European biomass industry meets in Copenhagen in June

Bioenergy is only one of 3 large areas of modern biomass use. The other two are the material use of biomass and the use of plants to feed humans and animals. There are overlaps and synergies between all three types of use, but there are also competitions based primarily on the natural limitation of arable land. So that the biomass industry can still act jointly on the energy and raw materials transition, it is important that the representatives of the sub-sectors coordinate and discuss both problems and potential. The next way to do this is the upcoming one 21st European Biomass Conference (EU BC&E), which will take place in Copenhagen this year.

Photo EUBCE

"Setting a course for a bio-based economy"

On my first visit to the EU BC&E in Berlin I have seen how broad the content of the biomass industry is. I also learned that the energetic and material use of biomass does not necessarily have to be in the way, but is increasingly closely intertwined. Nevertheless, bioenergy has been used since the formulation of theCascade use often viewed more as a downstream form of use for biomass, which is at the end of the life cycle of biomass use. In line with this trend, the EU BC&E, which takes place from 2 to 7 June, is entitled "Set the course for a bio-based economy".

The Program of the biomass conference shows the increasing importance of the bioeconomy concept. As usual, the conference blocks, which take place parallel to the biomass fair, are very innovative and deal with many concepts that are still at an early stage of development. Here is a small selection of topics:

  • Alternative energy crops
  • Next generation biofuels
  • Further development of innovative treatment methods (pyrolysis, HTC, Syngas)
  • Fields of application for lignin and lignocellulose
  • Concepts for biorefineries

Time and desire to meet up?

If any of the biomass colleagues and readers of BiomassMuse will also be at this year's EU BC&E, I look forward to getting to know you personally. A short agreement via Twitter, G + or Mail is enough to meet at one of the largest biomass events worldwide.

You can also read about the event live on Twitter (#EUBCE) and then here on the blog.

Post a comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Deutsch English
X

0 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 Google+ 0 Email -- 0 Flares ×

Die Bioenergie ist nur eines von 3 großen Teilgebiet der modernen Biomasse-Nutzung. Die anderen Beiden sind die stoffliche Nutzung von Biomasse und die Nutzung von Pflanzen zur Ernährung von Mensch und Tier. Zwischen allen 3 Nutzungsformen gibt es Schnittmengen und Synergien, aber eben auch Konkurrenzen, die vor allem auf der natürlichen Begrenzung von Ackerflächen basieren. Damit die Biomasse-Branche trotzdem gemeinsam zur Energie- und Rohstoffwende auftreten kann, ist es wichtig, dass sich die Vertreter der Teilbranchen abstimmen und sowohl über Probleme, als auch über Potentiale diskutieren. Die nächste Möglichkeit hierzu ist die anstehende 21. Europäische Biomasse-Konferenz (EU BC&E), welche dieses Jahr in Kopenhagen stattfinden wird.

Foto EUBCE

„Kurs setzen für eine biobasierte Wirtschaft“

Auf meinem ersten Besuchs der EU BC&E in Berlin habe ich erlebt, wie breit die Biomasse-Branche inhaltlich aufgestellt ist. Außerdem habe ich erfahren, dass sich die energetische und stoffliche Nutzung von Biomasse nicht zwangsläufig im Weg stehen müssen, sondern immer häufiger eng miteinander verflochten sind. Trotzdem wird die Bioenergie seit der Formulierung derKaskadennutzung vielfach eher als nachgelagerte Verwendungsform für Biomasse betrachtet, welche am Ende des Lebenszyklus der Biomasse-Nutzung steht. Diesem Trend entsprechend, steht die vom 2 bis 7 Juni stattfindende EU BC&E unter dem verbindenden Titel „Kurs setzen für eine biobasierte Wirtschaft“.

Das Programm der Biomasse-Konferenz zeigt die zunehmende Bedeutung des BioÖkonomie-Gedankens. Wie gewohnt sind die Konferenzblöcke, die parallel zur Biomasse-Messe stattfinden, sehr innovativ ausgelegt und behandeln viele Konzepte, die sich noch in einem frühen Entwicklungsstadium befinden. Hier eine kleine Auswahl an Themen:

  • Alternative Energiepflanzen
  • Biokraftstoffe der nächsten Generation
  • Weiterentwicklung innovativer Aufbereitungsmethoden (Pyrolyse, HTC, Syngas)
  • Anwendungsfelder für Lignin und Lignocellulose
  • Konzepte für Bioraffinerien

Zeit und Lust auf ein Treffen?

Wenn jemand der Biomasse-Kollegen und Leser von BiomassMuse ebenfalls auf der diesjährigen EU BC&E sein wird, freue ich mich auf ein persönliches Kennenlernen. Eine kurze Absprache über Twitter, G+ oder Mail reicht aus, um sich auf einer der größten Biomasse-Veranstaltungen weltweit zu begegnen.

Außerdem wird über die Veranstaltung live auf Twitter (#EUBCE) und im Anschluss auch hier im Blog zu lesen sein.