Publication of the state of Brandenburg's biomass strategy

Biomass strategy for biogas pellets biofuels in Brandenburg / GermanyOn October 20.10.2010, 40, the Brandenburg Ministry of the Environment published a biomass strategy. I have read the XNUMX-page text and will present some aspects of the very successful paper in today's article. I would also like to encourage all concerned and interested people to read the brochure themselves - if this has not already happened - it is worth it!

What are the contents of Brandenburg's biomass strategy?

Establishing a biomass strategy for an entire federal state that offers investment security and at the same time leaves scope for future innovations and technologies is certainly not easy. Brandenburg has now followed North Rhine-Westphalia and Baden-Württemberg RW and published its own biomass strategy. This ranges from the presentation of the current situation regarding the material and energetic use of biomass to country-specific potential. Below are a few snippets.

Integration of the biomass strategy into existing programs

The biomass strategy is designed in such a way that it fits harmoniously into existing political programs. In general, it can be said that the biomass strategy above all concretizes the objectives of the national political decisions shown in the following graphic or supplements them with new statements.

laws on biogas biomass and cultivation development of energy crops in Brandenburg

Types of biomass and sources of supply in Brandenburg

Having a uniform terminology for different biomass flows can greatly simplify planning between different market participants. Therefore, the overview of the biomass types known so far, which is provided in the brochure, is very useful and gives a comprehensive impression of the previous sources of supply. These are mentioned in the strategy paper and presented in more detail. Here is a small excerpt:

  • Field energy crops
  • Forest wood
  • Growth of green areas
  • Manure, digestate
  • old wood
  • Landscape maintenance material
  • Biowaste / food waste
  • Stillage
  • Rapeseed cake

Cultivation situation for various renewable raw materials in Brandenburg

Of course, the current cultivation situation of various renewable raw materials in Brandenburg is also presented. The development of the acreage, which was ordered for the cultivation of the different crops in the past years, is also discussed. Estimates of the potential of different types of biomass complete the picture.

In general, it can be said that the area ordered for NawaRo's has grown significantly over the last 6 years. The area under cultivation in Brandenburg has roughly tripled from 61.000 hectares in 2004 to 190.000 hectares in 2007. The cultivation of maize alone has increased from around 50 hectares (2004) to around 20.500 (2007). The cultivation of previous exotic species on Brandenburg soils such as sugar beet, millet and Sudan grass has also increased sharply and has grown to around 2.000 hectares each (2009).

Opinions on such a development certainly differ, but the strong change also shows how lively the selection of species in agriculture is and how quickly farmers have adapted to the economic framework.

Bioenergetic plants in Brandenburg

The cultivation types and acreage form one side of the coin, but what about the following stages in the value chain? In particular, bioenergetic plants have grown significantly in recent years. The brochure on the biomass strategy offers concrete figures on the current state and shows the distribution of Biogas plants and biomass heating (power) plants on the Brandenburg counties. A small excerpt:

22 biomass cogeneration plants with an output of 157 MWel and 367 MWth are currently installed throughout Brandenburg. There are also 12 pure biomass heating plants with a minimum heat output of 1 MW. Most of the performance can be found in the counties of Teltow-Fläming, Oder-Spree and Ostprignitz-Ruppin.

The situation for biogas is as follows. There are currently 176 biogas plants with an installed capacity of 112 MWel and 125 MWth - but a further 85 plants have already been approved. The average output of a BGA in the state of Brandenburg is 640 kWel and is therefore above the average size of a biogas plant, which in Germany is around 380 kWel.

So far, the biogas has been processed into biomethane at the Rathenow, Schwedt and Ketzin sites and fed into the natural gas network.

Feldheim is the winner of the nationwide bioenergy competition

At this point I would also like to congratulate Feldheim in Brandenburg, which was one of the 3 winners (alongside Effelter and Jühnde-Barlissen) of the “Bioenergy Villages 2010” competition! The 145-inhabitant village in Potsdam-Mittelmark covers 100% of its electricity and heating requirements and has its own micro-heating network. The energy sources that help Feldheim become energy self-sufficient are mainly biogas and wind.

