Giant biogas plant in Guben

Depending on how you imagine a “giant” compared to the normal, a lot of work was done in project planning in Guben.

There are impressive large-scale plants (e.g. Penkun, Güstrow) that have a total output of 20 MW. However, this is the sum of 40 individual modules of 500 kW each at the same location. This should not reduce these systems, but it is necessary to mention this if I want to confirm "the giant" of the headline. The plant decided in Guben (start of construction in spring 2010) has "only" a total output of 3,5 MW, but the process engineering provides that this performance is achieved by only 2 fermenter modules, each of which produces biogas for 1,75 MW. For the current status of biogas plant technology, this is from BKN biostrom AG the planned system is therefore remarkable.

It is somewhat reminiscent of the classic fossil fuel-based power plants, which are sometimes composed of several blocks. Of course, these fossil power plants (e.g. in the coal sector) are much more powerful systems and weigh in at 6 MW in the 500 × 3000 MW blocks in Jänschwalde, for example. But it is not at all about competition between these performance ranges, because the advantage of biogas plants in their decentralized application lies.

Operation of the plant

The plant in Guben should only be filled with renewable raw materials. Which NawaRo's I could not find out exactly how to use the press release. Hopefully, when filling exclusively with renewable raw materials (without the use of liquid manure), the "tank / energy or plate" discussion was carefully considered and raw materials were planned that have little food competition. The biogas is then not turned into electricity on the spot, but on Natural gas quality process and feed into the existing natural gas network. The processed biogas is forwarded in this network and distributed to 4 new combined heat and power plants (CHP) in the Guben area. As CHP with combined heat and power (CHP) work, the heat generated is used to supply 4000 households and can thus supply a fifth of Guben citizens.

Plant splitting

I would like to address one more point, where I unfortunately do not know exactly how it is currently handled legally. Since the problems surrounding the plant splitting of the plant in Penkun, the situation has been somewhat foggy for me. What does she write Amendment of the EEG now exactly before? Is the plant in Guben to be understood as “one plant” and is the remuneration less per kWh, or do the 4 CHP units that are further apart count as 4 separate plants? That would not be negligible for the business management of the plant. If any of you know more, I would be grateful for this information.

Overall, I am very pleased with this newly planned plant (with natural gas processing technology) and I wish the operators a speedy construction and profitable, low-interference operation.

[mappress]

2 comments on “Giant biogas plant in Guben”

  1. Thank you Uncle Sam for the link to the clearing house's comments on specific conflicts regarding asset splitting! A complex problem, the clarification of which probably lies behind the successful or unsuccessful profitability of many large projects.

Post a comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Deutsch English
X

0 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 Google+ 0 Email -- 0 Flares ×

Je nachdem wie man sich einen „Riesen“ im Vergleich zum Normalen so vorstellt, wurde bei der Projektplanung in Guben ganze Arbeit geleistet.

Es gibt beeindruckenden Großanlagen (z.B. Penkun, Güstrow) die eine Gesamtleistung von 20 MW haben. Dabei handelt es sich jedoch um die Summe von 40 Einzelmodulen zu je 500 kW am selben Ort. Das soll diese Anlagen nicht schmälern, aber es ist notwendig dies zu erwähnen, wenn ich „den Riesen“ der Headline  bestätigen möchte. Die in Guben beschlossene Anlage (Baubeginn Frühjahr 2010) hat zwar „nur“ eine Gesamtleistung von 3,5 MW, aber die Verfahrenstechnik sieht vor, dass diese Leistung von nur 2 Fermentermodulen erreicht wird, welche jeweils Biogas für 1,75 MW produzieren. Für den aktuellen Stand der Biogasanlagentechnik ist diese von der BKN biostrom AG geplante Anlage deshalb schon bemerkenswert.

Es erinnert ein wenig an die klassischen Kraftwerke auf fossiler Brennstoff-Basis, welche teilweise auch aus mehreren Blöcken zusammengesetzt sind. Natürlich sind diese fossilen Kraftwerke (z.B. im Kohlebereich) deutlich leistungsstärkere Anlagen und bringen bei den beispielsweise 6×500 MW Blöcken in Jänschwalde ganze 3000 MW auf die Waage. Aber es geht auch gar nicht um Konkurrenzen zwischen diesen Leistungsspektren, da der Vorteil von Biogasanlagen in ihrer dezentralen Anwendungsmöglichkeit liegt.

Betrieb der Anlage

Die Anlage in Guben soll ausschließlich mit nachwachsenden Rohstoffen befüllt werden. Welche NawaRo’s genau verwendet werden sollen, konnte ich der Pressemitteilung nicht entnehmen. Bei ausschließlicher Befüllung mit nachwachsenden Rohstoffen (ohne Gülleeinsatz) wurde hoffentlich die „Tank/ Energie oder Teller“ Diskussion gründlich bedacht und Rohstoffe eingeplant, die nur wenig Nahrungsmittelkonkurrenzen aufweisen. Das Biogas wird dann auch nicht nicht an Ort und Stelle verstromen, sondern auf Erdgasqualität aufbereiten und in das bestehende Erdgasnetz einspeisen. In diesem Netz wird das aufbereitete Biogas weitergeleitet und auf 4 neue Blockheizkraftwerke (BHKW) im Gubener Raum verteilt. Da BHKW mit Kraft-Wärme-Kopplung (KWK) funktionieren, wird die erzeugte Wärme für die Versorgung von 4000 Haushalten genutzt und somit ein Fünftel der Gubener Bürger versorgen können.

Thema Anlagen-Splitting

Einen Punkt möchte ich noch ansprechen, bei dem ich leider nicht genau weiß, wie dieser rechtlich aktuell gehandhabt wird. Seit den Problemen rund um das Anlagensplitting der Anlage in Penkun liegt für mich der Sachverhalt etwas im Nebel. Was schreibt die Novellierung des EEG’s nun genau vor? Ist die Anlage in Guben als „eine Anlage“ zu verstehen und wird demnach weniger hoch pro kWh vergütet oder zählen die 4 weiter auseinanderliegenden BHKW als 4 getrennte Anlagen? Das wäre für die Betriebswirtschaft der Anlage nicht unerheblich. Wenn jemand von euch da mehr weiß, wäre ich dankbar für diese Information.

Insgesamt freut mich diese neu geplante Anlage (mit Erdgasaufbereitungstechnik) sehr und ich wünsche den Betreibern einen zügigen Bau und  einen ertragreichen, störungsarmen Betrieb.

[mappress]