Europe's first biomass exchange opens in Rotterdam and will stimulate biomass trading

The demand for biomass as a renewable raw material has increased further in recent years due to more stringent requirements for climate protection. Wood-like biomass in particular is in increasing demand as a fuel for power plants. In order to bring more system into the biomass trade, Europe's first biomass exchange will open on November 3rd in Rotterdam. What opportunities does the biomass exchange offer and what does it mean for the biomass trade?

Trading opportunities at the biomass exchange in Rotterdam

The Biomass Exchange in Rotterdam is a joint project of the electricity and gas exchange APX-Endex and the largest port in Europe in Rotterdam.

The development of the biomass exchange and the trading of biomass are to be developed in two phases. In the first phase, there will only be the possibility of direct trade in biomass between two parties (buyer and seller), in which the biomass can change hands under transparent conditions.

In the second phase, which is due to start in 2012, the biomass exchange will provide further framework conditions ("clearing services") to ensure problem-free biomass trade between several contracting parties. As the APX-Endex announced, commercial contracts for the period of 3 months, 3 quarters and 3 calendar years should be concluded.

Wood chips prices biomass stock exchange

Wood chips are very popular at the biomass exchange

The main purpose of the new biomass exchange, which is integrated in the Rotterdam Energy Port, is to trade industrial wood chips. A price index for industrial wood chips has been created by APX-Endex for 3 years.

The price development of wood chips in Germany has shown an upward trend in the past 3 years (see chart), which, however, can be described as moderate in direct comparison with the strongly fluctuating heating oil prices. Wood chips therefore remain a comparatively inexpensive and little fluctuating source for electricity and heat production.

The annual Trading volume of wood chips Hakan Ekstrom, President of Wood Resources International, increased 2002% between 2008 and 5. In 2010, a worldwide all-time high was recorded, with an increase of 25% to around 35 million tons of traded wood chips. This rapid increase is mainly attributed to the high demand for wood chips in China.

If you are interested, you can find an interesting article about the Development of the European wood market read in 2010, which was published on globalwood.org.

Buyers of biomass on the stock exchange

The growing demand for woody biomass in Europe is mainly due to the strong demand for energy wood. This trend is in turn a reaction to Europe's political efforts to actively contribute to climate protection and the energy transition.

The achievement of the "20-20-20 target" of the European Union should be emphasized here. The following 2020 goals are to be implemented by 3:

  • Greenhouse gas emissions cut by 20%
  • 20% share of renewable energies in total energy consumption (electricity, heat, traffic)
  • 20% increase in energy efficiency

The major customers for the woodchips traded in Rotterdam will be the large biomass cogeneration plants.

Numerous power plants in the EU are converted to biomass. In addition, with the help of co-firing (“co-firing”), biomass is already being used as a fuel in coal-fired power plants. As a Berliner, I can change from fossil to renewable fuels thanks to the comprehensive Vattenfall AG's biomass strategy Experience up close.

In addition to the energetic use, the service of the biomass exchange should also be interesting for the material usage paths of biomass. As a major customer, I think of the numerous pulp factories or chipboard manufacturers in the EU.

With regard to the sustainable use of biomass, the material use of biomass should even have the first priority, even before the energetic use. This cascade use supports the efficient use of the valuable raw material biomass. See also the article on Brandenburg's biomass strategy.

Overview of international biomass exchanges

APX-Endex even describes the newly launched biomass exchange as “the first in the world”. Perhaps in this context it should be added that it is the first biomass exchange of its size and with an international focus, since some concepts for biomass exchanges have already been implemented in North America.

Here is an overview for trading venues that specialize in biomass trading worldwide:

It remains to be seen how the biomass exchange in Rotterdam will be accepted and how different quality characteristics and quality requirements for biomass will be dealt with. I also hope that too sustainability criteria and the existing certification systems (FSC, PEFC, ISCC etc.) are taken into account when trading in biomass.

I look forward to this new dimension in international biomass trading and keep my fingers crossed for sustainable development. What do you think?

Post a comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Deutsch English
X

3 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 Google+ 3 Email -- 3 Flares ×

Die Nachfrage nach Biomasse als erneuerbarem Rohstoff hat wegen verschärften Anforderungen an den Klimaschutz in den vergangenen Jahren  weiter zugenommen. Vor allem holzartige Biomasse wird als Brennstoff für Kraftwerke verstärkt nachgefragt. Um mehr System in den Handel von Biomasse zu bringen, wird am 3. November die erste Biomassebörse Europas in Rotterdam eröffnen. Welche Möglichkeiten bietet die Biomassebörse und was bedeutet sie für den Biomassehandel?

Handelsmöglichkeiten an der Biomassebörse in Rotterdam

Die Biomassebörse in Rotterdam ist ein Gemeinschaftsprojekt der Strom- und Gasbörse APX-Endex und dem größten Hafen Europas in Rotterdam.

Der Aufbau der Biomassebörse und der Handel von Biomasse soll in 2 Phasen entwickelt werden. In der ersten Phase wird es ausschließlich die Möglichkeit zum direkten Handel von Biomasse zwischen 2 Parteien (Käufer und Verkäufer) geben, bei dem die Biomasse unter transparenten Bedingungen den Besitzer wechseln kann.