Legal regulations on the topic of biomass

The biomass strategy also addresses the national and EU-wide legal framework. It lists relevant laws and establishes the relationship to biomass. As far as knowledge is concerned, however, a forecast about possible changes in the law regarding the handling of biomass or wishes is not presented. The following legal texts (including regulations and guidelines) occur:

  • EU Renewable Energy Directive
  • EU biofuels directive
  • Biomass Electricity Sustainability Ordinance and Biofuel sustainability regulation
  • Renewable Energy Law (EEG)
  • Biomass regulation
  • Gas Network Access Ordinance and Gas Network Fee Ordinance
  • Renewable Energies Heat Act
  • Federal Immission Control Act
  • Small Firing Plant Ordinance
  • Energy tax law
  • Biofuels Quota Act
  • Act to change the promotion of biofuels
  • Growth Acceleration Act

Naming of research institutes and funding programs for biomass in Brandenburg

The brochure presents an extensive collection of research institutes, Funding programs, Projects and associations are available which deal with the material and energetic use of biomass in Brandenburg. The list is very suitable for finding potential partners or contacts for the respective biomass usage paths. Here is a small list of the institutes and companies presented:

  • Brandenburg University of Technology Cottbus (BTUC)
  • Brandenburg Energy Technology Initiative (ETI)
  • Feldheim Energy Competence Center
  • Lusatia energy region
  • Research Institute Bioactive Polymer Systems (BIOPOS)
  • Fraunhofer Institute for Applied Polymer Research (IAP)
  • University for Sustainable Development Eberswalde (HNEE)
  • Institute for Grain Processing Potsdam-Rehbrücke (IGV)
  • Competence network biofuels
  • Leibniz Center for Agricultural Landscape Research (ZALF)
  • Leibniz Institute for Agricultural Engineering Potsdam-Bornim (ATB)
  • Max Planck Institute for Colloids and Interfaces
  • MOL solid bio fuel network
  • Brandenburg Future Agency (ZAB)

The brochure also mentions other programs and projects that deal with the further development of an area of ​​material or energy use of biomass.

Cascade of biomass usage paths

The biomass strategy also speaks of cascade use as an important guide. Already in the coalition agreement of the Brandenburg state parliament at the end of 2009, the cascade was specified according to which biomass should be used in Brandenburg in the future. The priorities set at that time were slightly adapted in terms of terms, but essentially remained the same. The intended usage sequence corresponds in the order of the graphic above.

The use of Renewable raw materials According to this, food security should first serve before the material and energetic use follow in subsequent stages. In the case of components of plants that are not suitable for nutrition or as a component (e.g. landscape maintenance material), bioenergy can also arise as a first stage.

Link to the complete biomass strategy as PDF

Finally, I would like to congratulate the authors on this very successful biomass strategy for the state of Brandenburg and thank you for the well-structured, precise and information-rich brochure! For much more information on the material and energetic use of biomass, click here Link to the complete biomass strategy as a PDF download. I highly recommend a look at the paper.

Further current information on the development of biomass use in Berlin-Brandenburg there is also here.


4 comments on “Publication of the State of Brandenburg's biomass strategy”

  1. Approve the concept well, there must also be food farmers in addition to energy farmers. Not only biogas plants can be built. Especially in politics and in an area like Brandenburg one should think ahead and not only in the short term.

    with sunny regards from Bavaria Sepp

Post a comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Deutsch English
X

0 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 Google+ 0 Email -- 0 Flares ×

Biomassestrategie für Biogas Pellets Biokraftstoffe in Brandenburg/ DeutschlandAm 20.10.2010 wurde vom Umweltministerium Brandenburgs eine Biomassestrategie veröffentlicht. Ich habe den 40-seitigen Text gelesen und werde im heutigen Artikel einige Aspekte des sehr gelungenen Papiers vorstellen. Außerdem möchte ich alle betroffenen und interessierten Personen dazu ermuntern die Broschüre selbst zu lesen – insofern das nicht schon passiert ist – es lohnt sich!

Welche Inhalte umfaßt die Biomassestrategie Brandenburgs

Eine Biomassestrategie für ein ganzes Bundesland aufzustellen, welche Investitionssicherheit bietet und dabei gleichzeitig Freiräume für zukünftige Innovationen und Technologien läßt, ist sicher nicht einfach. Brandenburg hat es nun Nordrhein-Westfalen und Baden-Württemberg RW gleichgetan und eine eigene Biomassestrategie veröffentlicht. Diese reicht von der Darstellung der Ist-Situation der stofflichen und energetischen Biomasse-Nutzung bis hin zu landesspezifischen Potentialen. Im Folgenden stichpunktartig einige Ausschnitte.

