Off to the stock exchange? Direct marketing of biogas electricity from a marketing perspective

At the beginning of 2012, the EEG 2012 introduced the market premium model to promote the system integration of renewable energies. What does the balance sheet look like in the biogas sector after more than a year from a marketing perspective and what opportunities does the use of a virtual power plant offer?

At the beginning there was great skepticism. There would not be many operators who would leave the "safe haven" of the fixed EEG remuneration and market their biogas electricity directly on the electricity exchange. There are too many uncertainties in the way:

  • the unpredictability of the market and market price developments
  • the cooperation of the distribution network operators when converting to Direct marketing
  • the assumption of the balancing energy costs
  • the creditworthiness of the marketers in contrast to the creditworthiness of the network operators
  • the VAT problem

In retrospect, it can be said after more than a year that many of the questions initially discussed were either unfounded or have since been resolved. The design of the market premium model already ensures that the biogas industry carefully approaches the free market by fully absorbing the unpredictability of price developments due to the sliding market premium. The operators of biogas plants were able to take the first steps on a marketplace without any pitfalls, which will probably be predominant for the marketing of biogas electricity after the end of the EEG funding. Cooperation with the distribution system operators was and remains largely unproblematic, even if many processes were initially unknown or not yet established.

On the financial and contractual side, there are differences between the different marketers, so that a legal examination of the contract is recommended in many cases; after all, it's about big sums. An example here is the assumption of balancing energy costs, which are always incurred when a plant does not produce and feed in the forecast amount of electricity. A few marketers assume the full balance of energy costs, some take on the operator, some pass the costs on to the operator. Trading costs are also passed on to the operator by some marketers, especially those who do not have direct access to the stock exchange. The creditworthiness of direct marketers has also proven to be reliable. We are not aware of any cases of late payment or even default, which would indicate a lack of creditworthiness of the direct marketers in comparison to the network operators. Thus, concerns regarding the security of income on the part of the plant operator have not been justified. There is also the question of whether sales tax is levied on the market premium fortunately clarified now.

Photo biogas line for virtual power plant

The more the initial skepticism waned in the course of the past year, the more plant operators switched to the market premium model of direct marketing according to EEG 2012. At the end of December 2012, 1.936 MW of electricity generation capacity from biomass (including solid biomass such as wood or similar) was available for direct marketing reported to the network operators regarding the claim of the market premium, by May 2013 this number had even increased to 2.418 MW. Thus, just over half of the biomass plants in Germany now market their electricity production using the market premium model. Quite a success, but the pure marketing via the electricity exchange was and is not the goal of the EEG 2012. So what are the actual positive effects of direct marketing for plant operators and for the energy industry as a whole?

Virtual power plant enables direct marketing on your own

As operator of a virtual power plant With over 500 biogas plants, we see the positive effects above all in the improved system integration of renewable energies (EE). With the strengthening of direct marketing through the EEG 2012, renewable energy plants have taken on more responsibility in many systemically relevant areas.

On the one hand, this affects controllable plants (such as biogas plants), which are now permitted on the balancing energy market, where they ensure grid stability in addition to conventional generation plants. We assume that around 10% of the advertised balancing power in the area of ​​the minute reserve can already be provided by virtual power plants from renewable energies. Even today, some renewables (especially biogas plants) "regulate" the fluctuations that other renewables (especially solar and wind) cause. The tendency to network controllable systems via a virtual power plant and use it for system stabilization will in all likelihood increase, so that in a few years we will probably only smile at today's market share of 10%. It is also foreseeable that biogas plants in particular will play an increasingly important role in the area of ​​the secondary reserve, which is used to regulate the network frequency even before the minute reserve.

