Biomethane plant in the Arneburg biomass cluster goes into operation

Hardly any other region in Germany combines the material and energetic use of biomass on such a large scale as Arneburg in Saxony-Anhalt. The plant manufacturer Weltec Biopower complements the region's existing biomass infrastructure with the operation of a biomethane plant. Incidentally, the framework conditions of the bioenergy project on site offer an exciting insight into the history of energy production in Germany.

The heading "The biogas plant starts feeding in biomethane“I would like to read it more often and I wish the new system every success.

Biomethane plant supplies 5.000 households with electricity and heat

Message from Weltec Biopower dated June 25, 2013.

The Biomethane as an energy source the future belongs: economically, ecologically and technologically. This strong signal also comes from the commissioning of the biomethane refinery in Arneburg. Last but not least, because the entire know-how of the industry is in these plants, the immediate vicinity of a nuclear power plant ruin, which documents an era of conventional energy generation, seems bizarre.

In the Altmark industrial and commercial park there, one of Germany's largest biomethane refineries went into operation after only eight months of construction and has been feeding gas into the public grid since May. The company produces with four 4.900 cubic meter fermenters, six 5.000 cubic meter fermentation residues and a liquid reservoir Biomethane plant operated by the operator Nordmethan from Vechta in Lower Saxony, 1.650 standard cubic meters of bio raw gas per hour on six hectares.

250 cubic meters of the raw material are kept for the heating requirements of the biomethane plant designed by WELTEC BIOPOWER. This produces around 700 standard cubic meters of processed biomethane per hour with a methane content of 99 percent using chemical amine washing, sufficient to supply 5.000 households with electricity and heat.

Photo biomethane plant in Arneburg

For this purpose, maize silage, whole plant cereals, sugar beets and chicken droppings, chicken manure, liquid manure and water enter the stainless steel fermenters on substrates for this purpose. Overall, the amount of substrate supplied by farmers in the region is over 70.000 tons per year. The location of the plant is attractive and the supply of raw materials is secured because the Altmark is a traditionally agricultural area with a high proportion of grassland. Not least because of this, the historic cultural landscape has been promoted by the Federal Ministry of Food, Agriculture and Consumer Protection (BMELV) as one of 2009 bioenergy regions nationwide through a special regional development concept.

Another strategic advantage of the biomethane plant: The industrial and commercial park has a particularly good connection to the transport infrastructure, so that the substrates and digestate can be delivered and removed smoothly. These optimal framework conditions have led to other companies that rely on vegetable input materials being based there: The pulp producer Zellstoff Stendal mainly produces several hundred thousand tons of pulp from tree bark every year. The production waste is converted into energy in the company's own biomass power plant, which is one of the most powerful and efficient of its kind in Germany.

As for comparison, the nuclear power plant ruin is located in the immediate vicinity of the WELTEC plant and the biomass power plant, which represents the conventional past of energy generation like a memorial: the ruins of the Stendal nuclear power plant were to become the GDR's largest nuclear power plant in the 1970s. However, the completion of the Russian-type plant was stopped in March 1991 after the construction costs exceeded seven million German marks (3,58 million euros) per megawatt and serious safety deficiencies were found. The coal-fired power plant in Arneburg that was planned a few years ago was also in danger of decay. The construction project is no longer being pursued after citizens' initiatives have been calling for resistance to the facility for years.

In the biomethane plant in Arneburg, chemical amine washing produces around 700 standard cubic meters of biomethane per hour with a methane content of 99 percent. Plant concepts such as the biomethane refinery in Arneburg, on the other hand, belong to the future, also because they combine securing a sustainable energy supply with positive employment impulses: "The biomethane refinery in Arneburg exemplifies that we have the right answer to the increasing demand for biomethane for the appropriate recycling paths have to give. This future viability is also evidenced by the fact that Nordmethan GmbH in Arneburg creates ten jobs and two training positions, ”says Managing Director Jens Albartus.

1 Comment on “Biomethane plant in the Arneburg biomass cluster goes into operation”

Post a comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Deutsch English
X

0 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 Google+ 0 Email -- 0 Flares ×

In kaum einer anderen Region in Deutschland wird die stoffliche und energetische Nutzung von Biomasse bereits in so großem Maßstab kombiniert, wie im Sachsen-Anhalt gelegenen Arneburg. Der Anlagenhersteller Weltec Biopower ergänzt die bestehende Biomasse-Infrastruktur der Region um den Betrieb einer Biomethananlage. Ganz nebenbei bieten die Rahmenbedingungen des Bioenergie-Projekts vor Ort einen spannenden Einblick in die Historie der Energieproduktion in Deutschland.

Die Überschrift „Biogasanlage beginnt mit der Einspeisung von Biomethan“ würde ich gerne noch häufiger lesen und ich wünsche der neuen Anlage viel Erfolg.

Biomethananlage versorgt 5.000 Haushalte mit Strom und Wärme

Mitteilung der Weltec Biopower vom 25. Juni 2013.