Integration der Biomassestrategie in bestehende Programme

Die Biomassestrategie ist so angelegt, dass sie sich harmonisch in bestehende politische Programme einfügt. Allgemein kann gesagt werden, dass die Biomassestrategie vor allem die Zielstellungen der in der folgenden Grafik dargestellten landespolitischen Beschlüsse konkretisiert oder um neue Aussagen ergänzt.

gesetze zu biogas Biomasse und anbau entwicklung von energiepflanzen in Brandenburg

Arten von Biomasse und Bezugsquellen in Brandenburg

Eine einheitliche Begrifflichkeit für verschiedene Biomasseströme zu haben, kann die Planung zwischen verschiedenen Marktteilnehmern stark vereinfachen. Deshalb ist die in der Broschüre gelieferte Übersicht über die bisher bekannten Biomassearten sehr nützlich und gibt einen umfassenden Eindruck über die bisherigen Bezugsquellen. Im Strategiepapier werden diese genannt und detaillierter vorgestellt. Hier ein kleiner Ausschnitt:

  • Acker-Energiepflanzen
  • Waldholz
  • Aufwuchs von Grünflächen
  • Wirtschaftsdünger, Gärrest
  • Altholz
  • Landschaftspflegematerial
  • Bioabfälle/ Speisereste
  • Schlempe
  • Rapspresskuchen

Anbausituation für verschiedene nachwachsende Rohstoffe in Brandenburg

Natürlich wird auch die aktuell vorliegende Anbausituation von verschiedenen Nachwachsenden Rohstoffen in Brandenburg vorgestellt. Dabei wird auch auf die Entwicklung der Anbaufläche eingegangen, welche für den Anbau der verschiedenen Kulturen in den vergangenen Jahren bestellt wurde. Schätzungen über die Potentiale verschiedenen Biomassearten runden das Bild ab.

Allgemein kann gesagt werden, dass die bestellte Fläche für NawaRo’s während der letzten 6 Jahre stark gewachsen ist. So hat sich die Anbaufläche in Brandenburg von 61.000 Hektar im Jahr 2004 auf 190.000 Hektar im Jahr 2007 etwa verdreifacht. Allein der Anbau von Mais ist von ca. 50 Hektar (Jahr 2004) auf ca. 20.500 (Jahr 2007) gestiegen. Auch der Anbau von bisherigen Exoten auf Brandenburger Böden wie Zuckerrübe, Hirse und Sudangras hat stark zugenommen und erreicht jeweils Anbauflächen um die 2.000 Hektar (Jahr 2009).

Die Meinungen über eine solche Entwicklung gehen sicher auseinander, der starke Wandel zeigt aber auch, wie lebendig die Artenauswahl in der Landwirtschaft ist und wie schnell sich die Landwirte an die wirtschaftlichen Rahmenbedungen angepaßt haben.

Bioenergetische Anlagen in Brandenburg

Die Anbauarten und Anbaufläche bilden die eine Seite der Medaille, aber wie sieht es mit den folgenden Wertschöpfungsstufen aus? So haben vor allem die bioenergetischen Anlagen in den letzten Jahren stark zugelegt. Die Broschüre zur Biomassestrategie bietet hier konkrete Zahlen über den Ist-Zustand und zeigt die Verteilung von Biogasanlagen und Biomasseheiz(kraft-)werken auf die Brandenburger Landkreise. Ein kleiner Ausschnitt:

In ganz Brandenburg sind aktuell 22 Biomasseheizkraftwerke mit einer Leistung von 157 MWel und 367 MWth installiert. Hinzu kommen 12 reine Biomasseheizwerke mit einer Mindestwärmeleistung von 1 MW. Die meiste Leistung findet sich dabei in den Landkreisen Teltow-Fläming, Oder-Spree und Ostprignitz-Ruppin.

Beim Biogas sieht sie Situation folgendermaßen aus. Es gibt aktuell 176 Biogasanlagen mit einer installierten Leistung von 112 MWel und 125 MWth – weitere 85 Anlagen sind aber bereits genehmigt. Die durchschnittliche Leistung einer BGA im Land Brandenburg beträgt 640 kWel und liegt damit über der durchschnittlichen Biogasanlagengröße, die in Deutschland bei ca. 380 kWel angesiedelt ist.

Bisher wird an den Standorten Rathenow, Schwedt und Ketzin das Biogas zu Biomethan aufbereitet und ins Erdgasnetz eingespeist.

Feldheim ist Gewinner des bundesweiten Bioenergiewettbewerbs

An dieser Stelle möchte ich auch sehr erfreut dem brandenburgischen Feldheim gratulieren, welches einer der 3 Gewinner (neben Effelter und Jühnde-Barlissen) des Wettbewerbs „Bioenergiedörfer 2010“ geworden ist! Das 145-Einwohnerdorf in Potsdam-Mittelmark deckt seinen Strom- und Wärmebedarf zu 100% selbst und verfügt über ein eigenes Mikrowärmenetz. Die Energieträger, welche Feldheim zur Energieautarkie verhelfen, sind hauptsächlich Biogas und Wind.