On the other hand, the direct marketing of renewable energies via a virtual power plant leads to very interesting results in balancing group management. In the fixed EEG feed-in tariff, renewable energy systems feed their produced electricity quantities into the distribution network without registration and transfer them to the grid operator's balancing group, which transfers the balancing energy costs to the EEG surcharge. In direct marketing, on the other hand, the marketer assumes responsibility for the schedule with the transmission system operators and reports all quantities of his balancing group for the following day. The marketer is naturally interested in the most accurate possible feed-in forecasts for the individual renewable energy plants in order to close his balancing group, since he cannot pass the balancing energy costs on to the EEG surcharge and also not on the plant operators, at least not if he does not risk a competitive disadvantage compared to other marketers would like to. Direct marketing thus takes account of weather forecasts for individual plant locations in the field of wind and solar energy and an increased interest in adherence to timetables in the field of bioenergy. Every hour of operation counts. Plant operators in our virtual power plant therefore report maintenance and malfunctions in our web portal so that the lowest possible balancing energy costs are incurred by our balancing group - and thus the need for control power is reduced. On the one hand, the renewables physically take care of part of the regulation of network fluctuations via the provision of balancing energy and minimize the need for the same through increased adherence to timetables and improved weather forecasts. In addition, in our virtual power plant, which has its own trading department with direct access to the stock exchange, the shortfalls in our own balancing group are further minimized by short-term electricity trading (so-called short-term trading).

Photo: power lines of a virtual power plant

power lines

The big question that the bioenergy industry also poses for us as marketers after the difficult year 2012 is: what's next? At the relevant industry events at the turn of the year there was some information on how the Direct marketing of biogas electricity will continue to develop. The expansion of the provision of balancing energy to the technically more sophisticated secondary reserve is certainly a path that is receiving increasing attention, all the more as the prices in the secondary reserve area are currently stable at a high level in contrast to the unfortunately very volatile prices on the minute reserve market last year. But the demand-oriented generation of biogas electricity in connection with the flexibility premium is also becoming more important, as we can see from the lively interest of our existing customers. After going to the electricity exchange via the market premium model in 2012, the year 2013 will be marked by the skill of the trader, which will lead to additional revenues for operators on the electricity exchange if they increasingly feed electricity into the grid when demand and price are high. Completely new concepts in the biogas segment, such as regional direct marketing to customers in close proximity to the plant to save parts of the electricity tax, will also become more important. The triad of flexibility, communication and trust, which is the basis for playing off the trump card of bioenergy, its controllability, is the same for all marketing channels.

Johannes Päffgen, Jan Aengenvoort, Next Kraftwerke GmbH

Post a comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Deutsch English
X

0 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 Google+ 0 Email -- 0 Flares ×

Anfang 2012 wurde mit dem EEG 2012 das Marktprämienmodell zur Förderung der Systemintegration Erneuerbarer Energien eingeführt. Wie sieht die Bilanz im Biogasbereich nach über einem Jahr aus Vermarktersicht aus und welche Chancen bietet die Nutzung eines virtuellen Kraftwerks?

Zu Beginn war die Skepsis groß. Es würde nicht viele Betreiber geben, die den „sicheren Hafen“ der fixen EEG-Vergütung verlassen und ihren Biogasstrom direkt über die Strombörse vermarkten würden. Zu viele Unsicherheiten stünden im Weg:

  • die Unwägbarkeiten des Markts und der Börsenpreisentwicklung
  • die Kooperation der Verteilnetzbetreiber bei der Umstellung auf die Direktvermarktung
  • die Übernahme der Ausgleichsenergiekosten
  • die Bonität der Vermarkter im Gegensatz zur Bonität der Netzbetreiber
  • die Umsatzsteuerproblematik

Rückblickend lässt sich nach über einem Jahr sagen, dass viele der anfangs diskutierten Fragen entweder unbegründet waren oder inzwischen gelöst sind. So sorgt bereits das Design des Marktprämienmodells für ein vorsichtiges Herantasten der Biogasbranche an den freien Markt, indem es die Unwägbarkeiten der Preisentwicklung durch die gleitende Marktprämie vollständig auffängt. Die Betreiber von Biogasanlagen konnten so ohne Fallstricke erste Schritte auf einem Marktplatz wagen, der nach Auslaufen der EEG-Förderung wohl vorherrschend für die Vermarktung von Biogasstrom sein wird. Auch die Kooperation mit den Verteilnetzbetreibern war und ist im Großen und Ganzen unproblematisch, auch wenn viele Prozesse gerade zu Beginn noch unbekannt oder nicht etabliert waren.

