BioenergieDat: Open source platform on the environmental impact of bioenergy opened

The climate footprints of the individual bioenergy paths are not without controversy. While proponents of biogas, Biofuels and wood energy emphasize the climate-neutral properties of energy crops and organic residues, the critics mainly focus on the additional emissions that are released during the production of bioenergy (grassland change, transport, methane hatching, etc.). Despite all justified criticism, it should not be forgotten that the value creation processes of bioenergy are always compared with the production pathways of fossil fuels. In order to better understand the environmental impacts of bioenergy production and use, a free platform is now available that looks at bioenergy from the perspective of its environmental impacts. The database does not only consider the effects of bioenergy on the climate, but also includes ecological and economic effects in the assessment of bioenergy.

Photo shows scientist

BioenergieDat: A data platform for bioenergy in Germany

Communication of the BMU funding program "Energetic Use of Biomass" from the 11.04.2013.

The research project supported as part of the BMU funding program "Energetic Use of Biomass" BioEnergyDat presents its results from the two-year term: a consistent methodology, a modern IT infrastructure and a database for the ecological evaluation of various options for bioenergy use.

From 03 to 039, the BioEnergieDat (FKZ: 2010KB2012) project developed a methodologically harmonized, validated and modular database for process chains of energetic biomass use in Germany. This is now freely accessible together with an open source software developed in the project and an open source database for the preparation of life cycle assessments. A top-class research consortium from:

  • the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT)
  • the German Aerospace Center
  • the GreenDelta GmbH
  • the Zittau / Görlitz University of Applied Sciences
  • the Ruhr University Bochum
  • the University of Stuttgart
  • the Wuppertal Institute for Climate, Environment Energy GmbH

Life cycle assessments are an indispensable tool today to assess products and processes with regard to their environmental impact and to support the optimization of environmental performance. The database and software developed in BioEnergieDat make life cycle assessments for bioenergy faster and easier and support the consistent accounting and evaluation of individual technologies. They can be used by anyone who uses life cycle assessments and similar methods (carbon footprint, etc.).

The database was developed taking into account representative German framework conditions. “BioEnergieDat provides data sets for complete process chains of bioenergy. In contrast to similar databases, the user can also access all unlinked data records for the individual processes (modules). As a result, as well as the parameterization of important input variables, data sets can now be combined easily and flexibly and adapted to different application situations, ”says Prof. Liselotte Schebek, head of the project.

The open source tool "openLCA" was further developed into a professionally usable LCA / life cycle assessment software and has an interface to the LCA database soda4LCA (Service Oriented Database Application for LCA data), which was also developed in the project. Soda4LCA enables a preview of the data on the Internet and direct access to the data records via openLCA or via a browser for use with any LCA software. At the same time, local databases can be created and used offline. In this way, decentralized processing and lossless data exchange of complete life cycle assessment models is possible - which opens up completely new technical possibilities for working in spatially distributed project teams, but also for cooperation between different data holders.

The BioEnergieDat documentation fully describes the modeling techniques used and contains procedures for using the data sets in different application contexts (e.g. Renewable Energy Directive, European ELCD System or in the Greenhouse Gas Protocol). The results of BioEnergieDat enable diverse and novel applications for the ecological evaluation of bioenergy. They also correspond to the general framework of the method manual "Material flow-oriented balancing of climate gas effects" developed in the BMU funding program "Energetic Use of Biomass".

The database, software and documentation of the project are now freely accessible at www.bioenergiedat.de and can be used free of charge. The non-profit “German Society for Life Cycle Data”, DGLZD, is founded to continue and expand the project results.

Post a comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Deutsch English
X

4 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 Google+ 4 Email -- 4 Flares ×

Die Klimabilanzen der einzelnen Bioenergiepfade sind nicht unumstritten. Während Befürworter von Biogas, Biokraftstoffen und Holzenergie die klimaneutralen Eigenschaften von Energiepflanzen und organischen Reststoffen betonen, konzentrieren sich die Kritiker vor allem auf die zusätzlichen Emissionen, die bei der Gewinnung der Bioenergie freigesetzt werden (Grünlandumbruch, Transport, Methanschlupf etc.). Bei aller berechtigten Kritik darf aber nicht vergessen werden, dass die Wertschöpfungsprozesse der Bioenergie immer auch mit den Produktionspfaden der fossilen Energieträger verglichen werden. Um die Umweltauswirkungen der Bioenergie-Produktion und -Nutzung besser zu verstehen, ist nun eine kostenfreie Plattform zugänglich, welche die Bioenergie unter der Perspektive ihrer Umweltauswirkungen betrachtet. Die Datenbank berücksichtigt dabei nicht ausschließlich die Auswirkungen der Bioenergie auf das Klima, sondern bezieht auch ökologische und ökonomische Auswirkungen in die Bewertung der Bioenergie ein.