In der zweiten Phase, die 2012 anlaufen soll, werden durch die Biomassebörse noch weitere Rahmenbedingungen („clearing services“) zur Verfügung gestellt, um einen problemlosen Biomasse-Handel zwischen mehreren Vertragsparteien zu gewährleisten. Wie die APX-Endex mitteilte, sollen Handelsverträge für den Zeitraum von 3 Monaten, 3 Quartalen und 3 Kalenderjahren abgeschlossen werden können.

Holzhackschnitzel Preise Biomasse Börse

Holzhackschnitzel an der Biomassebörse hoch im Kurs

An der neuen Biomassebörse, die in den Rotterdam Energy Port integriert ist, sollen hauptsächlich industrielle Holzhackschnitzel gehandelt werden. Ein Preisindex für industrielle Holzhackschnitzel wird von der APX-Endex bereits seit 3 Jahren erstellt.

Die Preisentwicklung von Hackschnitzeln in Deutschland zeigte in den vergangenen 3 Jahren einen Aufwärtstrend (siehe Grafik), welcher aber im direkten Vergleich mit den stark schwankenden Heizölpreisen als moderat bezeichnet werden kann. Holzhackschnitzel bleiben deshalb eine vergleichsweise preiswerte und wenig schwankende Quelle für die Strom- und Wärmeproduktion.

Das jährliche Handelsvolumen von Holzhackschnitzeln ist den Angaben von Hakan Ekstrom, Präsident von Wood Resources International, zwischen 2002 und 2008 um jeweils 5% gestiegen. Im Jahr 2010 wurde mit einem Anstieg um 25% auf etwa 35 Millionen Tonnen an gehandelten Holzhackschnitzeln ein weltweites Allzeithoch verzeichnet. Dieser rasante Anstieg wird vor allem auf die große Nachfrage nach Hackschnitzeln in China zurückgeführt.

Bei weiterem Interesse können Sie hier einen interessanten Artikel (in Englisch) über die Entwicklung des europäischen Holzmarktes im Jahr 2010 lesen, der auf globalwood.org veröffentlicht wurde.

Abnehmer von Biomasse an der Börse

Die wachsende Nachfrage nach holzartiger Biomasse in Europa ist hauptsächlich auf die starke Nachfrage nach Energieholz zurückzuführen. Dieser Trend ist wiederum eine Reaktion auf die politischen Bemühungen Europas aktiv zum Klimaschutz und zur Energiewende beizutragen.

Hierbei ist das Erreichen des „20-20-20-Ziels“ der Europäischen Union hervorzuheben. Demnach sollen bis zum Jahr 2020 folgende 3 Ziele umgesetzt werden:

  • Senkung der Treibhausgasemissionen um 20%
  • 20%iger Anteil an Erneuerbarer Energien am Gesamtenergieverbrauch (Strom, Wärme, Verkehr)
  • Erhöhung der Energieeffizienz um 20%

Die Abnehmer für die in Rotterdam gehandelten Holzhackschnitzel werden vor allem die großen Biomasseheizkraftwerke sein.

Zahlreiche Kraftwerke in der EU werden auf Biomasse umgestellt. Außerdem wird Biomasse mit Hilfe der Mitverbrennung („Co-Firing“) aktuell schon in Kohlekraftwerken als Brennstoff eingesetzt. Als Berliner kann ich den Wandel von fossilen zu regenerativen Brennstoffen dank der umfassenden Biomasse-Strategie der Vattenfall AG hautnah miterleben.

Neben der energetischen Nutzung dürfte der Service der Biomassebörse aber auch für die stofflichen Nutzungspfade von Biomasse interessant sein. Als große Abnehmer denke ich an die zahlreichen Zellstofffabriken oder Spanplattenhersteller in der EU.

Mit Blick auf die nachhaltige Nutzung von Biomasse, sollte die stoffliche Nutzung von Biomasse sogar die erste Priorität, noch vor der energetischen Nutzung, einnehmen. Diese Kaskadennutzung unterstützt einen effizienten Einsatz des wertvollen Rohstoffs Biomasse. Siehe hierzu auch den Artikel zur Biomasse-Strategie Brandenburgs.

Übersicht internationaler Biomassebörsen

Von der APX-Endex wird die neu ins Leben gerufene Biomassebörse sogar als „erste der Welt“ beschrieben. Vielleicht sollte man in diesem Zusammenhang anfügen, dass es die erste Biomassebörse ihrer Größe und mit internationaler Ausrichtung ist, da in Nordamerika bereits einige Konzepte für Biomassebörsen umgesetzt wurden.

Hier ein Überblick für Handelsplätze, die sich weltweit auf den Biomassehandel spezialisiert haben:

Es bleibt abzuwarten, wie die Biomassebörse in Rotterdam angenommen und wie mit verschiedenen Qualitätsmerkmalen und Qualitätsansprüchen für Biomasse umgegangen wird. Außerdem hoffe ich, dass auch Nachhaltigkeitskriterien und die vorhandenen Zertifizierungssysteme (FSC, PEFC, ISCC etc.) beim Biomassehandel berücksichtigt werden.

Ich freue mich auf diese neue Dimension des internationalen Biomassehandels und drücke die Daumen für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung. Was denken Sie?