Dem Energieträger Biomethan gehört die Zukunft: ökonomisch, ökologisch und technologisch. Auch dieses starke Signal geht aus von der Inbetriebnahme der Biomethanraffinerie in Arneburg. Nicht zuletzt, weil in diesen Anlagen das gesamte Know-how der Branche steckt, mutet die unmittelbare Nachbarschaft zu einer AKW-Bauruine skurril an, die eine Ära der konventionellen Energieerzeugung dokumentiert.

Im dortigen Industrie- und Gewerbepark Altmark ist eine der größten Biomethanraffinerien Deutschlands nach nur acht Monaten Bauzeit in Betrieb gegangen und speist seit Mai Gas in das öffentliche Netz ein. Mit vier 4.900-Kubikmeter-Fermentern, sechs 5.000-Kubikmeter-Gärrestlagern und einer Flüssigkeitsvorlage produziert die Biomethananlage des Betreibers Nordmethan aus dem niedersächsischen Vechta auf sechs Hektar stündlich 1.650 Normkubikmeter Biorohgas.

250 Kubikmeter des Rohstoffs werden für den Wärmebedarf der von WELTEC BIOPOWER konzipierten Biomethananlage vorgehalten. Daraus entstehen mittels chemischer Aminwäsche rund 700 Normkubikmeter aufbereitetes Biomethan pro Stunde mit einem Methangehalt von 99 Prozent, ausreichend um 5.000 Haushalte mit Strom und Wärme zu versorgen.

Foto Biomethananlage in Arneburg

An Substraten gelangen dafür über einen Feststoffdosierer Maissilage, Ganzpflanzen-Getreide, Zuckerrüben sowie Hühnertrockenkot, Hähnchenmist, Gülle und Wasser in die Edelstahl-Fermenter. Insgesamt beträgt die von Landwirten aus der Region gelieferte Substratmenge über 70.000 Tonnen pro Jahr. Der Anlagenstandort ist attraktiv und die Versorgung mit Rohstoffen ist gesichert, weil die Altmark ein traditionell landwirtschaftlich geprägtes Gebiet mit einem hohen Grünland-Anteil ist. Nicht zuletzt deshalb wird die historische Kulturlandschaft seit dem Jahr 2009 als eine von bundesweit 25 Bioenergie-Regionen vom Bundesministerium für Ernährung, Landwirtschaft und Verbraucherschutz (BMELV) durch ein spezielles Regionalentwicklungs-Konzept gefördert.

Ein weiterer strategischer Vorteil der Biomethananlage: Der Industrie- und Gewerbepark hat eine besonders gute Anbindung an die Verkehrsinfrastruktur, sodass die Substrate und Gärreste reibungslos angeliefert und abtransportiert werden können. Diese optimalen Rahmenbedingungen haben dazu geführt, dass auch andere Firmen dort angesiedelt sind, die auf pflanzliche Inputstoffe setzen: Der Zellstoffproduzent Zellstoff Stendal produziert vorwiegend aus Baumrinde mehrere hunderttausend Tonnen Zellstoff jährlich. Die Produktionsabfälle werden in dem betriebseigenen Biomassekraftwerk, das zu den leistungsstärksten und effizientesten seiner Art in Deutschland gehört, zu Energie umgewandelt.

Wie zum Vergleich befindet sich in unmittelbarer Nachbarschaft zur WELTEC-Anlage und dem Biomassekraftwerk die AKW-Ruine, die wie ein Mahnmal die konventionelle Vergangenheit der Energieerzeugung repräsentiert: Die Bauruine des Kernkraftwerks Stendal sollte in den 1970er Jahren das größte Kernkraftwerk der DDR werden. Die Fertigstellung des Werks russischer Bauart wurde jedoch im März 1991 gestoppt, nachdem die Baukosten sieben Millionen Deutsche Mark (3,58 Millionen Euro) pro Megawatt überstiegen und gravierende Sicherheitsmängel festgestellt wurden. Auch dem vor einigen Jahren geplanten Kohlekraftwerk in Arneburg drohte der Verfall. Das Bauvorhaben wird nicht weiter verfolgt, nachdem Bürgerinitiativen seit Jahren zum Widerstand gegen die Anlage aufrufen.

In der Biomethananlage in Arneburg entstehen mittels chemischer Aminwäsche rund 700 Normkubikmeter Biomethan pro Stunde mit einem Methangehalt von 99 Prozent. Anlagenkonzepten wie der Biomethanraffinerie in Arneburg gehört hingegen die Zukunft, auch weil sie die Sicherung einer nachhaltigen Energieversorgung mit positiven Beschäftigungs-Impulsen verknüpfen: „Die Biomethanraffinerie in Arneburg steht exemplarisch dafür, dass wir die richtige Antwort auf die steigende Nachfrage nach Biomethan für die entsprechenden Verwertungspfade geben müssen. Diese Zukunftsfähigkeit wird auch dadurch belegt, dass die Nordmethan GmbH in Arneburg zehn Arbeitsplätze und zwei Ausbildungsstellen schafft“, sagt der Geschäftsführer Jens Albartus.