Rechtliche Regelungen zum Thema Biomasse

Auch auf den nationalen und EU-weiten rechtlichen Rahmen geht die Biomassestrategie ein. Sie nennt dabei relevante Gesetze und stellt den Bezug zur Biomasse her. Eine Prognose über mögliche Gesetzesänderungen bezüglich dem Umgang mit Biomasse oder Wünsche werden eines Wissens jedoch nicht vorgestellt. Folgende Gesetzestexte (inkl. Verordnungen und Richtlinien) kommen vor:

  • EU Richtlinie Erneuerbarer Energien
  • EU Biokraftstoffrichtlinie
  • Biomassestrom-Nachhaltigkeitsverordnung und Biokraftstoff-Nachhaltigkeitsverordnung
  • Erneuerbare Energien Gesetz (EEG)
  • Biomasseverordnung
  • Gasnetzzugangsverordnung und Gasnetzentgeltverordnung
  • Erneuerbare-Energien-Wärmegesetz
  • Bundesimmissionsschutzgesetz
  • Kleinfeuerungsanlagenverordnung
  • Energiesteuergesetz
  • Biokraftstoffquotengesetz
  • Gesetz zur Änderung der Förderung von Biokraftstoffen
  • Wachstumsbeschleunigungsgesetz

Nennung von Forschungsinstituten und Förderprogrammen für Biomasse in Brandenburg

Die Broschüre stellt eine umfangreiche Sammlung von Forschungsinstituten, Förderprogrammen, Projekten und Vereinen zur Verfügung, welche sich in Brandenburg mit der stofflichen und energetischen Nutzung von Biomasse beschäftigen. Die Aufzählung ist sehr gut geeignet, um potentielle Partner oder Ansprechpartner für die jeweiligen Biomasse-Nutzungspfade zu finden. Hier eine kleine Aufzählung der vorgestellten Instituten und Unternehmungen:

  • Brandenburgisch Technische Universität Cottbus (BTUC)
  • Energie Technologie Initiative Brandenburg (ETI)
  • Energie-Kompetenz-Zentrum Feldheim
  • Energieregion Lausitz
  • Forschungsinstitut Bioaktive Polymersysteme (BIOPOS)
  • Fraunhofer-Institut für angewandte Polymerforschung (IAP)
  • Hochschule für nachhaltige Entwicklung Eberswalde (HNEE)
  • Institut für Getreideverarbeitung Potsdam-Rehbrücke (IGV)
  • Kompetenznetzwerk Biokraftstoffe
  • Leibniz-Zentrum für Agrarlandschaftforschung (ZALF)
  • Leibniz-Institut für Agrartechnik Potsdam-Bornim (ATB)
  • Max-Planck-Institut für Kolloid- und Grenzflächenforschung
  • Netzwerk Biofestbrennstoff MOL
  • Zukunftsagentur Brandenburg (ZAB)

In der Broschüre sind vor allem noch weitere Programme und Projekte genannt, die sich mit der Weiterentwicklung eines Gebiets der stofflichen oder energetischen Nutzung von Biomasse beschäftigen.

Kaskade der Biomasse-Nutzungspfade

Als wichtige Orientierungshilfe wird in der Biomassestrategie auch von der Kaskadennutzung gesprochen. Schon im Koalitionsvertrag des Brandenburger Landtags Ende 2009 wurde die Kaskade angegeben, nach der Biomasse zukünftig in Brandenburg genutzt werden soll. Die damals gesetzten Prioritäten wurden in den Begrifflichkeiten leicht angepaßt, sind aber inhaltlich im Kern gleich geblieben. Die angestrebte Nutzungsabfolge endspricht in der Reihenfolge der obigen Grafik.

Die Nutzung von Nachwachsenden Rohstoffen soll demnach zuerst der Ernährungssicherheit dienen, bevor sich in anschließenden Stufen die stoffliche und energetische Nutzung anschließen. Bei Bestandteilen von Pflanzen, die nicht für die Ernährung oder als Bauteil geeignet sind (z.B. Landschaftspflegematerial), kann sich die Bioenergie aber auch als erste Stufe ergeben.

Link zur vollständigen Biomassestrategie als PDF

Zum Abschluß möchte ich den Verfassern zu dieser sehr gelungen Biomassestrategie für das Land Brandenburg gratulieren und mich für die gut strukturierte, präzise und informationsdichte Broschüre bedanken! Für viele weitere Informationen zur stofflichen und energetischen Nutzung von Biomasse gibt es hier den Link zur zur vollständigen Biomassestrategie als PDF-Download. Einen Blick in das Paper kann ich sehr empfehlen.

Weitere aktuelle Informationen über die Entwicklung der Biomasse-Nutzung in Berlin-Brandenburg gibt es außerdem hier.