Auf finanzieller und vertraglicher Seite gibt es durchaus Unterschiede zwischen den verschiedenen Vermarktern, sodass sich eine juristische Prüfung des Vertragswerks in vielen Fällen empfiehlt; schließlich geht es um hohe Summen. Ein Beispiel ist hier die Übernahme von Ausgleichsenergiekosten, die immer dann anfallen, wenn eine Anlage nicht die prognostizierte Strommenge produziert und einspeist. Manche wenige Vermarkter übernehmen die Ausgleichsenergiekosten in voller Höhe, manche nehmen den Betreiber mit in die Pflicht, manche geben die Kosten vollständig an den Betreiber weiter. Auch Handelskosten werden von manchen Vermarktern, insbesondere von solchen, die keinen eigenen direkten Börsenzugang besitzen, an den Betreiber weitergegeben. Die Bonität der Direktvermarkter hat sich ebenfalls als verlässlich erwiesen. Es ist uns kein Fall von Zahlungsverzug oder gar Zahlungsausfall bekannt, der auf eine mangelnde Bonität der Direktvermarkter im Vergleich zu den Netzbetreibern hinweisen würde. Somit haben sich Bedenken bezüglich der Einnahmesicherheit auf Seiten der Anlagenbetreiber nicht begründet. Auch die Frage, ob auf die Marktprämie eine Umsatzsteuer erhoben wird, ist inzwischen glücklicherweise geklärt.

Foto Biogasleitung für virtuelles Kraftwerk

Je mehr die anfängliche Skepsis im Laufe des vergangenen Jahres wich, desto mehr Anlagenbetreiber wechselten in das Marktprämienmodell der Direktvermarktung nach EEG 2012. Bereits Ende Dezember 2012 waren 1.936 MW an Stromerzeugungsleistung aus Biomasse (inklusive fester Biomasse wie Holz o.ä.) für die Direktvermarktung zur Inanspruchnahme der Marktprämie bei den Netzbetreibern gemeldet, bis Mai 2013 stieg diese Zahl sogar auf 2.418 MW an. Somit vermarkten heute knapp über die Hälfte der Biomasseanlagen in Deutschland ihre Stromproduktion über das Marktprämienmodell. Durchaus ein Erfolg, aber die reine Vermarktung über die Strombörse war und ist nicht das Ziel des EEG 2012. Was also sind die eigentlichen positiven Effekte der Direktvermarktung für Anlagenbetreiber und für die Energiewirtschaft insgesamt?

Virtuelles Kraftwerk ermöglicht Direktvermarktung in Eigenregie

Als Betreiber eines virtuellen Kraftwerks mit über 500 Biogasanlagen sehen wir die positiven Effekte vor allem in der verbesserten Systemintegration der Erneuerbaren Energien (EE). Denn mit der Stärkung der Direktvermarktung durch das EEG 2012 haben EE-Anlagen in vielen systemrelevanten Bereichen mehr Verantwortung übernommen.

Dies betrifft zum einen regelbare Anlagen (wie etwa Biogasanlagen), die nun auf dem Regelenergiemarkt zugelassen sind, wo sie neben konventionellen Erzeugungsanlagen für Netzstabilität sorgen. Wir gehen davon aus, dass bereits heute ca. 10% der ausgeschriebenen Regelleistung im Bereich der Minutenreserve von virtuellen Kraftwerken aus Erneuerbaren Energien bereitgestellt werden kann. Schon heute „regeln“ also manche Erneuerbare (insbesondere Biogasanlagen) die Schwankungen, die andere Erneuerbare (insbesondere Solar und Wind) verursachen. Die Tendenz, regelbare Anlagen über ein virtuelles Kraftwerk zu vernetzen und dieses zur Systemstabilisierung einzusetzen, wird sich aller Voraussicht nach verstärken, sodass wir in einigen Jahren über den heutigen Marktanteil von 10% wohl nur noch lächeln werden. Zusätzlich ist absehbar, dass auch im Bereich der Sekundärreserve, die noch vor der Minutenreserve zur Ausregelung der Netzfrequenz eingesetzt wird, insbesonders Biogasanlagen eine immer wichtigere Rolle spielen werden.

