftlichen Bedingungen im vergangenen Jahr nicht gerade einfach (siehe Artikel Einführung von Bioethanol E10).

Hier meine Übersicht von Unternehmen der Biokraftstoffbranche in Deutschland, welche in diesem Jahr eine Chance auf einen der Biofuels Awards 2011 haben.

  1. Verbio AG (siehe hierzu den Artikel über ein innovatives und effizientes Konzept zur kombinierten Erzeugung von Biokraftstoff- und Biogas)
  2. CropEnergies AG
  3. ADM
  4. Mannheim Bio Fuel GmbH
  5. Biopetrol Industries AG (Schweizer Hauptsitz)

Die Mitgliederseite des Verbands der Deutschen Biokraftstoffindustrie (VDB) gibt einen guten Überblick zu weiteren Unternehmen die innerhalb der Herstellung und dem Vertrieb von Biokraftstoffen tätig sind.

Ich wünsche allen Unternehmen die an den Biofuels Awards teilnehmen viel Erfolg und bin gespannt, wer die diesjährigen Gewinner sein und für welche Leistung sie geehrt werden. Die Teilnahmefrist endet am 2.September 2011.

Welches Unternehmen sollte sich ihrer Meinung nach unbedingt für eine Teilnahme in diesem Jahr anmelden? Wer gewinnt sie?