Foto zeigt Wissenschaftlerin

BioenergieDat: Eine Datenplattform für Bioenergie in Deutschland

Mitteilung des BMU-Förderprogramms „Energetische Biomassenutzung“ vom 11.04.2013.

Das im Rahmen des BMU-Förderprogramms „Energetische Biomassenutzung“ unterstützte Forschungsprojekt BioEnergieDat stellt seine Ergebnisse aus der zweijährigen Laufzeit vor: eine konsistente Methodik, eine moderne IT-Infrastruktur sowie eine Datenbasis für die ökologische Bewertung verschiedener Optionen der Bioenergienutzung.

Im Vorhaben BioEnergieDat (FKZ: 03KB039) wurde von 2010 bis 2012 eine methodisch harmonisierte, validierte und modulare Datenbasis für Prozessketten der energetischen Biomassenutzung in Deutschland erarbeitet. Diese ist nun zusammen mit einer im Vorhaben entwickelten Open Source Software und einer Open Source Datenbank für die Erstellung von Ökobilanzen (Life Cycle Assessment) frei zugänglich. Am Vorhaben beteiligt war ein hochkarätiges Forscherkonsortium aus:

  • dem Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT)
  • dem Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt
  • der GreenDelta GmbH
  • der Hochschule Zittau/Görlitz
  • der Ruhr-Universität Bochum
  • der Universität Stuttgart
  • dem Wuppertal Institut für Klima, Umwelt Energie GmbH

Ökobilanzen sind heute ein unverzichtbares Instrument, um Produkte und Verfahren hinsichtlich ihrer Umweltauswirkungen zu bewerten und die Optimierung der Umweltleistung zu unterstützen. Die in BioEnergieDat erarbeitete Datenbasis und Software machen Ökobilanzen für Bioenergie schneller und einfacher und unterstützen die konsistente Bilanzierung und Bewertung einzelner Technologien. Sie können von jedem genutzt werden, der Ökobilanzen sowie ähnliche Methoden (Carbon Footprint etc.) anwendet.

Die Datenbasis wurde erarbeitet unter Berücksichtigung repräsentativer deutscher Rahmenbedingungen. „BioEnergieDat stellt Datensätze zu vollständigen Prozessketten von Bioenergie bereit. Im Unterschied zu ähnlichen Datenbanken kann der Nutzer aber auch auf alle unverknüpften Datensätze zu den einzelnen Prozessen (Modulen) zugreifen. Hierdurch sowie durch die Parametrisierung wichtiger Eingangsgrößen sind Datensätze jetzt einfach und flexibel kombinierbar und auf verschiedene Anwendungssituationen anpassbar“, so Prof. Liselotte Schebek, Leiterin des Projektes.

Das Open Source Tool „openLCA“ wurde im Vorhaben zu einer professionell nutzbaren LCA/Ökobilanzierung-Software weiterentwickelt und besitzt eine Schnittstelle zu der ebenfalls im Projekt entwickelten LCA-Datenbank soda4LCA (Service Oriented Database Application for LCA data). Soda4LCA ermöglicht eine Voransicht der Daten im Internet und einen direkten Zugriff auf die Datensätze über openLCA oder über einen Browser zur Nutzung mit beliebiger LCA-Software. Gleichzeitig können lokale Datenbanken erstellt und offline genutzt werden. Auf diese Weise wird eine dezentrale Bearbeitung und ein verlustfreier Datenaustausch kompletter Ökobilanzmodelle möglich – was völlig neue technische Möglichkeiten eröffnet für das Arbeiten in räumlich verteilten Projektteams, aber auch für Kooperationen zwischen unterschiedlichen Datenhaltern.

Die BioEnergieDat-Dokumentation beschreibt vollständig die angewendeten Modellierungstechniken und enthält Vorgehensweisen für die Verwendung der Datensätze in unterschiedlichen Anwendungskontexten (z. B. Renewable Energy Directive, europäischen ELCD System oder im Greenhouse Gas Protocol). Die Ergebnisse von BioEnergieDat ermöglichen insgesamt vielfältige und neuartige Anwendungen bei der ökologischen Bewertung von Bioenergie. Sie entsprechen dabei auch den allgemeinen Rahmensetzungen des im BMU-Förderprogramm „Energetische Biomassenutzung“ erarbeiteten Methodenhandbuchs „Stoffstromorientierte Bilanzierung der Klimagaseffekte“.

Datenbank, Software und Dokumentation des Vorhabens sind ab sofort unter www.bioenergiedat.de frei zugänglich und kostenfrei nutzbar. Zur Fortführung und zum Ausbau der Projektergebnisse wird die gemeinnützige „Deutsche Gesellschaft für Lebenszyklusdaten“, DGLZD, gegründet.