Zum anderen führt die Direktvermarktung von Erneuerbaren Energien über ein virtuelles Kraftwerk zu sehr interessanten Ergebnissen im Bilanzkreismanagement. In der fixen EEG-Einspeisevergütung speisen EE-Anlagen ihre produzierten Strommengen ohne Anmeldung in das Verteilnetz ein und übergeben sie in den Bilanzkreis des Netzbetreibers, der anfallende Ausgleichsenergiekosten auf die EEG-Umlage wälzt. In der Direktvermarktung übernimmt hingegen der Vermarkter die Fahrplanverantwortung gegenüber den Übertragungsnetzbetreibern und meldet alle Mengen seines Bilanzkreises für den Folgetag. Der Vermarkter ist naturgemäß an möglichst exakten Einspeiseprognosen der einzelnen EE-Anlagen interessiert, um seinen Bilanzkreis glattzustellen, da er die Ausgleichsenergiekosten nicht auf die EEG-Umlage wälzen kann und auch nicht auf die Anlagenbetreiber, zumindest nicht, wenn er keinen Wettbewerbsnachteil gegenüber anderen Vermarktern riskieren möchte. Somit sorgt die Direktvermarktung für die Berücksichtigung von Wetterprognosen für einzelne Anlagenstandorte im Bereich der Wind- und Solarenergie und für ein erhöhtes Interesse an Fahrplantreue im Bereich der Bioenergie. Jede Betriebsstunde zählt. Anlagenbetreiber in unserem virtuellen Kraftwerk melden daher Wartungen und Störungen in unserem Webportal, damit möglichst geringe Ausgleichsenergiekosten über unseren Bilanzkreis anfallen – und somit der Bedarf an Regelleistung sinkt. Die Erneuerbaren sorgen also zum einen physisch für einen Teil der Ausregelung von Netzschwankungen über die Bereitstellung von Regelenergie und minimieren durch erhöhte Fahrplantreue bzw. verbesserte Wetterprognosen rein bilanziell den Bedarf an derselben. Hinzu kommt, dass in unserem virtuellen Kraftwerk, das über eine eigene Handelsabteilung mit direktem Börsenzugang verfügt, die Fehlmengen im eigenen Bilanzkreis durch kurzfristigen Stromhandel (das sogenannte Short Term Trading) weiter minimiert werden.

Foto: Stromleitungen eines virtuellen Kraftwerks

Stromleitungen

Die große Frage, die die Bioenergiebranche nach dem schweren Jahr 2012 auch uns als Vermarkter stellt, lautet: Wie geht es weiter? Auf den einschlägigen Veranstaltungen der Branche gab es zum Jahreswechsel einige Hinweise, wie sich die Direktvermarktung von Biogasstrom weiter entwickeln wird. Sicherlich ist die Ausweitung der Regelenergiebereitstellung auf die technisch anspruchsvollere Sekundärreserve ein Weg, der verstärkt Beachtung findet, umso mehr, als die Preise im Bereich Sekundärreserve derzeit auf hohem Niveau stabil sind im Gegensatz zu den leider sehr volatilen Preisen auf dem Minutenreservemarkt im letzten Jahr. Aber auch die bedarfsorientierte Erzeugung von Biogasstrom in Verbindung mit der Flexibilitätsprämie gewinnt an Bedeutung, wie wir am regen Interesse unserer Bestandskunden merken. Nach dem Gang an die Strombörse über das Marktprämienmodell im Jahr 2012 wird das Jahr 2013 unter dem Vorzeichen des Händlergeschicks stehen, das an der Strombörse zu Mehrerlösen für Betreiber führt, wenn diese verstärkt dann Strom ins Netz einspeisen, wenn Bedarf und Preis hoch sind. Auch gänzlich neue Konzepte im Biogassegment wie die regionale Direktvermarktung an Abnehmer in räumlicher Nähe zur Anlage zur Einsparung von Teilen der Stromsteuer werden wichtiger werden. Allen Vermarktungswegen gleich ist der Dreiklang aus Flexibilität, Kommunikation und Vertrauen, der die Basis dafür ist, die Trumpfkarte der Bioenergie, ihre Regelbarkeit, auszuspielen.

Johannes Päffgen, Jan Aengenvoort, Next Kraftwerke GmbH